HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Westend Backpackers Sydney Hostel

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

We will not accept bookings of 10 or more people. Please do not book if you are a large group over 9 people as your booking will not be accommodated and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.

Please note all guests international and Australian, need to present a valid passport upon check in. For further information please contact the property in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. Also note that all Special Requests are subject to availability and additional charges may apply.

***This property will be undergoing renovations from early February 2017 until further notice. During this period, guests may experience some noise or light disturbances, and some hotel facilities and services may not be available. The elevator will not be accessible from the Ground Floor from 23 February, 2017 until further notice. It will still be accessible from Levels 1-13.

This unfortunately means that we are no longer wheelchair accessible.

Please contact the hostel directly if you would like any further information.***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 58%

Staff 77%

Value 71%

Showing 111-120 of 239 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Cramped dorm with no storage and few working outlets. Half of kitchen not functional. Fire alarm going off regularly. Lifts broken, again (12+ floors!)


The property's response is

Hi Richard,

Thank you for your recent review.
We are currently building our new second lift which will be up and running within the month.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The staff made it amazing! Room was basic but clean so no complaints. Great place to meet people.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey,
Great to hear from you.
Its great to hear you had a good time with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: i stayed this backpackers for 3night bacause i got to transfer from airport to backpackers so i saved some money^^

Disliked: no refragerater, no cabinetthey have a big building so many people and busy elevater~~

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review.
We do have several large fridges on level one in our kitchen area.
We are also only a five minute walk to central.

Enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was very clean. It would be excellent for someone looking for a party hostel.

Disliked: There were no quiet areas, with very loud music being continually played in the kitchen/common room. The kitchen was also very crowded.


The property's response is

Hi,
Great to hear from you and thank you for your review!
We are glad you had a lovely time and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Enjoy the rest of your travels

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Very Dirty, unfriendly Staff, you have to pay for the Internet. Shitty Card System..we had to go to the reception every day because our room Card wasn't working properly. they told us we had it too close to our credit card...LOL!Its a Party hostel and thats ok, but the People were vomiting in the Elevator....


The property's response is

Hi Martina,

We appreciate your review and understand that it can be quite tedious when the key cards stop working.
Our staff are always here to help so I apologize if you felt they did not answer all of your questions.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the atmosphere and the staff

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Elisabeth,
Great to hear from you and thank you for your recent review.

Enjoy your travels

Nomads Westend Team :-)

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lifts not working. The one lift that is there is tempramental. Bathroom sliding Dr off the runners, shower has no wtr pressure. messy outside


The property's response is

Hi Nitin,

Great to hear from you.
Unfortunately we have had a lift down but we do have 2 lifts and fire stairs.
I do apologize for the inconvenience caused and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Nomads Westend Team :-)

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: location, and some of the people

Disliked: pooe security for belongs and lack of cleaniliness


The property's response is

Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you loved the location.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.
The Nomads Westend Team :-)

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Really good atmosphere and loadsof free events was great as I had just arrived and was nice to get the trip started!

Disliked: Questions around bed bugs and stuff and no free wifi but that was it.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty, unsafe, unfriendly staff

Check Availability