We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of City Central Budget Accommodation

Hostel | 707a George Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

70.9% Overall Rating

96 out of 134 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

"Pretty clean for this price category. If thats what you are looking for I would recommend staying here."

Read all City Central Budget Accommodation reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

1- We DO NOT have any female only dorms, you have booked a mixed dorm. 2- We always do our best to get you into a room together but when bookings are made one or two days before your arrival it is unrealistic to expect to be together For example if agency is showing we have 4 beds left in the 4 bed dorms, do not assume that we have a 4 bed dorm available it will more than likely be 4 random beds in different 4 bed dorms. Please email us to confirm this if it will be a problem. **The minimum stay for New Years is 3 days (30-31-01 these exact 3 days). Once you make a booking we will charge the booking for the full amount after we get conformation via email that you understand you will be paying the full amount up front. Once booked we will send an email to confirm, if we do not get a response within 24 hours of the email we will cancel the booking. Please note once charged we cannot cancel or refund the booking in anyway nor for any reason.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

790 on George Backpackers
25.33 USD

Hostel 80.1% 415 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
34.93 USD

Hostel 88.3% 252 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
43.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 9 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
31.44 USD

Hostel 95.0% 1190 reviews
Railway Square YHA
34.06 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
21.83 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.9%

Overall Rating

96 out of 134 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Central Budget Accommodation'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
67.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 131 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul noonan

Alone

Business / conference

20 October 2014 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy little place.

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chihiro ohata

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 chihiro would recommend this property

Liked: everything was perfect.

Disliked: there are only few toilets and shower room...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maria Marino

Alone

Events / festivals

27 May 2014

Liked: Close to The station and cheap

Disliked: The rooms without a good air system and the toilets can be far especially at night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty clean for this price category. If thats what you are looking for I would recommend staying here.

Disliked: Small kitchen and few bathrooms but nothing too bad.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

rachel wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014

Liked: The location was great, the price was cheap and it has TV in the rooms

Disliked: The whole building is really dirty, there is only two bathrooms for the whole hostel and neither of them have working locks on the doors. The toilet doors have been pulled off as well. The lights don't work in the showers so you shower in the dark. The rooms - you get what you pay for. It smells of smoke, the kitchen is awful, dirty and really weird set up. The reception you have to knock on the door to ask something and they barely open it up then shut it in your face immediately after you have finished the conversation.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christine Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 April 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much all good

Disliked: Lack of bathrooms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lee Wei Ping

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 April 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: soso

Disliked: too noise

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sydney Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Sydney would recommend this property

Liked: Not too far of a walk from opera house and harbour bridge, free wifi and worked well, cheaper than others in the area, hot showers.

Disliked: 6 bed dorms get a little crammed for space, female owner seemed rude, two showers in entire building so the lines get long, nothing seemed fully clean.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014

Liked: Well location is ok, close to bus and train station, just next to the city. Good things is you don't need to share a room with 16 other backpackers, most rooms have 4 beds and it's really cheap.

Disliked: Well first of all, the thing that i didn't like most was UNFRIENDLY STAFF. I got there early, just when reception opened, between 7-8am, after 12 hour trip, being very tired and the woman who worked there was so unfriendly that when i left my suitcase and went to wait till 10am check-in time at starbucks, i was actually considering going to ANY other backpackers just so i wouldn't need to stay there. I've been backpacking for over a year, but no other staff i've even met has ever been so rude! I would never stay there again. Plus, if you have heavier suitcase, there's no lift, only really narrow stairs and the kitchen is very small for the whole hostel. As I understood there are a few people who live there long term, so if you're not planning to live there too, expect to be treated not so well by them.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, good price, seiuos about security. Great kitchen facilities and fridge on every room.

Disliked: Not much really considering the price.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the central You can find everything whatever you want to do

Disliked: Share Bathroom a little bit poor facility But always clean

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bettina Krausert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2014

Liked: not too expensive location in the city centre free internet fridge in room

Disliked: not very clean cockroachs too less bathrooms and toilets unfriendly staff, esp. the woman too small kitchen and too less tables / chairs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marcus Haigh

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 March 2014 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: It was a secure place to stay, staff were friendly & the rooms/bathroom/kitchen were cleaned daily.

Disliked: Only one bathroom per floor, not enough for the amount of people that can stay in the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

James griffiths

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Work / volunteering

03 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Foxtel Lockers

Disliked: Only 2 showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Mcintosh

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 March 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just near central station and on the main st George st I'm sydney !

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014

Liked: Its a pretty good location. The bed is comfortable. Some of the staff were very nice some were not.

Disliked: I thought the toilets and showers were pretty disgusting. The entrance door is always open with no code or anything=everybody can walk in. There is of cause Locks on the room doors - but people for some reason kept putting the garbagebin in the doorway so it wasn't closed. You do get a locker though which is good when everybody can just walk in if they want to.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blake Collins

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2014 Blake would recommend this property

Liked: For the price and the location it was certainly value for money

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Butler

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 January 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Surprisingly quiet at night and easy to sleep. Great location.

Disliked: Smell of cigarette smoke in some areas.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Eetu Välkkilä

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014

Liked: Bed was good

Disliked: Showers water preasure was very poor and the overall property is in very bad condition.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to downtown and rail station

Disliked: could use air condition in rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rebecca Mickelfield

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. TV and fridge in the dorm rooms and free computers with internet and free WiFi.

Disliked: Only 2 showers in the whole hostel. Rooms were very hot as above a restaurant. Very hard to sleep at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ava Outadi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Ava would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet hostel. Very central! Free wifi, tv and dvd player in rooms and huge selection of DVDs to borrow.

Disliked: The only downside, there's only 2 showers. One on each floor which shares it with one of the toilets... There's always kind of a line for the showers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and the fact that they have tv and fridge in the rooms. They also have free wifi which is accessible from any corners of the hostel, which was awesome!

Disliked: I was entertained by the female receptionist who is not very friendly and kinda rude at times, which really gets to my nerves (Well, to be honest, if she doesn't like meeting and greeting people, she might as well just quit and find other jobs. It's not that hard). The male receptionist is perfectly ok though. So, look up for the male receptionist. Also, it's kinda annoying that they only have 2 showers to cater for the whole hostel. I had to wait some time before there's a vacant shower. Plus, the hostel kinda smelled like cigarette for some weird reasons, but that's alright

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amanda Christiansen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the wifi was good even in our room, because almost all other hostels we've had to stay in the common room to get a decent signal. Also the beds were good and you had your own fridge and locker in the room. There was even a tv there but we never used it.

Disliked: There was no real place to hang out except your room and the kitchen was small with few seats. Also the people in the reception smoked in there so they made your laundry smell weird (they do your laundry in there)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Noting that it is a Backpackers style of accommodation, you get what you pay for:... Value for money. What I paid $25 per night in the middle of Sydney CBD and I had access to TV/DVD in a 4 x shared room was good. Cost for value received was very good. Location very close to Central rail station, cheap eateries and Darling Harbor Tourist area all convenient for the purpose of my trip to Sydney. Security was a concern to me initially, though possibly with any backpackers accommodation, there is a risk. I was with 3 x other long term-ers and all went perfectly well in that department.... They were very welcoming..

Disliked: With any accommodation with shared resources, showers, toilets etc. there are cleaning issues. When using facilities a little later than the crowd rush, not keen to use them. Though getting to the facilities a little earlier than the rush. The facilities were OK as the proprietor cleaners were diligent. Below QU: 7 is a not sure as there promotion area, for things like that was NOT big. The reception area was located upstairs and past the common room. Then you had a barrier door which you dealt with staff. So I will say NO.... Really it is a NOR SURE....


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels