HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BIG Hostel

Hostel | 212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

87.1% Overall Rating

130 out of 147 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Chris Davies thinks…

"Well located, loads of local area info, clean, secure and staff were ruddy helpful!"

Read all BIG Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Individuals who book groups only rooms will have their booking cancelled. If you are needeed to book for a group, please place a request through the HostelBooker's groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
45.24 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews
Hyde Park Backpackers
33.19 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
20.74 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Home Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 61.5% 48 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
16.59 USD

Hostel 59.0% 27 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
36.68 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

130 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BIG Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 126 of 142 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

YEONGROK JEONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014

Liked: not at all

Disliked: not good. I had a big 8 ppl dorm. when I entered my room, sock smell attacked my nose, windows never been open. so I did open it but smell still there. elevator was broken. I had to climb up to my room. breakfast simple, only toast jams,cereals. staff not smiling? overall not good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, loads of local area info, clean, secure and staff were ruddy helpful!

Disliked: Lift access only, took ages. Atmosphere severely lacking in communal area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good location very near central station, nice atmosphere, clean and safe. They provide lockers before check-in and after check out time which is good if you want to make the most of your time in there. Worthy!

Disliked: I wouldnt say dislike but maybe the lobby and kitchen are a bit small, it becomes too busy at peak hours. But patience is the key.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing! Convenient for airport, city centre and shops/food

Disliked: Young kids are allowed to stay which was a bit annoying

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Oravec

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Decent price. Included breakfast is a great thing! Good location between Central Station & the commercial area around Pitt St & Darling Harbour. Fairly clean overall. Shared bathroom on each floor. Secure entrance after dark. Big size lockers in the rooms. Good big common lounge area and kitchen.

Disliked: The Blankets are not washed regularly! They give you two sheets instead (one for mattress under you, one for on top under the blanket). I could feel every spring in my mattress, although as I'm a heavy sleeper it didn't bother me too much. Not enough tables/shelving in the room or bathroom to put your stuff on (as we're told not to leave stuff all over the floor). Also, only 3 showers and 3 toilets in the Level 1 Bathroom (shared for male & female) - was ok for my stay, but might get busy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and roof top

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Irina Lebedeva

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2014 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly. The location is great. Everything I needed was walking distance.

Disliked: I stayed in a private room and in some other hostels I've been to it looked a little better. But I liked it anyway.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful reception.

Disliked: Nothing really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and a PC as well

Disliked: nothing in particular

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hayden Adams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Hayden would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. One member of staff after me asking where I could buy some wine actually have me some free wine.

Disliked: Why only have wifi on the ground floor?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One felt welcomed and comfortable there, which was obvious due to the amount of people who hung out in the common area.

Disliked: No internet in the rooms, no internet on the rooftop. Only internet available in the common area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's free breakfast n free wifi is always a bonus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff and clean bathrooms!

Disliked: price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast and free wifi! Lockers in all the rooms. Clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Activities during the evenings would be a great way to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabrina Malcharzyk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in an 8 bed dorm and i have nothing to complain about. the room was really big, the lockers are big enough to fit your handluggage in there. the bathroom is clean and the showers are good, especially the waterpressure. the kitchen is clean (free herbs and spices) and the breakfast is really good. free wifi even if it doesn't work that good from time to time. the common areas are good as well, so just book it :)

Disliked: the slow or sometimes not really good working wifi but it's for free so i don't really wanna complain much about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant! Arranged a bottom bunk for my OAP mum, thanks especially to Helen and Marco-you guys are great! Well run, great facilities, good atmosphere, close to all main bus routes, trains and china town for good eats. Bathrooms were clean and smelled fresh. Linen and rooms were clean too.

Disliked: My squeaky bed! It creaked every time I climbed in and out but I think mine was the exception as I didn't notice any others making a noise. Taps & showers in bathroom were dripping-could do with new washers probably.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great central kitchen which is really well organised, big lockers in rooms, awesome location, very good value for money.

Disliked: honestly can't think of anything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nearby the central station

Disliked: Small bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, secure, quiet dorms, value for money.

Disliked: Don't like using a lift, would prefer stair access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We would like to extend our overwhelming gratitude to the staff of Big Hostel. Marc and Marco, and everybody we came in contact with at the reception of this AWESOME hostel. On the first day of our tour we missed my friends long lost colleague and they were so helpful to give us the details on how to reach her. Marco even searched "Dr. Google" to find a way how to meet them the following day. On the second day of our tour, my friend lost her camera at Blue Mountains and just the same, the staff made an extra effort of on how we will be able to get the camera back when it was found. The place is comfortable, wifi very fast, even provides an extra computer, with public telephone, the kitchen and dining area is homey . The staff made our stay in Sydney memorable and EXCEPTIONALl!!! Cel and Beth from Philippines

Disliked: Nothing.Everything is EXCELLENT!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stina Grahn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 November 2013 Stina would recommend this property

Liked: beds were good, clean showers, nice staff

Disliked: the elevator

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Jelinkova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere for a place of its size.

Disliked: Renata left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013

Liked: good location, friendly staff

Disliked: small bathroom, not the best wifi, few common places

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Glenn Rawlings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Has a well equipped kitchen and is all you'd expect from backpacker accommodation.

Disliked: The hostel was good in all aspects except the location. It is located close to Central Station and a 20 minute walk right into the city, but it isn't a nice area to stay whilst in Sydney. Head to the coast which is well connected by the public transport so you can get into town easily.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Sydney, kitchen always open & accessible, not too party-mad, nice showers.

Disliked: I did see a cockroach in the main area of the hostel


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels