HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Cambridge Lodge

Hostel | 109 Cambridge Road, Stanmore, Sydney, Australia NSW 2048

72.3% Overall Rating

149 out of 161 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

"Great location if you are on a driving holiday easy parking out the front of the hostel. Close to Stanmore station."

Read all Cambridge Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Full payment for any bookings for the period from Dec 25th till Jan 3rd be made by Dec 1st

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Australian Sunrise Lodge
42.83 USD

Guesthouse 69.5% 22 reviews
Billabong Gardens
25.25 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
18.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Haven Inn Sydney
40.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 121 reviews
Glebe Point YHA
28.06 USD

Hostel 79.1% 105 reviews
Glebe Village Backpackers
21.51 USD

Hostel 80.2% 129 reviews
Balmain Village
8.42 USD

Campsite Not yet rated
BB's Working Backpackers
9.35 USD

Hostel 65.0% 128 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

149 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cambridge Lodge'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 146 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have never seen such a friendly staff in Sydney before. Lovely hostel with a sunny veranda, free breakfast and wifi. There are many of seperate clean bathrooms with toilet and shower, which you can lock. You have a clothes line, can save money for the dryer and it is just a 9 minutes trip to the city. :) Great. I would recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: Maybe that I have to wait for 10 minutes for a bathroom. But that was not that problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff who are always keen to help and make the best of your stay. Free breakfast, coffee, tea and towel a HUGE plus! Also enjoyed having somewhere quiet to come back to after a busy day touring around Sydney. Great location near local stores and pucs, as well.

Disliked: The internet never seemed to work, which was difficult. Location is a couple stops outside of main city center rail stops, which some people may not be aware of or want, but I didn't mind. Also didn't provide anything in terms of promoting interaction with its guests, which some younger travelers may be looking for. Also no locks or anywhere to keep valuables.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not to much people in the building, nice room

Disliked: The room was not really clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 December 2011

Liked: The breakfast was very good, as there were three different cereals and lots of toasts and jam, peanutbutter etc.

Disliked: The wifi didn't work very well, just temporarily and even then pretty bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claire howarth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 claire would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Free Wifi and breakfast a real bonus. Clean, comfortable and conveniently located (train station a short walk away which gets you staight into the City / Circular Quay).

Disliked: sometimes the internet connection was very slow.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011

Liked: The fridge in the room was good and also the wardrobe.

Disliked: The room was not cleaned during my whole stay! And the wifi didn't work. You always needed a cable for getting (very slow) internet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jeremias Bauer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Jeremias would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, and good breakfast consisting of cereals toast loadfs of jams and marmelades, coffee and tea. It was very clean.

Disliked: Not the typical backpacker atmosphere, but great for pensioneers!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Grant

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

10 October 2011 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Th staff were awesome they really made our stay worthwhile, the room was really comfortable and it was a short walk to the train station. My gf and I came down for the night so we could stay in sydney and will definitely be staying again!

Disliked: Nothing, it was a great place to stay and there was nothing bad to report

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

tori austin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 tori would recommend this property

Liked: My first stay at a hostel and it was a very good choice!

Disliked: I pretty much liked everything.nice staff...very friendly and helpful..and had free internet..thats important

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big property with character, comfy bed, TV and sink in room, fairly near airport (via taxi)

Disliked: No heating and room didn't lock

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the train station. very clean place with very friendly staff! went out of their way to make my stay a comfortable one. i will definitely recommend this place to other travellers.

Disliked: no lift.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cambridge Lodge is kept beautifully clean with a lovely friendly staff who foster a community spirit.

Disliked: Cambridge Lodge was the best value for money in this price range and what may have been lacking in any other area was more than made up for by being treated as a person first and not just a booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, nice kitchen with cereal, toast for breakfast ........ the staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisa Wörmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

27 May 2011 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can't fault this hostel. The manager Keith is excellent and really looks after you. Great bunch of people living at the hostel too. Generally a great place to stay, definitely reccommended!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew George

Alone

Events / festivals

29 April 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. I accidentally booked for the wrong day, but when I rang reception they changed my booking without hassle or fuss. I also arrived two hours later than I indicated I would arrive, and though it was late I still got the guided tour from a very friendly staff member. There was also free breakfast, which I had no idea was on offer and was a very pleasant suprise. Also, although I think the building itself is old, there were nice modern refurbishments in most of the bathrooms which were decidedly fancy for a hostel, especially a budget one.

Disliked: Nothing. In terms of location, it was far from the CBD, and that might be an issue for some travellers depending upon their itinerary; but it was very, very close to a train station and in addition it was only 20 mins from where I personally needed to be the next day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was very helpful when I had issues with other guests in my room. The hostel itself was clean, and I liked the feel of the surrounding neighborhood. (Not right in the center of the city, but there's a train station nearby.)

Disliked: The receptionist was extremely slow, and the other guests weren't friendly at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to settle down, we had a two bunk room but no one else checked in with us all week so we had a whole room to ourselves with a TV, fridge and closet! It'd be a great place if you're wanting settle in Sydney for work or studies. Not far from grocery store or train station.

Disliked: Kitchen was small, very quiet, which isn't a problem but there wasn't much to do, very glad we had a TV in our room!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil potter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Really welcoming, super friendly and helpful staff! Felt at home right away. Comfy, clean rooms and free wifi was much appreciated. The hostel is also in a great location, quiet area close to train to town and Newtown nightlife. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing of significance!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Chambers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet, very chilled out hostel, very friendly owner who helped me out when I was a jet lagged mess.

Disliked: -

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of all staff, reasonably priced (for Sydney), refrigerator, tv, Internet in room, okay twin bed. Decent cooking and washing facilities. Quiet at night, not a "party place". Safe and family friendly.

Disliked: Some of the rooms are very small, all single beds and all closets are. All showers are communal, functional but not exactly very clean. Located in a residential area and a minimum 10-12min walk from *any* shops and buses. WIFI wasn't working. The Stanmore district lies directly in the final approach path to Sydney International Airport - e.g. the 747 from Singapore descends directly overhead at about 500ft at 6.30am!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zoe Kalenderidis

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 March 2011 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed for 3 nights in a 3 bed dorm, reasonably clean and welcoming atmosphere. The hostel was very quiet even though there were many travellers staying. Keith is a lovely and extremely helpful guy. Excellent location, close to Newtown. Thanks and see you next time!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, but don't expect a hotel-type room if you book a private room - it's definitely a backpackers.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Fiona Davidson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Keith is very helpful and laid back - we had only booked three nights but as we couldn't find an apartment straight away we ended up staying for two weeks, so our stay became a day-to-day rolling thing which he was very relaxed about. It might have been more of a hassle elsewhere. There's a nice area out back to sit. Beds are clean enough. Location is very close to stanmore station and a ten minute walk to enmore and newtown.

Disliked: It's just hostel residents who clean the rooms and if people haven't moved their stuff off the floor it sometimes just isn't done, or done well. There's a sort of curfew at 10.30pm meaning you can't sit in the common areas anymore and even if you sit across in the park you're shooed away.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rob Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Keith was very friendly and helped you out in whatever way possible. The breakfast was standard, but it was nice to never have to worry about going to get food in the morning. Felt very safe and there was never a problem going to sleep when you wanted to.

Disliked: Probably not the best for people looking to party.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels