HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nomads Westend Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 59%

Location 92%

Safety 61%

Staff 79%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 9.21USD
  • Luggage Room 3.07USD
  • Towel 3.84USD

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made.

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Important information:
Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014)

Cancellation:
* No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods))
* Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking.
* Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%*

Peak Periods:
* If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January
2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December.
* Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled.
* Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date
will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds
will be given.
* Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and
cancellation of the said reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 59%

Location 92%

Safety 61%

Staff 79%

Value 69%

Showing 61-70 of 103 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is great, staff are great, rooms exceeded expectations considering the cheap price

Disliked: Slow elevator but it's not enough to deter from staying again

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The location, friendly and helpful staff, and the cleaniness

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback fellow backpacker were absolutely stocked with your feedback your an absolute legend!! If you ever find yourself back in our wonderful city your always welcome back to Westend backpackers. we hope you Travel Safe and enjoy your travels abroad!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff and people, close to the train station, promotional event and beer pong.

Disliked: Elevator took forever and is probably haunted.


The property's response is

Hello fellow travel enthusiast were stoked to hear you enjoyed your stay especially our events schedule we are always working hard to ensure that every guest has an experience here,afterall its not just a bed! Enjoy your travels abroad and Much love from your mates at Westend Backpackers

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: When we arrived we had to wait for the staff to be told off my fireman for an alarm going off.Dirty, mouldy room, gave us bad chests, really bad in general to be honest.


The property's response is

Hello fellow traveler, Thanks for your honesty in regards to your feedback. Unfortunately the fire alarm does go off rarely and when it does the fire brigade takes control to secure the hostel and to make sure all guests are safe. In regards to the cleanliness issue we have looked into it to ensure that it does not happen to any of our future guests and were absolutely rattled to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay, we apologise for any inconvenience and wish you well.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to central and others good spot. Cheap. Beds are ok

Disliked: Lift sooooooooo slow.. Toilets and showers not really clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Westend backpackers, in regards to your feedback were currently in the process of renewing our communal bathrooms and showers, there going to look brand spanking new! We have 2 lifts here at westend and recently one has been out of order which increases the waiting time for the one remaining lift,which sucks after a big day exploring so we apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope that you enjoy the rest of your journey abroad :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good services, friendly personal

Disliked: Old rooms and bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive feedback fellow traveller :) In regards to your feedback We are currently in the process of renewing level 2 where the shared bathrooms and church is located the makeover is half done and looking great. We would love to invite you back to check out the changes so if your ever in sydney again make sure you stay with us again and Westend backpackers :) Enjoy your travels and be safe :)

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great as usual. Close to everywhere - very short walk to 3 major train stations, including central which goes to the airport. Cheap airport shuttle available too. Huge hostel, always lots of people around. good kitchen (gas cookers could do with some attention though!), TV/chill area. Lots of nice people, especially Germans it seems! :) hostel runs events every night, generally starting with drinking games (!), as well as some daytime activities (beach trips, walks etc)

Disliked: Kitchen needs some TLC, especially gas cook tops which are a bit hit and miss. You need to use the lift to get to any room in the hostel... It's very slow and occasionally doesn't stop at the floor you ask it to!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback Patrick, We really appreciate the time you put in; Afterall we cant improve without it! Your a legend! In regards to your comments about the cook tops we have recently replaced them and awaiting parts to fix the last remaining one, the Kitchen has under gone a major deep clean and were also planning to do some repainting in there to really make it sparkle, we will hopefully have both lifts in working order in the near future aswell .Travel safe and thanks again mate:)

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The huge and cheap 28 bed dorm.

Disliked: The stairway was closed from ground level, so you had to take the elevator, for even 1 storie and that took quite a long time.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Chirstian, Thanks heaps for your feedback and were stoked you enjoyed your stay here. In regards to the stairway unfortunately due to fire regulations it has to stay closed, this also secures the building from unwanted visitors and ensures we see every person that enters the hostel.. The secondary lift is currently out of order and hopefully will be fixed in the near future, this will definitely speed up the process of coming and going. we hope you enjoyed Sydney and your travels abroad :)

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Big kitchen and common area to sit down at.

Disliked: The bed was horrible, I could feel very metal spring. Not enough storage in the room, not very clean.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean sheets, no bedbugs. Good airconditioning.

Disliked: Room full of smelly men (their workingclothes were smelling) and me. I was the only girl in the room, which wasn't that pleasant.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Good Morning fellow Traveller, We are stoked that you have stayed with us here at Westend. As much as the ladies love the tradies, i'm guessing your better off looking at them rather then smelling them! Under these circumstances we generally upgrade the ladies into female dorms on arrival unfortunately your booking must have been overlooked and we are doing our best to ensure that this doesn't happen to any of our female guests again. We apologize for the inconvenience and wish you well. :):)

Check Availability