We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BIG Hostel

Hostel | 212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

85.3% Overall Rating

140 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2015)

Richard Byrne thinks…

"It was one of the only places that catered for a family of 5. The location was really good for getting to the airport for an early start. Breakfast was included which was a bonus as we hadn't…"

Read all BIG Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Individuals who book groups only rooms will have their booking cancelled. If you are needeed to book for a group, please place a request through the HostelBooker's groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
46.24 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.4% 21 reviews
Hyde Park Backpackers
27.24 USD

Hostel 69.1% 37 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
16.25 USD

Hostel 71.0% 15 reviews
Home Backpackers
19.36 USD

Hostel 63.5% 49 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
13.62 USD

Hostel 56.5% 37 reviews
Strattons Hostel
16.49 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
23.66 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 80.6% 147 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
17.21 USD

Hostel 65.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

140 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BIG Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 153 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant! Arranged a bottom bunk for my OAP mum, thanks especially to Helen and Marco-you guys are great! Well run, great facilities, good atmosphere, close to all main bus routes, trains and china town for good eats. Bathrooms were clean and smelled fresh. Linen and rooms were clean too.

Disliked: My squeaky bed! It creaked every time I climbed in and out but I think mine was the exception as I didn't notice any others making a noise. Taps & showers in bathroom were dripping-could do with new washers probably.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great central kitchen which is really well organised, big lockers in rooms, awesome location, very good value for money.

Disliked: honestly can't think of anything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nearby the central station

Disliked: Small bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, secure, quiet dorms, value for money.

Disliked: Don't like using a lift, would prefer stair access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We would like to extend our overwhelming gratitude to the staff of Big Hostel. Marc and Marco, and everybody we came in contact with at the reception of this AWESOME hostel. On the first day of our tour we missed my friends long lost colleague and they were so helpful to give us the details on how to reach her. Marco even searched "Dr. Google" to find a way how to meet them the following day. On the second day of our tour, my friend lost her camera at Blue Mountains and just the same, the staff made an extra effort of on how we will be able to get the camera back when it was found. The place is comfortable, wifi very fast, even provides an extra computer, with public telephone, the kitchen and dining area is homey . The staff made our stay in Sydney memorable and EXCEPTIONALl!!! Cel and Beth from Philippines

Disliked: Nothing.Everything is EXCELLENT!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stina Grahn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 November 2013 Stina would recommend this property

Liked: beds were good, clean showers, nice staff

Disliked: the elevator

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Jelinkova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere for a place of its size.

Disliked: Renata left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013

Liked: good location, friendly staff

Disliked: small bathroom, not the best wifi, few common places

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Glenn Rawlings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Has a well equipped kitchen and is all you'd expect from backpacker accommodation.

Disliked: The hostel was good in all aspects except the location. It is located close to Central Station and a 20 minute walk right into the city, but it isn't a nice area to stay whilst in Sydney. Head to the coast which is well connected by the public transport so you can get into town easily.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Sydney, kitchen always open & accessible, not too party-mad, nice showers.

Disliked: I did see a cockroach in the main area of the hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HIROMI TAJIRI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 HIROMI would recommend this property

Liked: clean and nice location near the central station and city center.

Disliked: HIROMI left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Emphasis on keeping kitchen clean, so it stayed clean. Breakfast in the morning. Close to the buses/train •great location •felt safe •good wifi and comfy couches •great maps and customer service

Disliked: The lift was broken otherwise it was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, everyone was very friendly. There are lots of long-termers but they made me feel welcomed. Good location, very close to all the main attractions. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The only negative is the size of the bathrooms, very small with no shelves to put your toiletries in the shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, close to central station and walking distance to shops. Rooms were clean

Disliked: Found out there was a break into one of the rooms which made me feel unsafe. There is night security but they still managed to break in and steal belongings.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really great and friendly. The beds were comfy and the wifi was great. Having breakfast was a bonus and the kitchen is huge! It's true a lot of people are long term but I still found them really friendly, as were the other folks staying short term. The place is really safe with video cameras and locks. I'd definitely stay here again! Definitely do the free walking tour, it was awesome!

Disliked: The only thing about long term stayers is they sleep weird hours so it was hard in the morning sometimes because they were all still sleeping. They were also a bit messy....though you can find this with anyone. Maybe putting them all together in one room would be better......

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jodie Hurley

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 June 2013 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a really nice lounging area and kitchen. Beds were comfortable and clean

Disliked: While a great location, there is also plenty of train and partying noise. Bathrooms were a little small, but adequate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. A nice place for families as well. Not a party-hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nga Wing Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Nga Wing would recommend this property

Liked: good location Free wifi though not very stable big locker nice breakfast

Disliked: the wifi is not very stable, can't connect sometimes the cleanness of the kitchen hv to be improved

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Fitzsimmons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Really attentive staff, very well managed, which created a really nice atmosphere. Brilliant value for money.

Disliked: Would have loved to be able to connect to the WiFi from the dorm rooms as well as common rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Byrne

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. The travellers that stayed at the hostel were very nice, respectful for the place and the others. The location is central, and there was a free bus that runs around Sydney that can be caught outside the hostel.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and Big Rooms and great community areas.

Disliked: Rooms can get cold in autumn or winter but blankets provided

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Edoardo Thomas Longoni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 March 2013 Edoardo Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful! The free breakfast is quite a mess, but it is useful and you can eat a lot when you understand how it works. I liked the always free tea and coffe during the day and night. The staff is extremely kind, always smiling and ready to help you.

Disliked: The safes are not that safe, they can be easily opened with a screwdriver or even bended by hand. There had been a thief in the hostel during my staying there, and he stole lots of passports, so: be careful!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefano Articolo

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 February 2013 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: Well I've been in many hostels during the past year and the BIG Hostel is actually how every hostel should be! It works in everything. Friendly staff kitchen open all the time, really clean and really close to the city. Lokers in dorms!

Disliked: The lift is a bit slow, but you can use the stairs, maybe a few more laundry/dryer machines woulb be better and the bbq area needs a bit more attenction, nothing more. That place isreally good!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 8 beds room on 2nd floor.The room was big and clean. The bed was comfortable.The staffs were friendly and helpful. And the free breakfast was nice.

Disliked: There's no enough place to put things in the shower room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dedi Abdul Hamid

Alone

City break

29 January 2013 Dedi would recommend this property

Liked: Everytime I visit Sydney, Big Hostel is my top choice. Very good location, close to Central Station. Rooms are spacious and lockers are big. Toilets are very clean. Common area has a very homely atmosphere, with comfy sofas, making it easy to chat to fellow travellers. Breakfast is good. Staff are wonderful.

Disliked: I have got no complaints.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels