HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Westend Backpackers Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Please note all guests international and Australian, need to present a valid passport upon check in. For further information please contact the property in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. Also note that all Special Requests are subject to availability and additional charges may apply.

***This property will be undergoing renovations from early February 2017 until further notice. During this period, guests may experience some noise or light disturbances, and some hotel facilities and services may not be available. The elevator will not be accessible from the Ground Floor from 23 February, 2017 until further notice. It will still be accessible from Levels 1-13.

This unfortunately means that we are no longer wheelchair accessible.

Please contact the hostel directly if you would like any further information.***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Showing 41-50 of 239 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The staff were friendly and efficient, location central to everything like Sydney attractions and transport

Disliked: The outside could do with a paint, looks like it's crumbling. The lift is painfully slow. The air conditioning makes a loud continuous noise, the tiles in the bathroom need repaired and a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay! We're super stoked you found the staff friendly and the central location convenient. Thank you also for the constructive comments, we are certainly working on upgrading the property and are in the process of organising brand new washers and dryers.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam B

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, good atmosphere and cheap cost

Disliked: The sheet had what appeared to be semen stains on it and I found it hard to sleep but it is a 32 bed room so I understand that.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: Very dirty. From the stairwell, the lobby benches that had white stains all over them, tto the bathrooms that had cockroaches.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our central location, however I am obviously disappointed to read your comments on the cleanliness. We do have a very thorough daily cleaning process which includes cleaning all of the areas you mentioned, being an old building some things such as stairs etc. look old and a little worn, however as previously mentioned they are certainly cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis.

Thanks again,
Sam B

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: See above


The property's response is

Thank you for rating your recent stay. I can see from your ratings that you found our staff to provide a positive experience. If you would like to provide any further details on other areas of your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hostel.

Kind regards,
Sam B

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The location is great nice clean rooms the best backpackers compared to the others in the area

Disliked: Nothing it is awesome

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The atmosphere and location

Disliked: Not the cleanest

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice people, nice stuff.Lot of stuff going on. Almost every night some Event or drinking in the goon room

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The location is 24hr access to food and other services and conveniently located near city central

Disliked: The 6 person dorm was noisy from the street and the toilets/showers were shabby (did not look clean although probably were) there was no real relaxing hang-out (except for at reception) i don't like the encouragement given to drinking (Goon Pong ??) Generally i was looking for something more clean and quiet.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: chilled Sunday movie day with everyone and a comfy bed

Disliked: leaky shower no biggy though

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Work / volunteering

Liked: The building has a bright and cheerfully painted entrance and reception area that immediately gives off a friendly vibe. The staff are eager to assist, and the kitchen and bathrooms are a decent size. The free entry to bars and clubs offered by Nomads is a great bonus too.

Disliked: The largest dorm was unpleasantly warm due to the lack of air conditioning.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability