HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nomads Westend Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 52%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 57%

Staff 75%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 9.20USD
  • Luggage Room 3.07USD
  • Towel 3.84USD

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made.

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Important information:
Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014)

Cancellation:
* No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods))
* Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking.
* Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%*

Peak Periods:
* If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January
2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December.
* Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled.
* Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date
will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds
will be given.
* Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and
cancellation of the said reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 52%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 57%

Staff 75%

Value 70%

Showing 41-50 of 238 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, good atmosphere and cheap cost

Disliked: The sheet had what appeared to be semen stains on it and I found it hard to sleep but it is a 32 bed room so I understand that.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: Very dirty. From the stairwell, the lobby benches that had white stains all over them, tto the bathrooms that had cockroaches.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our central location, however I am obviously disappointed to read your comments on the cleanliness. We do have a very thorough daily cleaning process which includes cleaning all of the areas you mentioned, being an old building some things such as stairs etc. look old and a little worn, however as previously mentioned they are certainly cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis.

Thanks again,
Sam B

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: See above


The property's response is

Thank you for rating your recent stay. I can see from your ratings that you found our staff to provide a positive experience. If you would like to provide any further details on other areas of your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hostel.

Kind regards,
Sam B

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The location is great nice clean rooms the best backpackers compared to the others in the area

Disliked: Nothing it is awesome

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The atmosphere and location

Disliked: Not the cleanest

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice people, nice stuff.Lot of stuff going on. Almost every night some Event or drinking in the goon room

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The location is 24hr access to food and other services and conveniently located near city central

Disliked: The 6 person dorm was noisy from the street and the toilets/showers were shabby (did not look clean although probably were) there was no real relaxing hang-out (except for at reception) i don't like the encouragement given to drinking (Goon Pong ??) Generally i was looking for something more clean and quiet.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: chilled Sunday movie day with everyone and a comfy bed

Disliked: leaky shower no biggy though

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Work / volunteering

Liked: The building has a bright and cheerfully painted entrance and reception area that immediately gives off a friendly vibe. The staff are eager to assist, and the kitchen and bathrooms are a decent size. The free entry to bars and clubs offered by Nomads is a great bonus too.

Disliked: The largest dorm was unpleasantly warm due to the lack of air conditioning.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Location is good, staff are really helpful

Disliked: Cleanliness is an issue, but I know this before I book it so I found it acceptable me. Um... and not quite happy with the charge (AUD$4) of storing luggage after check out. I guess most hostels don't charge with that.

Check Availability