We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Alfred Park Accommodation

Hostel | 207 Cleveland Street, Sydney, Australia NSW 2016

74.6% Overall Rating

542 out of 652 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2015)

"The property was located in a reasonable spot walking distance to the city center. Quite from 1030 pm on. Good place to get sleep if not partying. Felt safe and secure. Cheap parking for the city."

Read all Alfred Park Accommodation reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Tokyo Village
18.68 USD

Hostel 65.5% 35 reviews
Central Railway Hotel & Apartments
34.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 36 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
33.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
25.16 USD

Hostel 75.5% 46 reviews
Bounce Sydney
22.87 USD

Hostel 95.5% 281 reviews
Railway Square YHA
29.73 USD

Hostel 86.2% 44 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
27.45 USD

Hostel 90.7% 1222 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
21.35 USD

Hostel 80.0% 424 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.6%

Overall Rating

542 out of 652 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alfred Park Accommodation'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 487 of 529 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015

Liked: The property was located in a reasonable spot walking distance to the city center. Quite from 1030 pm on. Good place to get sleep if not partying. Felt safe and secure. Cheap parking for the city.

Disliked: The property had rats in the common areas. Beds and linen were damp and smelt moldy. Shower in bathroom would not stop leaking. Door to room was so loud to open and close.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

02 February 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diane Ives

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2015 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the location of our room and the room itself. It was a private room with bathroom in a quiet part if the hostel. The staff were particularly helpful. The facilities offered were good eg kitchen and laundry

Disliked: The internet access was frustrating

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Tamsin Henderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2015 Tamsin would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, lovely staff, clean rooms, lots of magazines books and leaflets

Disliked: Very basic bathrooms, bad wifi, didn't feel safe - key to room was also front door key?

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Vincent Louie Delfin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014

Liked: Decent location. Reasonable price. Big room.

Disliked: Cleaner did a bad job. Nobody was at the reception when I checked in. WiFi had very weak signal.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

eloi nobre

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 December 2014 eloi would recommend this property

Liked: 4share with bathroom pretty good.

Disliked: 4share with bathroom pretty good.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 July 2014

Liked: Convenient and good value

Disliked: Nothing I can think of

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ling Ding

Alone

Business / conference

09 July 2014 Ling would recommend this property

Liked: stay on the third floor, no wifi at all

Disliked: Ling left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Tweedale

Alone

Events / festivals

15 June 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location. Very helpful staff - nothing was a problem. Good atmosphere. Quiet room.

Disliked: Towels were included but hand towels were not - a little inconvenient after washing hands. Previous tennants soap was still in shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chiew Mee Wong

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

07 May 2014 Chiew Mee would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and easy to book

Disliked: Nil

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014

Liked: Close to Central Station which means easy access to the train service in the city.

Disliked: Room only had a skylight that was not openable - so no fresh air. it had aircon but you want some fresh air some times. the internet in the room was very slow which at times was very frustrating. it was FOC which was nice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 April 2014

Liked: Bathroom clearly not cleaned from the previous occupants. Makes it difficult to sleep soundly on the sheets in case they also were neglected. Service was good, security was good also.

Disliked: Dirty bathroom, hair all over the ensuite shower and used soap. Bathroom smelly and unclean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rose Heystek

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 April 2014 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely had a friendly atmosphere. Great location close to the city. Facilities were pretty good - we got what we paid for. We wanted to give our kids a 'hostel' experience (like when we were young travellers).. the beds were pretty comfy.

Disliked: Pretty noisy.. there were lots of signs up about rules for noise, and leaving the kitchen tidy, but as far as I could see, these were not enforced. However, the kitchen was cleaned after every meal time by staff.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SHENG-YOU CHEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

15 April 2014 SHENG-YOU would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: take a guess

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

isabelle de leeneer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: close to the Central Station, a little away from the busy city center, close to a lovely park.

Disliked: not enough lockers so I could not secure my computer. A nice courtyard to eat, but not really any place to have a comfortable seat to read a book or talk with friends.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Garry Ingram

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014 Garry would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet

Disliked: A bit further out of town than I qwould have prefered

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

24 March 2014

Liked: no

Disliked: I checked in at 10:30pm, since the reception close at 10:00pm, then the staff left me the key in the envelope and put in the mail box. Is hard to take the envelope from the mail box and was hurt my hand. when I went into the room, very smelly from the refrigerator, and no towels in the room, I can't shower at that night. The wifi very weak even can't detect.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014

Liked: Modern bathrooms, although untidy and mouldy as shared. Linen and towels are included in the price.

Disliked: My room looked nothing like in the photograph - I booked for a single room which appeared modern and clean in the photo. The room I stayed in was a 3 bedroom dorm with a leaky roof, window that would not close and ancient basin trapped behind a bunk bed. The fridge was switched off by the cleaner on arrival, resulting in a trail and puddle of water all over the floor. The bed sagged in the middle, pillows were well worn and the doona had seen better days also. Not value for money at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location; helpful front desk staff; clean room; secure locks; I plan to stay there again!

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, very helpful staff, lockers...

Disliked: Limited lockers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hai Shiang Tng

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 Hai Shiang would recommend this property

Liked: Alfred Park is a true Backpackers Hostel. Full of young Europeans, Americans, British and Kiwis here on a working holiday. It is great to make new friends as it breeds a great camaraderie. There is also Air-conditioning in every room, a rare luxury in Hostels and surprising for a Hostel that is really cheap. It is a mere 10 minutes walk to the Central Train Station so it is convenient. The place is clean, there is a good large enough kitchen and laundry services. The staff of Alfred Park are super polite, friendly, informative and easily approachable. There is free WiFi and internet-enabled PCs and you don't have to pay for bath towels. There are hot showers to be had all the time and most importantly the rates you pay there are really cheap.

Disliked: For a visitor or tourist though, this might not be a good Hostel to live in. To my chagrin, although it has a great central location, most of the tourist spots are located in the city centre which is a 10 minutes train ride from the Central Train station where Alfred Park Accomodation Hostel is located. That means a tourist has to pay for train rides all the time to get to the tourist attractions which in Sydney is not cheap. There is a free city-provided shuttle to get into the city that leaves from Central Train station but it only operates I would advise that for tourists coming to visit Sydney for a few days to book a hostel somewhere in or near the city centre where you do not need a train ride. Although all facilities are clean and working properly, the property of the hostel is run down. It is also dingy and dark inside the property even at night because the corridors and hallways are not properly lit up.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice n helpful staff, excellent location (just across Alfred park n walking distance to everything), clean n well mantained everywhere, not over crowed, remembered to chill at the balcony n enjoy the breeze in hot summer

Disliked: Unrespectful roommates (make noise as if he owns this room)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

andrew orr

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel , friendly staff and location

Disliked: andrew left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels