We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel | 110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

89.3% Overall Rating

152 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

"Perfect location, nice travelers of all ages, nice and helpful staff, good chill-out area"

Read all Sydney Harbour YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.78

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
17.15 USD

Hostel 67.3% 550 reviews
Maze Backpackers
20.27 USD

Hostel 75.7% 642 reviews
Base Sydney
22.61 USD

Hostel 76.7% 437 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
15.59 USD

Hostel 66.5% 468 reviews
City Resort Hostel
14.03 USD

Hostel 45.6% 317 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
19.49 USD

Hostel 66.1% 78 reviews
Glenferrie Lodge
29.23 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 9 reviews
Strattons Hostel
14.81 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

152 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sydney Harbour YHA'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 153 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Shopping

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Nice view at looftop, Nice lication

Disliked: Bit expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jacquelyn Valladares

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

22 October 2010 Jacquelyn would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my room and the view of the Opera House and Harbour was beautiful. I like that they have activities every night for the guests all of which were very fun and a great way to meet other travelers. Great spacious bathroom with hairdryer is something I always appreciate. Being right next door to a nice bar, good restaurants, and a market was very convenient. I like the security system where you need your key to enter the building, use the elevator, and have electricity in your room better than being questioned by the staff or front desk of who you are and showing your ID or room key.

Disliked: Quite expensive. My room was decribed as "deluxe" but it was quite similar to my room in YHA central that wasn't labeled deluxe. Bed wasn't as comfortable either. They close the rooftop by 10PM to keep the noise down but some guests were still very noisy - kids running up and down the stairs and loud groups of people seemed to be more disturbing than anyone admiring the view or taking photos on the rooftop at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xavier Miras

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: Yhe best hostel on YHA.

Disliked: Xavier left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawn Hannant

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2010 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff, super modern and GREAT views

Disliked: There was a lot of great things about this YHA, more postive that negative for sure. The probolem I had was the arrange of ages of people staying at a "Youth Hostel" I got stuck with a 60 year old in my for 2 nights, which he was a nice person but I really wish they would keep the rooms to age limits as well so you at least had something in common.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING

Disliked: NOTHING

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ashleigh Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: The Roof top terrance is a definate selling point. The rooms are really lovely, spacious and very clean (I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm). It is more like a hotel than a hostel. If I wasn't travelling alone I would definately stay here again.

Disliked: I had orginally booked to stay here for the whole 8 nights I was in Sydney. However when I arrived the majority of people staying here were either alot older than me (I'm 23), travelling with a school group or were part of a family. As I was on my own and was aiming to meet people in a hostel I only stayed for 3 nights. I did go to the social events e.g a BBQ, but there were still no solo travellers around my age (18-30).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its cleaner than other hostels i've been to and really secure.Its fairly inexpensive.

Disliked: It was cold as the hallways are outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mixed age range of people good for families staff where very friendly and welcoming, spacious clean and tidy top mark for the service we got and it was great location in oldest part of the city would recommend it to friend family wish we had more time there

Disliked: nothing at all everything was perfect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very neat and tidy, good rooms. Everybody has his/her own locker in the room, included an electric point so you could reload your telephone etc. Nice bathroom! Very good location, close to all the touristic attractions.

Disliked: - Internet is expensive (4 AU dollar p/hr) - Doors smash loudly, so it's impossible to leave the room early in the morning without making noise and disturbing sleeping roommates. - I could not check in before 1.00 pm while I arrived at 7.00 am. So had to wait in the lounge.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Laura Robinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2010

Liked: Brand new place, Good location and clean.

Disliked: Stuck up people, lots of families/school kids, not very social...bit overpriced for what it was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The way the place was setup, and the terrace was beautiful and a wonderful view

Disliked: Didn't dislike a thing :) Well maybe the breeze but that's cause it's winter.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location in the Rocks district, really close to the main downtown sites. It also had a lot of character, straddling an archeological excavation!

Disliked: A little too expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Views from the terrace are amazing, lovely relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NA

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Uwe Kirchschlager

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Uwe would recommend this property

Liked: perfect located, very professional with every properties you need

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharizal Md Sidek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 August 2010 Sharizal would recommend this property

Liked: Waking up to a beautiful view every morning and the warm reception that i got when i was there. great stay!

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location in the Rocks, safe, view, facilities

Disliked: No character/atmosphere; needs more activities advertised/planned; not very social

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Melanie Collins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

31 July 2010 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The views are great and the Rocks is a great area of Sydney to explore.

Disliked: Could have been a little cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROBIN THOMAS

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2010 ROBIN would recommend this property

Liked: The location is incredible and provides fantastic value when the cost of hotels in the same area are considered. The private rooms are at least the equal to a 3 star hotel but at about half the price.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous location in the Rocks, close to great restaurants, bars and all the famous sights. Awesome views of the harbor from the rooftop, great kitchen - clean, great facilities - big common room, fast (but not free) wifi connection. Loved my stay here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Giuseppe Ardica

27 June 2010 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just great, and it's clean and new as a brand new hotel

Disliked: Giuseppe left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location, historical site, cleanliness and friendly stall. We only missed a TV in our room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new and modern with great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, bright. bathroom and toilet in room. walking distance to harbour bridge and opera house.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels