HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Home Backpackers Sydney

Hostel

238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 63%

Staff 74%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.78USD

Important Information

All card payments are charged a 2% fee and that full payment will be taken at time of booking.

In the case of a cancellation or no show the first nights’ accommodation payment will be charged. Guests can cancel their booking free of charge up to 20days before arrival date.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 46%

Location 90%

Safety 63%

Staff 74%

Value 62%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: good

Disliked: good

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location and the price

Disliked: Rudeness of staff, inability to contact the staff to alert them to my late arrival and then being in a dorm with a faulty smoke alarm that continued to beep all night. Not to mention the blind that was broken and couldn't be let all the way down, along with toilets that definitely hadn't been cleaned in the preceding 24 hours at least.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Perfect location for where I wanted to be

Disliked: Extremely noisy, people running up and down the corridor banging on everyone's doors at 2am

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Its closeness to Sydney CBD

Disliked: No free wifi

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The friendly staff and other backpackers

Disliked: the shower room was never cleaned properly, was covered in old grime and hair

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendlly staff

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: dirty, hot, itchy.

Disliked: it was very uncomfortable

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The place is filthy we booked a 4 bed dorm it was awful it stunk there was no pillow just a stained mattress, thick dirt everywhere had to change to private room which was alot better! There is a pest control notice up for cockroaches and ants! Bathrooms were filthy! Kitchen had no mugs and the toaster didnt work there was one hob for the whole hostel

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were very helpful, friendly and accomodating. Whilst not the cleanest or fanciest hostel around, it suited our needs and was what i expected for the money we paid for the room.

Disliked: The blinds in our private room were broken and our window looked directly out into a social space on the roof of the hostel so it didn't feel very private. We ended up hanging a sheet over the window to block out the noise of socialising backpackers and the view into our room.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Central location means it is walking distance to all the tourist attractions in the city centre and central station gives you access to trains to all the surroundings. The property is old with basic facilities but it is very clean and safe.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability