HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BIG Hostel

Hostel | 212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

84.3% Overall Rating

120 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2014)

Hayden Adams thinks…

"Friendly and helpful staff. One member of staff after me asking where I could buy some wine actually have me some free wine."

Read all BIG Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Individuals who book groups only rooms will have their booking cancelled. If you are needeed to book for a group, please place a request through the HostelBooker's groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
39.10 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 75.4% 18 reviews
Hyde Park Backpackers
35.54 USD

Hostel 80.7% 27 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
24.55 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Home Backpackers
21.51 USD

Hostel 61.3% 47 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
19.64 USD

Hostel 56.5% 25 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.32 USD

Hostel 63.9% 28 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
38.35 USD

Hostel 78.9% 145 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
26.19 USD

Hostel 65.8% 393 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

120 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BIG Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 118 of 131 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and a PC as well

Disliked: nothing in particular

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hayden Adams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Hayden would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. One member of staff after me asking where I could buy some wine actually have me some free wine.

Disliked: Why only have wifi on the ground floor?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One felt welcomed and comfortable there, which was obvious due to the amount of people who hung out in the common area.

Disliked: No internet in the rooms, no internet on the rooftop. Only internet available in the common area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's free breakfast n free wifi is always a bonus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff and clean bathrooms!

Disliked: price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast and free wifi! Lockers in all the rooms. Clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Activities during the evenings would be a great way to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabrina Malcharzyk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in an 8 bed dorm and i have nothing to complain about. the room was really big, the lockers are big enough to fit your handluggage in there. the bathroom is clean and the showers are good, especially the waterpressure. the kitchen is clean (free herbs and spices) and the breakfast is really good. free wifi even if it doesn't work that good from time to time. the common areas are good as well, so just book it :)

Disliked: the slow or sometimes not really good working wifi but it's for free so i don't really wanna complain much about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant! Arranged a bottom bunk for my OAP mum, thanks especially to Helen and Marco-you guys are great! Well run, great facilities, good atmosphere, close to all main bus routes, trains and china town for good eats. Bathrooms were clean and smelled fresh. Linen and rooms were clean too.

Disliked: My squeaky bed! It creaked every time I climbed in and out but I think mine was the exception as I didn't notice any others making a noise. Taps & showers in bathroom were dripping-could do with new washers probably.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great central kitchen which is really well organised, big lockers in rooms, awesome location, very good value for money.

Disliked: honestly can't think of anything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nearby the central station

Disliked: Small bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, secure, quiet dorms, value for money.

Disliked: Don't like using a lift, would prefer stair access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We would like to extend our overwhelming gratitude to the staff of Big Hostel. Marc and Marco, and everybody we came in contact with at the reception of this AWESOME hostel. On the first day of our tour we missed my friends long lost colleague and they were so helpful to give us the details on how to reach her. Marco even searched "Dr. Google" to find a way how to meet them the following day. On the second day of our tour, my friend lost her camera at Blue Mountains and just the same, the staff made an extra effort of on how we will be able to get the camera back when it was found. The place is comfortable, wifi very fast, even provides an extra computer, with public telephone, the kitchen and dining area is homey . The staff made our stay in Sydney memorable and EXCEPTIONALl!!! Cel and Beth from Philippines

Disliked: Nothing.Everything is EXCELLENT!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stina Grahn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 November 2013 Stina would recommend this property

Liked: beds were good, clean showers, nice staff

Disliked: the elevator

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Jelinkova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere for a place of its size.

Disliked: Renata left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013

Liked: good location, friendly staff

Disliked: small bathroom, not the best wifi, few common places

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Glenn Rawlings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Has a well equipped kitchen and is all you'd expect from backpacker accommodation.

Disliked: The hostel was good in all aspects except the location. It is located close to Central Station and a 20 minute walk right into the city, but it isn't a nice area to stay whilst in Sydney. Head to the coast which is well connected by the public transport so you can get into town easily.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Sydney, kitchen always open & accessible, not too party-mad, nice showers.

Disliked: I did see a cockroach in the main area of the hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HIROMI TAJIRI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 HIROMI would recommend this property

Liked: clean and nice location near the central station and city center.

Disliked: HIROMI left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Emphasis on keeping kitchen clean, so it stayed clean. Breakfast in the morning. Close to the buses/train •great location •felt safe •good wifi and comfy couches •great maps and customer service

Disliked: The lift was broken otherwise it was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, everyone was very friendly. There are lots of long-termers but they made me feel welcomed. Good location, very close to all the main attractions. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The only negative is the size of the bathrooms, very small with no shelves to put your toiletries in the shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, close to central station and walking distance to shops. Rooms were clean

Disliked: Found out there was a break into one of the rooms which made me feel unsafe. There is night security but they still managed to break in and steal belongings.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really great and friendly. The beds were comfy and the wifi was great. Having breakfast was a bonus and the kitchen is huge! It's true a lot of people are long term but I still found them really friendly, as were the other folks staying short term. The place is really safe with video cameras and locks. I'd definitely stay here again! Definitely do the free walking tour, it was awesome!

Disliked: The only thing about long term stayers is they sleep weird hours so it was hard in the morning sometimes because they were all still sleeping. They were also a bit messy....though you can find this with anyone. Maybe putting them all together in one room would be better......

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jodie Hurley

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 June 2013 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a really nice lounging area and kitchen. Beds were comfortable and clean

Disliked: While a great location, there is also plenty of train and partying noise. Bathrooms were a little small, but adequate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. A nice place for families as well. Not a party-hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nga Wing Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Nga Wing would recommend this property

Liked: good location Free wifi though not very stable big locker nice breakfast

Disliked: the wifi is not very stable, can't connect sometimes the cleanness of the kitchen hv to be improved


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels