HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of City Central Budget Accommodation Sydney

Hostel

707A George St, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 62%

Location 88%

Safety 75%

Staff 68%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Airport Transfers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

1- Reception hours are 7am through 10pm 7 days a week. If you are arriving outside those hours you must contact us BEFORE the day of arrival to make arrangements.

2- We DO NOT have any female only dorms, you have booked a mixed dorm.

3- We always do our best to get you into a room together but when bookings are made one or two days before your arrival it is unrealistic to expect to be together For example if agency is showing we have 4 beds left in the 4 bed dorms, do not assume that we have a 4 bed dorm available it will more than likely be 4 random beds in different 4 bed dorms. Please email us BEFORE you make a booking to confirm this if it will be a problem.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 62%

Location 88%

Safety 75%

Staff 68%

Value 72%

Showing 1-10 of 76 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great price

Disliked: Far too hot - one fan in the room was insufficient and made for an uncomfortable night.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The mattress was comfy. And the hostel was on George st right next to central station.

Disliked: Probably the Worst hostel I've stayed in over two yrs in Australia. The communal area is the kitchen/dining/internet room all in one. Which has 2 tables and about 7chairs. I had to eat dinner in my bunk bed every night. Drunk people filled the kitchen on my first night, I couldn't cook dinner. I just had a microwave meal, even then a drunk person smashed a glass and wine all over the floor and my feet. Loud and noisy. There are only TWO showers for the entire building! And they were gross. The dorm room door was always propped open as the long termers had lost their keys. The staff shud enforce this as I didnt like sleeping with the door open! Luckily their were lockers. I rarely saw the staff. They don't give u the WiFi password, the enter it on ur device themselves. So when my WiFi stopped working there was no one around to give me the password. Useless hostel. Over priced for what it is and I will not go back.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: There was free wifi and was located near central station and the main city

Disliked: Kitchen was filthy, no aircon in bedroom, room very smelly, fridge in bedroom smelt horrible!


The property's response is

We clean as much as possible, please keep in mind that some people in the dorms are not always as clean and tidy as you. Also please take time to read the information we put up on the booking sites, if your after a fully air conditioned room probably best not to book somewhere that does not have air conditioning at all in the first place.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The big lockers in the rooms, TV

Disliked: Very small kitchen and this is the only commun roomOnly 2 bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms were very spacious, with a sofa and fridge in the room which was good. Good kitchen with an oven.

Disliked: A little dirty and only two bathrooms between quite a lot of people!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Only 2 showers

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location is tops; cleaner abd tidier than I expected for the money; you meet lots of cool people because it's so small and almost family-like; kitchen has everything you need plus free tea and coffee it's super cheap!

Disliked: No real common area, just the kitchen with a TV, just 2 showers

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel is in city centre. Very convenient. Clean. Beds are quite new and comfortable. Not many people, so less parties. Cheap. Safety measures are good. Fridge and DVD player in rooms.

Disliked: Lack of shower room

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to central station, good working free wifi. Free internet on 2 computers in the common area.

Disliked: The common area is a bit small.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability