We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BIG Hostel

Hostel | 212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

87.1% Overall Rating

130 out of 147 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Chris Davies thinks…

"Well located, loads of local area info, clean, secure and staff were ruddy helpful!"

Read all BIG Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Individuals who book groups only rooms will have their booking cancelled. If you are needeed to book for a group, please place a request through the HostelBooker's groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
44.78 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews
Hyde Park Backpackers
34.26 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
20.06 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Home Backpackers
20.73 USD

Hostel 61.5% 48 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
17.13 USD

Hostel 59.0% 27 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.73 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
27.95 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
21.64 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

130 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BIG Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 126 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Hyoyoung Lee

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Hyoyoung would recommend this property

Liked: not too bad to stay for a short stay but not recommended for a long stay. kitchen and TV lounge room with sofa are good and free breakfast was also very good.

Disliked: the rooms are so cold! and heating system don't work properly, it looked really really old and didn't work well and not effective for heating up the indoor temperature. i needed 3 blankets for sleep at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is very central, 2 minute walk from Central Train Station, 2 minutes to Hyde Park, other hostels that I looked at like Bounce,YHA and Wake UP, are all located behind Central station, so a little further to access the CBD daily. You get Free Wifi in the common room (also a computer to use) this saves so much money not having to use Global Gossip. There is a free basic breakfast in the morning, so these services actually make the Value for money even better than the other hostels. The hostel was very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Cameron Morrison

Alone

City break

03 May 2012 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Free luggage storage, wifi, breakfast, good common area

Disliked: cleanliness of bathrooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and breakfast and the coomonroom where they put movies on every night

Disliked: Too dirty. I saw two cockroaches in the common room and the showers where also not too clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel, I ended up living here for four months while in Australia on my working holiday visa. Would definately say its more suited to people working as there are a lot of people staying there long term but its the same in most hostels in Sydney. The good thing about Big as its a good size, its big enough so there are always lots of people but not so big that there are too many people and its hard to get to know people. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the hostel has a great living area. Also unlike some other hostels in Sydney it does not have its own bar so you are free to drink your own alcohol in the communal areas. It also has free wifi which most hostels in Sydney don't offer for free.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful when I needed assistance booking a shuttle and locating things around town as well as bus top infomration. The breakfast was a nice bonus that I didn't really have anywhere else I stayed in Australia.

Disliked: The lift was broken, my reservation had been lost when I got there and it was peak season (but they found me a bed) and it smelled of urine in the hallway. Also, the ladies bathroom was actually co-ed or male travellers don't know how to read.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of close to central station (within walking distance of 5-10 mins, true to the description).

Disliked: So far, so good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, pretty secure.

Disliked: Shower room was very small and the door had no lock.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011

Liked: Good location. Relatively clean. Large common room. 24 hour reception and will store your bags, which is nice. Nice rooftop deck.

Disliked: The first room I stayed in was ok. They are VERY small rooms for 4 beds. Not much room to put your stuff. The second room they moved me to was also very small and the shower only had luke-warm water that was barely a trickle. It seems like a lot of people were staying here long term and weren't particularly social with others, but I guess they can't control that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were clean, the location was great, and breakfast was offered every morning.

Disliked: Had to check out one night early and I was unable to get a refund.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, in good area for bars and clubs, decent size hostel

Disliked: ..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area, large kitchen, clean bathrooms and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't reach the second floor, but you can use it downstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley murphey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Had a private 4 bed room with ensuite. Was clean and towels were provided. Awesome big screen in the main rec area. Breakfast was the usual cereal and toast, but the kitchen was very clean, lots of space in the fridge and shelves to pack away your own food. Staff were super friendly and very helpful when asked about the best places to eat/drink/see etc. My parents stayed here with me and they really enjoyed it as well. Very quiet and great location!!! Overall just great! :)

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, can catch free shuttle from just across the street. It was clean and felt safe. It has a good lounge area downstairs with wifi internet access.

Disliked: The wifi was at times a bit slow and you can only access it on the ground floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free brekfast, free internet, very friendly, good location

Disliked: too many camera!!! But is for this reason that it is really secure

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Minh Nguyen

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Minh would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, about a 6 minute walk from central train station. The free breakfast and wi-fi is also a bonus.

Disliked: You had to provide your own padlock for the lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Kloeppel

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful! They helped us plan our trip and offered lots of advice on everything down to a place to find some amazing chocolate! I loved Big and will definitely stay there again if I am back in Sydney!

Disliked: The Internet was very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Cowan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 March 2011 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: free wi fi and great location, double room great too

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Talese Amer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Talese would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, good mattresses.

Disliked: It did its job as a hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good free breakfast, nice roof terrace to chill out in the evenings

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Stefanie Laue

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011

Liked: location is really ok, the hostel is central in the city. the living room and kitchen are very nice. breakfast was good and i liked it. you have internet acess included and free wifi.

Disliked: The showers and toilets are shared between girls and boys, and they look like this! they are too dirty at all. Room was not clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and the hostel held a bbq for guests serving sausages for $2 each (went to flood relief) and salad

Disliked: wireless is kind of slow and kitchen can get really busy/crowded at dinner time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff are great. Free wi-fi in the communal areas is a big plus in Sydney.

Disliked: As usual in Sydney there are lots of long-termers and you feel like you've moved into their house. Not much the hostel can do about that. Kitchen is a bit small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms.

Disliked: Small bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place if you don't need ultimate partyexperience and still you can get it in Sydney if you want. I loved it, everything was as it should be in a good hostel.

Disliked: I liked everything.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels