We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of City Central Budget Accommodation

Hostel | 707a George Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

71.5% Overall Rating

107 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2015)

Emanuele Lo Nardo thinks…

"Manager's can-do attitude is top notch, the staff is always trying to help you and meet your needs. The location couldn't be more central and desirable. Considering the price, it's a great place to…"

Read all City Central Budget Accommodation reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

1- Reception hours are 7am through 10pm 7 days a week. If you are arriving outside those hours you must contact us BEFORE the day of arrival to make arrangements. 2- We DO NOT have any female only dorms, you have booked a mixed dorm. 3- We always do our best to get you into a room together but when bookings are made one or two days before your arrival it is unrealistic to expect to be together For example if agency is showing we have 4 beds left in the 4 bed dorms, do not assume that we have a 4 bed dorm available it will more than likely be 4 random beds in different 4 bed dorms. Please email us BEFORE you make a booking to confirm this if it will be a problem.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

790 on George Backpackers
22.56 USD

Hostel 80.0% 422 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
35.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 259 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
38.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.9% 11 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
29.56 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1217 reviews
Railway Square YHA
30.34 USD

Hostel 86.2% 43 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
18.67 USD

Hostel 65.5% 397 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.45 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
21.39 USD

Hostel 71.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.5%

Overall Rating

107 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Central Budget Accommodation'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
68.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 152 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emanuele Lo Nardo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2015 Emanuele would recommend this property

Liked: Manager's can-do attitude is top notch, the staff is always trying to help you and meet your needs. The location couldn't be more central and desirable. Considering the price, it's a great place to stay in Sydney

Disliked: Emanuele left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi, good kitchen, good shopping, restaurants and bars outside, nice rooms, fridge in the room

Disliked: Only 1 shower and 2 toilets on every floor, wi-fi was good but did only worked in the kitchen area and the stairs.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2015

Liked: Location to the city and the price

Disliked: There are 2 showers in the entire building.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Vittorio Zecca

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015

Liked: Central near train station, free internet and coffee.

Disliked: No air conditioning, we had to keep room door open at night to sleep. Only one shower per floor, sometimes I had to wait.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2015

Liked: Cost, location

Disliked: Boiling hot rooms lack of toilets & Showers

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Nicholette Hudson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2015

Liked: Dvd, tv n fridge in room

Disliked: Wont wash clothes that dont go in the dryer because its agaist the rule to hang wet clothes in room. The manager told me very rudely there not a chinese laundry

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the money this a pretty decent hostel. I enjoyed the common room with the big screen tv and kitchen facilities as well as free wifi. I liked that each room had it's own fridge so you had no issues with stolen food. Beds were comfy. Manager working here was also very accommodating with room changes and holding on to luggage.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was the limited number of bathrooms plus showers for the amount of people staying here.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: dvd players tv free wifi

Disliked: lacked sofas in communal areas

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Luca Travaglini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015

Liked: A quiet hostel, in a very good position

Disliked: The bed was very dirty and there was just one bathroom in the property. Computers didn't work properly.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015

Liked: it's very cantral - but thats the only thing I liked about this hostel

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms, so in the morning you had to stay in a cue to get in. Also there were cockroaches in the bathrooms. There was no space to sit, because the rooms where that smal and in the kitchen were only 5 seats.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great right opposite central stati

Disliked: only two showers, one on each floor

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

isabel Bachem

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015

Liked: Free wifi and Computers and the Location ;)

Disliked: Smelly And unbelievable hot rooms ? don't feel welcomed there. The Problem was the tv in die rooms because Everyone was chilling infront of it ? And i can't sleep because it was so hot i cant really Breathe, and the guys in my Room watched tv till 3 am and don't wont to turn the light of :/ Worst hostel i've ever been !

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jay Ashcroft

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: A small common room lead to meeting people easily and a good atmosphere, free WiFi and computer use.

Disliked: only a few showers so at times you can be left waiting a while.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. The asian guy who cleans the hostal is so nice and friendly and cleans really every day all. Very clean, perfect.

Disliked: The asian lady at the reception is very unfriendly and rude.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul noonan

Alone

Business / conference

20 October 2014 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy little place.

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chihiro ohata

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 chihiro would recommend this property

Liked: everything was perfect.

Disliked: there are only few toilets and shower room...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maria Marino

Alone

Events / festivals

27 May 2014

Liked: Close to The station and cheap

Disliked: The rooms without a good air system and the toilets can be far especially at night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty clean for this price category. If thats what you are looking for I would recommend staying here.

Disliked: Small kitchen and few bathrooms but nothing too bad.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

rachel wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014

Liked: The location was great, the price was cheap and it has TV in the rooms

Disliked: The whole building is really dirty, there is only two bathrooms for the whole hostel and neither of them have working locks on the doors. The toilet doors have been pulled off as well. The lights don't work in the showers so you shower in the dark. The rooms - you get what you pay for. It smells of smoke, the kitchen is awful, dirty and really weird set up. The reception you have to knock on the door to ask something and they barely open it up then shut it in your face immediately after you have finished the conversation.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christine Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 April 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much all good

Disliked: Lack of bathrooms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lee Wei Ping

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 April 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: soso

Disliked: too noise

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sydney Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Sydney would recommend this property

Liked: Not too far of a walk from opera house and harbour bridge, free wifi and worked well, cheaper than others in the area, hot showers.

Disliked: 6 bed dorms get a little crammed for space, female owner seemed rude, two showers in entire building so the lines get long, nothing seemed fully clean.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014

Liked: Well location is ok, close to bus and train station, just next to the city. Good things is you don't need to share a room with 16 other backpackers, most rooms have 4 beds and it's really cheap.

Disliked: Well first of all, the thing that i didn't like most was UNFRIENDLY STAFF. I got there early, just when reception opened, between 7-8am, after 12 hour trip, being very tired and the woman who worked there was so unfriendly that when i left my suitcase and went to wait till 10am check-in time at starbucks, i was actually considering going to ANY other backpackers just so i wouldn't need to stay there. I've been backpacking for over a year, but no other staff i've even met has ever been so rude! I would never stay there again. Plus, if you have heavier suitcase, there's no lift, only really narrow stairs and the kitchen is very small for the whole hostel. As I understood there are a few people who live there long term, so if you're not planning to live there too, expect to be treated not so well by them.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels