We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Nomads Westend Backpackers

Hostel | 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

72.9% Overall Rating

364 out of 523 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2014)

"I lives in a 4 People room. They there cool. we had our own shower in a room. Location is also good. To sum up its a cheap and good hostel"

Read all Nomads Westend Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.48
  • Luggage Room USD 3.49
  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made. We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit. Important information: Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014) Cancellation: * No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods)) * Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking. * Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%* Peak Periods: * If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January 2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December. * Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled. * Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds will be given. * Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and cancellation of the said reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Maze Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel 78.7% 611 reviews
Base Sydney
27.07 USD

Hostel 76.2% 428 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
20.96 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
World Square Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 80.5% 256 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
41.05 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
20.09 USD

Hostel 67.9% 453 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

364 out of 523 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Westend Backpackers'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 388 of 437 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

anna laskey

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 February 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room was dirt and there were cockroaches everywhere in the kitchen!!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Richard Thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 January 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good activities for people to socialize and meet new peeps.

Disliked: bathrooms were a little dicey, no smoking area except the street.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Bram Wijaya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2013

Liked: location (ONLY!)

Disliked: it has 13 floors but only one out of two lifts are working, they say they r working on it but during my 3 nights stay there, there's no evidence that they are fixing the lift! heard lot of complains from other ppl regarding the lift. there's lack of sockets in the room, I need to charge my phone near someone else bed and leave it there while charging. There's no or very little space between bunk beds and u can't sit straight if u choose the lower bed because u have to duck quite hardly to avoid hitting the upper bed with ur head. The shower is dirty and have some stains on the wall. The internet is free for the first 15 mins then u have to pay. No locker provided in the room, u only able to put ur goods in steel bucket and put it under ur bed.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Valerie Garside

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013

Liked: Cheap, good location

Disliked: Full of kids drinking goon. Dirty. Broken lift. No free wifi.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

fernanda pompeu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offered lots of activities. The staff was really friendly and fun. Free Pasta and rice. Quite clean.

Disliked: The lockers did not work. Very little space in our 6 bed room. We were not able to use some of the boxes under the beds. The kitchen was very busy during breakfast and dinner time. Not too many pots and cutlery. Most matresses were uncomfortable.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Stroh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

09 January 2013

Liked: It is a large property with lots of people and many organised activities

Disliked: 12 floors but only one very slow lift. It wasn't uncommon to wait 5 minutes for the lift, and then another 3-4 to actually get to your floor.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aidan Walsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

07 January 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Loads going on each night!

Disliked: Only 1 lift working. Kitchen needs to be stocked a lot better, pots pans cups cutlery etc

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: location, people, atmosphere, party evenings, pasta and rice for free

Disliked: food was stolen, to long waiting for the elevator - because one was broken, to small kitchen

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Ashdown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Large Kitchen area, lounge area. Staff were friendly. There was free pasta and rice available.

Disliked: That you had to pay for wifi and lockers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jungsub Choi

Alone

City break

15 December 2012 Jungsub would recommend this property

Liked: Hi. This is Choi from South Korea. It's my second time to stay this backpackers because it was so nice in first time so I didn't hesitate to stay here again. Staff? Yeah! They are so nice, kind and pretty :) sorry for guys who work there. You guys also nice :) If you who want to stay in sydney, yes. Here's my recommendation. Don't expect more. It's backpackers. Not 5 stars hotel. I have read another reviews and it was too over evaluated. Ps. Sorry for my comments because of poor English but I did my best.

Disliked: Nope.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Choon Wee Tan

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 Choon Wee would recommend this property

Liked: The location is extremely good as it is near to Darling Harbour, malls and also plenty of eateries. (Kebab was the best!) We could literally walk to anywhere from the Hostel and even if we were to take the monorail, it's only a 5min walk away! The hostel is considered quite good with proper toilets and also bed. Staff were very helpful and friendly too. The 1st level was a great place for people from different nations to mingle and party too. Definitely a place to stay again.

Disliked: Laundry services was not really that convenient but that was the only down side to the entire stay there. Machines were abit old and not enough to cater to so many backpackers who are staying there. Might consider getting more machines too.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristiina Kohv

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Kristiina would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: Kitchen

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lucie Mierzynski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012

Liked: The hostel is well situated.

Disliked: all the rest

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff at front desk were always smiling and helpful.

Disliked: I know people like to party, but the staff should be on top of things. The kitchen was always dirty (and that's not only the cooking utensils, which somebody -not their users- eventually washed), but the floor! Cups to drink from where never to be found, and there's only like 3 pots to cook pasta/rice (which is the only thing anyone cooks at hostels). The wipes where ALWAYS drenched, thus rendered useless. Fridges PACKED all the time, so I couldn't use them. The prices are ok for your usual backpackers' place in Sydney but...30-bed dorms for this price? And 4dls an hour for internet use? 20 per day? And lockers go for about the same prices!

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

carly williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012

Liked: The location was good - really central.

Disliked: My friend and I only stayed on night as the hostel was really dirty. The reception area, the dorm and the bathroom facilities looked like they hadn't been cleaned for ages! The dorm area wasn't secure, even though we'd been issued with key cards we didn't need them as the door was permanently propped open by a bin!

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everythig else.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: It smelled foul in the lobby and the bathroom had not been cleaned well.

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012

Liked: nothing!

Disliked: it´s the badest hostel ever!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chin-Der Wang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Chin-Der would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient and good location - near the free shuttle bus and China Town... Very good manner staff, very helpful Provide good maps and other travel information. Good TV

Disliked: The security might be too loose... the smell of the room

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

andrew newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012

Liked: The only good thing is the location

Disliked: There is only 1 lift for 13 floors of people, terrible. takes half hour to get into the room. The key system always breaks down and won't let you in the room so you have to go down n the lift again and wait an hour before you can get in. the first floor smells of sick and alcohol. Everyone drinks goon in there night and day and is very unhygienic to cook in and there is no where to relax. only come here if you want to go in the lift once and get drunk on the first floor all day every day and sit in a pool of spilt alcohol.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Narelle Buckinagham

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

02 October 2012 Narelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly helpful.

Disliked: Narelle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Gaire

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Room itself was clean, very friendly staff

Disliked: Bathroom could have done with being cleaner. No lockers in the rooms!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was well positioned, with lots of information about the surrounding events and things to do in Sydney. Nightly activities run by the hostel and a friendly common area were both a plus. Lockers were good also for leaving one's gear through the day of the check-out. Beds were decent, with complementary blanket and pillow which I had not been aware of, making the night a little more comfortable. Very good for budget accommodation,

Disliked: The speed of the lifts was the only downside to the property.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Deblaise Gabriel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2012 Deblaise would recommend this property

Liked: Good organisation of activities in the evening or the day

Disliked: You can't leave your backpack after leaving, only by paying lockers.

The property's response is...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels