HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel | 110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

93.3% Overall Rating

141 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"The location is amazing overlooking the harbour. It was also really close to all the main attractions. We were in a dorm which had lockers so our stuff was safe but even better there was plugs in the lockers so we…"

Read all Sydney Harbour YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.94

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
16.89 USD

Hostel 73.8% 491 reviews
Maze Backpackers
23.45 USD

Hostel 63.0% 584 reviews
Base Sydney
29.08 USD

Hostel 78.7% 420 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
16.89 USD

Hostel 59.1% 440 reviews
City Resort Hostel
15.01 USD

Hostel 52.5% 304 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
21.58 USD

Hostel 63.0% 72 reviews
Glenferrie Lodge
41.74 USD

Hostel 82.4% 7 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.39 USD

Hostel 63.9% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

141 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sydney Harbour YHA'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 128 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the facilities, they were great!!

Disliked: some backpackers think they don't have to clean up in the kitchen. some products were missing (stolen?) frome our bag in the fridge....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, excellent facilities, clean rooms, comfy beds, no complaints really

Disliked: If I had to find something to criticise I suppose there could be more social activities organised to encourage people to mix.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean, good facilities, good mix of people.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

catherine crouch

Alone

Business / conference

22 January 2011 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful location,both for attractions and ease of accses to transport

Disliked: steps to have to lug the suitcase up and down

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, great view, cleanliness, friendly staff, facilities as transfer to the airport

Disliked: It has been renovated yet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cecile Garaygay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Cecile would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect: on The Rocks, 5-10 minutes walk from Circular Quay. The hostel is located on an archeological site, which makes it very interesting. It is quite new and everything is clean. Roof-top terrace has view on the Bridge and the Opera House.

Disliked: Would like breakfast to be included in the price of the stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

john james

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2010 john would recommend this property

Liked: very Clean . Its really a hotel i think but with meeting area and kitchen . a place where any one can stay young or old .The make your own breakfast was good 6$ for two large rasors of bacon two eggs bread a small tin of beans and tea or coffee . Mine was a cappachino This is a family hostel not for the Boosers

Disliked: that the outside areas closed at 21:00 ie roof and balcony So i did see any one or group sitting around have a drink and talk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Hall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, roof top terrace is a great bonus to the yha, would def stay here again had a lovely time and couldnt fault the place

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Whittow

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: everything was brand new and the staff were really friendly and helpful. beds and dorms were really clean :)loved the roof top view of the sydney opera house!

Disliked: lack of a bar communal area

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect

Disliked: expensive and the surrounding area as well

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SANDRO SOUZA

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

01 December 2010 SANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: Very satisfied.

Disliked: SANDRO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

FLAVIO BICHUETTE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 FLAVIO would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, nice place and great view.

Disliked: FLAVIO left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Facilities

Disliked: Slightly sterile atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spectacular location - the views of the Opera House and city center are priceless. The hostel had every amenity I could ever need - even selling train tickets to the airport. The common areas were luxurious and made it so easy to meet other travelers. This is the best hostel I've ever seen - worth every penny.

Disliked: nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brand new hostel, terrific location, good beds

Disliked: the DIY-breakfast and use of the internet are expensive, dorms are also expensive, but what would you expect with this location...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, clean, friendly, fantastic location. Plus really helpful information everywhere. Loved it! Would def stay again.

Disliked: Price, would love it even more if it was cheaper!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Shopping

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Nice view at looftop, Nice lication

Disliked: Bit expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jacquelyn Valladares

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

22 October 2010 Jacquelyn would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my room and the view of the Opera House and Harbour was beautiful. I like that they have activities every night for the guests all of which were very fun and a great way to meet other travelers. Great spacious bathroom with hairdryer is something I always appreciate. Being right next door to a nice bar, good restaurants, and a market was very convenient. I like the security system where you need your key to enter the building, use the elevator, and have electricity in your room better than being questioned by the staff or front desk of who you are and showing your ID or room key.

Disliked: Quite expensive. My room was decribed as "deluxe" but it was quite similar to my room in YHA central that wasn't labeled deluxe. Bed wasn't as comfortable either. They close the rooftop by 10PM to keep the noise down but some guests were still very noisy - kids running up and down the stairs and loud groups of people seemed to be more disturbing than anyone admiring the view or taking photos on the rooftop at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xavier Miras

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: Yhe best hostel on YHA.

Disliked: Xavier left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawn Hannant

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2010 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff, super modern and GREAT views

Disliked: There was a lot of great things about this YHA, more postive that negative for sure. The probolem I had was the arrange of ages of people staying at a "Youth Hostel" I got stuck with a 60 year old in my for 2 nights, which he was a nice person but I really wish they would keep the rooms to age limits as well so you at least had something in common.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING

Disliked: NOTHING

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ashleigh Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: The Roof top terrance is a definate selling point. The rooms are really lovely, spacious and very clean (I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm). It is more like a hotel than a hostel. If I wasn't travelling alone I would definately stay here again.

Disliked: I had orginally booked to stay here for the whole 8 nights I was in Sydney. However when I arrived the majority of people staying here were either alot older than me (I'm 23), travelling with a school group or were part of a family. As I was on my own and was aiming to meet people in a hostel I only stayed for 3 nights. I did go to the social events e.g a BBQ, but there were still no solo travellers around my age (18-30).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its cleaner than other hostels i've been to and really secure.Its fairly inexpensive.

Disliked: It was cold as the hallways are outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mixed age range of people good for families staff where very friendly and welcoming, spacious clean and tidy top mark for the service we got and it was great location in oldest part of the city would recommend it to friend family wish we had more time there

Disliked: nothing at all everything was perfect


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels