HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Westend Backpackers Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Please note all guests international and Australian, need to present a valid passport upon check in. For further information please contact the property in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. Also note that all Special Requests are subject to availability and additional charges may apply.

***This property will be undergoing renovations from early February 2017 until further notice. During this period, guests may experience some noise or light disturbances, and some hotel facilities and services may not be available. The elevator will not be accessible from the Ground Floor from 23 February, 2017 until further notice. It will still be accessible from Levels 1-13.

This unfortunately means that we are no longer wheelchair accessible.

Please contact the hostel directly if you would like any further information.***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Showing 51-60 of 239 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Location is good, staff are really helpful

Disliked: Cleanliness is an issue, but I know this before I book it so I found it acceptable me. Um... and not quite happy with the charge (AUD$4) of storing luggage after check out. I guess most hostels don't charge with that.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Sometimes a little too dirty

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the atmosphere. If you wanna do something you can join the group, if not not.If you like to go shopping, you are not far away from all the shopping malls.The central station and the hyde park isn`t far as well.

Disliked: My room was in the 10th floor. In the beginning I thought, I will never sleep well because you could hear the people talking from the other rooms. I think it was maybe just because of the time (xmas and nye) and everybody was celebrating. After this was everything quiet.I didn`t like our bathroom. It is not one of the newest one. And the space in this room wasn`t so big.But for this price and a short time was it okay.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: party!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Close

Disliked: Dirty

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I lives in a 4 People room. They there cool. we had our own shower in a room. Location is also good. To sum up its a cheap and good hostel

Disliked: Its near the street. It is a noisy place. But i had my earplugs so i didnt care much. Elevator is very very slow. But there is stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and good group activities

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: there is a good energy

Disliked: the lift... slow and only one was working, but for sure this is temporary.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback, were stoked you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves on our vibe and atmosphere and we try our best to keep it positive..Our secondary lift is temporarily out of order meaning all staff and guests have to share the 1 lift which are both in the process of being refurbished in the near future. We apologies for the inconvenience and We wish you well in your travels in Australia and hope to see you again. Much love from your mates at Westend!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: It was a handy location in Sydney CBD which meant it walking distance from most of the places we needed to go. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Other guests were polite. Although we did not take advantage, I noticed posters advertising special offers for guests which is nice.

Disliked: The cleaners would enter the room in the mornings with VERY little notice (if any). It would either be two knocks and enter without waiting, or no knock at all. I also thought the price was quite high for a room with just a bed and a bathroom. No window (the aircon was mounted on the window), no TV, fridge, ironing board or anything else you would expect to receive for that price. I also noticed the bunk bed had the stairs up against the wall, which would make it quite difficult if we had needed to use the top bunk.


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving your feedback. Were glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and apologies for the other inconveniences. We have brought your issues to attention and we have actually introduced "do not disturb signs" into the property as of this week due to this review! I've taken into account your room number and are following up the rest of these issues. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review it really helps us improve our service for current and future guests.travel safe!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staffs and perfect location

Disliked: The hostel is not rennovated properly as from what i heard the building is rented from somebody.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability