We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BIG Hostel

Hostel | 212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

84.1% Overall Rating

137 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/04/2015)

"Big hostel was an all around great stay. The facilities are cool, SUPER secure, and they are kept pretty darn clean. The free breakfast in the morning is wonderful and the common room is an easy place to meet people.…"

Read all BIG Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Individuals who book groups only rooms will have their booking cancelled. If you are needeed to book for a group, please place a request through the HostelBooker's groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
43.12 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.4% 21 reviews
Hyde Park Backpackers
29.09 USD

Hostel 69.1% 37 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
19.90 USD

Hostel 71.0% 15 reviews
Home Backpackers
20.67 USD

Hostel 63.5% 49 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
14.54 USD

Hostel 57.7% 33 reviews
Strattons Hostel
14.54 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
13.97 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 80.6% 147 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
18.37 USD

Hostel 65.3% 399 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

137 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BIG Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 150 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big hostel was an all around great stay. The facilities are cool, SUPER secure, and they are kept pretty darn clean. The free breakfast in the morning is wonderful and the common room is an easy place to meet people. The staff at the front desk was really, really helpful!

Disliked: There are however a lot of long-term people staying there, who are not as friendly but I was still able to meet some cool people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely roof terrace, close to the trainstation and easy to get around in the city from. Also a very nice kitchen.

Disliked: It was a bit hard to understand the openingtimes of the roof terrace. Would have been even better if the wifi worked other places than just the kitchen/common room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olof Gotting

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2015 Olof would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice, friendly staff, nice room, decent brekkie

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eve Beattie

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

25 January 2015 Eve would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff greeted us when we arrived, our room was clean and the hostel's location is great. We would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Eve left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful, had lots of flyers and information about activities around the area. Good place to stay when travelling on a limited budget.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 November 2014

Liked: Location, close to sydney's central station.

Disliked: The accent on all the things that are not allowed. Inflexible when it comes to helping out a customer. It seems that the hostel owner cares for his needs mostly.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

YEONGROK JEONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014

Liked: not at all

Disliked: not good. I had a big 8 ppl dorm. when I entered my room, sock smell attacked my nose, windows never been open. so I did open it but smell still there. elevator was broken. I had to climb up to my room. breakfast simple, only toast jams,cereals. staff not smiling? overall not good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, loads of local area info, clean, secure and staff were ruddy helpful!

Disliked: Lift access only, took ages. Atmosphere severely lacking in communal area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good location very near central station, nice atmosphere, clean and safe. They provide lockers before check-in and after check out time which is good if you want to make the most of your time in there. Worthy!

Disliked: I wouldnt say dislike but maybe the lobby and kitchen are a bit small, it becomes too busy at peak hours. But patience is the key.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing! Convenient for airport, city centre and shops/food

Disliked: Young kids are allowed to stay which was a bit annoying

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Oravec

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Decent price. Included breakfast is a great thing! Good location between Central Station & the commercial area around Pitt St & Darling Harbour. Fairly clean overall. Shared bathroom on each floor. Secure entrance after dark. Big size lockers in the rooms. Good big common lounge area and kitchen.

Disliked: The Blankets are not washed regularly! They give you two sheets instead (one for mattress under you, one for on top under the blanket). I could feel every spring in my mattress, although as I'm a heavy sleeper it didn't bother me too much. Not enough tables/shelving in the room or bathroom to put your stuff on (as we're told not to leave stuff all over the floor). Also, only 3 showers and 3 toilets in the Level 1 Bathroom (shared for male & female) - was ok for my stay, but might get busy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and roof top

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Irina Lebedeva

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2014 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly. The location is great. Everything I needed was walking distance.

Disliked: I stayed in a private room and in some other hostels I've been to it looked a little better. But I liked it anyway.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful reception.

Disliked: Nothing really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and a PC as well

Disliked: nothing in particular

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hayden Adams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Hayden would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. One member of staff after me asking where I could buy some wine actually have me some free wine.

Disliked: Why only have wifi on the ground floor?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One felt welcomed and comfortable there, which was obvious due to the amount of people who hung out in the common area.

Disliked: No internet in the rooms, no internet on the rooftop. Only internet available in the common area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's free breakfast n free wifi is always a bonus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff and clean bathrooms!

Disliked: price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast and free wifi! Lockers in all the rooms. Clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Activities during the evenings would be a great way to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabrina Malcharzyk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in an 8 bed dorm and i have nothing to complain about. the room was really big, the lockers are big enough to fit your handluggage in there. the bathroom is clean and the showers are good, especially the waterpressure. the kitchen is clean (free herbs and spices) and the breakfast is really good. free wifi even if it doesn't work that good from time to time. the common areas are good as well, so just book it :)

Disliked: the slow or sometimes not really good working wifi but it's for free so i don't really wanna complain much about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant! Arranged a bottom bunk for my OAP mum, thanks especially to Helen and Marco-you guys are great! Well run, great facilities, good atmosphere, close to all main bus routes, trains and china town for good eats. Bathrooms were clean and smelled fresh. Linen and rooms were clean too.

Disliked: My squeaky bed! It creaked every time I climbed in and out but I think mine was the exception as I didn't notice any others making a noise. Taps & showers in bathroom were dripping-could do with new washers probably.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great central kitchen which is really well organised, big lockers in rooms, awesome location, very good value for money.

Disliked: honestly can't think of anything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nearby the central station

Disliked: Small bathrooms


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels