HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel | 110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

89.8% Overall Rating

150 out of 153 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Thomas Donnelly thinks…

"The hostel was big, friendly and had lots of excellent extras such as a free food shelf with things people had left behind. The staff were helpful and the rooftop terrace offered amazing views of the…"

Read all Sydney Harbour YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.87

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
19.21 USD

Hostel 72.9% 523 reviews
Maze Backpackers
20.96 USD

Hostel 78.7% 611 reviews
Base Sydney
28.82 USD

Hostel 76.2% 428 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
18.34 USD

Hostel 67.9% 453 reviews
City Resort Hostel
17.47 USD

Hostel 50.7% 311 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Glenferrie Lodge
38.86 USD

Hostel 85.4% 9 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.45 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

150 out of 153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sydney Harbour YHA'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 151 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the veiw

Disliked: no bar

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanya Adams

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2011 Tanya would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view, fantastic location, great way to meet people and friendly staff. Everything I needed, for a reasonable cost, with an even better view than most could offer, from their rooftop patio.

Disliked: My only complaint (which is probably only because I was hungry while checking out), was that I was not told upon arrival that I needed to bring my bedsheets down to reception for checkout. Just made for an extra, unnecessary trip when I was trying to leave and make the most of my last few hours in the city. But really, it was no big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Byrne

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 March 2011 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: Fab location, pricier than other hostels but a fraction of the price of other accomodation in the area. We stayed in a private, double room with en suite and it was spotless -as good as and better than many of the hotels I have stayed in. The view from the roof terrace was fabulous.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Naomi Stevens

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 March 2011 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The view!! Incredible. Also great security in the rooms with lockers and power-points in lockers, lots of space and light. Great facilities.

Disliked: Only that we had to pay to store our bags before check-in, just that it adds to the cost of the room (+$5). But the security was great. Free wifi would have been incredible also, but its rare nowadays. The breakfast was a great idea - good price

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elen Richards

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011 Elen would recommend this property

Liked: It is a wonderful, modern building built on interesting site in fantastic location, great facilities, excellent rooms, very clean and comfortable. Limit to 4 per dorm ensured space and greater respect between room mates. Breakfast options very welcome and provision of terrace with such fabulous views of the harbour is fantastic. Really is the best hostel I have stayed at, will be recommending it to friends for sure.

Disliked: Service at breakfast time bit slow at times! Cards bit temperamental too.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 February 2011

Liked: only locaation

Disliked: unhelpful staff very very very expensive and nothing included for that ie internet food.... $40 dorms! felt like a hospital prison

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the facilities, they were great!!

Disliked: some backpackers think they don't have to clean up in the kitchen. some products were missing (stolen?) frome our bag in the fridge....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, excellent facilities, clean rooms, comfy beds, no complaints really

Disliked: If I had to find something to criticise I suppose there could be more social activities organised to encourage people to mix.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean, good facilities, good mix of people.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

catherine crouch

Alone

Business / conference

22 January 2011 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful location,both for attractions and ease of accses to transport

Disliked: steps to have to lug the suitcase up and down

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, great view, cleanliness, friendly staff, facilities as transfer to the airport

Disliked: It has been renovated yet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cecile Garaygay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Cecile would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect: on The Rocks, 5-10 minutes walk from Circular Quay. The hostel is located on an archeological site, which makes it very interesting. It is quite new and everything is clean. Roof-top terrace has view on the Bridge and the Opera House.

Disliked: Would like breakfast to be included in the price of the stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

john james

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2010 john would recommend this property

Liked: very Clean . Its really a hotel i think but with meeting area and kitchen . a place where any one can stay young or old .The make your own breakfast was good 6$ for two large rasors of bacon two eggs bread a small tin of beans and tea or coffee . Mine was a cappachino This is a family hostel not for the Boosers

Disliked: that the outside areas closed at 21:00 ie roof and balcony So i did see any one or group sitting around have a drink and talk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Hall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, roof top terrace is a great bonus to the yha, would def stay here again had a lovely time and couldnt fault the place

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Whittow

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: everything was brand new and the staff were really friendly and helpful. beds and dorms were really clean :)loved the roof top view of the sydney opera house!

Disliked: lack of a bar communal area

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect

Disliked: expensive and the surrounding area as well

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SANDRO SOUZA

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

01 December 2010 SANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: Very satisfied.

Disliked: SANDRO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

FLAVIO BICHUETTE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 FLAVIO would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, nice place and great view.

Disliked: FLAVIO left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Facilities

Disliked: Slightly sterile atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spectacular location - the views of the Opera House and city center are priceless. The hostel had every amenity I could ever need - even selling train tickets to the airport. The common areas were luxurious and made it so easy to meet other travelers. This is the best hostel I've ever seen - worth every penny.

Disliked: nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brand new hostel, terrific location, good beds

Disliked: the DIY-breakfast and use of the internet are expensive, dorms are also expensive, but what would you expect with this location...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, clean, friendly, fantastic location. Plus really helpful information everywhere. Loved it! Would def stay again.

Disliked: Price, would love it even more if it was cheaper!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Shopping

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Nice view at looftop, Nice lication

Disliked: Bit expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jacquelyn Valladares

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

22 October 2010 Jacquelyn would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my room and the view of the Opera House and Harbour was beautiful. I like that they have activities every night for the guests all of which were very fun and a great way to meet other travelers. Great spacious bathroom with hairdryer is something I always appreciate. Being right next door to a nice bar, good restaurants, and a market was very convenient. I like the security system where you need your key to enter the building, use the elevator, and have electricity in your room better than being questioned by the staff or front desk of who you are and showing your ID or room key.

Disliked: Quite expensive. My room was decribed as "deluxe" but it was quite similar to my room in YHA central that wasn't labeled deluxe. Bed wasn't as comfortable either. They close the rooftop by 10PM to keep the noise down but some guests were still very noisy - kids running up and down the stairs and loud groups of people seemed to be more disturbing than anyone admiring the view or taking photos on the rooftop at night.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels