We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of World Square Hostel

Hostel | 640 George Street, Cnr Liverpool and Goerge, Entrance on Liverpool Sydney, Australia 2000

81.9% Overall Rating

205 out of 265 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2015)

Kerrie Hales thinks…

"The hostel is in a great location on the corner of two main roads. It's really close to Town Hall station and Darling Harbour, and Central is probably only 10-15 minutes walk away. It is also right…"

Read all World Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.89
  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE 1. We are an 18+ only hostel 2. All guests must present either a passport, drivers license or national ID card on check-in. 3.***NYE BOOKINGS POLICY*** 22/12/12 - 05/01/13. Bookings will be charged for the first night in the weeks following the booking. The remainder of the balance will be charged on November 1st. In the event that the card details are invalid on either date the booking will be cancelled. Each of these charges is non refundable and non transferable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
21.00 USD

Hostel 65.9% 77 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.45 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
18.67 USD

Hostel 65.5% 397 reviews
Strattons Hostel
14.78 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
21.39 USD

Hostel 71.0% 14 reviews
Base Sydney
24.11 USD

Hostel 77.3% 435 reviews
BIG Hostel
24.63 USD

Hostel 83.9% 152 reviews
Central Station Hotel
63.63 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.0% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

205 out of 265 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'World Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 238 of 260 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is really clean! great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Kingston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

23 October 2012 Will would recommend this property

Liked: World square kicked ass quite simply. i had been recommended by a friend that had stayed there for months and i was not disappointed. The staff were all friendly and organised events for us in the evening, a free bbq and drinks at a popular backpacker club. The room's were clean and the atmosphere was pretty awesome as we had an entire 18 bed dorm playing drinking games and getting merry. Importantly for me aswell there was a good ratio of....lovely looking ladies, and blokes, all sort's of nationalities and generally just a very enjoyable place! Overall, location wise you simply cannot beat it's position in the centre, the place is nice, the staff are up for a laugh and help get everyone in the mood for the evening. And most importantly it's dirt cheap!!!!

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

chenguo li

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 chenguo would recommend this property

Liked: 虽然设施老旧了一点,但位置很方便,价格合理,很便宜了

Disliked: 房间 人多,不是太干净,但大家还好 都不闹腾

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: The location and the staffs.

Disliked: The room which is dirty, the bed that is not really strong it always shake when you move. The 2nd floor uses as a bar and it's very loud at night. Bars are surrounded the hostel also so noicy all night long. Young European roomates drinking and smoking weed in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It s for me te best hostel in Sydney!

Disliked: Nothing!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2012

Liked: The receptionists are friendly and the location is good.

Disliked: Had we known there was a nightclub directly below us we probably wouldnt have stayed, extremeley loud. The secuirity guards/bouncers are vile and extremely rude. They were constantly questioning us when they knew we were staying there, they constantly tried to pick fights with other patrons. There was one male and one female toilet/shower on our level which is ridiculous considering how many people were staying in the hostel. Rooms should've been cleaner upon arrival.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Tanya Duke

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 October 2012

Liked: This is a perfectly average hostel in terms of facilities, there's a kitchen, it's clean etc

Disliked: I stayed on a Friday night. The common area downstairs turned into a big, loud nightclub until about 1am, which kept me up while I was trying to sleep in my room, even though I was wearing earplugs. I also had to deal with some rude English guests who decided to sit next to my bed (in the big dorm of about 16 beds) and drink and talk until 2am, then were rude to me when I asked one of them to get off of my bed. I realise this is not the hostel's fault, but more could be done to enforce the 'absolutely no drinking in dorms' rule. So avoid this place if you want to sleep at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Coster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, awesome location, very clean and I was impressed by the spacious 18 bed dorm. The people staying were really friendly and the bar downstairs was nice and cheap.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: property is in best location and staff are friendly

Disliked: nothing really

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mathieu McGuire

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2012 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, very helpful and willing staff

Disliked: Hostel's living space turns into a night club on some nights - it gets very noisy until the wee hours so unless you're out all night, expect to be up all night!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi, Bar, Location

Disliked: If you have a room on the street, your just gonna have to enjoy the party that's going on outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Phipps

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in a few hostels around the city and this is by far my favourite one. Haven't heard about this hostel before but it came highly recommended by other travellers to me. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jodie Coster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: Central located, great atmosphere, free pizzas and awesome staff!

Disliked: Jodie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Francois

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, great staff and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this hostel and I would definitely come back.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Conway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has free wifi, evening activities; including movie nights and deals at some local backpacker bars in Sydney. The hostel staff are very friendly and helpful, having someone around 24 hours is also a great help. The laundry facilities are very good, and all backpackers are given free washing powder.

Disliked: The kitchen could do with a lick of paint, and the bathrooms on the 3rd and 4th floor could be updated to the quality of the 5th floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Horwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: this place has a good social area where everyone sits together. the location of the hostel is great right in the centre of the city and they organise nights for everyone to meet. Free wifi + Free pop corn is a bonus. Not to mention the great staff!!!!!

Disliked: Kitchen needs to be updated.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

31 August 2012

Liked: I liked the chillout area with Free Wifi.

Disliked: I didn't liked most of the people in this Hostel, also I didn't liked that you can't go to the Wifi area in the night because of the Bar. The kitchen was not very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Jane Baker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Laura Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, super friendly staff. Would definitely recommend staying here, free wifi and great atmosphere, have made loads of new friends. Kitchen could do with a bit of work.

Disliked: Kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Soraia Gouvea de Paula

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

22 August 2012 Soraia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are always helping you with everything they can. The location could not be better, in the middle of the city. The beds are confortable too.

Disliked: It's not hostels fault, but the bathroom sometimes is a little dirty, but the hostel have a cleaner who comes every day, so in general, it's good!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, very close to the free bus in Sydney, coles is just across the street and it is possible to walk to most places without it taking too long. I was surprised how quiet it was in the large room with 18 beds at night during the week, it was mostly the traffic outside that made the noise. All in all it`s a good place to stay if you want somewhere cheap that has a good location.

Disliked: Cleanliness.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything and very friendly people at the hostel, pretty good facilities and the bar had cheap drinks

Disliked: Kitchen was a little dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

victoria soriano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

28 July 2012 victoria would recommend this property

Liked: great location, free wifi, cheap drinks in the bar downstairs, quite clean for an hostel and the staff is friendly and helpfull!i definetely would recommend this hostel!

Disliked: shame the wifi doesn't work in the rooms upstairs...apart from that all good!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, price reflected facilities on offer

Disliked: The free wifi was only available on a few floors, one of which turned into a bar at moght, so not good for Skype

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Simon Belanger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, location, cheap, fairly quiet at night

Disliked: Bad wifi, not always super clean, I can't say why but the ambiance lack of something to actually meet people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels