HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BIG Hostel

Hostel | 212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

87.1% Overall Rating

130 out of 147 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Chris Davies thinks…

"Well located, loads of local area info, clean, secure and staff were ruddy helpful!"

Read all BIG Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Individuals who book groups only rooms will have their booking cancelled. If you are needeed to book for a group, please place a request through the HostelBooker's groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
45.24 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews
Hyde Park Backpackers
33.19 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
24.89 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Home Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 61.5% 48 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
16.59 USD

Hostel 59.0% 27 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
41.05 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

130 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BIG Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 126 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tim Stevens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011

Liked: Location was okay, that was about all that I liked.

Disliked: To start with, the customer service was not good at all. Secondly, the lift elevator was broke down and the staff told me to use the key on my floor through the stairwell instead. However, my key did not work in the door, so I wasted 45 minutes of my day trying to get back to my room. Furthermore, as I mentioned previously, they charged us more for the room than quoted on hostelbookers and we were not able to retreive our deposit when we wanted to cancel the second night due to the lack of availability for what we originally reserved. Quite honestly, this was the most dissatisfied I have been with any hostel experience I have been through.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trisha Winkle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 December 2010 Trisha would recommend this property

Liked: Clean environment, friendly staff, free breakfast and wirless.

Disliked: Not much to dislike... they do have 1 computer to use for free for the internet... sometimes super slow, but hey, its free!! Would have liked some more organized activities by the staff for single travelers to get to meet more people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marc Grayson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 November 2010 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Location

Disliked: Blocked sewer main in the street

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed room and toilet are clean,everything is ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, central

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location but the dorms where a bit small..notbad if your only passing through

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room and good central location.

Disliked: Not very social.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lena Chen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2010 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good central location

Disliked: Internet is very very very slow

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BIG Hostel was as expected for the price. I stayed in a private double room with a friend. Quiet, clean, and a great location. Within walking distance to many restaurants, cafes, China town markets, opera house, and other tourist attractions. Friendly and helpful staff. The free breakfast consists of toast, cereal, and condiments.

Disliked: The only (big) issue I had with this hostel was that another patron had a key to my private room and actually walked into my room while I was asleep. When I reported this to the staff, they explained that he had been switched rooms but was still unaware. Fortunately, he returned the key promptly, but personal safety was definitely on my mind the remainder of my stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Svenja Pauly

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

12 November 2010 Svenja would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast, good information on things to do in Sydney. Great information for backpackers! Good place to get in contact with people and really friendly staffinstructions for everything everywhere

Disliked: it was really warm in the rooms and the air conditioner wasn't really easy to use

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jemma Foley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Jemma would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breckie - free internet - nice telly room - nice kitchen - nice rooms.

Disliked: very hard to make friends here - no events to get people together. However from the otherside it is a hostel for working travllers and is quite - but this can be boring all the time especially whenu have time off work - no friends.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anthony Fargeot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: - The price: it's cheap in regards of the facilities they propose.- The staff: friendly.- The daily free breakfast- The free WIFI- The jumbo TV on the ground floor- The location: really central- Possibility to pay in euros

Disliked: - The WIFI ! Maybe it's free but so slow ! - Secured lockers in the bedrooms are really small. - The place is a little small and noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

01 November 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty place

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joram Hulzebosch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Joram would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, free simple breakfast, nice staff

Disliked: not much space in my room, there were a lot of people who staying for months there and took all the space there, it was a mess in my room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really central location, with both the CBD and China Town a short walk away. The hostel was really clean, I was in a private ensuite and it was more like a hotel! Good free breakfast too!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and free wifi is the best. It is a nice and clean hostel, very close to Central Station. The rooms are clean.

Disliked: Lockers suck, but helpful.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Zachary Buttel

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and conveniently located near the Central Train Station from the airport. Comfortable, clean and a good atmosphere.

Disliked: The public phones here are a ripoff.....(but this seems to be the case in general although less so)......The Telstra phones on the street offer the best deal. I don' t like that you have to take the elevator to get to your room.........these elevators appear to need a little help........they are so so slow!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anabella Monaco

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010 Anabella would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were at all times friendly and very helpful (save for the German girl, that is). Free wi.fi internet access and breakfast were a BIG upside. The hostel's backpacker-friendly location is highly convenient.

Disliked: The fact that it wasn't THAT clean, a lot could certainly be done to improve on that.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was pretty good. the rooms are big

Disliked: It was still a bit far from the main attractions, about 30min walk to opera house or 10mins to the station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven whoriskey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2010 steven would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the staff the facilties and the relaxed atmoshere and homely vibe

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very quiet and I enjoyed the free breakfast!

Disliked: The linen was not really fitting and it would be good if there were lockers to borrow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wai Ha Lam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Wai Ha would recommend this property

Liked: Large lounge room with TV and DVDs

Disliked: Lack of hooks in the shower


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels