We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Cambridge Lodge

Hostel | 109 Cambridge Road, Stanmore, Sydney, Australia NSW 2048

74.2% Overall Rating

152 out of 164 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/02/2015)

"* Closeness to public transport. Convenient to places I wanted to visit * the continental breakfast was convenient * the outdoor seating areas were open and nice * the lady on reception- Zorica was friendly and…"

Read all Cambridge Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Full payment for any bookings for the period from Dec 25th till Jan 3rd be made by Dec 1st

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Australian sunrise lodge
18.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Billabong Gardens
20.07 USD

Hostel 83.6% 8 reviews
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
14.34 USD

Hostel 69.3% 4 reviews
Glebe Point YHA
22.23 USD

Hostel 78.6% 107 reviews
VLA Glebe
17.92 USD

Hostel 77.9% 135 reviews
Balmain Village
10.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Central Accommodation
19.36 USD

Hostel 77.9% 48 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
28.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.2%

Overall Rating

152 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cambridge Lodge'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 149 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kher shin tee

Alone

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2010 kher shin would recommend this property

Liked: not too far away from the city if you want to stay at some quite hostel far from party animal. homely environment, very spacious, good breakfast compare to other hostel i stayed in Australia. very helpful manager. bathroom always clean.

Disliked: nope. i like it there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Bastos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, structure, restrooms and a great location: close to the subway. I recommend!

Disliked: Bruno left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cambridge Lodge is a really peaceful place, far from the croweded King Cross but close to Newtown and its nigtlife.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, safe area, clean facilities

Disliked: lots of students and not so many backpackers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed three nights at the Cambridge Lodge and enjoyed every of it. Keith and his team is some of the friendliest and most helpful hostel teams we've met during our entire journey. While not located in downtown Sydney, it is just a 5 minutes ride away with the CityRail. In walking distance is the Newtown district with its plethora of bars, clubs and restaurants.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinna Doyle

30 April 2010 Corinna would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a fantastic place to stay, in a really nice quiet area, but right beside the train station so it only takes 10 minutes to get into the CBD, and all the cafes and shops in Newtown and Enmore are just up the road. The staff are really friendly and the rooms are really good value for money, having a tv in our double was a plus, as was the free breakfast. Not a party hostel, but a really lovely, clean, relaxing place. I´ve stayed there twice and would definitely do so again.

Disliked: Corinna left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was in a quiet neighborhood. Close to transportation, also cabs aren't too expensive to get to most destinations. Not in the heart of the city, though, so if that's what you're looking for, I might suggest someplace else. Great nightlife in Newtown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Reid

01 March 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I was impressed with the accomodation because it was very clean and comfortable as well as being situated in a pleasant area of Sydney. The thing that impressed me the most was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff which made a lasting impression on me. I would definately stay here again and certainly recomend it to others.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean rooms and bathrooms, everything was just as it said it would be.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location just outside of the city center. right next to newtown which is full of resturants and bars, brilliant place. 2 minute walk from stamore station that takes you into central in about 10 mins. rooms are a good size with a fan, tv, fridge, internet etc. staff very friendly and helpful! make you feel very welcome.only bad point would be that there's this bloody bird singing at 6am everyday that woke me up but apart from that (doesn't really matter...) its all good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly,always willing to help and offer advice.. best hostel we have stayed in so far...room was nice-had our own TV,fridge,sink,wi-fi etc...free breakfast which was really good as you had many options to choose from...enjoyed our stay for the week and would highly recommend it to anyone!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: STAY HERE!!! This hostel is by far the best place to stay in sydney, it has a fab atmosphere, its super clean, fresh towels and linen, super friendly and for us was in a good location. its a 2 min walk to newtown (good for a night out) its a 2 minute walk to the station, 5 min train to the city center ( if your staying in sydney for a week grab yourself a weeks train pass $29 , saves you loads) the hostel provides you with free breakfast, different cereals, toast, free tea and coffee and lots condiments, lots of kitchen utensils. The best part about this hostel is keith and cindy, they have been brilliant with us helping us book decent hostels,places to see etc..... they sit and chat with everyone..... we met some fanatsic people ... i could go on forever!! But this hostel is not for everyone and if you want a constant party head to the city center, however this hostel has the best of both world, you can not go wrong :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Darren Parkin

12 January 2010 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: good room and batghroom free breakfast and tea and coffee- quite a distance from the city

Disliked: Darren left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a great place, the stuff is just brilliant and we felt really at home and safe :) we would recomment this lodge to really everybody, we didn't want to leave.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean hostel, close to the train station and not too noisy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is sat in a good location just outside Circular Quay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Louis Malinowski

04 September 2009 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: It's a quiet hostel but nice for a short stay and the staff are friendly.

Disliked: Louis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annemarie Nelson

23 August 2009 Annemarie would recommend this property

Liked: I thought Cambridge Lodge was reasonably priced, a good location, being very close to the city, particularly if you don't want to be right in the city. Keith was very helpful and good value, after all he is a fellow Kiwi!I would have no hesitation in recommending Cambridge Lodge to others should they need accomodation in Sydney

Disliked: Annemarie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: situated only 5 min away from next train station, free breakfast provided, friendly staff, clean bathroom facilities, quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like my room, with tv and internet access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

GUANG QIN SUN

16 July 2009 GUANG QIN would recommend this property

Liked: It provides the TV and fridge in the private room, very convenient!!!

Disliked: GUANG QIN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very heplful during mt time there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wendy Baker

18 June 2009 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Host was very helpful and hostel was spotless.

Disliked: Wendy left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels