HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Bella Bedz

Hostel | 1 Beresford Rd, Sydney, Australia 2135

82.1% Overall Rating

45 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2014)

Claire McNicholls thinks…

"Good value for money when booking in advance. Great hostel for my partner and I as we shared an apartment with just a couple of others. Free breakfast and fast wifi on offer. Very clean. Train ride…"

Read all Bella Bedz reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Admiral Collingwood Lodge
72.02 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
BB's Working Backpackers
9.35 USD

Hostel 65.7% 117 reviews
Glebe Point YHA
29.00 USD

Hostel 79.1% 105 reviews
Glebe Village Backpackers
21.51 USD

Hostel 78.5% 128 reviews
Australian Sunrise Lodge
42.84 USD

Guesthouse 69.8% 21 reviews
The Haven Inn Sydney
40.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 119 reviews
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
20.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Macquarie University Village
46.77 USD

Apartment 63.2% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

45 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bella Bedz'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Butler

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Work / volunteering

14 March 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: I found this very handy for what i needed and very convinent to shopping needs

Disliked: I was issued one towel for two weeks

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire McNicholls

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money when booking in advance. Great hostel for my partner and I as we shared an apartment with just a couple of others. Free breakfast and fast wifi on offer. Very clean. Train ride from city is about 15 mins but travel card is useful if using ferries and trains to other parts of Sydney, eg Bondi or Olympic Park. I think it's a good hostel for couples and those wanting a quieter hostel just outside the city. Supermarket 5 minute walk from hostel.

Disliked: Not loads to do around the hostel. Which was fine was us, but something that should be considered if that's what you are looking for. Make sure you have a phone to contact the owner if she is not around, as we were earlier than she expected and we had to call her to get into the hostel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Hanh Nguyen

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014

Liked: good staff and near korean market

Disliked: so noisy. not enough space.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to city centre and good value for money. The landlord is nice and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A brand new building so very clean. Had the building to ourselves for a few days. Good sized rooms.

Disliked: Owner seemed unorganized as we had to share the key with the owner for a couple of days. Shower was not hot, oven didn't work, and was told there would be no wifi for 10 days even though we were only there a week.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

kapil awasthi

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 kapil would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to strathfield station so Sydney CBD is easily accessible. Mary,who manages this place, is very friendly and helpful Location is quite except for the noise of trains since the property is located close to Railway Tracks.

Disliked: overhead light is low power... Just that

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

matthew Stephens

Alone

Business / conference

05 February 2013 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Homely - because it basically is a home. I had a room to myself with a wardrobe and desk and my own key. Also, basic food was provided which was great - weetbix, milk, toast jams etc. It was nice to be able to use the kitchin, the living room, the balcony. It was just like your own appartment

Disliked: The carpets have gotten dirty over time - and while the place is clean, it is clean in a homely way. Mary definitely puts her time in cleaning the place, but there is stains in the carpet and the bathroom is a bit flaky.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness of staff, security, price.

Disliked: Lack of heating during winter months(for 10-20 Degree C). Cleanliness of common areas could have been better.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hanne Rajanen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Hanne would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and breakfast. Really quiet place (except the trains), possibility to use free swimming pool and sauna.

Disliked: It's far from the centre and it's not really a hostel. It's room in someones house. The oven didn't work, expensive laundry, no other travellers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

melina neufeld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 melina would recommend this property

Liked: Having a private room, wifi, a kitchen, laundry facilites, and a very safe-feeling neighbourhood. The hostel was clean and I only shared a bathroom and kitchen with two other tenants.

Disliked: The location, as it was about a half-hour train ride into downtown Sydney, but buying the Multi-Day transit pass worked well and probably turned out to be cheaper as I took the train to/from the airport and used the ferry services a few times as well.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 August 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: as above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bella Bedz was just what I was looking for. A really quiet place providing all the stuff you need. Nice bed, nice Wifi, nice kitchen. I would go back there anytime.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool was really nice, and Mary was really helpful

Disliked: It wasn't as clean as it could have been

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: although it is a house share with three other people they were at work most of the time so didnt really get to meet many peaople but felt as though we had place to ourselves. We were unable to find somewhere else to stay after the date we said we would leave mary was ok about letting us saty until we found somewhere

Disliked: the noise of the trains was a bit of a nightmare so if your a light sleeper a wouldnt advise it although we slept fine

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an excellent place and one of the best I've stayed in. Lovely host and very homely environment. Cooking facilities available and a swimming pool downstairs!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and the owner is very friendly and helpful. The room was big enough for two people (although I was on my own). The location was the best thing: very handy to get to the city centre. I recommend if someone is travelling with a companion and don't wanna stay in filthy and noisy hostels.

Disliked: The place was too hot sometimes (there were no fans or air conditioning) and whenever someone went out to smoke, the room gets full of smoke...Also, it's important to bear in mind that the place is a room in a normal apartment.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaniness

Disliked: Trains

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Shoesmith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Mary was fantastic..really nice and accommodating!..Breakfast nice too!.Train station 5 min walk!

Disliked: Location out of the way, but cheap and worth every penny as Sydney City is disgustingly expensive!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Emm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2010 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay after getting off the plane !

Disliked: Oven not working :O

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, cheap and easy to get to transport. It is a bed, shower and small kitchen so if that is all you want it fits the bill and is cheap.

Disliked: It is a persons home so you sort of feel like your staying at an unknown realitives place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susannah Shaw

Alone

Business / conference

16 July 2010 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: I loved Mary and her guests. Location was SO convenient to transport and shops. Modern, clean and attractive environment. Cumfy bed and yum breakfast.Sad that one grumpy review might put others off a true gem of a find for the budget conscious trraveller.

Disliked: It Is very near the train station - but I didn't use ear plugs (always an option) and quickly adjusted. Small price for the convenience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: yes, I thought that it was a good place to stay. Easy to get to the center of Sydney.The staff were helpful and the other guests wer very freindly. Just as I had expected.I would thoughrourily recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cute little place.Great for a proper nights sleep.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: familiar atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had my own private room and was happy with the general friendly atmosphere of the place. The owner Mary was very helpful and kept everything in good order like cleaning and washing up duties. A basic breakfast was provided which cut the cost of stay in a expensive city in which to live.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels