HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Westend Backpackers Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Please note all guests international and Australian, need to present a valid passport upon check in. For further information please contact the property in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. Also note that all Special Requests are subject to availability and additional charges may apply.

***This property will be undergoing renovations from early February 2017 until further notice. During this period, guests may experience some noise or light disturbances, and some hotel facilities and services may not be available. The elevator will not be accessible from the Ground Floor from 23 February, 2017 until further notice. It will still be accessible from Levels 1-13.

This unfortunately means that we are no longer wheelchair accessible.

Please contact the hostel directly if you would like any further information.***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Showing 31-40 of 239 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the location is perfect

Disliked: the kitchen facilities were not working and were very poor. the toilets were dirty

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was perfect for us as yew were just passing through. The staff at the desk were amazing! We got a room upgrade for no extra cost. The rooms were clean and safe.

Disliked: The only issues we ran into were the shower head is pretty low down on the wall so you end up crouching a bit. And when we went to wash some clothes, all 4 dryers were out of order since March.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff, good price, good atmosphere, very cheap. I will definitely come back here. It was perfect for me.

Disliked: A little bit of a bad smell in the room, but that's all.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Range of rooms available. Luggage storage before and after check-out.Friendly staff on check in.

Disliked: Male staff members making inappropriate comments about a group of young female guests within mine and other's earshot.Could be cleaner.Shoddy elevator.Though individual rooms have key access, security seemed lax. Seemed like anyone could walk in and get upstairs or say they had luggage stored and be handed the key - I wasn't asked to provide any id or anything when I asked staff who'd never seen me before.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location from the train station

Disliked: The property was filthy wasn't even comfortable for the one night there was thankful I only was there for 8 hours

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: it was very centrally located and good price

Disliked: could have cleaner bathrooms and faster elevators

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was friendly, Location is good, shopping center/ supermarket just across the street, short walk to Central Station.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms, stains on linen, room & bathroom very unclean. Power plugs in bathroom only so you had to leave your phone in there if you wanted to charge it. Slowest elevator in the world. You can stay at much better hostels in Sydney for the same price.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -

Disliked: This is not place for sleeping. More partying.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Secure rooms and great location

Disliked: The lift takes forever

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: central location in Sydney

Disliked: looks run down, the lift takes forever can only use stairs to get out. only 1 dryer was working.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. One of our two lifts was out of order while you were staying with us, I do apologise for any inconvenience this caused you. Unfortunately we had to wait for a part before it was repaired, it is now up and running again.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the central location and I hope you enjoyed Sydney.

Kind regards,
Sam B

Check Availability