HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of World Square Hostel

Hostel | 640 George Street, Cnr Liverpool and Goerge, Entrance on Liverpool Sydney, Australia 2000

79.0% Overall Rating

192 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Adam Hill thinks…

"Great staff, more than helpful 24/7. couldn't have a better location, not noisy if your staying on any floor apart from the one above the club. will be staying again soon 100%"

Read all World Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.02
  • Towel USD 1.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE 1. We are an 18+ only hostel 2. All guests must present either a passport, drivers license or national ID card on check-in. 3.***NYE BOOKINGS POLICY*** 22/12/12 - 05/01/13. Bookings will be charged for the first night in the weeks following the booking. The remainder of the balance will be charged on November 1st. In the event that the card details are invalid on either date the booking will be cancelled. Each of these charges is non refundable and non transferable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
21.39 USD

Hostel 63.0% 72 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.53 USD

Hostel 65.1% 29 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.32 USD

Hostel 65.8% 393 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.18 USD

Hostel 63.9% 28 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
24.41 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Base Sydney
28.83 USD

Hostel 78.7% 421 reviews
BIG Hostel
27.90 USD

Hostel 84.3% 136 reviews
Central Station Hotel
35.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 75.4% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

192 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'World Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 225 of 244 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to be as in pretty the centre of Sydney , good kitchen facilities and free wifi

Disliked: Had no air conditioning or fans in my room, so very hot at night. Common room with wifi turns into a club some nights

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eve Purdy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Eve would recommend this property

Liked: Location Free wifi Clean

Disliked: Not much of an atmoshpere and the bar never seemed to be open

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012

Liked: Not much, its ok if you plan to live there but i didn't feel like I was welcome as a new visitor. Free WIFI is good but only available in the lounge.

Disliked: the room i stayed in was on the 5th floor i think, it was the noisiest place on earth. right next to the main street and the monorail. Didnt get any sleep and left the nx day even tho i was meant to stay 3 nights. People werent friendly and ther is only one bathroon per floor.... not great when you are locked out of them cos people are having sex in them.....! annoying

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, the place is very safe and the location of very good. :-)

Disliked: It could have been a little cleaner, but on the other hand the kitchen and the bathrooms were cleaned every day which is very good. So this wasn't a big problem. But there should definitely be more toilets...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aisling Ferry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 November 2012 Aisling would recommend this property

Liked: Had an amazing time at this hostel! The staff are great and all very helpful! The hostel is situated in a perfect location on George Street next to everything. The kitchen is also really big and clean! The hostel also has a large area at reception were you can get free wifi! Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling on their own or in a group. World Square is the place to be.

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone van Riet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Sydney. Thumbs up!

Disliked: Security

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arlette Fischer

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 November 2012 Arlette would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing, the place looks real clean & fresh.The staff was very helpful and smillie. Wifi was free which is a bonus when you are backpacking.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, great free wifi, decent kitchen

Disliked: Outside noise but you have to expect that in the location, reception/chill out area turns into a bar at night so no communal area

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price and bar!

Disliked: only one toilet and shower on our level, definately needs an upgrade

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good to have the key card even to the bathroom, very friendly & helpfull staff, location wise is also good as it is only 10 minutes walking distance to almost all major Sydney attraction. And free wifi at common area too!

Disliked: The small elevator makes us walk up to 4th floor with our 'panda bear' on our back when we first arrive :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

RunQiao Zheng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 RunQiao would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are friendly!room is always clean and quiet!bathroom is clean enough for me!

Disliked: mirror is not enough!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paisan Promchan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Paisan would recommend this property

Liked: good location,clean,staff were really helpful

Disliked: Paisan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is really clean! great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Kingston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

23 October 2012 Will would recommend this property

Liked: World square kicked ass quite simply. i had been recommended by a friend that had stayed there for months and i was not disappointed. The staff were all friendly and organised events for us in the evening, a free bbq and drinks at a popular backpacker club. The room's were clean and the atmosphere was pretty awesome as we had an entire 18 bed dorm playing drinking games and getting merry. Importantly for me aswell there was a good ratio of....lovely looking ladies, and blokes, all sort's of nationalities and generally just a very enjoyable place! Overall, location wise you simply cannot beat it's position in the centre, the place is nice, the staff are up for a laugh and help get everyone in the mood for the evening. And most importantly it's dirt cheap!!!!

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

chenguo li

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 chenguo would recommend this property

Liked: 虽然设施老旧了一点,但位置很方便,价格合理,很便宜了

Disliked: 房间 人多,不是太干净,但大家还好 都不闹腾

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: The location and the staffs.

Disliked: The room which is dirty, the bed that is not really strong it always shake when you move. The 2nd floor uses as a bar and it's very loud at night. Bars are surrounded the hostel also so noicy all night long. Young European roomates drinking and smoking weed in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It s for me te best hostel in Sydney!

Disliked: Nothing!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2012

Liked: The receptionists are friendly and the location is good.

Disliked: Had we known there was a nightclub directly below us we probably wouldnt have stayed, extremeley loud. The secuirity guards/bouncers are vile and extremely rude. They were constantly questioning us when they knew we were staying there, they constantly tried to pick fights with other patrons. There was one male and one female toilet/shower on our level which is ridiculous considering how many people were staying in the hostel. Rooms should've been cleaner upon arrival.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Tanya Duke

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 October 2012

Liked: This is a perfectly average hostel in terms of facilities, there's a kitchen, it's clean etc

Disliked: I stayed on a Friday night. The common area downstairs turned into a big, loud nightclub until about 1am, which kept me up while I was trying to sleep in my room, even though I was wearing earplugs. I also had to deal with some rude English guests who decided to sit next to my bed (in the big dorm of about 16 beds) and drink and talk until 2am, then were rude to me when I asked one of them to get off of my bed. I realise this is not the hostel's fault, but more could be done to enforce the 'absolutely no drinking in dorms' rule. So avoid this place if you want to sleep at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Coster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, awesome location, very clean and I was impressed by the spacious 18 bed dorm. The people staying were really friendly and the bar downstairs was nice and cheap.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: property is in best location and staff are friendly

Disliked: nothing really

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mathieu McGuire

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2012 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, very helpful and willing staff

Disliked: Hostel's living space turns into a night club on some nights - it gets very noisy until the wee hours so unless you're out all night, expect to be up all night!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi, Bar, Location

Disliked: If you have a room on the street, your just gonna have to enjoy the party that's going on outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Phipps

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in a few hostels around the city and this is by far my favourite one. Haven't heard about this hostel before but it came highly recommended by other travellers to me. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jodie Coster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: Central located, great atmosphere, free pizzas and awesome staff!

Disliked: Jodie left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels