We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Macleay Lodge

Guesthouse | 71 Macleay Street, Sydney, Australia 2011

78.5% Overall Rating

38 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/10/2013)

Heather Bowden thinks…

"Nice and quiet, really good value for money. Room was clean and neat. Staff were friendly."

Read all Macleay Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The remaining balance of your booking will be charged to the credit card number provided on your original booking 7 days prior to the arrival date of your booking. If the credit stcard declines, we will contact you via the email address you provided on your original booking. From the email being sent, you will have 48 hours to provide a credit card that can be successfully charged. If no valid credit card is provided within the 48 hours, or if the new card provided declines, the booking will be cancelled with no further notice. On arrival at the hotel, you will be required to produce photo identification and the credit card used to make the original booking. The name of on the credit card must be the same as the name on the identification in order to be able to check in successfully. 'Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Any cancellations that occur after this will incur a charge of the full amount of the booking. Payments made to agency are non-refundable.'

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Challis Lodge
31.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.9% 17 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
34.26 USD

Hostel 90.7% 402 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
30.65 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
19.83 USD

Hostel 75.9% 169 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
13.52 USD

Hostel 73.9% 475 reviews
Kanga House
27.04 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
24.34 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
Highfield Hotel
31.10 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

38 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Macleay Lodge'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the TV and fridge in the room.

Disliked: Definitely not a value for money. There are others hostels better and cheaper than this one. The guy at the reception was not friendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Bowden

Alone

Shopping

10 October 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet, really good value for money. Room was clean and neat. Staff were friendly.

Disliked: I wouldn't mind being charged an extra few dollars a night if there was free wifi (or even cheaper wifi).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private double room here with my boyfriend, and I must say it was my favorite hostel I've ever stayed at. You feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. The ladies at reception were fantastic and went out of their way to give us info and help in any way they could. The room was excellent, especially for the price, and there were private bathrooms right next to your room, and one on every floor. I would go back in a heartbeat, and I definitely recommend this to other travelers.

Disliked: One of the days the showers were not producing hot water, so had to take a cool shower or walk around the block to use another building's, but they had it fixed by the next day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff the special terrace and bathroom (Deluxe Bedroom)

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable pricing and good location

Disliked: no lift which is not coonvenience to the traveller with huge luagage

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tracy Watts

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 November 2012 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: The room had a full size fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle so i didn't have to go out to eat all the time and also didn't have to label all my food or head to one main kitchen. (all plates and cutlery etc was also in the room) The rooms are comfy and have all you need and the staff were very helpful. There is a laundry right next door!

Disliked: Some of the shower rooms are tiny! and the showers don't have a huge amount of pressure. They give you soap in all the toiltes but nothing to dry your hands with.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2012

Liked: The location wasn't too bad. 5min walk from the KingsCross station. There was a market on the way to the lodge. There were many food places and woolworth around. It was very handy. Also the room looked clean enough.

Disliked: I doubt about the safeness. The room key can open the front door. which means all the room key are same?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff and very celan hostel - more like a hotel. Very good value for money.

Disliked: No complaints at all

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got kitchenette inside the room. Quite convenient.

Disliked: Toilet so small...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet.

Disliked: No Wi-Fi.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, decent, nice people, value for money

Disliked: No wifi, no breakfast, location not very good

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the hostel felt like a hotel. Lots of close restaurants and train nearby.

Disliked: If you are looking for tips on day tours or trips they weren't as helpful as other hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Herbert

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Clean room with everything you need for a short stay. Location was brilliant, and not noisy at all.

Disliked: Nothing...was a real good find

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very helpful. The room was nice. I liked the high, fancy ceilings.

Disliked: I wish I hadn't gotten the room with the garbage cans right outside. People were throwing things into the cans until very late and a garbage truck came early. Very noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Vaughan

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best places that I have EVER stayed in - cheaper than some Backpacker places and ALOT cleaner and tidier!!!!! Please be aware this property is exactly as described - it is a lodge and NOT a hotel and this is the point!! This lodge is outstanding value for money - but please do not expect your bedding changed every day and a bathroom in the room as they are not catering for this but ask and they will help you out!! The rooms are amazing - they are clean and VERY well equipped - it was so nice to be able to eat in rooms and save money on restaurant bills. Use the Shuttle Service for the airport transfer as this makes life so easy. The location is excellent I stayed there with my son and he walked easily to the train station and back every day with no problems. It is also on the hopper route if you are a tourist like we were so this was great! The shared bathroom is NO problem what so ever - this is so clean and there was never a queue at what ever time I used it and it was just like being at home as you just walk down the corridor to it so just like going to your bathroom at home (unless you have an ensuite!!!) Please book here if going to Sydney as you will not be disappointed and have so much more spending money to spend elsewhere!!!!!

Disliked: Very small comment but would like to have had brighter bulbs to make it a bit lighter but this is very very minor point!!!!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Drew Pettifer

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 September 2011

Liked: Location, staff, cleanliness

Disliked: Poorly insulated rooms, noise, lack of curtain, the backpacker aesthetic

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sergio Moraes

Alone

Business / conference

14 July 2011 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen's equipment.

Disliked: Lack of internet connection.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful & friendly. The location was good as it had many nice bars, breakfast places & restaurants in the neighborhood.

Disliked: No air conditioning. The room I had was a single private, the most expensive one, but then on the top floor where it was hottest compared to other cheap rooms in the building. :-(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikolai Endres

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife

14 February 2011 Nikolai would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Potts Point, right next to Woolworth's grocery story, 5-min walk to Kings Cross Station; rooms are basic but good value for money.

Disliked: Check out at 10am is a bit early, but I think late check-out can be arranged.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and in a great location for exploring Sydney, so was great place for just sleeping and being out-and-about all day.

Disliked: Bathrooms+showers are shared, though were clean and didn't have an issue finding an unused one when required. There was quite a large gap beneath the bedroom door!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sandra Gustafsson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

13 November 2010 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean.

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael woolley

Alone

31 October 2010 michael would recommend this property

Liked: great value in a good location

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. Would have liked a bed reading lamp.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Macleay lodge was a great place to stay - well situated, fantastic staff. Went the extra mile for this price bracket.

Disliked: For the price we paid it was better than expected.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

richard mole

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 August 2010

Liked: Nothing - the receptionist was helpful and understandable

Disliked: Everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location in potts point, easy walking distance to kings cross around the corner , rail station there also, to botanical gardens and city, internet acess in dvd rental shop 2 doors down, penty of restaurants and takeaways, woolworths supermarket stays open until 10pm. Macleay lodge has good security, clean comfortable but nothing flash, can ask for extra milks, t bags and coffeess and towels if needed, staff helpful and friendly. Place v quiet. there is microwave and kettle in room.

Disliked: cold in winter no heating, the place is pretty souless, but if you only want a couple of days and you are out all day sightseeing it is a handy and economical place to rest ones head for the night get a hot shower


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels