We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Nomads Westend Backpackers

Hostel | 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

65.1% Overall Rating

386 out of 561 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2015)

"It was perfect for us as yew were just passing through. The staff at the desk were amazing! We got a room upgrade for no extra cost. The rooms were clean and safe."

Read all Nomads Westend Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.50
  • Luggage Room USD 2.83
  • Towel USD 3.54

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made. We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit. Important information: Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014) Cancellation: * No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods)) * Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking. * Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%* Peak Periods: * If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January 2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December. * Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled. * Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds will be given. * Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and cancellation of the said reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Maze Backpackers
16.99 USD

Hostel 78.6% 660 reviews
Base Sydney
21.95 USD

Hostel 77.1% 439 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
16.99 USD

Hostel 66.6% 79 reviews
Strattons Hostel
16.29 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
World Square Hostel
13.45 USD

Hostel 85.4% 283 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
12.22 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 80.6% 147 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
15.58 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
12.04 USD

Hostel 63.9% 481 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.1%

Overall Rating

386 out of 561 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Westend Backpackers'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 419 of 473 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

meta croft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 meta would recommend this property

Liked: i loved all the reception staff they where very helpfull and lots of fun!! i would like to stay there after my travels!! i have made lots of friend there, its a great place to meet other travellers!! there was alway fun activities to be done!! brilliant!!

Disliked: nothing!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and guests

Disliked: Wasn't that clean and quite noisy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

03 October 2011

Liked: The kitchen was open 24h which is good if you're hungry after a night out.

Disliked: It doesnt have the atmosphere. I missed the cozy feeling. Moreover, because it was such a big hostel it was actually harder finding new friends. Everyone was in their own groups. And last but not least, if you are sensitive to noise avoid the "Church" room with 32 guest by all means. Traffic and drunk people from outside + idiots in the room coming home late night can make u crazy.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011

Liked: convenient locality

Disliked: needed curtains which closed and matressess which did not have springs sticking through.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Natasha Paine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: bit dingy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Not clean, no washing up liquid in the kitchen so all the plates were dirty. Rooms small and had bedbugs.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 September 2011

Liked: The Australian Receptionist and some other members of staff were great. The other travellers I met there were lovely.

Disliked: It is so unclean in the dorm and communal seating area. The bathroom door does not shut fully. The room is dark in the middle of the day. You cannot open the dorm window. They play very loud music in Reception. People smoke right outside the door, it is disgusting. The exit door has a smashed window which has black tape all over it; it would be easy to replace the glass but they have not. This makes the place unwelcoming.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Helena Gardner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in this hostel on five separate occasions now i.e. whenever I'm in Sydney. Each and every time I have enjoyed my stay, and not wanted to leave. It's one of those super-friendly hostels where you are bound to meet other people, the long termers aren't cliquey and a goon filled evening is guaranteed (the hostel provides free goon several nights a week) if you want it. For those who want a quiet night in, it's also available, because the lack of a bar means that there's no pumping music to keep you awake. People love it so much, there's several who have been there for more than six months. Also, the hostel has given me free upgrades at least twice, meaning that I only paid $15 for a 6-bed dorm last time I stayed there. Free pasta and rice every day. At one stage it was in a state of disrepair, but they've now got on top of that and renovated a substantial proportion of the hostel.

Disliked: Leaving it :'(

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and freebies

Disliked: the kitchen is not very well equiped, the beds are lumpy and the stairs stink of piss!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011

Liked: Nice people.

Disliked: Dirty, people partying, noise in the room at 3am on a monday night...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location

Disliked: The elevators were absurdly slow

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: a little cold in winter

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Hygene

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011

Liked: The only good thing about the hostel is the location-its right in the centre of the city so its close to everything.

Disliked: Firstly when i arrived the sheets and bedding on my bed hadn't been changed-i checked in at 8pm so really by then they should have been changed-so i swapped rooms-the next room was ok although the bathroom needed a good clean, also my cousin had a problem with her room-and had to swap rooms. The kitchen was crap! To make a cup of tea you need to first find a cup-which basically there arent enough of for the amount of people that stay there, and the plates that people wash up wern't always clean!...also the common room where the kitchen is, just wasn't friendly-mainly long term people that stick to themselves-not a great place to meet people

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

rebecca shovlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011

Liked: Location was perfect, and lots of activities to take part in if travelling yourself.

Disliked: Bathroom unclean, loud speaker in bedroom which woke you up if you ever tried to nap.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is very friendly, If your looking for a fun party atmosphere go for it!!! if your looking for a quiet time this wouldn't be the place to stay

Disliked: The slowness of the lifts! And the general building needs an uplift!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

JENG-FEN WU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 June 2011 JENG-FEN would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen is big

Disliked: some staff are not professional enough, and using the lugguage room needs 4 dollars!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirtiness

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything was discusting...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gemma Cryer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2011 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: In need of some refurbishment - this is ongoing at the moment though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are different exciting activities every day !

Disliked: There are no windows in the room.I don't know why the fire alarm ringed almost every night!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: room too small

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Zacch Kutkey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011

Liked: The 32 bed dorm was an experience

Disliked: The smell. Gaaaackkk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Wallis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay, much nicer than Chilli Blue where we stayed before. We got a dorm for a very reasonable price, very clean.

Disliked: It was quite a long walk to the harbour, but no real problem

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lindsay Frisby

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 April 2011 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere. Like the music in the lobby.

Disliked: We were suppose to have a room with around 30 beds. I was staying with around 20 other but we all got split up. This was considered an upgrade but it was not an upgrade since we all wanted to be in the same room.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels