HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Big Hostel Sydney Hostel

212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 91%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.54USD

Important Information

Individuals who book groups only rooms will have their booking cancelled. If you are needeed to book for a group, please place a request through the HostelBooker's groups department.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 91%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

Showing 21-30 of 41 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and good value for the money. The place was acceptably clean and the breakfast was what is expected from a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's free breakfast n free wifi is always a bonus.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: helpful staff and clean bathrooms!

Disliked: price

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've stayed in an 8 bed dorm and i have nothing to complain about. the room was really big, the lockers are big enough to fit your handluggage in there. the bathroom is clean and the showers are good, especially the waterpressure. the kitchen is clean (free herbs and spices) and the breakfast is really good. free wifi even if it doesn't work that good from time to time. the common areas are good as well, so just book it :)

Disliked: the slow or sometimes not really good working wifi but it's for free so i don't really wanna complain much about it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were brilliant! Arranged a bottom bunk for my OAP mum, thanks especially to Helen and Marco-you guys are great! Well run, great facilities, good atmosphere, close to all main bus routes, trains and china town for good eats. Bathrooms were clean and smelled fresh. Linen and rooms were clean too.

Disliked: My squeaky bed! It creaked every time I climbed in and out but I think mine was the exception as I didn't notice any others making a noise. Taps & showers in bathroom were dripping-could do with new washers probably.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean, great central kitchen which is really well organised, big lockers in rooms, awesome location, very good value for money.

Disliked: honestly can't think of anything.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nearby the central station

Disliked: Small bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free Breakfast and free wifi! Lockers in all the rooms. Clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Activities during the evenings would be a great way to meet people.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Good location, secure, quiet dorms, value for money.

Disliked: Don't like using a lift, would prefer stair access.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We would like to extend our overwhelming gratitude to the staff of Big Hostel. Marc and Marco, and everybody we came in contact with at the reception of this AWESOME hostel. On the first day of our tour we missed my friends long lost colleague and they were so helpful to give us the details on how to reach her. Marco even searched "Dr. Google" to find a way how to meet them the following day. On the second day of our tour, my friend lost her camera at Blue Mountains and just the same, the staff made an extra effort of on how we will be able to get the camera back when it was found. The place is comfortable, wifi very fast, even provides an extra computer, with public telephone, the kitchen and dining area is homey . The staff made our stay in Sydney memorable and EXCEPTIONALl!!! Cel and Beth from Philippines

Disliked: Nothing.Everything is EXCELLENT!!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability