HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cambridge Lodge Budget Hostel Sydney

Hostel

109 Cambridge Street, Stanmore, NSW 2048, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 72%

Safety 81%

Staff 84%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Full payment for any bookings for the period from Dec 25th till Jan 3rd be made by Dec 1st

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 72%

Safety 81%

Staff 84%

Value 80%

Showing 11-12 of 12 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff is very helpful

Disliked: Not close to CBD. But it definitely better than those at King CRoss.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were fantastic! Really relaxing environment and pleasant to be in.

Disliked: I was a bit confused with the bathroom system at first, but hey sooo much room in them things!! Cheers guys!!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We had a really spacious double room, the kitchen was well stuffed (and renovated and reconditioned during our stay) and clean … very nice terrace and free WiFi (which is not for granted in most of the hostels we have seen so far)

Disliked: Showers ans toilets could have been cleaner … but thats probably not the fault of the hostel but just bad manners of other guests! A problem you might find in every hostel … unfortunately.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the kitchen area was good, lots of fridge space and clean.

Disliked: Bathrooms were not clean, just a superficial clean rather than removing mould.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice building

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Not too loud at night, short walk to Stanmore train station

Disliked: Small rooms, breakfast was really basic. Showers didn't always have warm water. Very poor value for money compared to other hostels I have stayed in Sydney.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: staff were friendly enough

Disliked: not a good locationthe sign is small and hidden by greenery-thought it was a bit difficult to findfound this hostel to be extremely overpriced considering that there are cheaper hostels that are closer to the city centrethought there should be lockers or some way to lock valuables upwashrooms/shower were not super clean

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The cleanliness and free internet.

Disliked: Maybe a little far from the center.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Near to Newtown and the rooms are very comfortable.

Disliked: The Internet was very slow.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The free breakfast was great.

Disliked: I checked into a 6 dorm room and there was one other guest staying there who had left some belongings in there. I don't want to leave a long review but basically I had two very disturbed nights sleep due to this resident and a member of staff leaving the tv in the staff quarters on, whihc was very loud. To be fair to the staff they moved me into a different dorm because I didn't feel safe in the room as this guest, but I saw the guest coming out of another room close to mine twice very early in the morning, even after I moved. My point is that there were at least two guests who were intimidating on the property, one was overheard talking about being arrested for assult and was seen drinking at 7am by me and another guest, the other went to the toilet continually through the night with a spoon and a package- leading me to believe they were taking drugs. I understand that normally it is meant to be a quiet hostel but I think there is a danger that if guests like this remain or continue it could put off other guests. The wifi only worked 2 out of 4 days as well. The staff themselves were helpful, moving me and providing one nights refund but I feel the other guests made me feel unsafe and should have been removed/asked ot leave straight away.

Check Availability