HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel | 110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

91.2% Overall Rating

145 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Thomas Donnelly thinks…

"The hostel was big, friendly and had lots of excellent extras such as a free food shelf with things people had left behind. The staff were helpful and the rooftop terrace offered amazing views of the…"

Read all Sydney Harbour YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.94

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
18.80 USD

Hostel 72.6% 515 reviews
Maze Backpackers
21.62 USD

Hostel 70.7% 600 reviews
Base Sydney
27.26 USD

Hostel 78.6% 425 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
15.04 USD

Hostel 65.6% 450 reviews
City Resort Hostel
14.10 USD

Hostel 51.5% 309 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
21.62 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Glenferrie Lodge
41.83 USD

Hostel 83.9% 8 reviews
Strattons Hostel
21.62 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

145 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sydney Harbour YHA'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 132 of 146 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was excellent, suited our needs, and the staff was extremely helpful.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Aynsley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, modern accommodation combined with history and culture of the site and value for money.

Disliked: Main entrance rarely locked/closed so therefore swipe card access to gain entry into the building and individual areas of the building was rarely required.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the view from the roof top terrace was great, and was a short distance to the harbour. the kitchen area in the communal area was well equipped and clean

Disliked: came from the airport having been on an international flight, but it was before the checking in time we had to put our luggage in the lockers which charged by the hour we were a family of 7 so lots of cases and hand luggage and quite a few lockers!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Eagle

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the fact it over looked sydney opera house and the area 'The Rocks' is lovely.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. The room was really clean bed very comfortable and shower room brilliant.

Disliked: everything was ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Greenow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic! I loved the rocks under the hostel and the views from the roof terrace was great. The room was very clean, the beds was comfy and the bathroom was very nice and clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kok Chiew Poh

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 June 2011 Kok Chiew would recommend this property

Liked: This is really a clean hostel and everything is new. Great value for money and you can what you paid. The reception staff is very friendly and help us to figure out some nice place to visit. I like the kitchen here, facilities is completed. We fully utilize the facilities provided and do really enjoy our days in Sydney. Do not forget to visit the top floor to have the best spectacular view of Sydney!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, roof terrace is a great idea although would say noise was a bit of a problem

Disliked: Keycards were a bit temperamental sometimes took quite a few tries before they worked in lifts

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location - the heart of sydney

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Estevez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. One of the best hostels I've ever been to.

Disliked: Atmosphere, safety, cleanliness, view from the building to the harbor. It even has an identity of its own. It's very interesting in terms of architecture and is built on top of archeological findings which can be enjoyed from the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and view was great! The outlook of the whole hostel was different and I like the archeological theme.

Disliked: Sheets were a little dirty although can see they were newly replaced.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martijn van den Boogaard

Alone

Family Holiday

26 April 2011 Martijn would recommend this property

Liked: It was very very very nice

Disliked: There was nothing what was dislike

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic. I always felt very safe here.

Disliked: Early check in seemed impossible. It costs to keep bags in lockers whilst you wait to check in and the cost adds up quickly. Decoration was very factory like. They could make much more out of the wonderfully located roof terrace.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kevin hynes

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2011 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception/newly built/modern facilities

Disliked: hard to find something to dislike. I would suggest a more detailed description on the walking directions from circular quay as there are quite a few steps/streets to navigate (esp with backpack etc. in tow) perhaps pointing out a few landmarks as a guide.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MILKA KRISTIANTO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2011 MILKA would recommend this property

Liked: The location, very clean, the rooftop terrace was AMAZING! Value of money indeed! I won't hesitate to stay there again. Best hostel I've ever known!

Disliked: The price, I just wish it could be cheaper a little bit

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean

Disliked: Expensive

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011

Liked: Location was good, near to the rocks, circular quay, harbour bridge etc. Felt more like a budget hotel cos there was no mingling with other guests.

Disliked: Staff was unhelpful. Couldn't answer my queries on directions or maps or any food suggestions. There was also no free luggage storage provided after checking out, we had to pay to use the lockers provided. This should be a minimum service provided to guests FOC.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david jailler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: THE VIEW IS AMAZING AND YOUR RIGHT NEXT TO 5 STAR HOTELS BUT ONLY PAYING HOSTEL RATES. THE HOSTEL WAS VERY CLEAN AND I STAYED IN A 4 BED DORM WITH ENSUITE WHICH WAS LOVELY, MORE LIKE A HOTEL AND VERY CLEAN. GREAT LOCATION AND NICE ROOF TOP AREA FOR CHILLING AND TAKING IN THE VIEW.

Disliked: NOT MUCH OF AN ATMOSPHERE DIDNT FEEL FRIENDLY LIKE OTHERS BUT I SUPPOSE ITS WHERE YOU ARE?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeon Sook Lee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Yeon Sook would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and super clean! Helpful staff!

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Cande

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Location was superb you are a 2 minute walk from Sydney Harbour

Disliked: There is nowhere cheap to eat within a 115 minute walk. Prepare to pay high for meals, also it is expensive for the internet and should be free.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Connors

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION!!! It's perfect.

Disliked: If there was anything to actually complain about, I would say cost. But really, it's in such a great area that it's worth $50 night. Maybe a bit high for the average budget backpacker, but Sydney is expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Casey McGrath

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: This is a super hostel. Everything is new and clean and they offer so much more than a place to sleep. Great for travellers, groups of friends, couples etc. Very central location. The roof top view is worth every cent!

Disliked: Not that I disliked this, but the hostel is at the top of a hill and if you are on foot (not in a car/taxi) the climb up the stairs is tiring. It is just worth noting this for anyone who might have difficulties climbing stairs, so that they can be prepared to take a drive to the hostel each time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the veiw

Disliked: no bar

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanya Adams

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2011 Tanya would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view, fantastic location, great way to meet people and friendly staff. Everything I needed, for a reasonable cost, with an even better view than most could offer, from their rooftop patio.

Disliked: My only complaint (which is probably only because I was hungry while checking out), was that I was not told upon arrival that I needed to bring my bedsheets down to reception for checkout. Just made for an extra, unnecessary trip when I was trying to leave and make the most of my last few hours in the city. But really, it was no big deal.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels