We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BIG Hostel

Hostel | 212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

85.4% Overall Rating

139 out of 157 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2015)

"Great location and good value for the money. The place was acceptably clean and the breakfast was what is expected from a hostel."

Read all BIG Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Individuals who book groups only rooms will have their booking cancelled. If you are needeed to book for a group, please place a request through the HostelBooker's groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
46.11 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.4% 21 reviews
Hyde Park Backpackers
27.81 USD

Hostel 69.1% 37 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
17.38 USD

Hostel 71.0% 15 reviews
Home Backpackers
19.76 USD

Hostel 63.5% 49 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
13.91 USD

Hostel 55.7% 35 reviews
Strattons Hostel
16.83 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
17.02 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 80.6% 147 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
16.10 USD

Hostel 65.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

139 out of 157 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BIG Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 152 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Kloeppel

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful! They helped us plan our trip and offered lots of advice on everything down to a place to find some amazing chocolate! I loved Big and will definitely stay there again if I am back in Sydney!

Disliked: The Internet was very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Cowan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 March 2011 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: free wi fi and great location, double room great too

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Talese Amer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Talese would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, good mattresses.

Disliked: It did its job as a hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good free breakfast, nice roof terrace to chill out in the evenings

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Stefanie Laue

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011

Liked: location is really ok, the hostel is central in the city. the living room and kitchen are very nice. breakfast was good and i liked it. you have internet acess included and free wifi.

Disliked: The showers and toilets are shared between girls and boys, and they look like this! they are too dirty at all. Room was not clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and the hostel held a bbq for guests serving sausages for $2 each (went to flood relief) and salad

Disliked: wireless is kind of slow and kitchen can get really busy/crowded at dinner time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff are great. Free wi-fi in the communal areas is a big plus in Sydney.

Disliked: As usual in Sydney there are lots of long-termers and you feel like you've moved into their house. Not much the hostel can do about that. Kitchen is a bit small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms.

Disliked: Small bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place if you don't need ultimate partyexperience and still you can get it in Sydney if you want. I loved it, everything was as it should be in a good hostel.

Disliked: I liked everything.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tim Stevens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011

Liked: Location was okay, that was about all that I liked.

Disliked: To start with, the customer service was not good at all. Secondly, the lift elevator was broke down and the staff told me to use the key on my floor through the stairwell instead. However, my key did not work in the door, so I wasted 45 minutes of my day trying to get back to my room. Furthermore, as I mentioned previously, they charged us more for the room than quoted on hostelbookers and we were not able to retreive our deposit when we wanted to cancel the second night due to the lack of availability for what we originally reserved. Quite honestly, this was the most dissatisfied I have been with any hostel experience I have been through.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trisha Winkle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 December 2010 Trisha would recommend this property

Liked: Clean environment, friendly staff, free breakfast and wirless.

Disliked: Not much to dislike... they do have 1 computer to use for free for the internet... sometimes super slow, but hey, its free!! Would have liked some more organized activities by the staff for single travelers to get to meet more people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marc Grayson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 November 2010 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Location

Disliked: Blocked sewer main in the street

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed room and toilet are clean,everything is ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, central

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location but the dorms where a bit small..notbad if your only passing through

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room and good central location.

Disliked: Not very social.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lena Chen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2010 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good central location

Disliked: Internet is very very very slow

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BIG Hostel was as expected for the price. I stayed in a private double room with a friend. Quiet, clean, and a great location. Within walking distance to many restaurants, cafes, China town markets, opera house, and other tourist attractions. Friendly and helpful staff. The free breakfast consists of toast, cereal, and condiments.

Disliked: The only (big) issue I had with this hostel was that another patron had a key to my private room and actually walked into my room while I was asleep. When I reported this to the staff, they explained that he had been switched rooms but was still unaware. Fortunately, he returned the key promptly, but personal safety was definitely on my mind the remainder of my stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Svenja Pauly

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

12 November 2010 Svenja would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast, good information on things to do in Sydney. Great information for backpackers! Good place to get in contact with people and really friendly staffinstructions for everything everywhere

Disliked: it was really warm in the rooms and the air conditioner wasn't really easy to use

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jemma Foley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Jemma would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breckie - free internet - nice telly room - nice kitchen - nice rooms.

Disliked: very hard to make friends here - no events to get people together. However from the otherside it is a hostel for working travllers and is quite - but this can be boring all the time especially whenu have time off work - no friends.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anthony Fargeot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: - The price: it's cheap in regards of the facilities they propose.- The staff: friendly.- The daily free breakfast- The free WIFI- The jumbo TV on the ground floor- The location: really central- Possibility to pay in euros

Disliked: - The WIFI ! Maybe it's free but so slow ! - Secured lockers in the bedrooms are really small. - The place is a little small and noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

01 November 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty place


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels