We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Nomads Westend Backpackers

Hostel | 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

65.1% Overall Rating

386 out of 561 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2015)

"It was perfect for us as yew were just passing through. The staff at the desk were amazing! We got a room upgrade for no extra cost. The rooms were clean and safe."

Read all Nomads Westend Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.60
  • Luggage Room USD 2.87
  • Towel USD 3.58

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made. We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit. Important information: Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014) Cancellation: * No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods)) * Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking. * Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%* Peak Periods: * If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January 2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December. * Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled. * Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds will be given. * Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and cancellation of the said reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Maze Backpackers
17.19 USD

Hostel 78.6% 660 reviews
Base Sydney
20.77 USD

Hostel 77.1% 439 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
17.19 USD

Hostel 66.6% 79 reviews
Strattons Hostel
16.48 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
World Square Hostel
13.61 USD

Hostel 85.4% 283 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
23.64 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 80.6% 147 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
15.76 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
11.46 USD

Hostel 63.9% 481 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.1%

Overall Rating

386 out of 561 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Westend Backpackers'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 419 of 473 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very convenient to the things I wanted to see and attend

Disliked: Things were often chaotic in my room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

juan carlos fabian peralta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 juan carlos would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best

Disliked: juan carlos left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maria Dharmesti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and nice dorm.

Disliked: It takes so long to wait for the lift and sometimes it doesn't work properly. It was a little bit messy in the kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2015

Liked: Central in the city, nice staff

Disliked: The 31 dorms room smells so bad and it's impossible to sleep because of the noise in the common room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015

Liked: It was cheap and centrally located.

Disliked: I don't want to fault Nomads Westend for my experience, because that is dependent on the other guests of the hostel. I stayed one week in The Church, and sharing a room with 31 other people is rough (and I consider myself pretty tolerant). The kitchen and dining area gets pretty crowded every night, not enough cookware to go around. The lockers are not cheap, and I would not leave anything valuable in The Church. Nomads Westend isn't terrible, but it isn't comfortable either. You could do better with World Square.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Where should i start...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is perfect

Disliked: the kitchen facilities were not working and were very poor. the toilets were dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was perfect for us as yew were just passing through. The staff at the desk were amazing! We got a room upgrade for no extra cost. The rooms were clean and safe.

Disliked: The only issues we ran into were the shower head is pretty low down on the wall so you end up crouching a bit. And when we went to wash some clothes, all 4 dryers were out of order since March.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff, good price, good atmosphere, very cheap. I will definitely come back here. It was perfect for me.

Disliked: A little bit of a bad smell in the room, but that's all.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2015

Liked: Range of rooms available. Luggage storage before and after check-out. Friendly staff on check in.

Disliked: Male staff members making inappropriate comments about a group of young female guests within mine and other's earshot. Could be cleaner. Shoddy elevator. Though individual rooms have key access, security seemed lax. Seemed like anyone could walk in and get upstairs or say they had luggage stored and be handed the key - I wasn't asked to provide any id or anything when I asked staff who'd never seen me before.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

supriya shukla

Alone

City break

29 April 2015 supriya would recommend this property

Liked: it was very centrally located and good price

Disliked: could have cleaner bathrooms and faster elevators

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015

Liked: Great location from the train station

Disliked: The property was filthy wasn't even comfortable for the one night there was thankful I only was there for 8 hours

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marina Siebenand Alves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015

Liked: Staff was friendly, Location is good, shopping center/ supermarket just across the street, short walk to Central Station.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms, stains on linen, room & bathroom very unclean. Power plugs in bathroom only so you had to leave your phone in there if you wanted to charge it. Slowest elevator in the world. You can stay at much better hostels in Sydney for the same price.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Juha Kaarlejarvi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2015 Juha would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: This is not place for sleeping. More partying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Stevenson

As a family with children

Events / festivals

23 March 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Secure rooms and great location

Disliked: The lift takes forever

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2015

Liked: central location in Sydney

Disliked: looks run down, the lift takes forever can only use stairs to get out. only 1 dryer was working.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and efficient, location central to everything like Sydney attractions and transport

Disliked: The outside could do with a paint, looks like it's crumbling. The lift is painfully slow. The air conditioning makes a loud continuous noise, the tiles in the bathroom need repaired and a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: Very dirty. From the stairwell, the lobby benches that had white stains all over them, tto the bathrooms that had cockroaches.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, good atmosphere and cheap cost

Disliked: The sheet had what appeared to be semen stains on it and I found it hard to sleep but it is a 32 bed room so I understand that.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: See above

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

damien webber

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 February 2015 damien would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great nice clean rooms the best backpackers compared to the others in the area

Disliked: Nothing it is awesome

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and location

Disliked: Not the cleanest

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, nice stuff. Lot of stuff going on. Almost every night some Event or drinking in the goon room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 January 2015

Liked: The location is 24hr access to food and other services and conveniently located near city central

Disliked: The 6 person dorm was noisy from the street and the toilets/showers were shabby (did not look clean although probably were) there was no real relaxing hang-out (except for at reception) i don't like the encouragement given to drinking (Goon Pong ??) Generally i was looking for something more clean and quiet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere. If you wanna do something you can join the group, if not not. If you like to go shopping, you are not far away from all the shopping malls. The central station and the hyde park isn`t far as well.

Disliked: My room was in the 10th floor. In the beginning I thought, I will never sleep well because you could hear the people talking from the other rooms. I think it was maybe just because of the time (xmas and nye) and everybody was celebrating. After this was everything quiet. I didn`t like our bathroom. It is not one of the newest one. And the space in this room wasn`t so big. But for this price and a short time was it okay.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels