We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Goodlet Lodge

Guesthouse | 502 Elizabeth Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

79.0% Overall Rating

15 out of 20 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/03/2014)

"Great staff - helpful and friendly. Close to Mardi Gras and Lion King - have stayed before - will stay again."

Read all Goodlet Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Railway Hotel & Apartments
36.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 36 reviews
Tokyo Village
21.40 USD

Hostel 65.5% 35 reviews
Alfred Park Accommodation
21.83 USD

Hostel 79.7% 644 reviews
Bounce Sydney
35.81 USD

Hostel 94.6% 270 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 11 reviews
Railway Square YHA
34.06 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
26.20 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
31.44 USD

Hostel 95.1% 1192 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

15 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Goodlet Lodge'

Atmosphere
70.0%
Location
85.0%
Facilities
71.0%
Cleanliness
81.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
74.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff - helpful and friendly. Close to Mardi Gras and Lion King - have stayed before - will stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 February 2014

Liked: clean towels and sheets

Disliked: near housing commission, rooms are old, small and poor condition. Room smelt musty and like cigarette smoke. Overall it felt like I was staying at a drug rehabilitation half way house.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jenni Allen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014

Liked: the staff were friendly and helpful, also reasonably close to the city centre

Disliked: there were not enough pillows, the curtains/blinds did not cover the whole window and the tv in our room randomly turned itself on and woke us up on the first morning.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013

Liked: The renovated bathroom was good. The location was perfect for us as we were attending a theatre performance at Belvoir.

Disliked: The beds were uncomfortable. The pillows were shocking. The room was so small. The fridge made a noise. It was very noisy at night with people at the bar downstairs. There was never anyone at reception. When we arrived I only had EFTPOS card so we had to pay an extra $5 on top of our accommodation. The receptionist was insistent that we pay within the next half an hour and suggested we use the ATM to get cash and then come straight back. It was easier just to pay on the spot.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

23 June 2013

Liked: It was handy to the function venue that we were attending

Disliked: Even though the hotel was old, there is no need for unclean walls with stains on them nor holes in the carpet. There wasn't even a teaspoon or other implement provided to stir our coffee in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money - good location, clean, quiet and very welcoming staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff/owners were most accommodating. The location perfect for catching public transit to anywhere in and around the city.

Disliked: The restaurant below has a fan in the kitchen that was noisy in the room, but it did close at 2230 hours each night, so we weren't kept up to late with the noise.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

ANDREW POWELL

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011

Liked: Leaving. When we moved in my wife cried! We spent one night there and managed to get a room at a Travelodge.

Disliked: Worn and tatty. Had the feel of a hostel for the homeless or asylum seekers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, value for money.

Disliked: Reception was not always open.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Facilities a bit limited.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Cavanagh

Alone

City break

30 October 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money! I booked the Superior Private Double Ensuite and it was of a good size, with a gorgeous modern bathroom and adequate facilities. Very comfortable bed, and the staff are the best!!!

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk from the city, but not unreasonable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, reasonably good Surry Hills location, very clean, reasonably priced, great newly tiled bathroom, digital TV and fridge in room.

Disliked: Had a cold shower at 2am, but great powerful and hot ones during the day, room was small but still good value

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful and relaxed, room was clean and a decent size, great location.

Disliked: Not a lot of atmosphere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely, rooms very clean and spacious, very close to Central Station and in a quiet location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Schulze Heio

10 March 2010 Schulze would recommend this property

Liked: saubere, zweckmäßig eingerichtete Zimmer; super nette Gastgeber; City schnell erreichbar; gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis; in unmittelbarer Nähe mehrere Möglichkeiten für Frühstück

Disliked: Schulze left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EMMA HOLDEN

01 March 2010 EMMA would recommend this property

Liked: We were very impressed with the friendliness & helpfulness of the staff; they were very obliging in that even so we arrived very early, way before check-in time, it wasn't a problem to leave our bags in the room & also past the check-out time, which really helped us out.

Disliked: EMMA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frits van der Veen

05 January 2010 Frits would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really good stay in this hotel, Friendly staff and a good service.It's a perfect location 5 min from central and a bus stop in front of the hotel!

Disliked: Frits left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Tong

01 January 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The place is well equiped with air con, fridge, kettle and nice ensuite. Location was in a quiet area about 10 mins walk to the central station and with the Red Pass you can get around easily. The family running the place was always helpful and polite. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels