We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of World Square Hostel

Hostel | 640 George Street, Cnr Liverpool and Goerge, Entrance on Liverpool Sydney, Australia 2000

82.4% Overall Rating

210 out of 271 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2015)

Ben Williams thinks…

"Excellent location, friendly staff, great people staying here. Weekends are good fun with the club downstairs with very cheap drinks! Great value for money too!!"

Read all World Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.84
  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE 1. We are an 18+ only hostel 2. All guests must present either a passport, drivers license or national ID card on check-in. 3.***NYE BOOKINGS POLICY*** 22/12/12 - 05/01/13. Bookings will be charged for the first night in the weeks following the booking. The remainder of the balance will be charged on November 1st. In the event that the card details are invalid on either date the booking will be cancelled. Each of these charges is non refundable and non transferable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
20.91 USD

Hostel 65.9% 77 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.36 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
20.14 USD

Hostel 64.5% 398 reviews
Strattons Hostel
14.72 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
19.36 USD

Hostel 71.0% 14 reviews
Base Sydney
22.46 USD

Hostel 77.3% 435 reviews
BIG Hostel
24.53 USD

Hostel 83.4% 153 reviews
Central Station Hotel
46.08 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.4% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

210 out of 271 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'World Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 241 of 264 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location and having a bar with cheap drinks underneath it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free wi fi was good as well.

Disliked: Trying to find it was a bit of a mission as it was not well signed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

peter russell

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the locations is very good, and your stafs are friendliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lisa Neher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Ich war im Mai 2013 im Wordlsquare. Es war ok. Die Mitarbeiter waren super drauf und haben mir echt weitergeholfen. Die Betten sind in einigermassen gutem Zustand (duenne Matratzen) und auch die Duschen waren sauber. Die Lage ist auch super.Gegenueber ist ein Supermarkt. 10 Minuten Fussweg zum Darling Harbour und 30min Fussweg zum Sydney Harbour. Auch die Strassenbahn ist nciht weit weg.

Disliked: In dieser Kueche haette ich nicht gekocht.Hab mir morgens dort immer Brote geschmiert und mir sind die Kakerlaken wortwoertlich am Tellerrand hochgekrabbelt.Es ist echt gut, dass man sein Zeug in den Kuehlschrank legen kann, aber die Kueche war einfach uebel schmutzig. 18Euro nur fuer ein Bett zum schlafen fand ich dann doch etwas teuer fuer die Zustaende.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, location and location

Disliked: the noise from downstairs and the crazy night Club during weekend is so noisy.......

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Monte-D'Cruz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: - The staff here are great, very helpful and always welcoming. - The location is perfect; 2mins walk from Town Hall station, 10mins from Darling Harbour.

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Williamson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 April 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great - close to transportation, food, shops.

Disliked: Convenient location means that it is sometimes quite noisy, especially on weekends.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lawton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff and atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a great place to stay! First of all they offer FREE internet. (No where else does this) I was impressed with how clean they keep everything. The staff were very friendly and able to offer a lot of info about seeing the city and getting around. The hostel is close to everything and offers a very social environment. I met heaps of people during my stay!!

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Wouter Mantel

Alone

City break

07 April 2013

Liked: The staff was quite flexible after their failing computer system. And in general they were quite polite.

Disliked: The hostel is located right in the centre and you can hear and feel that 24 hours per day. The night club connected to the hostel produces the most noise. Due to computer failure I had no key card which is for entering the building, your floor, your room and the bathroom. I could go to the staff to enter these zones, but they were not allways at the reception. And the securtiy initially didn't believe me when I wanted to enter the hostel without a key card in the evening.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness, and the way it was set out! The bar and the helpful staff!

Disliked: The toilet was a bit old and run down looking but was very clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As I arrived I was greeted by a friendly member of staff who informed me that check in was not untill 1pm (I arrived at about 8am) but I was able to leave my bags in the hostel and allowed to make full use of the tv area and the FREE wifi. I was all given a free map of the area which allowed me to plan my days and was helped my the same member of staff who told me what was free to do in the day and night. As this hostel is in a central location it is great to get to all surrounding areas and attractions. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the girls toilets had a hair dryer and set of straighteners in.

Disliked: There were not as many showers as they perhaps should have been. I thougt there was omly one per floor but I was informed on the last day that there were three more on the next floor up which could have solves problems in stead of waiting for the shower. The wifi didnt reach up to my room but this can not vbe complained about as it was free. Alot of the people who stayed there seemed to be there for a long time, I felt that it was hard to make friends at this particular hostel. There was no fan in the room so the room was kept cool by leaving the window. The problem with this is that because of the location there was a lot of traffic on the roads and night and this could be heard in the room. Also people shouting in the street.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Charli Beeton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2013 Charli would recommend this property

Liked: Got upgraded to a smaller dorm which was very welcomed! Free wifi - nowhere in Aus or NZ seems to offer this - very important for backpackers

Disliked: wifi didnt work in room, only down by reception, only one toilet for girls, very noisy due to single glazing and being on a main road

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Giang Hoang

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 February 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Giang left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, helpfull and friendly staff, clean rooms, great location. I really liked my stay here. The athmosphere was nice etc. I'd reccommend this!

Disliked: There were a couple of cockroaches on the kitchen floor..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great time if you like to party, bar in the lower level with cheap drinks. stayed in 18 dorm and met a ton of people, people drinking in the rooms was a fun time. event nights were good.

Disliked: lounge area didnt have a tv with cable. impossible to get to bed early on friday and saturday nights. had to pay for dryer instead of hanging the clothes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to be as in pretty the centre of Sydney , good kitchen facilities and free wifi

Disliked: Had no air conditioning or fans in my room, so very hot at night. Common room with wifi turns into a club some nights

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eve Purdy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Eve would recommend this property

Liked: Location Free wifi Clean

Disliked: Not much of an atmoshpere and the bar never seemed to be open

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012

Liked: Not much, its ok if you plan to live there but i didn't feel like I was welcome as a new visitor. Free WIFI is good but only available in the lounge.

Disliked: the room i stayed in was on the 5th floor i think, it was the noisiest place on earth. right next to the main street and the monorail. Didnt get any sleep and left the nx day even tho i was meant to stay 3 nights. People werent friendly and ther is only one bathroon per floor.... not great when you are locked out of them cos people are having sex in them.....! annoying

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, the place is very safe and the location of very good. :-)

Disliked: It could have been a little cleaner, but on the other hand the kitchen and the bathrooms were cleaned every day which is very good. So this wasn't a big problem. But there should definitely be more toilets...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aisling Ferry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 November 2012 Aisling would recommend this property

Liked: Had an amazing time at this hostel! The staff are great and all very helpful! The hostel is situated in a perfect location on George Street next to everything. The kitchen is also really big and clean! The hostel also has a large area at reception were you can get free wifi! Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling on their own or in a group. World Square is the place to be.

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone van Riet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Sydney. Thumbs up!

Disliked: Security

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arlette Fischer

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 November 2012 Arlette would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing, the place looks real clean & fresh.The staff was very helpful and smillie. Wifi was free which is a bonus when you are backpacking.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, great free wifi, decent kitchen

Disliked: Outside noise but you have to expect that in the location, reception/chill out area turns into a bar at night so no communal area

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price and bar!

Disliked: only one toilet and shower on our level, definately needs an upgrade


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels