HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nomads Westend Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 59%

Location 92%

Safety 61%

Staff 79%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 9.14USD
  • Luggage Room 3.05USD
  • Towel 3.81USD

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made.

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Important information:
Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014)

Cancellation:
* No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods))
* Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking.
* Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%*

Peak Periods:
* If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January
2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December.
* Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled.
* Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date
will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds
will be given.
* Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and
cancellation of the said reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 59%

Location 92%

Safety 61%

Staff 79%

Value 69%

Showing 81-90 of 106 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: The lift was hopeless

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your recent review.
We are in the process of fixing both lifts so I apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break

Liked: The location was alright.

Disliked: The hostel is in a really old, dirty building. The rooms were dirty and smelled like mold. The bathrooms were really bad and never got cleaned. There's not much of a common area other than the kitchen. The elevator is extremely slow with 13 floors. One morning someone came into the room to fix a speaker at 8:00am, woke everyone up and actually kicked people out of bed to do so. That could have definitely been done at a more appropriate time.


The property's response is

Hi Dwayne,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we had one lift out recently however they are both now being repaired which is great news. Cleaners ensure our rooms are cleaned daily after check out and we had a fire alarm so speakers needed to be fixed asap.
I apologize for the inconvenience caused.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is the best

Disliked: The lift takes too long and made me dizzy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review its great to hear from our guests.

Enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping

Liked: Friendly staff, Great atmosphere, Big Rooms.

Disliked: Hopefully you get good room mates!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your recent review we love hearing from our guests.
Enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday

Liked: I had a good time here

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Max,

Thank you for your email and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

The Nomads Westend Team ;-)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals

Liked: Unreal location and really friendly staff

Disliked: More day events would be good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Max,

Thank you for your recent review.
We will definitely take your comments into consideration.
Enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Good place to meet people and all rooms have their own bathrooms was really good. Cleaned everyday

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey Adam,
Great to hear from you and we love you had a good time!!

Come see us again soon and enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: no free wifiroom without windowsno free baggage storage

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your recent review.
We do have free luggage storage on check in for all guests. On check out we provide lockers at a small cost.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: none

Disliked: it was smelly place. staff was not kind.


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving your feedback with us. We apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay with us back in January and invite you to come back and stay with us if your ever in the sydney region again, We've made some awesome changes since then and even more to come. Safe travels from your mates at Westend backpackers.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Staff are really friendly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you Tina we are glad you enjoyed your stay!!

Have fun on the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

Check Availability