HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nomads Westend Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 59%

Location 93%

Safety 62%

Staff 82%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 9.78USD
  • Luggage Room 3.26USD
  • Towel 4.08USD

Important Information

Any bookings of 5 people or more are notified that they will be charged in full by the hostel once the booking is made.

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Important information:
Reservations over the Christmas, New Years & Ashes Test period (22nd Dec 2013 - 07th Jan 2014)

Cancellation:
* No charge by Westend Backpackers will be made to guests if cancellation occurs 48 hours prior to their arrival date, except during peak periods (see below - Peak Periods))
* Cancellations that occur with less than 48 hours notice will incur a fee of the first night of the total booking.
* Credit card payment will incur a surcharge of 2.5%*

Peak Periods:
* If you plan to arrive between the 22nd December 2013 and 7th January
2014 please note that we will charge your credit card in full on the 1st of December.
* Credit Cards which decline will have their reservations cancelled.
* Cancellations after the 1st December 2013 and before arrival date
will incur a penalty equal to that of your accommodation. No Refunds
will be given.
* Failure to arrive on the reserved day will incur a full charge and
cancellation of the said reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 59%

Location 93%

Safety 62%

Staff 82%

Value 70%

Showing 121-118 of 118 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Excellent people, staff and atmosphere, inviting, but more on the loud social level if that's what you're looking for, the communal area gets somewhat rowdy when preparing to go out for the night, which is 5-6 nights a week. I was upgraded from the Church when I arrived and was moved to a six-bedroom, so I was able to stay for the discounted online price of the already cheaper Church but in a better, more secure room, saved 70$ right there, plus feeling comfortable with roommates saved me the money and tedium of having to use a locker for my valuables. Wi-fi is 12$/wk, works adequately for necessities, can be spotty. I personally never had an issue with cleanliness either in the rooms or in kitchen area and communal area, most people seemed fairly respectful. Location is close to everything; pubs/clubs, attractions, ammenities, I walked everywhere, but Central station is five minutes away and it's on a street with a few bus routes as well. All in all great value and experience.

Disliked: Some facilities (that I used) were a bit lacking; majority of the stovetops didn't work, so finding space during dinner could be a hassle, I ate late so it wasn't really an issue for me, need more cups! I ended up just buying a cheap one and keeping it in my room. Had a couple issues with my card not working, but that was fixed quickly at the front desk, only downside was taking the slow-as-balls elevator again but that's far from the end of the world. Nothing deal-breaking whatsoever though, small issues.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jeffrey,

Great to hear from you and love the awesome feedback.
We have recently had all of our stove tops fixed and everything is up and running.
Enjoy the rest of your travels and come see us again soon

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I booked the 32 bed dorm and got a free upgrade to a six share. good party atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Cole,
Great to hear from you.
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Come again soon

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The communal area on level one was great for meeting people, and hanging out

Disliked: The kitchen really REALLY needs an update... currently only 2 working burners for all the guests!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
Great to hear from you!!!
We have now fixed all burners and we hope you come back and see us soon.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: stained glass windows that open

Disliked: lack of designated smoking area

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Sasa,

Great to hear from you and thank you for leaving a review.
Its quite difficult to assign a smoking area as we are situated in central Sydney but we will certainly look into this.

Thank you and have a great day

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really good location and nice staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Natasha,
Great to hear from you and thank you for your lovely review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Want to meet people go here!!! Good times

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Neil,

Thank you for your great review.

Enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place in Sydney, easy to move around the city. In the 4 bed dorm for female, the shower was inside the room, very convenient.

Disliked: No locker in the room !! You can rent some lockers downstairs !

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: He staff was friendly and the location is good.

Disliked: The building is old and dirty! It smells badly in the rooms and there are no real windows...only air conditioning (that doesnt work properly)


The property's response is

Hi Maren,

Thank you for your recent review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.


The Nomads Westend Team :-)

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Most staff were friendly, some were not.The bathroom was clean. The bedding was clean.The evening security at the door was a good idea.

Disliked: Having to miss out on bus transport from the airport because I arrived with a delayed flight and landed at 8. Then having to pay $12 to get the transport to the airport. I was under the impression that airport transport was included.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Adrian,

Thank you for your review. With regards to the shuttle service this is something we outsource.
The company do not work 24 hours so I apologize that they where unable to collect you at this time.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and friendly staff.

Disliked: The kitchen was dirty, small and did not have anything but frying pans. No cups or mugs.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your recent review.
We have bought more equipment for our kitchen just recently so we promise to continuously keep this stocked.

Enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

Check Availability