HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Home Backpackers

Hostel | 238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, Australia 2010

61.5% Overall Rating

25 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2012)

"The staff were very helpful, friendly and accomodating. Whilst not the cleanest or fanciest hostel around, it suited our needs and was what i expected for the money we paid for the room."

Read all Home Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.69

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

All card payments are charged a 2% fee and that full payment will be taken at time of booking. In the case of a cancellation or no show the first nights’ accommodation payment will be charged. Guests can cancel their booking free of charge up to 20days before arrival date.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Hyde Park Backpackers
35.66 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
17.83 USD

Hostel 58.7% 26 reviews
BIG Hostel
28.15 USD

Hostel 88.9% 142 reviews
Central Station Hotel
35.47 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
20.88 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
36.60 USD

Hostel 88.3% 252 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
24.40 USD

Hostel 81.4% 412 reviews
Bounce Sydney
35.66 USD

Hostel 92.2% 257 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.5%

Overall Rating

25 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Home Backpackers'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
42.4%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
72.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Marc Grayson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2014

Liked: Location and the price

Disliked: Rudeness of staff, inability to contact the staff to alert them to my late arrival and then being in a dorm with a faulty smoke alarm that continued to beep all night. Not to mention the blind that was broken and couldn't be let all the way down, along with toilets that definitely hadn't been cleaned in the preceding 24 hours at least.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kirsty Wilson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for where I wanted to be

Disliked: Extremely noisy, people running up and down the corridor banging on everyone's doors at 2am

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shane Plum

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2013 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Its closeness to Sydney CBD

Disliked: No free wifi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and other backpackers

Disliked: the shower room was never cleaned properly, was covered in old grime and hair

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

jernej sorn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 March 2013

Liked: Friendlly staff

Disliked: jernej left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Daniel Davidson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 February 2013

Liked: dirty, hot, itchy.

Disliked: it was very uncomfortable

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The place is filthy we booked a 4 bed dorm it was awful it stunk there was no pillow just a stained mattress, thick dirt everywhere had to change to private room which was alot better! There is a pest control notice up for cockroaches and ants! Bathrooms were filthy! Kitchen had no mugs and the toaster didnt work there was one hob for the whole hostel

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, friendly and accomodating. Whilst not the cleanest or fanciest hostel around, it suited our needs and was what i expected for the money we paid for the room.

Disliked: The blinds in our private room were broken and our window looked directly out into a social space on the roof of the hostel so it didn't feel very private. We ended up hanging a sheet over the window to block out the noise of socialising backpackers and the view into our room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan Carlos Mora

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 May 2012 Juan Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Central location means it is walking distance to all the tourist attractions in the city centre and central station gives you access to trains to all the surroundings. The property is old with basic facilities but it is very clean and safe.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012

Liked: good location

Disliked: no real breakfast, rooms and especially the beds were not clean!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Andrew Kirk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012

Liked: The room was fairly large and clean with a cupboard to put things in. A nice rooftop open area in the middle of the hostel. The location is right by the trainstation and bus station so it is a good to get to and from to.

Disliked: The showers were awful just 5 for both guys and girls. The toilets were dirty and foul smelling. The corridors were very narrow to move around in. I had asked to leave the hostel early in the morning before reception had opened so they said I had to knock on the night managers door when leaving. I did but there was no answer nor did anyone pick up the phone number given meaning I couldn't get my despoit back for my room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012

Liked: very kind staff and friendly person,

Disliked: we can use the internet just 1 disc top. It's inconvenience.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: smell

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and honest. I really liked the event coordinator. I also enjoyed the company of the other guests.

Disliked: Something needs to be done about the bed bugs. In my room someone had left a large note about them from 2010 and the other residents confided in me that it is still a recurring problem. I was warned from several guests that the tv room was crawling with them and if I wanted to use that facility my best bet was to sit on the table.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kevin Ibbotson

Alone

City break

19 March 2012

Liked: Good location. Only good thing.

Disliked: Everything other than the location.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the people. It was a really good location and a great price. They seem to have some good activites on, but we didn't stay long enough to really know much about them.

Disliked: The kitchen was a fly trap, not very dirty, there was just a lot of flies and not a lot of plates, bowls, forks etc. I would bring my own if you were staying there. It seems to be mostly long -term guests there and they get on very well. The bathrooms and showers are pretty standard for the price, not amaing but not awful either.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012

Liked: Staff were nice and friendly.

Disliked: Showers had no curtains...just clear glass. Toilets were mixed and not very clean. All the common areas were really dirty, especially the kitchen. There weren't many places to actually sit and eat your food...only two small benches which were always crowded. Not much cutlery or plates etc either. Basically, you had to go out to eat = expensive. Rooms were crowded and noisy from the street. No air-con just a fan.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

YVES LIONEL DORVAL

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012

Liked: It needs a little bit of love and much more care

Disliked: YVES LIONEL left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very central location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mary McLean

Alone

Events / festivals

14 January 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: It was a Godsend to me! I went to see Love Never Dies Premier and got the Daylight saving times muddled up. This hostel was about 217 steps (running fast) from the Capitol Theatre, so I was able to run fast, shower fast, run fast again and get there on time!

Disliked: The basins in the shower/loo rooms could have done with a tiled and grouted back splash, but over all OK for the money. No complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and fun staff.

Disliked: the cleaning could be better

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money and friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Sandra Badger

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 December 2011

Liked: Location close to Central station, staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Smell of the room, Yuck!!!! Spraying with Glen 20 still didn't get the smell out. Could feel the springs in the mattress, pillows stuffing almost disintergated. Fan in room was broken. MM's on floor underbeds.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laura James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011

Liked: It was in a good location.

Disliked: * When I arrived in my room there was a very dirty floor and a toe nail clipping on the floor. It stayed there for FOUR DAYS before the room was vacuumed. * There was no blind or curtain in my room which meant I was woken early and kept awake by the street light. * There was no air conditioning and the room got VERY stuffy. * My window overlooked a mezzanine from the main road so was easily accessible for burglars and was not secured by a lock and we could not leave it open when we left the room. * There were only 3 fridges for food so they were very busy and I can honestly say they had NEVER been cleaned. The smell of rotting food permeated my bag and made all of my food smell and taste disgusting. I had to throw lots of food out because the fridges were not warm enough or because they tasted how the fridge smelled. * The kitchen had ONE mug and ONE fork between around 100 people...not helpful!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2011

Liked: lockers in the dorms, events every evening

Disliked: showers doors are too clear, bad smell in the rooms, unfriendly staff.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels