We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Nomads Westend Backpackers

Hostel | 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

72.9% Overall Rating

364 out of 523 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2014)

"I lives in a 4 People room. They there cool. we had our own shower in a room. Location is also good. To sum up its a cheap and good hostel"

Read all Nomads Westend Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.48
  • Luggage Room USD 3.49
  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made. We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit. Important information: Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014) Cancellation: * No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods)) * Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking. * Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%* Peak Periods: * If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January 2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December. * Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled. * Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds will be given. * Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and cancellation of the said reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Maze Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 79.7% 614 reviews
Base Sydney
25.33 USD

Hostel 76.2% 428 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
20.96 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
World Square Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 80.5% 257 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
29.69 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
20.96 USD

Hostel 67.9% 453 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

364 out of 523 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Westend Backpackers'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 388 of 437 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 September 2011

Liked: The Australian Receptionist and some other members of staff were great. The other travellers I met there were lovely.

Disliked: It is so unclean in the dorm and communal seating area. The bathroom door does not shut fully. The room is dark in the middle of the day. You cannot open the dorm window. They play very loud music in Reception. People smoke right outside the door, it is disgusting. The exit door has a smashed window which has black tape all over it; it would be easy to replace the glass but they have not. This makes the place unwelcoming.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Helena Gardner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in this hostel on five separate occasions now i.e. whenever I'm in Sydney. Each and every time I have enjoyed my stay, and not wanted to leave. It's one of those super-friendly hostels where you are bound to meet other people, the long termers aren't cliquey and a goon filled evening is guaranteed (the hostel provides free goon several nights a week) if you want it. For those who want a quiet night in, it's also available, because the lack of a bar means that there's no pumping music to keep you awake. People love it so much, there's several who have been there for more than six months. Also, the hostel has given me free upgrades at least twice, meaning that I only paid $15 for a 6-bed dorm last time I stayed there. Free pasta and rice every day. At one stage it was in a state of disrepair, but they've now got on top of that and renovated a substantial proportion of the hostel.

Disliked: Leaving it :'(

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and freebies

Disliked: the kitchen is not very well equiped, the beds are lumpy and the stairs stink of piss!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011

Liked: Nice people.

Disliked: Dirty, people partying, noise in the room at 3am on a monday night...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location

Disliked: The elevators were absurdly slow

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: a little cold in winter

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Hygene

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011

Liked: The only good thing about the hostel is the location-its right in the centre of the city so its close to everything.

Disliked: Firstly when i arrived the sheets and bedding on my bed hadn't been changed-i checked in at 8pm so really by then they should have been changed-so i swapped rooms-the next room was ok although the bathroom needed a good clean, also my cousin had a problem with her room-and had to swap rooms. The kitchen was crap! To make a cup of tea you need to first find a cup-which basically there arent enough of for the amount of people that stay there, and the plates that people wash up wern't always clean!...also the common room where the kitchen is, just wasn't friendly-mainly long term people that stick to themselves-not a great place to meet people

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

rebecca shovlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011

Liked: Location was perfect, and lots of activities to take part in if travelling yourself.

Disliked: Bathroom unclean, loud speaker in bedroom which woke you up if you ever tried to nap.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is very friendly, If your looking for a fun party atmosphere go for it!!! if your looking for a quiet time this wouldn't be the place to stay

Disliked: The slowness of the lifts! And the general building needs an uplift!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

JENG-FEN WU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 June 2011 JENG-FEN would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen is big

Disliked: some staff are not professional enough, and using the lugguage room needs 4 dollars!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirtiness

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything was discusting...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gemma Cryer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2011 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: In need of some refurbishment - this is ongoing at the moment though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are different exciting activities every day !

Disliked: There are no windows in the room.I don't know why the fire alarm ringed almost every night!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: room too small

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Zacch Kutkey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011

Liked: The 32 bed dorm was an experience

Disliked: The smell. Gaaaackkk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Wallis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay, much nicer than Chilli Blue where we stayed before. We got a dorm for a very reasonable price, very clean.

Disliked: It was quite a long walk to the harbour, but no real problem

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lindsay Frisby

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 April 2011 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere. Like the music in the lobby.

Disliked: We were suppose to have a room with around 30 beds. I was staying with around 20 other but we all got split up. This was considered an upgrade but it was not an upgrade since we all wanted to be in the same room.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Maria Stager

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011

Liked: Location was convenient to central station and CBD.

Disliked: Four hours after arriving I awoke to hundreds of bedbug bites. After showing the staff the specimens, I was told there was nothing they could do. I waited seven hours to talk to the manager and when she arrived she did not even speak to me herself, but rather stood 10 feet behind the counter and talked through another worker. They did not give me a full refund for the stay nor ever apologize. They took the whole thing quite coolly, as if this was a normal occurrence. Everyone's laundry was thrown together so there is high potential for the bedbugs to spread throughout the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Nagel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 March 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and the people there are always fantastic thats why i always stay there..

Disliked: that i had to leave..

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kate Norris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: I made some great friends here. It's really the only good thing about my stay there.

Disliked: Beware - This is NOT a hostel for a first timer! It stayed in the church and it smelled really badly of feet, there was chewing gum in the carpet, the ceilings were leaking everywhere, the toilets were unisex and in pretty bad condition, the showers worked great but were in pretty poor condition, the lift kept stopping working and trapped people in it, the ceiling also leaked in the TV room, the outside door was constantly open at night, which meant lots of people could come the bac kway straight in to our dorm.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 March 2011

Liked: Close to Central Station

Disliked: Air Conditioner was off but making noise all night. The room is in bad need of renovating

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

07 March 2011

Liked: tv room, bathroom in room

Disliked: did not seem very clean, uncomfortable bed, general areas were not very comfortable or welcoming

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011

Liked: Good location, big kitchen, they organize things most nights

Disliked: dirty, run down, really bad smell, staff were slow and didnt really seem to know what they were doing! you can get a LOT better for the same price elsewhere in Sydney.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels