HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA Sydney Hostel

110 Cumberland St, The Rocks, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.76USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 11-20 of 25 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: location was fantastic! room was super clean and comfortable.

Disliked: no towels

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location easy access to main tourist sites

Disliked: Quite expensive for a backpacker. Nothing is thoughtfully free eg printing a bus ticket. Have to pay for wifi on the computer despite already paying for my phone and then having to pay to print it off.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel was big, friendly and had lots of excellent extras such as a free food shelf with things people had left behind. The staff were helpful and the rooftop terrace offered amazing views of the city. I recommens taking a bottle up there for a cheap and peaceful sydney evening.

Disliked: We had a private room with towels etc. Extra or changed towels would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No free wifi and locker for luggage.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The view from the rooftop is incredible, and having the open-air space to enjoy dinner or a glass of wine was awesome. Rooms were clean and showers had good pressure and temperature. The secure lockers had electrical outlets inside so you can recharge your devices without having to leave them out; there was also an outlet beside each bed and others easily accessible around the room. Reception was 24 hours and convenient, and the location can't be beat for accessing the quay and city centre shops.

Disliked: The people in my room were friendly, but it was a bit uncomfortable that I was the only female in a room with 3 men, including one in his sixties. Wi-fi was expensive and staff weren't overly friendly; I also didn't find it easy to meet other people whereas I made friends instantly at another hostel I switched to.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Rooms were clean, tidy and perfect for what was required. The locker facilities were also great.

Disliked: We requested early check-in however this was not available.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is amazing overlooking the harbour. It was also really close to all the main attractions. We were in a dorm which had lockers so our stuff was safe but even better there was plugs in the lockers so we could charge things safely. The bathroom was cleaned every day and the staff were all really helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is probably the nicest hostel I have ever been to. Nice, new, clean facilities, en suite bathrooms/showers in every room, and a great lounge and kitchen. Also an awesome rooftop area with a 5-star view of the Opera House and Harbor Bridge. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Whoever designed the hostel clearly knows what backpackers want/need and they definitely delivered!

Disliked: Price is a bit higher than most hostels, but Sydney is an expensive city so it's hard to complain.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This property is without doubt one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The rooms are wonderfully spacious and safe. The location is perfect and the views from the room are picturesque. The staff are wonderfully accommodating (even when my breakfast was taken from the communal fridge, it was replace by the staff using their own products). the age range of guests is diverse and everyone seems friendly and warm. It is hard to describe this location as a hostel as it really does exceed the definition. Wonderful!

Disliked: This is the only accommodation I can honestly say I have absolutely no dislikes. I guess the only inconvenience is requesting aircon to be switched on daily, but it is understandable to avoid wasting electricity when rooms are vacant.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The place was a fantastic place to stay, and by far superior to the other YHA hostels we experienced in Sydney. Worth the price difference, and the wifi was half the price of some of the other hostels. We wished we had spent all our time here. The facilities and location were top notch, the staff were great and welcoming, and easy to go to for any problem which was immediately resolved, such as room keys not working etc. The room was lovely and clean, and pleasant to stay in. A concrete 10/10.

Disliked: Absolutely Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability