HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nomads Westend Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 63%

Location 93%

Safety 60%

Staff 76%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 9.24USD
  • Luggage Room 3.08USD
  • Towel 3.85USD

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made.

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Important information:
Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014)

Cancellation:
* No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods))
* Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking.
* Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%*

Peak Periods:
* If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January
2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December.
* Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled.
* Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date
will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds
will be given.
* Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and
cancellation of the said reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 63%

Location 93%

Safety 60%

Staff 76%

Value 71%

Showing 31-40 of 236 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Range of rooms available. Luggage storage before and after check-out.Friendly staff on check in.

Disliked: Male staff members making inappropriate comments about a group of young female guests within mine and other's earshot.Could be cleaner.Shoddy elevator.Though individual rooms have key access, security seemed lax. Seemed like anyone could walk in and get upstairs or say they had luggage stored and be handed the key - I wasn't asked to provide any id or anything when I asked staff who'd never seen me before.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location from the train station

Disliked: The property was filthy wasn't even comfortable for the one night there was thankful I only was there for 8 hours

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: it was very centrally located and good price

Disliked: could have cleaner bathrooms and faster elevators

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was friendly, Location is good, shopping center/ supermarket just across the street, short walk to Central Station.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms, stains on linen, room & bathroom very unclean. Power plugs in bathroom only so you had to leave your phone in there if you wanted to charge it. Slowest elevator in the world. You can stay at much better hostels in Sydney for the same price.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -

Disliked: This is not place for sleeping. More partying.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Secure rooms and great location

Disliked: The lift takes forever

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: central location in Sydney

Disliked: looks run down, the lift takes forever can only use stairs to get out. only 1 dryer was working.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. One of our two lifts was out of order while you were staying with us, I do apologise for any inconvenience this caused you. Unfortunately we had to wait for a part before it was repaired, it is now up and running again.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the central location and I hope you enjoyed Sydney.

Kind regards,
Sam B

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The staff were friendly and efficient, location central to everything like Sydney attractions and transport

Disliked: The outside could do with a paint, looks like it's crumbling. The lift is painfully slow. The air conditioning makes a loud continuous noise, the tiles in the bathroom need repaired and a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay! We're super stoked you found the staff friendly and the central location convenient. Thank you also for the constructive comments, we are certainly working on upgrading the property and are in the process of organising brand new washers and dryers.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam B

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, good atmosphere and cheap cost

Disliked: The sheet had what appeared to be semen stains on it and I found it hard to sleep but it is a 32 bed room so I understand that.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: Very dirty. From the stairwell, the lobby benches that had white stains all over them, tto the bathrooms that had cockroaches.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our central location, however I am obviously disappointed to read your comments on the cleanliness. We do have a very thorough daily cleaning process which includes cleaning all of the areas you mentioned, being an old building some things such as stairs etc. look old and a little worn, however as previously mentioned they are certainly cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis.

Thanks again,
Sam B

Check Availability