HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nomads Westend Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 61%

Location 94%

Safety 62%

Staff 81%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 8.91USD
  • Luggage Room 2.97USD
  • Towel 3.71USD

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made.

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Important information:
Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014)

Cancellation:
* No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods))
* Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking.
* Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%*

Peak Periods:
* If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January
2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December.
* Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled.
* Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date
will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds
will be given.
* Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and
cancellation of the said reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 61%

Location 94%

Safety 62%

Staff 81%

Value 72%

Showing 51-60 of 100 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: It was a handy location in Sydney CBD which meant it walking distance from most of the places we needed to go. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Other guests were polite. Although we did not take advantage, I noticed posters advertising special offers for guests which is nice.

Disliked: The cleaners would enter the room in the mornings with VERY little notice (if any). It would either be two knocks and enter without waiting, or no knock at all. I also thought the price was quite high for a room with just a bed and a bathroom. No window (the aircon was mounted on the window), no TV, fridge, ironing board or anything else you would expect to receive for that price. I also noticed the bunk bed had the stairs up against the wall, which would make it quite difficult if we had needed to use the top bunk.


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving your feedback. Were glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and apologies for the other inconveniences. We have brought your issues to attention and we have actually introduced "do not disturb signs" into the property as of this week due to this review! I've taken into account your room number and are following up the rest of these issues. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review it really helps us improve our service for current and future guests.travel safe!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staffs and perfect location

Disliked: The hostel is not rennovated properly as from what i heard the building is rented from somebody.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean, located in the city and not really expensive

Disliked: It was a bit noisy at nights and the fire alarm rang one day at 5am

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was great from all the other backpackers. The 32 bed dorm seemed daunting at first but everyone was friendly and considerate to those who were sleeping.

Disliked: The lift is pretty dreadful, which is made more annoying by the fact there's no stairs up from reception.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback, Were stoked you stayed with us at Westend backpackers. We are glad you enjoyed the vibe and the infamous church :) We are in the process of fixing our lifts and cant wait for the final result. Safe travels from your mates at Westend backpackers. :)

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is amazing! Stayed in an all female room and felt very safe and happy! Heaps of activities on offer to keep you occupied day and night as well!

Disliked: Nothing, in comparison to some of the terrible hostels around, this one was on the good side of what you expect from budget accommodation

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Were stoked you stayed with us at Westend backpackers and thanks for leaving us with some feedback. Were glad you felt safe and secure within our establishment. We pride ourselves on providing more then just a bed and its fantastic you got involved. thanks again and Travel safe :)

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The overall experience was terrible. The shower didn't work properly. The housekeeping just came in to your room, so no privacy. Also the elevator takes ages to go up and down. At night you get at least 6 times an intercom about drunk activities. When we decided to travel further and our bus leaves at 6 pm, the staff wouldn't let us storage our bags upon checking out. For 30 dollars a night you expect more.Staff unfriendly, room and bathroom wasn't clean, many rude drunk people, elevator doesn't work proplerly. This hostel I don't recommend.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly stuff, location, incredible experience in the 30 people bedroom, Beds are cleaner in the Big 30 people room, ( plastic mattresses)

Disliked: Not very clean, the hole accommodation is not in a good shape, airflow not sufficient in 6 bedroom and was moist,

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Rooms were very crowded, bathrooms were dirty, beds uncomfortable

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great central location and great value for money.

Disliked: The bathroom could have been a bit more nice

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean rooms, helpful staff, close to centre

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback, Were stoked you decided to stay with us at Westend backpackers. The church is an awesome place and were glad you enjoyed it. See you next time ! Much love from your mates at Westend backpackers.

Check Availability