We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Nomads Westend Backpackers

Hostel | 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

67.3% Overall Rating

379 out of 550 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2015)

Marina Siebenand Alves thinks…

"Staff was friendly, Location is good, shopping center/ supermarket just across the street, short walk to Central Station."

Read all Nomads Westend Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.40
  • Luggage Room USD 3.13
  • Towel USD 3.91

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made. We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit. Important information: Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014) Cancellation: * No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods)) * Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking. * Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%* Peak Periods: * If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January 2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December. * Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled. * Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds will be given. * Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and cancellation of the said reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Maze Backpackers
20.36 USD

Hostel 75.7% 642 reviews
Base Sydney
21.92 USD

Hostel 77.1% 438 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
19.57 USD

Hostel 66.1% 78 reviews
Strattons Hostel
18.01 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
World Square Hostel
14.88 USD

Hostel 83.2% 278 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
15.07 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 80.6% 147 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
17.23 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
14.88 USD

Hostel 66.5% 469 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.3%

Overall Rating

379 out of 550 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Westend Backpackers'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 408 of 462 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015

Liked: Great location from the train station

Disliked: The property was filthy wasn't even comfortable for the one night there was thankful I only was there for 8 hours

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marina Siebenand Alves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015

Liked: Staff was friendly, Location is good, shopping center/ supermarket just across the street, short walk to Central Station.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms, stains on linen, room & bathroom very unclean. Power plugs in bathroom only so you had to leave your phone in there if you wanted to charge it. Slowest elevator in the world. You can stay at much better hostels in Sydney for the same price.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Juha Kaarlejarvi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2015 Juha would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: This is not place for sleeping. More partying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Stevenson

As a family with children

Events / festivals

23 March 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Secure rooms and great location

Disliked: The lift takes forever

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2015

Liked: central location in Sydney

Disliked: looks run down, the lift takes forever can only use stairs to get out. only 1 dryer was working.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and efficient, location central to everything like Sydney attractions and transport

Disliked: The outside could do with a paint, looks like it's crumbling. The lift is painfully slow. The air conditioning makes a loud continuous noise, the tiles in the bathroom need repaired and a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: Very dirty. From the stairwell, the lobby benches that had white stains all over them, tto the bathrooms that had cockroaches.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, good atmosphere and cheap cost

Disliked: The sheet had what appeared to be semen stains on it and I found it hard to sleep but it is a 32 bed room so I understand that.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: See above

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

damien webber

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 February 2015 damien would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great nice clean rooms the best backpackers compared to the others in the area

Disliked: Nothing it is awesome

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and location

Disliked: Not the cleanest

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, nice stuff. Lot of stuff going on. Almost every night some Event or drinking in the goon room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 January 2015

Liked: The location is 24hr access to food and other services and conveniently located near city central

Disliked: The 6 person dorm was noisy from the street and the toilets/showers were shabby (did not look clean although probably were) there was no real relaxing hang-out (except for at reception) i don't like the encouragement given to drinking (Goon Pong ??) Generally i was looking for something more clean and quiet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere. If you wanna do something you can join the group, if not not. If you like to go shopping, you are not far away from all the shopping malls. The central station and the hyde park isn`t far as well.

Disliked: My room was in the 10th floor. In the beginning I thought, I will never sleep well because you could hear the people talking from the other rooms. I think it was maybe just because of the time (xmas and nye) and everybody was celebrating. After this was everything quiet. I didn`t like our bathroom. It is not one of the newest one. And the space in this room wasn`t so big. But for this price and a short time was it okay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: chilled Sunday movie day with everyone and a comfy bed

Disliked: leaky shower no biggy though

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Sometimes a little too dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building has a bright and cheerfully painted entrance and reception area that immediately gives off a friendly vibe. The staff are eager to assist, and the kitchen and bathrooms are a decent size. The free entry to bars and clubs offered by Nomads is a great bonus too.

Disliked: The largest dorm was unpleasantly warm due to the lack of air conditioning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: party!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 January 2015

Liked: Location is good, staff are really helpful

Disliked: Cleanliness is an issue, but I know this before I book it so I found it acceptable me. Um... and not quite happy with the charge (AUD$4) of storing luggage after check out. I guess most hostels don't charge with that.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close

Disliked: Dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I lives in a 4 People room. They there cool. we had our own shower in a room. Location is also good. To sum up its a cheap and good hostel

Disliked: Its near the street. It is a noisy place. But i had my earplugs so i didnt care much. Elevator is very very slow. But there is stairs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

andrew houlder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good group activities

Disliked: andrew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

alison magill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 alison would recommend this property

Liked: good vibe, lively, plenty of quizzes, nights out and movie night organised. good facilities and great central location

Disliked: not ideal if you want peace and quiet

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

maria marino

Alone

City break

09 August 2014 maria would recommend this property

Liked: there is a good energy

Disliked: the lift... slow and only one was working, but for sure this is temporary.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Teri Hanrahan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 August 2014

Liked: It was a handy location in Sydney CBD which meant it walking distance from most of the places we needed to go. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Other guests were polite. Although we did not take advantage, I noticed posters advertising special offers for guests which is nice.

Disliked: The cleaners would enter the room in the mornings with VERY little notice (if any). It would either be two knocks and enter without waiting, or no knock at all. I also thought the price was quite high for a room with just a bed and a bathroom. No window (the aircon was mounted on the window), no TV, fridge, ironing board or anything else you would expect to receive for that price. I also noticed the bunk bed had the stairs up against the wall, which would make it quite difficult if we had needed to use the top bunk.

The property's response is...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels