HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Nomads Westend Backpackers

Hostel | 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

72.2% Overall Rating

358 out of 514 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Laura Humphrys thinks…

"The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was great from all the other backpackers. The 32 bed dorm seemed daunting at first but everyone was friendly and considerate to those who were sleeping."

Read all Nomads Westend Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.26
  • Luggage Room USD 3.75
  • Towel USD 4.69

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made. We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit. Important information: Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014) Cancellation: * No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods)) * Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking. * Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%* Peak Periods: * If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January 2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December. * Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled. * Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds will be given. * Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and cancellation of the said reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Maze Backpackers
21.59 USD

Hostel 68.0% 599 reviews
Base Sydney
26.28 USD

Hostel 78.6% 425 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
21.59 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Strattons Hostel
21.59 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
World Square Hostel
21.59 USD

Hostel 77.9% 253 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
33.79 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.71 USD

Hostel 64.6% 30 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
15.96 USD

Hostel 65.6% 450 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

358 out of 514 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Westend Backpackers'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 382 of 428 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Stroh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

09 January 2013

Liked: It is a large property with lots of people and many organised activities

Disliked: 12 floors but only one very slow lift. It wasn't uncommon to wait 5 minutes for the lift, and then another 3-4 to actually get to your floor.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aidan Walsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

07 January 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Loads going on each night!

Disliked: Only 1 lift working. Kitchen needs to be stocked a lot better, pots pans cups cutlery etc

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: location, people, atmosphere, party evenings, pasta and rice for free

Disliked: food was stolen, to long waiting for the elevator - because one was broken, to small kitchen

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Ashdown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Large Kitchen area, lounge area. Staff were friendly. There was free pasta and rice available.

Disliked: That you had to pay for wifi and lockers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jungsub Choi

Alone

City break

15 December 2012 Jungsub would recommend this property

Liked: Hi. This is Choi from South Korea. It's my second time to stay this backpackers because it was so nice in first time so I didn't hesitate to stay here again. Staff? Yeah! They are so nice, kind and pretty :) sorry for guys who work there. You guys also nice :) If you who want to stay in sydney, yes. Here's my recommendation. Don't expect more. It's backpackers. Not 5 stars hotel. I have read another reviews and it was too over evaluated. Ps. Sorry for my comments because of poor English but I did my best.

Disliked: Nope.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Choon Wee Tan

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 Choon Wee would recommend this property

Liked: The location is extremely good as it is near to Darling Harbour, malls and also plenty of eateries. (Kebab was the best!) We could literally walk to anywhere from the Hostel and even if we were to take the monorail, it's only a 5min walk away! The hostel is considered quite good with proper toilets and also bed. Staff were very helpful and friendly too. The 1st level was a great place for people from different nations to mingle and party too. Definitely a place to stay again.

Disliked: Laundry services was not really that convenient but that was the only down side to the entire stay there. Machines were abit old and not enough to cater to so many backpackers who are staying there. Might consider getting more machines too.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristiina Kohv

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Kristiina would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: Kitchen

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lucie Mierzynski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012

Liked: The hostel is well situated.

Disliked: all the rest

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff at front desk were always smiling and helpful.

Disliked: I know people like to party, but the staff should be on top of things. The kitchen was always dirty (and that's not only the cooking utensils, which somebody -not their users- eventually washed), but the floor! Cups to drink from where never to be found, and there's only like 3 pots to cook pasta/rice (which is the only thing anyone cooks at hostels). The wipes where ALWAYS drenched, thus rendered useless. Fridges PACKED all the time, so I couldn't use them. The prices are ok for your usual backpackers' place in Sydney but...30-bed dorms for this price? And 4dls an hour for internet use? 20 per day? And lockers go for about the same prices!

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

carly williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012

Liked: The location was good - really central.

Disliked: My friend and I only stayed on night as the hostel was really dirty. The reception area, the dorm and the bathroom facilities looked like they hadn't been cleaned for ages! The dorm area wasn't secure, even though we'd been issued with key cards we didn't need them as the door was permanently propped open by a bin!

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everythig else.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: It smelled foul in the lobby and the bathroom had not been cleaned well.

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012

Liked: nothing!

Disliked: it´s the badest hostel ever!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chin-Der Wang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Chin-Der would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient and good location - near the free shuttle bus and China Town... Very good manner staff, very helpful Provide good maps and other travel information. Good TV

Disliked: The security might be too loose... the smell of the room

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

andrew newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012

Liked: The only good thing is the location

Disliked: There is only 1 lift for 13 floors of people, terrible. takes half hour to get into the room. The key system always breaks down and won't let you in the room so you have to go down n the lift again and wait an hour before you can get in. the first floor smells of sick and alcohol. Everyone drinks goon in there night and day and is very unhygienic to cook in and there is no where to relax. only come here if you want to go in the lift once and get drunk on the first floor all day every day and sit in a pool of spilt alcohol.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Narelle Buckinagham

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

02 October 2012 Narelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly helpful.

Disliked: Narelle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Gaire

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Room itself was clean, very friendly staff

Disliked: Bathroom could have done with being cleaner. No lockers in the rooms!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was well positioned, with lots of information about the surrounding events and things to do in Sydney. Nightly activities run by the hostel and a friendly common area were both a plus. Lockers were good also for leaving one's gear through the day of the check-out. Beds were decent, with complementary blanket and pillow which I had not been aware of, making the night a little more comfortable. Very good for budget accommodation,

Disliked: The speed of the lifts was the only downside to the property.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Deblaise Gabriel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2012 Deblaise would recommend this property

Liked: Good organisation of activities in the evening or the day

Disliked: You can't leave your backpack after leaving, only by paying lockers.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012

Liked: better than sleeping on the streets, I guess?

Disliked: a lot

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012

Liked: good location. girl on travel desk was very friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: very grubby appearance from the outside, windows dont look like they have been cleaned in years. very noisy especially at night. too many long term residents make the place feel unwelcome, as though you are in their living space and not a communal one. extreamly annoying and loud tannoy announcments. i would not reccomend this hostel to seasoned travellers or anyone who has just got off a long haul flight!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 June 2012

Liked: The location, right in the middle of CBD

Disliked: The room stank, The lift is a nightmare. When I tried to book another week they told me that the room was double the price all of a sudden with no explanation. Lots of noise from both outside and inside, my final morning someone was taking apart a bunkbed at 9 in the morning with a hammer. The staff seemed to be working ridiculous hours and always seemed grumpy except for 1 or 2 of the receptionists. Always waiting at least 10 / 15 mins to be seen at reception area. Stayed in alot of hostels and this was the worst by far. Cheap at first then they up the price, everyone i spoke to had the same opinon.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, comfy beds, free rice and pasta. At the reduced rate we got of $17 a night it was good value for money, also we got upgraded to a private room.

Disliked: Whole hostel looked a bit tired, could do with a refresh. Kitchen was very dirty most nights but clean first thing in the morning after the cleaners could get to it, this was more of a reflection of the people staying here than the cleaners at the hostel. Kitchen was very small for the amount of guests. One of the lifts stopped working on our second day which made getting around the hostel very difficult!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012

Liked: Lots of backpackers, friendly staff.

Disliked: kitchen was way too small and dirty in the morning from night b4.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels