We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Cambridge Lodge

Hostel | 109 Cambridge Road, Stanmore, Sydney, Australia NSW 2048

72.3% Overall Rating

149 out of 161 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

"Great location if you are on a driving holiday easy parking out the front of the hostel. Close to Stanmore station."

Read all Cambridge Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Full payment for any bookings for the period from Dec 25th till Jan 3rd be made by Dec 1st

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Australian Sunrise Lodge
40.00 USD

Guesthouse 69.5% 22 reviews
Billabong Gardens
23.58 USD

Hostel 94.3% 3 reviews
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
21.83 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Glebe Point YHA
27.07 USD

Hostel 79.1% 105 reviews
Glebe Village Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 80.5% 130 reviews
Balmain Village
14.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
BB's Working Backpackers
15.72 USD

Hostel 61.3% 130 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
25.33 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

149 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cambridge Lodge'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 146 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Will recommend this place to all my friends

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location if you are on a driving holiday easy parking out the front of the hostel. Close to Stanmore station.

Disliked: Some noisy guests but managable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: WiFi good, kitchen was ok everything you need is there., the toilets are quite ok, and the double room is god as well. Is a good value for the money if you are thinking in a low budget stay though the train to Sydney will cost you 3.7$ single trip.

Disliked: Just small details: on the top of the wardrobe (really, really really dirty) minimun 3 months without cleaning on the top of that. Reception is closed after 7pm, payed 0.50$ to print 1 page (with 3lines) would be just nice detail if i would not pay, anyway (i wont get poor or rich about it, but is the small details) the guy in the reception was not helpful at all ( maybe a bad day, that is not guests problem) it just looked the people were working that for obligation and they have no boss (because they were not nice, helpful, and they "work" 3hoyrs a day). The furniture, deco, seats really need to be renewed, they look bad. It's a shame to have a place that could be so much more than it is.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rianna Fitzgerald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Rianna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the fact that is was just out of the city but not to far, I also enjoyed the company of other residents and the staff where really helpfully and nice.

Disliked: sometimes the water pressure in the showers was a little low

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house architecture was good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maiju Varimo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Maiju would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stay. Blackhaired reseptionist (girl) was supernice and friendly.

Disliked: The pressure of showers were poor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms had one toilet and shower so it was private. Showers and toilets kept clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpful

Disliked: Not close to CBD. But it definitely better than those at King CRoss.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really spacious double room, the kitchen was well stuffed (and renovated and reconditioned during our stay) and clean … very nice terrace and free WiFi (which is not for granted in most of the hostels we have seen so far)

Disliked: Showers ans toilets could have been cleaner … but thats probably not the fault of the hostel but just bad manners of other guests! A problem you might find in every hostel … unfortunately.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic! Really relaxing environment and pleasant to be in.

Disliked: I was a bit confused with the bathroom system at first, but hey sooo much room in them things!! Cheers guys!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen area was good, lots of fridge space and clean.

Disliked: Bathrooms were not clean, just a superficial clean rather than removing mould.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice building

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Matti Tornio

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2013

Liked: Not too loud at night, short walk to Stanmore train station

Disliked: Small rooms, breakfast was really basic. Showers didn't always have warm water. Very poor value for money compared to other hostels I have stayed in Sydney.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Heather Ens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2013

Liked: staff were friendly enough

Disliked: not a good location the sign is small and hidden by greenery-thought it was a bit difficult to find found this hostel to be extremely overpriced considering that there are cheaper hostels that are closer to the city centre thought there should be lockers or some way to lock valuables up washrooms/shower were not super clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephane Leger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 Stephane would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and free internet.

Disliked: Maybe a little far from the center.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victoria Nichols

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Near to Newtown and the rooms are very comfortable.

Disliked: The Internet was very slow.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Skerman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012

Liked: The free breakfast was great.

Disliked: I checked into a 6 dorm room and there was one other guest staying there who had left some belongings in there. I don't want to leave a long review but basically I had two very disturbed nights sleep due to this resident and a member of staff leaving the tv in the staff quarters on, whihc was very loud. To be fair to the staff they moved me into a different dorm because I didn't feel safe in the room as this guest, but I saw the guest coming out of another room close to mine twice very early in the morning, even after I moved. My point is that there were at least two guests who were intimidating on the property, one was overheard talking about being arrested for assult and was seen drinking at 7am by me and another guest, the other went to the toilet continually through the night with a spoon and a package- leading me to believe they were taking drugs. I understand that normally it is meant to be a quiet hostel but I think there is a danger that if guests like this remain or continue it could put off other guests. The wifi only worked 2 out of 4 days as well. The staff themselves were helpful, moving me and providing one nights refund but I feel the other guests made me feel unsafe and should have been removed/asked ot leave straight away.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast until 10.30 was awesome and we could park our car for free. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Free Wifi doesn't work very well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Nicolson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 July 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good overall

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antoine Samarut

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Antoine would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice place, we are really enjoy it! If we can back to visit Sydney that we will choose Cambridge again!

Disliked: We dont know that had breakfast service till the last day...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quite and centrally located, clean and homely.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erhan sirin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 erhan would recommend this property

Liked: all good

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place is nice and position of the Hostel is greate.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, free dinner on sundays, clean and friendly staff and free computer access(only one computer tho)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels