HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Westend Backpackers Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Please note all guests international and Australian, need to present a valid passport upon check in. For further information please contact the property in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. Also note that all Special Requests are subject to availability and additional charges may apply.

***This property will be undergoing renovations from early February 2017 until further notice. During this period, guests may experience some noise or light disturbances, and some hotel facilities and services may not be available. The elevator will not be accessible from the Ground Floor from 23 February, 2017 until further notice. It will still be accessible from Levels 1-13.

This unfortunately means that we are no longer wheelchair accessible.

Please contact the hostel directly if you would like any further information.***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Showing 121-130 of 239 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to central station, 24 hour reception, friendly people, ensuite bathrooms

Disliked: Wifi only works in the hallway

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Hester,

Great to hear from you and thank you for your review.
We have recently upgraded our WIFI so this is now accessible in all rooms.

Enjoy the rest of your travels
The Nomads Westend Team :-)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, everyone's so friendly. Definitely a good place to meet people.

Disliked: You had to pay for lots of additional extras, such as internet, lockers etc, but it was probably made up for by the discounted rate i booked for

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
Thank you for your review its great to hear from people who stay with us.
We're glad you enjoyed meeting people here and please come back and see us again soon!!!

Thank you again
The Nomads Westend Team :-)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean, tidy and central location

Disliked: Nothing it was great

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Matthew,

Great to hear from you and thank you for your lovely review!!

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff were very friendly and super nice.

Disliked: The lack of cleanliness. The room I was in was not clean/fresh and the bed sheets felt dirty and I was itchy. Also, we did not have access to open a window/fresh air. Feels like a fire hazard.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Walking distance to Sydney harbour and darling harbour. On edge of Chinatown.

Disliked: Party hostelClean room but communal areas are not great. Ppl are always drinking in hostel. If u want this atmosphere then this is a great hostel, but we just used it to sleep

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you loved the location!!
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staffs are really friendly even they change everyday. I stayed there for 4 days, i've seen 4 difference batches of staffs at reception but all are friendly. Convenient and close to train stations, easy reach to cheap eats

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Yee,

Great to hear from you and we are so so glad that you had such a great time with us!!
We hope you enjoy the rest of your awesome travels and come see us again real soon.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's located near to the train station and quite near the center, walking or with the train. The staff is frendly and there was the aircond in my room, the room are cleaned from the garbage everyday. The ostel remains open even during the night, with 24h reception.

Disliked: The building is quite old. The bedsheets wasn't really clean.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Andrea,
Great to hear from you and we love that you had a great time here!
I ensure you that all of our bedsheets are cleaned daily.

Enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: convinient and cheap

Disliked: The bunk beds are quite instable and move a lot

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review.
Its great to hear from you and we love getting feedback.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean, had pretty nice staff and central. the best bonus!

Disliked: The room was double booked - but staff cleared situation politely and without trouble.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Great to hear from you.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Westend Team made sure everything was sorted... :-)

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westen dTema

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Excellent people, staff and atmosphere, inviting, but more on the loud social level if that's what you're looking for, the communal area gets somewhat rowdy when preparing to go out for the night, which is 5-6 nights a week. I was upgraded from the Church when I arrived and was moved to a six-bedroom, so I was able to stay for the discounted online price of the already cheaper Church but in a better, more secure room, saved 70$ right there, plus feeling comfortable with roommates saved me the money and tedium of having to use a locker for my valuables. Wi-fi is 12$/wk, works adequately for necessities, can be spotty. I personally never had an issue with cleanliness either in the rooms or in kitchen area and communal area, most people seemed fairly respectful. Location is close to everything; pubs/clubs, attractions, ammenities, I walked everywhere, but Central station is five minutes away and it's on a street with a few bus routes as well. All in all great value and experience.

Disliked: Some facilities (that I used) were a bit lacking; majority of the stovetops didn't work, so finding space during dinner could be a hassle, I ate late so it wasn't really an issue for me, need more cups! I ended up just buying a cheap one and keeping it in my room. Had a couple issues with my card not working, but that was fixed quickly at the front desk, only downside was taking the slow-as-balls elevator again but that's far from the end of the world. Nothing deal-breaking whatsoever though, small issues.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jeffrey,

Great to hear from you and love the awesome feedback.
We have recently had all of our stove tops fixed and everything is up and running.
Enjoy the rest of your travels and come see us again soon

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

Check Availability