We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Boomerang Backpackers

Hostel | 141 William Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia NSW 2010

67.7% Overall Rating

22 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/12/2013)

"Location. Bathroom was on a different level, but there were enough facilities that you never had to wait."

Read all Boomerang Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Summer House Backpackers
17.52 USD

Hostel 84.9% 10 reviews
Asylum Sydney
26.28 USD

Hostel 80.6% 337 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
17.52 USD

Hostel 67.9% 453 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross
26.28 USD

Hostel 84.1% 126 reviews
City Resort Hostel
21.02 USD

Hostel 51.0% 310 reviews
Backpackers HQ
25.40 USD

Hostel 84.9% 94 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
26.28 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.90 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.7%

Overall Rating

22 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Boomerang Backpackers'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the people staying there were so friendly and had a good atmosphere

Disliked: not everyone could get a locker outside their room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Teh Ewe Beng

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2014 Teh would recommend this property

Liked: Near to town centre.

Disliked: Bed is not good. The springs are wore off.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013

Liked: Location. Bathroom was on a different level, but there were enough facilities that you never had to wait.

Disliked: Small kitchen. No lockers in the room. The one's they do have are tiny and there aren't enough for everyone in the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, free breakfast and free airport pick up. Roof top terrace with views of Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Disliked: Very little atmosphere. Most of the other guests were German, either couldn't or didn't want to communicate. Very small kitchen, poorly equipped. Corridors and rooms needed a good vac. Bathrooms were sometimes very messy.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2013

Liked: Fivei minute walk to Kings Cross

Disliked: The office check in times. Open 8 - 12. Arrived 12.05 and office was closed and did not open again until 4pm. Called number left to call if arriving outside these hours and no one answered. Stayed in private double room. Room disappointing and dirty. Carpet dirty, Fridge dirty, tv reception fuzzy. Did not enjoy my stay at all. Also paid a 10% deposit online and balance to pay on arrival but was charged full price again as person at reception said the 10% paid had nothing to do with them as that was Hostel Bookers fee? Yet when booking it stated that I would only have to pay the balance less the 10%?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a free breakfast every day and activities were put on in the evenings for people staying there. The bathrooms were nice and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roof top patio was cool

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, no bed bugs

Disliked: beds were not very comfortable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the bathroom facilities.

Disliked: Rooms and kitchen too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriele Eirale

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 November 2012 Gabriele would recommend this property

Liked: Receptionist

Disliked: Some roommates

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionnist was helpful.

Disliked: Someone stole my food in the fridge.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Zaugg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Had a nice time at Boomerang Hostel. Staff were friendly and I got a free upgrade.. Free breakfast was the normal average bread and cornflakes only.. Wish i could of stayed longer.

Disliked: Breakfast had more variety! Roof open all night!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012

Liked: Rooftop, good place to party. Nice staff, and a lot of activity.

Disliked: Not any other places to hang out except rooftop, small rooms. Hot rooms with loud fans.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were nice. The bathrooms were good. Lots of hot water and clean. Free breakfast. Rooftop to drink on!

Disliked: No lockers in room. No room to store luggage in. Kinda sketchy.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kiefer Gasparovic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2012

Liked: Leaving...

Disliked: Staff was extremely rude and didn't know anything. A staff member stayed in my room and was drunk every night and wOuld barge in at 3 in the morning being super loud. He also was smoking in the room and his stuff was everywhere. I came back one night and the people in my room including the employee had gone through my things and the employee was wearing a bunch of my clothes and had my. All of my possessions were all over the room. I couldn't complain to anyone because everyone that worked there was like that and there was no management there at all the whole time I was there. I am a busker and some of my juggling equipment was stolen, I'm guessing when they decided to root through all my stuff and play with all my equipment. Also the bathrooms, dorms, kitchen, and front desk were all on different levels so there are lots of stairs to walk up and down all the time. There are crack heads, hookers, and prostitutes all over the area on the streets as well. For 30 dollars a night you can stay somehwere much better. Even with the Internet deal of 24 dollars a night it was not even close to being worth it. This is by far the worst hostel I have stayed in. I would never go back even if I was paid to and it made my time in Sydney very unenjoyable.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 March 2012

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: There was blood on one of the 'clean' bedsheets; the cleaner was eating food while she cleaned the bathroom; left luggage had to be left in the common room - no secure place to leave bags.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012

Liked: The location

Disliked: The staff first wanted us to pay to much... they didn't know how it worked with hostelbookers-bookings. We didn't get information about the free breakfast. And our key to the front door didn't work. And unfortunately we had the worst person you can ever emagened as our room mate and when we complaned about him to the staff they didn't do anything about it!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pascal FUSEAU

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 December 2011 Pascal would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: L

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011

Liked: Location; comfy mattress

Disliked: In dire need of redecorating - the entire place just looks dingy & dilapidated. Cockroaches in the bathroom. No WiFi & only one computer. People do not lock the dorm rooms which are cramped. Kitchen & rooftop closed very early.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chris Duering

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: not secure at all cuz everyone just leaves the doors open. extremely small and stuffed rooms, not enough power plug ins

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011

Liked: Rooftop was great aswell as a good central location.

Disliked: Very loud at night, including the hookers on the corner. Bathrooms not very clean and showers not very good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mercedes Rodriguez Peris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Mercedes would recommend this property

Liked: the situation and the good people you can find

Disliked: the young people not respect the silence to sleep, but not silence en william streeth, jajjajaj, if you want to sleep go to the mountains, jajajja

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Boomerang has a lot of character, the people are great and the location is unbeatable. Many of the occupants stay in the Boomerang longterm, and are extremely welcoming. At night everyone goes to the amazing roof and starts off with some drinks, after the group heads to the bars for free enterance and a free drink.

Disliked: They do not provide lockers. Your stuff will be in the room and it I felt safe leaving my things behind, but just know that your things will be out in the open. I personally locked my valuables away and no one every bothered any of my things.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Friendliest hostel i have stayed in. Nights out are organised every night.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a little dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nearby a lot of highlights of Sydney

Disliked: If you have bad luck, you will end up in a dorm in front of a very busy street. If so, bring your earplugs or get drunk every night. Beds are not that comfortable


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels