HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Brado's Backpackers

Hostel | 34-36A Darlinghurst Rd, Kings Cross (potts point), Sydney, Australia 2011

62.2% Overall Rating

56 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2014)

Jazmine Ioane thinks…

"Free wifi is great. People are very friendly and welcoming. Good location. Had an awesome time."

Read all Brado's Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

-------------------- Brado's Terms and Conditions ----------------------- *All bookings for minimum night stay periods must be payed in full from the 1st date of booking. Christmas and New Years 2011: All guests wishing to stay at Brado's for Christmas and/or New Years are required to book from 20/12/10 to 3/1/11 minimum. Brado's has a special 14 day itinerary for guests staying with Brado's for this period. You may book nights before or after these dates extra but you must also book and pay for the 14 night period. There is also no refunds or cancellations for bookings over this period after the 1st December 2011. All booking must be paid in full by 1st December 2011. No Show bookings will be billed for the full amount if not canceled by the 1st December 2011. *Brado's is a hostel for international travelers with a foreign passport only. Thank you for your understanding.*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Funk House Backpackers
27.90 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews
Hump Backpackers
21.39 USD

Hostel 80.3% 36 reviews
Springfield Lodge
49.75 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Backpackers HQ
22.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 80 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
31.62 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross
28.83 USD

Hostel 84.5% 119 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
23.25 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.11 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.2%

Overall Rating

56 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Brado's Backpackers'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
34.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jazmine Ioane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 Jazmine would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi is great. People are very friendly and welcoming. Good location. Had an awesome time.

Disliked: When your too drunk to climb onto your bunk bed BUT your room mates are so friendly they let you spoon with them haha

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014

Liked: deco is great but it is the only thing which is good in this place

Disliked: everything: crappy room, crappy bathrooms, crockroach, dirty floors, dirty beds, dirty bathrooms...noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: Dirty bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Ledwidge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 February 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved the atmosphere in Brado's. The people were absolutely awesome, always having a laugh and there was always something going on at the hostel!!!! It's in a great location in Kings Cross, 10 minutes from the city and 10 minutes away from. Bondi on the train! You have to stay here.

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 February 2014

Liked: the people who I met

Disliked: animals and dirty everywhere

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jessica Cosgrove

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014

Liked: Free unlimited wifi that didn't cut out.

Disliked: It was filthy, and It tended to have more long term stay backpackers, and it wasn't really that good for a lone backpacker. I only stayed one night because I didn't like the custom of holding the hostel room door open with a shoe or something else so people were coming in and out of the hostel room at all hours of the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom hannah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 January 2014 tom would recommend this property

Liked: I like how it gave you the ability to meet new people

Disliked: tom left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2014

Liked: The people staying there

Disliked: Everything was unclean and dirty. There were midgies flying around the bathroom all the time. Beds were unsafe as they didn't have sides to them. Staff were very rude.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a problem with the booking through Hostelbookers, The hostel itsself were very helpful in keeping me informed on the suitation regarding bed availability and when there was nothing available they accommodated us in the TV room free of charge. I appriciate there help with this, its an unfortunate suitation but they delt with it well

Disliked: It looks clean but the dorms are not maintained at all, its a pity there is great potental it just seems as if they dont care regarding the condition of the dorms. It would be simple to bring it up a notch and I feel they would recieve better reviews. Other hostels in the area are in better condition re: cleaning, storage and condition.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013

Liked: Staff was realy nice and helpful

Disliked: Dirty, broken sinks, broken windows, broken showers ... It is all in a bad situation!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a friendly atmosphere, good place to make friends and have a good time. Free WiFi, awesome location

Disliked: It was quite messy, there are a lot of long term people who have their things everywhere and the kitchen was a bit weird but if you don't mind a bit of dirt and clutter its a good spot

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

nakita schmid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 nakita would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and did their best to accommodate early/late check in/out

Disliked: unfortunately there was a huge stressful communication problem! the phone rang but the lines were apparently down and email wasn't working. very stressfull at the time but was sorted through facebook. And it was a little tricky to find as I wasn't expecting it to be hidden in on the side street- maybe an extra sign would help?

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Cristina Rossi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly atmosphere, easy to socialize and staff is helpful and many activities organized for guest to hang out

Disliked: quite dirty and stinky, facilities mostly broken

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013

Liked: Location and breakfast.

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms, noisy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013

Liked: Cheap price

Disliked: Dirty. Bathroom very poor. Kitchen area in bedroom makes it smelly.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Kah Fai Hong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 Kah Fai would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and it's very near the train station. There's internet.

Disliked: Tiny dorm rooms. Spartan breakfast though one can't complain given the price. Light in a toilet and the lock ain't working but that's all right.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: let me check in really late, and check out really early

Disliked: bathroom was absolutely gross

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Oanh Ta

Alone

Events / festivals

26 September 2013 Oanh would recommend this property

Liked: 1) Beautifull murrals. 2) Convenient location 3) Staff are knowledgeable, friendly and helpfull 4) Window and sunshine in the shower room 5) Birds singing in the morning outside my room

Disliked: 1) bugs in my room, 2) dripping water and broken faucet in my shower room 3) Staff recommendations for fixing these above problems but it was not fixed. 4) No recycle bins 5) No resource book for Sydney and other city public transportation.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013

Liked: free wifi; worked everywhere. free breakfast; offered the greatest variety than any other hostel i've stayed in.

Disliked: the building is clearly under renovation, with spray paint cans, ladders etc all over the place. showers (2 per floor, when working) and sinks were out of order. no handwash was provided. not the hostel's fault obviously, but some guests were dirty and never washed up/cleaned after themselves, so the kitchen was a constant mess

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sisse Bertelsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Sisse would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly atmosphere. Everything is basically what you would expect from a hostel.

Disliked: It was pretty dirty - but they just got new owners and were clearly in the process of improving. A lot of cleaning going on during our stay. Kitchen could be better equipped.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: It was disgusting and dirty, the rooms smelt and clearly hadn't been cleaned. There were cockroaches climbing up the bed and we had no pillow so had to sleep on our bags . Our sheets were stolen by our room mates when we went out and we told reception but they said its not there responsibility.we booked a airport shuttle with them and it never turned up so were late for our flight and the hostel said its not there problem it never turned up. The people in our room were also workers so they made the room like a bedroom with thee clothes hanging everywhere and dirty laundry hanging all round the room, they also sat up drinking until 1am in the room with there music on full blast knowing we had to get up at. 4am. Reception didn't apologise when we left , worst night sleep ever. The building is basically a building site with nothing painted and screwdrivers, plaster and random old mattresses and pillows on the top of the stairs. There is no lift and it has 2sets of steep stairs to every floor so it was very hard bringing stuff to the third floor. The luggage room wasn't a proper storage room it was like a empty small room with rubble on the floor and a blood stain on the wall.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013

Liked: I liked how they were remodeling the building and painting the walls. The rooms were good size and they had pretty much most things people need. Staff there was really lovely and helpful.

Disliked: I did not expect much from the cheapest hostel I could find. However I did expect to find a sink where I could brush my teeth. The room I stayed was horrible mess, but this is not the hostels fault, the other guest were quite disgusting and really inconsiderate. Also, I did expect to be able to close the bedroom window, Sydney gets quite cold on winter nights.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013

Liked: Only good things - free wifi and luggage storage for the next day

Disliked: Not very clean. Kitchen could have been nice, but there were no clean dishes available - there was big pile of dirty ones in the sink though. Room occupants left door unlocked, 'locker' was a bit of a joke, sign on bathroom sink that said 'out of order' but used it anyway because it still worked. Hot shower, so that was good, but no lock on shared bathroom door - sliding glass door w/ a shower curtain for privacy. Only sheets & pillow provided - no blanket. For $20 you get a pretty cheap place, but would reccommend to pay a few more bucks for something decent.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap!

Disliked: Party place

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

James MacPherson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 May 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of backpackers in a friendly environment that is conducive for meeting fellow travellers and like minded people.

Disliked: It was dirtier then most hostels I've been too and cockroaches were evident. Also the lounge room for ratting and watching tv had only two picnictables to sit at.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels