We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Macquarie University Village

Apartment | 122 Culloden Road, Marsfield, Sydney, Australia 2122

63.2% Overall Rating

6 out of 8 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2012)

"The property is located behind MQ University. As a first-time student, it is quite convenient to walk to MQ University. However, during the summer vacation period, many rooms in the 5 bedroom house are empty so you may…"

Read all Macquarie University Village reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Killara Inn Hotel
45.85 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Bella Bedz
19.21 USD

Hostel 83.5% 52 reviews
BB's Working Backpackers
15.72 USD

Hostel 61.3% 130 reviews
Balmain Village
14.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Glebe Point YHA
27.07 USD

Hostel 79.1% 105 reviews
Glebe Village Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 80.5% 130 reviews
Sydney Harbour YHA
45.41 USD

Hostel 89.8% 153 reviews
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
21.83 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.2%

Overall Rating

6 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Macquarie University Village'

Atmosphere
65.0%
Location
45.0%
Facilities
55.0%
Cleanliness
67.5%
Staff
75.0%
Value
62.5%
Safety
72.5%
Refine your results Showing 6 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012

Liked: It is a very clean and calm property.

Disliked: This is not a "real" hostel. When you are traveling on your own and hope to get to know people I cannot recommend this hostel. Its far away from town and there is no train service after 10pm. So you have to leave town at around 9pm, often you need to take a cab for additional 10 Dollar. Please calculate the costs for taxis and trains before youre making your booking. I didnt have to pay a bond. The description how to find the place of the lady below was really helpful! Thanks for that! I ordered a taxi for 4am in the morning to get to the airport - there was no taxi arriving, I called the staff - he ordered me another one without saying that the taxi will wait at another street corner. At least I got to the airport quite in time - but could be less stressful with better help...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is located behind MQ University. As a first-time student, it is quite convenient to walk to MQ University. However, during the summer vacation period, many rooms in the 5 bedroom house are empty so you may be house-sharing with unknown strangers. Some of these ppl may check-in one night and leave the next morning, so do remember to lock your room. Room is generally clean with a hard mattress and a tough white bedsheet + single blanket and soft pillow. A big mirrored wardrobe holds just about any traveller's clothes. lots of power sockets help to ease the day because I found a mini-fan in house 109 and used it to circulate my room's air. Toilet is clean too and comes with the typical shampoo and conditioner but no soap. Toilet paper and tissue paper is all provided. Bus M41 is located at the bus-stop near Waterloo Park. Generally a safe place as there are young families in the Waterloo Park until 9pm.

Disliked: When I was sleeping, pest control opened my door and I woke up in a shock. There are no hangers in the wardrobe so do bring your own hangers. Kitchen comes with an electric kettle, water jug (filter enclosed), a much used toaster oven, Westinghouse fridge (empty) except for 2 bottles of probably expired fruit juices accompanying the fridge, oven, stove, cutlery, dishwashing liquid, sponge/scrub device, and an odd assortment of knives, chopper, spagetti-tool, thongs etc sitting together in the drawer. Iron and ironing board are located in the under-stairs storeroom behind the dining table together with some old shoes, old bags etc sharing space with a footsie net. There is a shortcut to the campus via Tralfagar square and Waterloo park. Try not to walk through the trees coz spider may drop on your hair. A common stairway is located behind the house so usually there is a one-way shortcut through the house's back door and out to the university grounds or MQ University Station or Macquarie Shopping Centre. For late check-out, your house access card may be disabled so do have a mobile phone at hand to call the residential advisor on the number given. I did request & was granted 730pm checkout but when I reached the house at 700pm, the house access card was disabled and i had to call the RA to drop by to open the door. It could be tricky for a tourist without a local pre-paid SIM card to make a call to the RA as accomodation office closes by 6pm i guess.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Individual rooms, small blocks and parking

Disliked: Very difficult to find, no advance info on reception hours, it's quite a long way to central Sydney. There was no equipment in the kitchen. Having to leave a $100 deposit on my credit card. There was no advance notice of this, it seems a high amount and futile exercise that was not required anywhere else we stayed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ANGUS SMITH

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2011 ANGUS would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this place. Ensuite single rooms, communal lounge and kitchen with another 5 in a block but was very quiet when i stayed. A little out of the way 20 minute walk to nearest staion (Macquarie Uni) but excellent facilities nearby such as shopping mall, sports centre make it a great place to stay. The units are brilliant value and staying at a Uni Halls of Residence is far more preferable than so grotty dorm so often found in town centre places. The advice pack they give is brilliant and the security people are excellent. I would consider staying here again on my next visit to Sydney.

Disliked: Finding it was tough. It was advertised as corner of Waterloo Rd, Trafalgar Place, when really it is 122 Culloden Place, Marsfield. I arrived late at night and mistakenly got off at North Ryde station then paid another $30 taxi fayre as the driver couldnt find the place. Don't let this put you off because it is a fantastic place to stay and value for money on the whole. Get off at Macquarie Uni, walk through the campus to Gymnasium road and then the village.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 20 mins from sydney harbour by train

Disliked: cleanliness, no kitchen equipment, mold in bathroon, diningroom was dirty, jitchen was dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really nice and modern. You have your privacy but you can at the same time be social and meet others. It is clean and has nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels