HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Nomads Westend Backpackers

Hostel | 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

73.8% Overall Rating

340 out of 491 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2014)

harriet partington thinks…

"Nice spacious room. Free pasta Andrew ice on offer. Lockable storage facilities. Nice private shower."

Read all Nomads Westend Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.26
  • Luggage Room USD 3.75
  • Towel USD 4.69

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made. We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit. Important information: Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014) Cancellation: * No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods)) * Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking. * Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%* Peak Periods: * If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January 2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December. * Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled. * Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds will be given. * Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and cancellation of the said reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Maze Backpackers
23.45 USD

Hostel 63.0% 584 reviews
Base Sydney
29.08 USD

Hostel 78.7% 420 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
21.58 USD

Hostel 63.0% 72 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.39 USD

Hostel 63.9% 28 reviews
World Square Hostel
26.27 USD

Hostel 79.0% 251 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
38.46 USD

Hostel 78.9% 145 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
20.64 USD

Hostel 62.7% 27 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
16.89 USD

Hostel 59.1% 440 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.8%

Overall Rating

340 out of 491 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Westend Backpackers'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 363 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: room

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010

Liked: helpful staffs, they were very helpful for my tour booking and way to airport.

Disliked: I hated the smell on the basement floor.. and hygiene of room was not reliable..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Fabian Bitterlich

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2010 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Fabian left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was pretty cheap and located right at the center of the city.

Disliked: Sheets were a bit dirty and the walls provided no sound isolation between the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kirsty Howard

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Good organised trips and night out, staff are excellent very helpful, nice big chil out area, good size kitchen and eating area. Would stay there again. Clean bathrooms and dorm.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very friendly and helpful. The Beds are alright and the smaller dorms are very clean. It rocks that they have a pool-table and a bar.

Disliked: The Bathrooms could be cleaner and it is not that cheap for backpackers unless you stay there weeknight in the 32 bed dorm. There are other hostels that are also very central and clean with the same offers but better prices.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect.

Disliked: The mattress!!!!!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

mizuki yoza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 September 2010 mizuki would recommend this property

Liked: near the station

Disliked: mizuki left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: rooms had no windows, so it was dark the whole time, kitchen was a right mess, lounge area was always taken over by live in 'staff' drinking.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Party atmosphere

Disliked: Run down, broken windows and cockroaches

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the rooms are a bit small

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pedro Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 August 2010 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: location is great and the staff is awesome

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Work / volunteering

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. It's easy to visit many places. Almost staffs are helpful especially a night shift guy (wear eyeglasses). Thank you for helping me call taxi to the airport on time. 2 thumbs up for you!

Disliked: The carpet in the room is messy and dusty. No one clean up the room after someone who used to sleep at my room checked out. I dropped my bags and go outside while the reception told me they will clean up my room and bed but when I came back at night. My bed was the same before I left. I went to ask a guy at front desk but he said "what do you want me to do?" I should better ask him "what will you do for your customer?"

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

diane macdonald

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010 diane would recommend this property

Liked: location and price, staff very nice after a long day.

Disliked: loads of bugs!!!!! My husband's feet were eaten alive. Stayed one night, he had at least a dozen flea bites. lifts were crap.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

02 August 2010

Liked: Booked 3 nights but ended up staying for two weeks. since my roomies where so friendly. I liked the girls only dorm! The security was good as well with lockers in every room for each person in the room. Free pasta and free rice every day was great!

Disliked: Common room was okey, could be a real mess most of the times except early morning. Partying almost every night in the common room. Don't expect the showers to be warm all the time, the shower in my room was cold many times. The keycard to your room can stop working like whenever so be aware of that. The staff were a bit rude sometimes.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2010

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free room upgrade! Great kitchen and communal area

Disliked: Dark room, expensive internet

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Natasha Short

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: 'Tis always a good night at Westend with free/cheap organised activities each night, a great common room to chill out in and location central to tourist attractions and pubs/clubs.

Disliked: Bathrooms average... but the shower had good pressure and it was clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: i was in a room with 32 beds and it was quite untidy

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2010

Liked: i d like to see more clean and good room. i was disappointed with room

Disliked: rooms like garbage

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Carlson

27 June 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED this hostel! It is right on Pitt St. which is the main road for all shopping, grocery stores, pharmacies, anything really and it also leads directly to the Sydney Opera House and the Harbour Bridge. The hostel has different events every night which are all free and they go to local bars and when you are with the hostel you get in free and get a few free drinks. Also they do a BBQ at the beach and do beach walks and city tours all for free. It's a great way to meet people. I stayed in "The Church" which is 32 people and I really liked it. It was a great way to meet people and actually quite spacious and I never felt like it wasn't safe. Some people have lived in this room for over a year and still love it. There are people from all over the world and its really cool to see all the cultures come together. The kitchen area and TV room are really nice and a great way to hang out with people at any hour of the day or night. I'd definitely recommend this hostel above any other!!!!!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people and great location. The lifts are worked way beyond capacity so you end up waiting 10mins for a full lift (they try to encourage you to use the stairs but they aren't very well sign posted). Rooms are small with little natural light compared to other places I've stayed in Sydney

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and travel mates

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 June 2010

Liked: very cheap place bat dirty and crowded... we only stayed for 1 night but the room was ugly and the unsuite toilet ans shower was dirty... the worst hostel we have ever been...at least the staff was nice and helpfull...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels