HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cambridge Lodge Budget Hostel Sydney Hostel

109 Cambridge Street, Stanmore, NSW 2048, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 80%

Location 78%

Safety 84%

Staff 86%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Full payment for any bookings for the period from Dec 25th till Jan 3rd be made by Dec 1st

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 80%

Location 78%

Safety 84%

Staff 86%

Value 83%

Showing 31-10 of 10 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I have never seen such a friendly staff in Sydney before. Lovely hostel with a sunny veranda, free breakfast and wifi. There are many of seperate clean bathrooms with toilet and shower, which you can lock. You have a clothes line, can save money for the dryer and it is just a 9 minutes trip to the city. :) Great. I would recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: Maybe that I have to wait for 10 minutes for a bathroom. But that was not that problem.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Wonderful staff who are always keen to help and make the best of your stay. Free breakfast, coffee, tea and towel a HUGE plus! Also enjoyed having somewhere quiet to come back to after a busy day touring around Sydney. Great location near local stores and pucs, as well.

Disliked: The internet never seemed to work, which was difficult. Location is a couple stops outside of main city center rail stops, which some people may not be aware of or want, but I didn't mind. Also didn't provide anything in terms of promoting interaction with its guests, which some younger travelers may be looking for. Also no locks or anywhere to keep valuables.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Not to much people in the building, nice room

Disliked: The room was not really clean

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The breakfast was very good, as there were three different cereals and lots of toasts and jam, peanutbutter etc.

Disliked: The wifi didn't work very well, just temporarily and even then pretty bad.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Free Wifi and breakfast a real bonus. Clean, comfortable and conveniently located (train station a short walk away which gets you staight into the City / Circular Quay).

Disliked: sometimes the internet connection was very slow.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff, and good breakfast consisting of cereals toast loadfs of jams and marmelades, coffee and tea. It was very clean.

Disliked: Not the typical backpacker atmosphere, but great for pensioneers!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The fridge in the room was good and also the wardrobe.

Disliked: The room was not cleaned during my whole stay! And the wifi didn't work. You always needed a cable for getting (very slow) internet.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Th staff were awesome they really made our stay worthwhile, the room was really comfortable and it was a short walk to the train station. My gf and I came down for the night so we could stay in sydney and will definitely be staying again!

Disliked: Nothing, it was a great place to stay and there was nothing bad to report

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My first stay at a hostel and it was a very good choice!

Disliked: I pretty much liked everything.nice staff...very friendly and helpful..and had free internet..thats important

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice big property with character, comfy bed, TV and sink in room, fairly near airport (via taxi)

Disliked: No heating and room didn't lock

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thanks for your comments!
We're currently working on getting heaters in all the rooms but do supply them when asked.
As for the lock on your door, all rooms operate on an automatic locking system for added security. To make sure you're not left out in the cold, they take a full 3 mins to lock in case you need to get back into your room!
Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you next time, :) Alexis

Check Availability