We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel | 110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

89.7% Overall Rating

149 out of 152 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Thomas Donnelly thinks…

"The hostel was big, friendly and had lots of excellent extras such as a free food shelf with things people had left behind. The staff were helpful and the rooftop terrace offered amazing views of the…"

Read all Sydney Harbour YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.90

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
18.07 USD

Hostel 72.7% 522 reviews
Maze Backpackers
19.88 USD

Hostel 78.7% 611 reviews
Base Sydney
29.82 USD

Hostel 77.1% 427 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
17.17 USD

Hostel 67.9% 453 reviews
City Resort Hostel
21.68 USD

Hostel 51.0% 310 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
19.88 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Glenferrie Lodge
35.69 USD

Hostel 85.4% 9 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.78 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

149 out of 152 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sydney Harbour YHA'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 150 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location easy access to main tourist sites

Disliked: Quite expensive for a backpacker. Nothing is thoughtfully free eg printing a bus ticket. Have to pay for wifi on the computer despite already paying for my phone and then having to pay to print it off.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Donnelly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was big, friendly and had lots of excellent extras such as a free food shelf with things people had left behind. The staff were helpful and the rooftop terrace offered amazing views of the city. I recommens taking a bottle up there for a cheap and peaceful sydney evening.

Disliked: We had a private room with towels etc. Extra or changed towels would have been nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the rooftop is incredible, and having the open-air space to enjoy dinner or a glass of wine was awesome. Rooms were clean and showers had good pressure and temperature. The secure lockers had electrical outlets inside so you can recharge your devices without having to leave them out; there was also an outlet beside each bed and others easily accessible around the room. Reception was 24 hours and convenient, and the location can't be beat for accessing the quay and city centre shops.

Disliked: The people in my room were friendly, but it was a bit uncomfortable that I was the only female in a room with 3 men, including one in his sixties. Wi-fi was expensive and staff weren't overly friendly; I also didn't find it easy to meet other people whereas I made friends instantly at another hostel I switched to.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lim Sin Yee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Lim would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No free wifi and locker for luggage.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Dempster

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

05 May 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean, tidy and perfect for what was required. The locker facilities were also great.

Disliked: We requested early check-in however this was not available.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing overlooking the harbour. It was also really close to all the main attractions. We were in a dorm which had lockers so our stuff was safe but even better there was plugs in the lockers so we could charge things safely. The bathroom was cleaned every day and the staff were all really helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is without doubt one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The rooms are wonderfully spacious and safe. The location is perfect and the views from the room are picturesque. The staff are wonderfully accommodating (even when my breakfast was taken from the communal fridge, it was replace by the staff using their own products). the age range of guests is diverse and everyone seems friendly and warm. It is hard to describe this location as a hostel as it really does exceed the definition. Wonderful!

Disliked: This is the only accommodation I can honestly say I have absolutely no dislikes. I guess the only inconvenience is requesting aircon to be switched on daily, but it is understandable to avoid wasting electricity when rooms are vacant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeremy Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the nicest hostel I have ever been to. Nice, new, clean facilities, en suite bathrooms/showers in every room, and a great lounge and kitchen. Also an awesome rooftop area with a 5-star view of the Opera House and Harbor Bridge. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Whoever designed the hostel clearly knows what backpackers want/need and they definitely delivered!

Disliked: Price is a bit higher than most hostels, but Sydney is an expensive city so it's hard to complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was a fantastic place to stay, and by far superior to the other YHA hostels we experienced in Sydney. Worth the price difference, and the wifi was half the price of some of the other hostels. We wished we had spent all our time here. The facilities and location were top notch, the staff were great and welcoming, and easy to go to for any problem which was immediately resolved, such as room keys not working etc. The room was lovely and clean, and pleasant to stay in. A concrete 10/10.

Disliked: Absolutely Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Great rates for a party of 8. All conveniences a traveller could need. Value for money food. The Rocks a great location. We stayed overnight and joined the cruise next day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Malcolm Ordish

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Malcolm would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything was good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view was AMAZING!! Also it was very clean and the location was excellent.

Disliked: One member of staff was not very friendly when we checked in. This was a bit frustrating. Our friends also were staying for two days with us and then in a different room on the third day. When they asked about storing their luggage for the day they were told that they would have to pay to store it for the three hours or so in between. This seemed a bit unfair since they were still technically guests of the hotel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing! The hostel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: They did not provide locks for the lockers or free towels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean facilities, helpful staff, fantastic location.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to everything. Cool view of the old rocks foundations.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived they refused entry of another person due to bad history from another YHA hostel, so that made me assured they wern't willing to take anyone. Staff were very helpful and it was in a good location.

Disliked: The price was a bit high as wifi, breakfast, luggage storage were not included in the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Audrey Kim

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2013 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view from the rooftop that everyone can share. Staff are amazing and I never had to wait to ask them a question. Common areas are clean and tidy and the rooms are really nice and made me wonder why I pay so much for a hotel.

Disliked: would have liked one linen or towwel change during the stay or a screen for the window so I could open it without worrying that bugs would fly in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Barron

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: This YHA has everything convenience you can think of and it's a great location on Sydney Harbour.

Disliked: It was perfect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terrific location, easy to get everywhere. There are a lot of steps to climb but it's worth it. Good pubs and restaurants close by. Good food on offer at the hostel. Very clean. Large rooms. Lovely staff. Plenty of information on public transport, tours and things to do. Good airport shuttle service.

Disliked: It's a small thing, but the doors could really do with 'soft close'hinges - you can hear a lot of comings and goings late at night and early in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and clean!!! Right on the rocks with an amazing view of the Harbour bridge and the opera house from the roof. Lovely and quiet at night with very comfortable clean rooms and beds. It's so well located to everything that you could possibly want by foot & close to public transport. I have been to many many hostels around the word and all over Europe... and I have to say that my stay at the Sydney Harbour YHA was in my top 5. I had a wonderful time and will be recommend it to all my friend and family.

Disliked: nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof top terrace is really nice. the dorm rooms are spacious and cleam

Disliked: Could do with a bigger TV room. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, but one was quite rude and unhelpful. But you probably get that everywhere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason ziaei

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

26 February 2013 jason would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, very helpful and friendly staff. Great price!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooftop balcony, cinema and tv room, ensuite bathrooms in rooms but best of all the location. Right near the harbour and major travel links to city sites!!

Disliked: Nothing!! But make sure to take the train to the airport or allow 1-1.5 hours by bus!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is incredible... Absolutely prime! It is also super spacious, and the ensuite bathrooms are a treat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Audrey Arbaud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 January 2013 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well-appointed. I liked having a room with a bathroom. Very good location.

Disliked: A little bit expansive for students like me, but it is a very good acomodation, so I can't complain too much ;)


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels