We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of World Square Hostel

Hostel | 640 George Street, Cnr Liverpool and Goerge, Entrance on Liverpool Sydney, Australia 2000

80.5% Overall Rating

197 out of 257 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2014)

"Loved my stay at world square! Staff are lovely and very helpful, my room was clean and tidy and my roommates were brilliant! I heard nothing from the bar downstairs and had a great sleep, would definitely recommend…"

Read all World Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.23
  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE 1. We are an 18+ only hostel 2. All guests must present either a passport, drivers license or national ID card on check-in. 3.***NYE BOOKINGS POLICY*** 22/12/12 - 05/01/13. Bookings will be charged for the first night in the weeks following the booking. The remainder of the balance will be charged on November 1st. In the event that the card details are invalid on either date the booking will be cancelled. Each of these charges is non refundable and non transferable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
20.96 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
26.20 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.45 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
20.74 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Base Sydney
25.33 USD

Hostel 76.2% 428 reviews
BIG Hostel
27.66 USD

Hostel 85.1% 149 reviews
Central Station Hotel
47.60 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

197 out of 257 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'World Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 231 of 250 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the rooms were spacious.

Disliked: Cockroaches were everywhere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Staff were not too friendly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Louise Madine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2010

Liked: In fairness, the location was good, although it is situated above a bar and can be quite noisy during both daytime and at night, mostly due to people and traffic.

Disliked: We had a double room booked for four nights and only stayed one night - the room we had was disgusting. The bedclothes were not the cleanest and the carpet could have walked out on its own - was sticky (daren't put bare feet to it!) The curtain in our room was really disgusting and the pole wasn't even attached anymore to the wall. There was one female and one male toilet and shower for 9 rooms to share and the swipe card lock on the ladies had been broken thus anyone was free to enter. Maybe the other floors were more modern I'm not sure. While we leaving to move to other accommodation we had to step over with our luggage, a pile of sick just at the main entrance. I would not recommend this hostel, for the price we paid and be warned refunds are not offered under any circumstances. I will say however that the staff are lovely but that is not enough reason to stay there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manuela Cisternas-Gasset

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Manuela would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, right in the city so easy access to transport, great guests, from all different parts of the world.

Disliked: Noisy on the weekends due to it being right next to bars and clubs. It's really hard to get connected to the internet.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 November 2010

Liked: staff

Disliked: kitchen... so messy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeni Cooper

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 October 2010

Liked: Such amazing value for money! My room was spacious and clean, the staff were so friendly the whole time I was here. The location couldnt be any better

Disliked: Kitchen could have been bigger

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 October 2010

Liked: The location was great - only a few minutes walk from both Central Station and shops. It was cheap too.

Disliked: I stayed in the large dorm, which was very noisy at night (from the street noise, the bar downstairs and the other guests), and the door was left unlocked the whole time I was there, which wasn't too secure. But for only $19 I can't complain.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, night activities

Disliked: the smell on the 4th floor hall between the rooms

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 October 2010

Liked: They did organise evenings out at local bars etc.

Disliked: The list is endless I've been travelling for around 5 month now all over south america and New zealand and this is the worst hostel I've stayed in by miles. There was very little help on travel around the country, the communal area which is very important for meeting people was not available to hostel residents on Friday & Saturday as it was taken over by locals from the bar below. The kitchen was dirty, cramped and full of cockroaches. The was only one male and one female shower/toilet per level to service around 32 people per level. If I hadn't been spending most of my time elsewhere I would have checked out and found somewhere better.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2010

Liked: We had to move to another hostel as this one wouldn't let us stay there. I have a 17 yr old Chinese homestay student travellng with me and as he was under 18 we were blocked. Not happy about this as the new hostel was booked out on the weekend and so I had to contact friends here for weekend accommodation. They were happy to help but I was embarrassed at having to ask. I had no choice after being rejected by the World Square hostel. Also the fellow at the desk lied to us....he said that he contacted other hostels on our behalf and said that they would be happy to accommodate us. The hostels concerned denied hearing from him. Btw, you guys should make it clear on your site that no under 18s r allowed.....contradiction in terms though isn't it? The term "youth hostel" that is.....cheers from C and T

Disliked: See above...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeremy Onysko

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 October 2010

Liked: Good location and had a bar. Best prices in town on drinks. Monday night dinner is a great value too. Clean rooms and nice beds.

Disliked: Not much character to this place. Hostel is spread out over 4 floors, starting on the second. Elevator is slower than molasses and hiking five floors up to the room wasn’t fun with a pack. Wi-fi didn’t work and the lounge area was pretty boring. A single foosball table, tv, and smaller bar but not much else. Overall seemed like a boring place to stay. It was the off season but still didn’t meet many people of interest. More or less a good value stay and nothing more.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, Free WIfi

Disliked: Other people in dorm don't take a lot of consideration for other people, e.g. making lights on during night. Sometimes rather noisy. Loud street, night club below.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thorben Maier

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

02 October 2010 Thorben would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly guys and the good location

Disliked: the bad smell in the rooms and the corridors

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tim Glasson

Alone

Business / conference

01 October 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2010

Liked: close to Chinatown, Darling Harbor

Disliked: filthy kitchen from people partying in it all night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meet nice people

Disliked: Noisy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

18 September 2010

Liked: Location is very strategic

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jan-Hendrik Stein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2010

Liked: Nice and clean rooms with new matresses.

Disliked: The kitchen was very small and dirty, there were just 5 chairs in the kitchen for the whole hostel. The waste bin was only emptied every second day. The bathrooms are much too small, there is only one sink/toilet/shower on the 4th floor and the shower is old and dirty (it's actually a bath-tub). The new showers on the 3rd floor don't have a seperated area for changing, so you have to take all your stuff in the actual shower, where it gets wet. There is also only one sink and one toilet on this floor. The rooms are very dark and only 1 of 3 bulbs in our room worked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristian webber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2010 kristian would recommend this property

Liked: Central to everything, just off George Street so plenty going on all hours. Big rooms with quite a few beds in, but didn't feel crowded at all! Cheap bar downstairs and plenty of organised nights/events for people in the hostel. Staff were spot on too!

Disliked: kristian left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Jagla

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 August 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything in the heart of Sydney. Staff very helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Sperer

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

27 August 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: A great Hostel in the middle of the CBD. Join the Club tours it's realy worth to go there, you get free stuff and will have fun!!

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Belinda Dillon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing. We went back there 3 times, the location is excellent, kitchen is good and bedrooms are clean with a duvet. Alot of people live in the hostel who are working in OZ for a year so it has a really cool vibe. If you want to meet people this hostel is definately for you.

Disliked: Belinda left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 August 2010

Liked: Location..3 dollars drinks at the bar..friendly stuff

Disliked: rooms r too cold, stuff couldn't provide heater because stupid safety rules!...no breakfast..kitchen is small and dirty most of the time...other than location I don't see anything special.. to be fair all sydney hostels are the same.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 August 2010

Liked: It's in a booming part of the city, which is always packed with people, which is generally speaking a positive thing. And the one really good thing about this place was the staff, who always remained very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Unfortunately, apart from the staff there was nothing good about this place. It's above a bar meaning that sleep is impossible. The atmosphere would be good if you wanted to go to the bar, and the drinks are practicall free, but I didn't appreciate hearing police sirens below us the length of the night, so not for me. The dorm smelt damp, and the double room was the same. There was no internet or lounge area unless you wanted to sit at the bar, and the kitchen v small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Cavanagh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Most fun I've ever had in a hostel - staff are the best, it's super easy to meet people in the kitchen and dorm rooms, and there's always something on!!! Never leaving. :D

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels