HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA Sydney Hostel

110 Cumberland St, The Rocks, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.76USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 21-25 of 25 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Clean. Great rates for a party of 8. All conveniences a traveller could need. Value for money food. The Rocks a great location. We stayed overnight and joined the cruise next day.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The view was AMAZING!! Also it was very clean and the location was excellent.

Disliked: One member of staff was not very friendly when we checked in. This was a bit frustrating. Our friends also were staying for two days with us and then in a different room on the third day. When they asked about storing their luggage for the day they were told that they would have to pay to store it for the three hours or so in between. This seemed a bit unfair since they were still technically guests of the hotel.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything was good.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was amazing! The hostel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: They did not provide locks for the lockers or free towels.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good clean facilities, helpful staff, fantastic location.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location close to everything. Cool view of the old rocks foundations.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: When we arrived they refused entry of another person due to bad history from another YHA hostel, so that made me assured they wern't willing to take anyone. Staff were very helpful and it was in a good location.

Disliked: The price was a bit high as wifi, breakfast, luggage storage were not included in the price.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Amazing view from the rooftop that everyone can share. Staff are amazing and I never had to wait to ask them a question. Common areas are clean and tidy and the rooms are really nice and made me wonder why I pay so much for a hotel.

Disliked: would have liked one linen or towwel change during the stay or a screen for the window so I could open it without worrying that bugs would fly in

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This YHA has everything convenience you can think of and it's a great location on Sydney Harbour.

Disliked: It was perfect

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location and clean!!! Right on the rocks with an amazing view of the Harbour bridge and the opera house from the roof. Lovely and quiet at night with very comfortable clean rooms and beds. It's so well located to everything that you could possibly want by foot & close to public transport. I have been to many many hostels around the word and all over Europe... and I have to say that my stay at the Sydney Harbour YHA was in my top 5. I had a wonderful time and will be recommend it to all my friend and family.

Disliked: nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability