HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of World Square Hostel Sydney

Hostel

640 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 75%

Location 94%

Safety 84%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Postal Service
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.39USD
  • Towel 1.52USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE
1. We are an 18+ only hostel
2. All guests must present either a passport, drivers license or national ID card on check-in.
3.***NYE BOOKINGS POLICY***
22/12/12 - 05/01/13. Bookings will be charged for the first night in the weeks following the booking. The remainder of the balance will be charged on December 1st. In the event that the card details are invalid on either date the booking will be cancelled. Each of these charges is non refundable and non transferable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 75%

Location 94%

Safety 84%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

Showing 71-79 of 79 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: location, location and location

Disliked: the noise from downstairs and the crazy night Club during weekend is so noisy.......

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Ich war im Mai 2013 im Wordlsquare. Es war ok. Die Mitarbeiter waren super drauf und haben mir echt weitergeholfen. Die Betten sind in einigermassen gutem Zustand (duenne Matratzen) und auch die Duschen waren sauber.Die Lage ist auch super.Gegenueber ist ein Supermarkt. 10 Minuten Fussweg zum Darling Harbour und 30min Fussweg zum Sydney Harbour. Auch die Strassenbahn ist nciht weit weg.

Disliked: In dieser Kueche haette ich nicht gekocht.Hab mir morgens dort immer Brote geschmiert und mir sind die Kakerlaken wortwoertlich am Tellerrand hochgekrabbelt.Es ist echt gut, dass man sein Zeug in den Kuehlschrank legen kann, aber die Kueche war einfach uebel schmutzig.18Euro nur fuer ein Bett zum schlafen fand ich dann doch etwas teuer fuer die Zustaende.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - The staff here are great, very helpful and always welcoming. - The location is perfect; 2mins walk from Town Hall station, 10mins from Darling Harbour.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is great - close to transportation, food, shops.

Disliked: Convenient location means that it is sometimes quite noisy, especially on weekends.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice staff and atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: What a great place to stay! First of all they offer FREE internet. (No where else does this) I was impressed with how clean they keep everything. The staff were very friendly and able to offer a lot of info about seeing the city and getting around. The hostel is close to everything and offers a very social environment. I met heaps of people during my stay!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff was quite flexible after their failing computer system. And in general they were quite polite.

Disliked: The hostel is located right in the centre and you can hear and feel that 24 hours per day. The night club connected to the hostel produces the most noise. Due to computer failure I had no key card which is for entering the building, your floor, your room and the bathroom. I could go to the staff to enter these zones, but they were not allways at the reception. And the securtiy initially didn't believe me when I wanted to enter the hostel without a key card in the evening.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The cleanliness, and the way it was set out! The bar and the helpful staff!

Disliked: The toilet was a bit old and run down looking but was very clean

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: As I arrived I was greeted by a friendly member of staff who informed me that check in was not untill 1pm (I arrived at about 8am) but I was able to leave my bags in the hostel and allowed to make full use of the tv area and the FREE wifi. I was all given a free map of the area which allowed me to plan my days and was helped my the same member of staff who told me what was free to do in the day and night.As this hostel is in a central location it is great to get to all surrounding areas and attractions. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the girls toilets had a hair dryer and set of straighteners in.

Disliked: There were not as many showers as they perhaps should have been. I thougt there was omly one per floor but I was informed on the last day that there were three more on the next floor up which could have solves problems in stead of waiting for the shower. The wifi didnt reach up to my room but this can not vbe complained about as it was free. Alot of the people who stayed there seemed to be there for a long time, I felt that it was hard to make friends at this particular hostel. There was no fan in the room so the room was kept cool by leaving the window. The problem with this is that because of the location there was a lot of traffic on the roads and night and this could be heard in the room. Also people shouting in the street.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location

Check Availability