HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BIG Hostel

Hostel | 212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

88.9% Overall Rating

126 out of 142 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2014)

Irina Lebedeva thinks…

"Very nice and friendly. The location is great. Everything I needed was walking distance."

Read all BIG Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Individuals who book groups only rooms will have their booking cancelled. If you are needeed to book for a group, please place a request through the HostelBooker's groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
35.67 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews
Hyde Park Backpackers
35.86 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
23.59 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Home Backpackers
21.70 USD

Hostel 61.5% 48 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
17.93 USD

Hostel 58.7% 26 reviews
Strattons Hostel
21.70 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
33.97 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.65 USD

Hostel 65.8% 393 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

126 out of 142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BIG Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 121 of 137 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful when I needed assistance booking a shuttle and locating things around town as well as bus top infomration. The breakfast was a nice bonus that I didn't really have anywhere else I stayed in Australia.

Disliked: The lift was broken, my reservation had been lost when I got there and it was peak season (but they found me a bed) and it smelled of urine in the hallway. Also, the ladies bathroom was actually co-ed or male travellers don't know how to read.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of close to central station (within walking distance of 5-10 mins, true to the description).

Disliked: So far, so good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, pretty secure.

Disliked: Shower room was very small and the door had no lock.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011

Liked: Good location. Relatively clean. Large common room. 24 hour reception and will store your bags, which is nice. Nice rooftop deck.

Disliked: The first room I stayed in was ok. They are VERY small rooms for 4 beds. Not much room to put your stuff. The second room they moved me to was also very small and the shower only had luke-warm water that was barely a trickle. It seems like a lot of people were staying here long term and weren't particularly social with others, but I guess they can't control that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were clean, the location was great, and breakfast was offered every morning.

Disliked: Had to check out one night early and I was unable to get a refund.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, in good area for bars and clubs, decent size hostel

Disliked: ..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area, large kitchen, clean bathrooms and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't reach the second floor, but you can use it downstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley murphey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Had a private 4 bed room with ensuite. Was clean and towels were provided. Awesome big screen in the main rec area. Breakfast was the usual cereal and toast, but the kitchen was very clean, lots of space in the fridge and shelves to pack away your own food. Staff were super friendly and very helpful when asked about the best places to eat/drink/see etc. My parents stayed here with me and they really enjoyed it as well. Very quiet and great location!!! Overall just great! :)

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, can catch free shuttle from just across the street. It was clean and felt safe. It has a good lounge area downstairs with wifi internet access.

Disliked: The wifi was at times a bit slow and you can only access it on the ground floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free brekfast, free internet, very friendly, good location

Disliked: too many camera!!! But is for this reason that it is really secure

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Minh Nguyen

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Minh would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, about a 6 minute walk from central train station. The free breakfast and wi-fi is also a bonus.

Disliked: You had to provide your own padlock for the lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Kloeppel

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful! They helped us plan our trip and offered lots of advice on everything down to a place to find some amazing chocolate! I loved Big and will definitely stay there again if I am back in Sydney!

Disliked: The Internet was very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Cowan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 March 2011 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: free wi fi and great location, double room great too

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Talese Amer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Talese would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, good mattresses.

Disliked: It did its job as a hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good free breakfast, nice roof terrace to chill out in the evenings

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Stefanie Laue

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011

Liked: location is really ok, the hostel is central in the city. the living room and kitchen are very nice. breakfast was good and i liked it. you have internet acess included and free wifi.

Disliked: The showers and toilets are shared between girls and boys, and they look like this! they are too dirty at all. Room was not clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and the hostel held a bbq for guests serving sausages for $2 each (went to flood relief) and salad

Disliked: wireless is kind of slow and kitchen can get really busy/crowded at dinner time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff are great. Free wi-fi in the communal areas is a big plus in Sydney.

Disliked: As usual in Sydney there are lots of long-termers and you feel like you've moved into their house. Not much the hostel can do about that. Kitchen is a bit small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms.

Disliked: Small bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place if you don't need ultimate partyexperience and still you can get it in Sydney if you want. I loved it, everything was as it should be in a good hostel.

Disliked: I liked everything.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tim Stevens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011

Liked: Location was okay, that was about all that I liked.

Disliked: To start with, the customer service was not good at all. Secondly, the lift elevator was broke down and the staff told me to use the key on my floor through the stairwell instead. However, my key did not work in the door, so I wasted 45 minutes of my day trying to get back to my room. Furthermore, as I mentioned previously, they charged us more for the room than quoted on hostelbookers and we were not able to retreive our deposit when we wanted to cancel the second night due to the lack of availability for what we originally reserved. Quite honestly, this was the most dissatisfied I have been with any hostel experience I have been through.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trisha Winkle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 December 2010 Trisha would recommend this property

Liked: Clean environment, friendly staff, free breakfast and wirless.

Disliked: Not much to dislike... they do have 1 computer to use for free for the internet... sometimes super slow, but hey, its free!! Would have liked some more organized activities by the staff for single travelers to get to meet more people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marc Grayson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 November 2010 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Location

Disliked: Blocked sewer main in the street

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed room and toilet are clean,everything is ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels