HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of World Square Hostel

Hostel | 640 George Street, Cnr Liverpool and Goerge, Entrance on Liverpool Sydney, Australia 2000

79.0% Overall Rating

192 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Adam Hill thinks…

"Great staff, more than helpful 24/7. couldn't have a better location, not noisy if your staying on any floor apart from the one above the club. will be staying again soon 100%"

Read all World Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.10
  • Towel USD 1.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE 1. We are an 18+ only hostel 2. All guests must present either a passport, drivers license or national ID card on check-in. 3.***NYE BOOKINGS POLICY*** 22/12/12 - 05/01/13. Bookings will be charged for the first night in the weeks following the booking. The remainder of the balance will be charged on November 1st. In the event that the card details are invalid on either date the booking will be cancelled. Each of these charges is non refundable and non transferable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
21.51 USD

Hostel 63.0% 72 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
21.51 USD

Hostel 64.2% 28 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
26.19 USD

Hostel 65.8% 393 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.32 USD

Hostel 63.9% 28 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
24.55 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Base Sydney
29.00 USD

Hostel 78.7% 420 reviews
BIG Hostel
28.06 USD

Hostel 84.3% 136 reviews
Central Station Hotel
39.10 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 75.4% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

192 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'World Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 225 of 244 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 August 2011

Liked: It was very central

Disliked: it was very loud in the 18 dorm which is right above the nightclub and also the main street so the noise of the traffic is bad too.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 August 2011

Liked: The people was nice, the location was very convenient.

Disliked: The only thing that I really disliked there, was a very dirty lavatory.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best location out of the hostels i've foud in sydney so far, as well as helpful staff who want to make sure you enjoy your stay. Plus hot cleaner

Disliked: Not alot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Karry

Alone

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2011 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, close to everything. Secure swipe-entry. Super cheap drinks at the hostel bar

Disliked: Only one toilet per floor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

micah florisson

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

10 July 2011 micah would recommend this property

Liked: location! its great!!

Disliked: a bit cold and staff werent overly helpful.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Celia Demarchi

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 June 2011 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: Too cold. Not heated at all.

Disliked: Far too cold. No heating which was apaling.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really central location, their keys are in the form of plastic watches...easy to hold on to and find

Disliked: their free wifi didnt work anywhere in building, it was quite cold at night - i had to take the duvet from an empty bed, i was on the 5th (top) floor and when it rained at night the roof seemed to leak into the toilet area as there was always alot of water in that area after rain

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not to far from train station.

Disliked: It smelled like beer and the bathrooms were not that clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were pretty gd, nice blankets, nice hit showers but took like 5-10 mins to warm up sometimes, great location and just across the road from a supermarket. They offer great nights out and free drinks for most of the night. The kitchen is gd and has everything you need. Overall a great place to stay, and also there are some hot girls working there, spesh the English red haired one :p

Disliked: Nothing really, it was in whole very nice place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location and the staff were super helpful!

Disliked: all good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, excellent staff and free Wi fi

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its relatively small so u can get to know new people and its in a great location

Disliked: noisy streets outside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

federico delucchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 federico would recommend this property

Liked: It's an amazing place to stay. A lot of friendly people, tidy, clean. Downstairs they have a bar where the drinks are only $3!! the bar isn't really nice, but it's ok to have some drinks and after go out! downstairs there is a hungry jack's (burger king) too, where you have the opcion to buy a drink and refill it whenever you want, so my first day i bought one and i had free coke during all my stay there!! the hostel has an awesome location, you can go everywhere walking because it's really close to the most important places of sydney. Definetly you should go there, i'm sure that i'm going back!!

Disliked: nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Torpong Trakuldee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Torpong would recommend this property

Liked: Very Central and cheap

Disliked: some People in my Room were too loud

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphear, free wifi although it is slow. great staff and always something to do.

Disliked: not alot really apart from the club downstairs and the street can be abit loud but you get used to it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Shemma Hunt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011

Liked: Great location, right near the bars and restaurants, the people who run the hostel are great and very friendly, the long term guest are fantastic make you feel welcome espc the girls in the 8 bedroom dorm :)

Disliked: Rooms had cockroaches in them the staff didn't seem shocked when i told them, no air cons or fans, when it rains the whole place floods i.e lightbulb leaks water over the toilet seat, the cleaners version of cleaning was walking into your room looking at it then walking back out taking the rubbish bin with her

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a lot of nice people

Disliked: is situated on the main street, quite loud at night

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011

Liked: It was clean. I stayed in 18beds dorm. I expected it to be extremely DIRTY. I thought I couldn't even find an empty bed and I thought there'd be roaches. it was very clean. surprisingly. The staff were friendly.

Disliked: Toilet, I didn't even want to go, so I used world square's. and yea it was dirty. girls you can't sit down on that toilet. Plus, if you like lying down it bed using the internet, don't think about it. the internet only works at reception level. and the level turns to a bar when the sun goes down. very loud very dark, you can't use internet there. The problem during the night is also the noise from outside but more like the people who stay in your room. they never care whether you sleep or not. crazy girls. Sydney is full of tourists. no hostel care about you if you want a clean stay, you should go to hotel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mike O'Neill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here over Christmas for 3 nights. Right in the middle of World Square, and right near to Chinatown. The hostel is fine, beds are comfortable, big lockers underneath the bed. Kitchen area was a bit grotty so chose not to use it. Bathrooms are clean and have hot water. There is a horrible bar in the same building, brave it if you dare! Loads of nightlife in the surrounding area. Loads of places to eat too. About a 20 minute walk to the ferry port to get to Manly beach etc.

Disliked: As with any place that has long-term stayers, it can be harder to meet people.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011

Liked: comfy beds

Disliked: noise from street was awful - got about 2 hours sleep. only 1 toilet with broken seat for whole floor. tv room seemed to be a bar in the daytime, not many seats. water for shower was also cold.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Kitselaar

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Regular activities for all to participate in to get a chance to meet the other backpackers there. Great people, and friendly staff

Disliked: NO AIR-CONDITIONING in a room with 20 people sharing. This was my biggest complaint. The other thing was that as previous people had not removed locks from the locker that was allocated to my bed, I did not have access to my locker and the staff didn't have anything to cut it off. Would have also been better if the kitchen was open all night (this is fairly minor though)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 February 2011

Liked: location is really nice.

Disliked: i saw some cockroaches, and so many people're staying there, but the shower room and toilet is just a few. Kitchen is also small. the water from tap is not clear. cold, warm both of them. some clubs around there, so weekends, we cant sleep, because it's really noisy!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tibor Nagy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Tibor would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff was really friendly. :)

Disliked: It was all good. :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Shindler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location, and great place to meet people!! Most things are within walking distance and it is very reasonably priced.

Disliked: Only downside is that because of the central location and bar downstairs the hostel is very noisy. And there was no fans/air con which was very uncomfortable during the heatwave.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011

Liked: There was free wifi. The location was good, not too far away from most attractions in Sydney The security was very good as you had to use a key card to be able to get onto each floor , from the stairwell, and into the toilet/shower rooms. Free use of a hairdryer is provided in girls toilets.

Disliked: We stayed in an 8 bed dorm but there were only 6 lockers and the hostel staff told us it was first come first serve. There is a bar underneath the hostel although the noise level is not too bad. There was only 1 toilet for men and 1 for women on the floor we were on and 1 shower for men but 2 for women. The cleanliness of these were not that great. When my girlfriend took a shower the drain was blocked and the water covered her ankles. We could not get the free wifi in our room. The kitchen was quite small and would sometimes be a little too busy.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels