HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of World Square Hostel

Hostel | 640 George Street, Cnr Liverpool and Goerge, Entrance on Liverpool Sydney, Australia 2000

81.1% Overall Rating

196 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2014)

"Enjoyed my stay at this hostel. Friendly staff, they were very helpful on check in and with general knowledge of events happening in the city. Free wifi in the common area, maybe it could be made available in the whole…"

Read all World Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.07
  • Towel USD 1.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE 1. We are an 18+ only hostel 2. All guests must present either a passport, drivers license or national ID card on check-in. 3.***NYE BOOKINGS POLICY*** 22/12/12 - 05/01/13. Bookings will be charged for the first night in the weeks following the booking. The remainder of the balance will be charged on November 1st. In the event that the card details are invalid on either date the booking will be cancelled. Each of these charges is non refundable and non transferable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
20.54 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.61 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.41 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Strattons Hostel
21.48 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
20.78 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Base Sydney
25.21 USD

Hostel 77.1% 427 reviews
BIG Hostel
28.01 USD

Hostel 87.1% 147 reviews
Central Station Hotel
48.37 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

196 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'World Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 229 of 248 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Point of the nighlife, with cheap beer and beautiful People.

Disliked: I like everything about The hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucas conti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Best Crew ever!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Weber

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 October 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I was surprised as I havent heard about this property before. super friendly staff and central located. they have nights out organised and day activities as well. good place to stay for the price you pay.

Disliked: kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay. I would highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 July 2013

Liked: Location was good. That's about it.

Disliked: Not clean. Sometime on the first evening in the "tv lounge" you'll realise that you're actually sitting on a stained beanbag on a beer stained old carpet watching tv with the sound turned off and no subtitles. This "lounge" turns into a bar playing loud music on Thurs, Fri and Sat nights, relegating the guests to their rooms or the kitchen. Fair enough they warn you about the nightclub on the Sat / Sun, but the irony of the signs by the doors telling you to "keep noise down after 11pm" while your bunkbed and the light fittings vibrate to the music untill 1am-ish is pretty surprising. Only one toilet on our entire floor for approx 22 people. There was a hairdryer in the toilet but no means to dry your hands after washing them. Kitchen was a bit skanky. Other guests tend to be long staying backpackers who have parties in the dorms on the weekends making it hard to sleep. I'd recommend either going to a better hostel in Kings Cross or shelling out a fraction more money for somewhere much better nearby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hajme Alabanza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Hajme would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: not sure

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived at the hsotel we were upgraded from and 18 bed dorn to 8 bed which was great,staff were very friendly and d rooms were large enough with a large mirror wich was great. It is very close to all touristy attractions aswel which is a plus as less public transport u can pretty much walk anywhere.

Disliked: Bathrooms-I toilet and two showers on our floor and none of these were nice ,I was there in winter so nto not too busy but in summer I would imagine it would get pretty hard to get showers. Kitchen-very small plenty of pots and pans but it could do with an overhaul aswel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, fun staff, went out to sidebar on wed night - free entry & drink

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gabriela Rocha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Gabriela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katelyn Repetto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Katelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice accommodation in the centre of Sydney. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The bathrooms and facilities are good enough. There is a night club on every thursday, friday and saturday nights.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Beulah Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

18 June 2013

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: The Cleanliness

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rachel Poole

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 June 2013

Liked: Cheap price.

Disliked: For the same price, you could stay at a YHA, which is much cleaner and has better facilities. Also it is quite a trek from Central staiton!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location and having a bar with cheap drinks underneath it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free wi fi was good as well.

Disliked: Trying to find it was a bit of a mission as it was not well signed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

peter russell

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the locations is very good, and your stafs are friendliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lisa Neher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Ich war im Mai 2013 im Wordlsquare. Es war ok. Die Mitarbeiter waren super drauf und haben mir echt weitergeholfen. Die Betten sind in einigermassen gutem Zustand (duenne Matratzen) und auch die Duschen waren sauber. Die Lage ist auch super.Gegenueber ist ein Supermarkt. 10 Minuten Fussweg zum Darling Harbour und 30min Fussweg zum Sydney Harbour. Auch die Strassenbahn ist nciht weit weg.

Disliked: In dieser Kueche haette ich nicht gekocht.Hab mir morgens dort immer Brote geschmiert und mir sind die Kakerlaken wortwoertlich am Tellerrand hochgekrabbelt.Es ist echt gut, dass man sein Zeug in den Kuehlschrank legen kann, aber die Kueche war einfach uebel schmutzig. 18Euro nur fuer ein Bett zum schlafen fand ich dann doch etwas teuer fuer die Zustaende.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, location and location

Disliked: the noise from downstairs and the crazy night Club during weekend is so noisy.......

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Monte-D'Cruz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: - The staff here are great, very helpful and always welcoming. - The location is perfect; 2mins walk from Town Hall station, 10mins from Darling Harbour.

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Williamson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 April 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great - close to transportation, food, shops.

Disliked: Convenient location means that it is sometimes quite noisy, especially on weekends.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lawton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff and atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a great place to stay! First of all they offer FREE internet. (No where else does this) I was impressed with how clean they keep everything. The staff were very friendly and able to offer a lot of info about seeing the city and getting around. The hostel is close to everything and offers a very social environment. I met heaps of people during my stay!!

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Wouter Mantel

Alone

City break

07 April 2013

Liked: The staff was quite flexible after their failing computer system. And in general they were quite polite.

Disliked: The hostel is located right in the centre and you can hear and feel that 24 hours per day. The night club connected to the hostel produces the most noise. Due to computer failure I had no key card which is for entering the building, your floor, your room and the bathroom. I could go to the staff to enter these zones, but they were not allways at the reception. And the securtiy initially didn't believe me when I wanted to enter the hostel without a key card in the evening.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness, and the way it was set out! The bar and the helpful staff!

Disliked: The toilet was a bit old and run down looking but was very clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As I arrived I was greeted by a friendly member of staff who informed me that check in was not untill 1pm (I arrived at about 8am) but I was able to leave my bags in the hostel and allowed to make full use of the tv area and the FREE wifi. I was all given a free map of the area which allowed me to plan my days and was helped my the same member of staff who told me what was free to do in the day and night. As this hostel is in a central location it is great to get to all surrounding areas and attractions. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the girls toilets had a hair dryer and set of straighteners in.

Disliked: There were not as many showers as they perhaps should have been. I thougt there was omly one per floor but I was informed on the last day that there were three more on the next floor up which could have solves problems in stead of waiting for the shower. The wifi didnt reach up to my room but this can not vbe complained about as it was free. Alot of the people who stayed there seemed to be there for a long time, I felt that it was hard to make friends at this particular hostel. There was no fan in the room so the room was kept cool by leaving the window. The problem with this is that because of the location there was a lot of traffic on the roads and night and this could be heard in the room. Also people shouting in the street.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels