HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of VLA Surry Hills Sydney Hostel

207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 66%

Location 76%

Safety 76%

Staff 85%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Dryer
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

1. All guests must observe the rules and regulations of our Hotel.
2. The Hotel Office is open for check-in from 7:30 am - 10 pm. After hours check in can be arranged (just call or email us). Checkout time is 10am on the day of departure (late check-out can also be arranged).
3. We have a 24 hour cancellation policy - all cancellations must be made via email.
4. Free airport pick up: must stay minimum 3 nights. Bookings in our 12-bed dorm must be 4 nights or longer in order to be eligible for the airport pick-up.
5. Group booking policy: While we make the greatest effort to place all guests of a single booking into the same room, this is not always possible. Group bookings (2 people or more) that are not made directly with the hostel, are not guarantee to be allocated to the same room. To avoid having a group split up, please book well in advance.
6. All children must be accompanied by adults.
7. Christmas and New Year Period: 24 Dec-2 Jan. All reservations made for these dates will be charged in full on December 1st 2015. This payment is non refundable if cancelled after this date. Failure to pay for your booking on December 1st may result in your booking being cancelled. Please book carefully
8. Minimum 3 night stay policy between September 2015 – April 2016 .
9. Please note that there is a 1% charge when you pay with a Visa or Mastercard credit card. We do not accept payments with American Express credit cards

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 66%

Location 76%

Safety 76%

Staff 85%

Value 72%

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: the short way to the central station

Disliked: Toilett facilities smelled like wee - never saw them being cleaned & saw the same dirt from the day I arrived 5 days later kitchen way to small Room right next to kitchen very loud dirty place & cold atmosphere no lounge area parking costs 20$ per night

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I like the staff very polite and eager to assist.

Disliked: Dull atmosphere needs a common area with a TV or table tennis table or music something. Felt very depressing.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice staff, free breakfast, clean kitchen, nice showers

Disliked: My first room was pretty dirty even after 'spring g clean" , but probably too because of the guys who lived in there. I could change the room and was good.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals

Liked: Value for money and good location

Disliked: Was a little run down, needed some maintenance.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property was located in a reasonable spot walking distance to the city center. Quite from 1030 pm on. Good place to get sleep if not partying. Felt safe and secure. Cheap parking for the city.

Disliked: The property had rats in the common areas. Beds and linen were damp and smelt moldy. Shower in bathroom would not stop leaking. Door to room was so loud to open and close.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We liked the location of our room and the room itself. It was a private room with bathroom in a quiet part if the hostel. The staff were particularly helpful. The facilities offered were good eg kitchen and laundry

Disliked: The internet access was frustrating

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Easy to find, lovely staff, clean rooms, lots of magazines books and leaflets

Disliked: Very basic bathrooms, bad wifi, didn't feel safe - key to room was also front door key?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, we would just like to clarify your comment regarding security, With regards to your room key opening the front door. It is a special key that opens the front door and your room only, the key does not open any other doors. It's a bi-lock key and that is why it is so expensive to replace. We take security very seriously here and have cameras in all common areas and the front door is locked 24/7 .

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Decent location. Reasonable price. Big room.

Disliked: Cleaner did a bad job. Nobody was at the reception when I checked in. WiFi had very weak signal.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: 4share with bathroom pretty good.

Disliked: 4share with bathroom pretty good.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability