HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of World Square Hostel

Hostel | 640 George Street, Cnr Liverpool and Goerge, Entrance on Liverpool Sydney, Australia 2000

77.9% Overall Rating

194 out of 253 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2014)

Sabrina Delattre thinks…

"Very well located, right in the city, very close to circular quar and darling harbour, and if u dnt like walking, there is also the free shuttle bus on george street which runs between central…"

Read all World Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.02
  • Towel USD 1.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE 1. We are an 18+ only hostel 2. All guests must present either a passport, drivers license or national ID card on check-in. 3.***NYE BOOKINGS POLICY*** 22/12/12 - 05/01/13. Bookings will be charged for the first night in the weeks following the booking. The remainder of the balance will be charged on November 1st. In the event that the card details are invalid on either date the booking will be cancelled. Each of these charges is non refundable and non transferable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
21.38 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.52 USD

Hostel 64.6% 30 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.31 USD

Hostel 65.8% 393 reviews
Strattons Hostel
21.38 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
22.08 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Base Sydney
28.82 USD

Hostel 78.6% 425 reviews
BIG Hostel
27.89 USD

Hostel 88.1% 146 reviews
Central Station Hotel
46.02 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

194 out of 253 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'World Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 227 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Shindler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location, and great place to meet people!! Most things are within walking distance and it is very reasonably priced.

Disliked: Only downside is that because of the central location and bar downstairs the hostel is very noisy. And there was no fans/air con which was very uncomfortable during the heatwave.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011

Liked: There was free wifi. The location was good, not too far away from most attractions in Sydney The security was very good as you had to use a key card to be able to get onto each floor , from the stairwell, and into the toilet/shower rooms. Free use of a hairdryer is provided in girls toilets.

Disliked: We stayed in an 8 bed dorm but there were only 6 lockers and the hostel staff told us it was first come first serve. There is a bar underneath the hostel although the noise level is not too bad. There was only 1 toilet for men and 1 for women on the floor we were on and 1 shower for men but 2 for women. The cleanliness of these were not that great. When my girlfriend took a shower the drain was blocked and the water covered her ankles. We could not get the free wifi in our room. The kitchen was quite small and would sometimes be a little too busy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Ryan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

31 January 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were lovely and willing to help. it was a great atmosphere and a great way to meet so many interesting and different people, would definatly stay there again, am actually planning to next month!

Disliked: the bathrooms werent as clean as i believe they could of been but again with so many people staying there and over the time period it was still kept pretty clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar! Only stopped here one night but I liked it. It seems a very social hostel.

Disliked: The speed at which I was checked in- but it was a very busy time near christmas so not too bothered!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Paul Barton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011

Liked: Every hostel in Sydney is way over priced, dirty and uncomfortable. You've just got to deal with it. This was all of those things but none of the others I've been to have been any better.

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for someone who doesn't know the city.

Disliked: Very noisy at night but that's the downside to being in the heart of the city. I booked and paid extra for a female dorm and there was a man staying in the room one night without anyone being informed. It would have been a matter of courtesy to let us know.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unfortunatelly I had not a really nice experience, because I did not know the hostel have a bar and my two nights were very noisy. The cleaners leave the room so nice! But somo people have to learn to behave in shearing! The showers have leaks and we tell the staff however nobody was interested i the high waste of water! The hostel is very near to everything that was good to avoid pay public transport. If you are young you do not mind too much things then this is for u!

Disliked: As I said above in my comments, waste of water and gests not very aware about hteir sorrounding.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2011

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: very dirty, noisy,

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was dirty. I would never cook any food in that kitchen. Me and my boyfriend were put in different rooms even though we booked way in advance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Tear

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The best nights out, great location and the staff were amazing

Disliked: Nothing, will be staying here next time

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything is very dirty, housekeeping is only walking around and eating, but cleans nothing. Floor , windows, kitchen, everyhting is dirty. During the day there are bar people sleeping on your room. Sometimes people sleeping on the isle when there was a party, so they have a free stay. Also more then one person per bed. Lot of noise, cockroaches on the room, very hot, not airco or fan. Keycard are not working good, only one day or half day, then you have to go to reception and activate again. Worst hostel we ever seen, hostels we saw in asia were much better then this one.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

cameron webster

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 January 2011 cameron would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: limited bathrooms, noisy and hot rooms without fans. At night you have to open the windows, the noise from George st can be quite loud, esp on wknds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathias Piil Gøttrup

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2010 Mathias would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff. Free wifi good common room

Disliked: nothing realy

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Patrick Burghauser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2010

Liked: Nothing comes to my mind

Disliked: Extremely noisy because of the kitchen close to the rooms, doors which were hard to open, no mirrors in the bathroom, no place to put your stuff on inside the showers, hoovering at 8 a.m., no daily cleaning, 1 (!) plug in a 6-bed room. No curtains.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 December 2010

Liked: /

Disliked: Pore Cleanliness (rooms & bathrooms)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: World Square Hostel is in the Sydney Citycentre. In a few minutes you can reach the Central, the Haydepark or a lot of shopping centres. It is on Liverpool Street, which connects Pitt St and Georg St, the two most important streets in Sydney for Backpackers. Opposit the hostel, there is a Coles Market where you can buy every stuff you need. This hostels doesn't make a good impression when you see it first, but it is !!

Disliked: Just one Toilett on each Level and everything is a bit confusing. But this hasn't been a real problem.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly place everything was clean except the kitchen! easy to find and to get around very helpful staff.

Disliked: The Kitchen Was very dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bradley States

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

14 December 2010 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Location, Location. On one of the best intersections downtown, easy to get everywhere, has a 2 floor bar downstairs and a really big pub across the street.. and for the price, it was a no-brainer decision for us. We were overall very happy with the hostel!

Disliked: Once, out of the 5 days we stayed, there was a bug or two going through one of the floors a few of the girls said, but the building itself is downtown in a major city so it was not a concern for us.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joanne Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2010 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen had plenty of fridges and cutlery and crockery that was mostly clean. It also felt quite safe as doors were key coded. There were alot of tours/entertainment that was organised by the hostel so there would be plenty to keep you entertained. Lots of leaflets about things that you could do. Large lounge area with sofas.

Disliked: The 18 bed dorm was very noisy as we had to have the windows open as there was no air con, and the windows were not double glazed and the street noise was very loud as the property is situated on a very busy road. Quite dirty in places as saw several living and dead cockroaches!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Neil Birkett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2010 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, friendly staff and other guests, organised events every night etc.

Disliked: Didn't stay long enough to make the most of it!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lai King Tsui

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010 Lai King would recommend this property

Liked: location is the best, and the 6bed room is quite big with windows

Disliked: just a bit noisy about the road traffic in the day time and the lift temporary works.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the rooms were spacious.

Disliked: Cockroaches were everywhere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Staff were not too friendly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Louise Madine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2010

Liked: In fairness, the location was good, although it is situated above a bar and can be quite noisy during both daytime and at night, mostly due to people and traffic.

Disliked: We had a double room booked for four nights and only stayed one night - the room we had was disgusting. The bedclothes were not the cleanest and the carpet could have walked out on its own - was sticky (daren't put bare feet to it!) The curtain in our room was really disgusting and the pole wasn't even attached anymore to the wall. There was one female and one male toilet and shower for 9 rooms to share and the swipe card lock on the ladies had been broken thus anyone was free to enter. Maybe the other floors were more modern I'm not sure. While we leaving to move to other accommodation we had to step over with our luggage, a pile of sick just at the main entrance. I would not recommend this hostel, for the price we paid and be warned refunds are not offered under any circumstances. I will say however that the staff are lovely but that is not enough reason to stay there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manuela Cisternas-Gasset

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Manuela would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, right in the city so easy access to transport, great guests, from all different parts of the world.

Disliked: Noisy on the weekends due to it being right next to bars and clubs. It's really hard to get connected to the internet.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels