HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Australian Sunrise Lodge

Guesthouse | 485 King Street, Newtown, Sydney, Australia 2042

69.5% Overall Rating

15 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/12/2013)

"Conveniently located for me to attend a show at the Enmore Theatre. Lots of interesting shops on King St. Close to public transport - regular buses along King St and 5-10 mins walk to train station"

Read all Australian Sunrise Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: All rooms are Non-Smoking. Check-in time is from 2pm to 12 midnight. Check-out time is 11am Our reception office opens at 9.00am and closes at 12 midnight. Please arrange to arrive at the hotel after 9am as the reception is closed and there is no access from the street to the hotel before 9am. If you arrive before 9am, you would have to wait on the street until 9am when the reception staff arrive at work. If you arrive at the hotel on your booking date between 9am and 2pm, if your room is ready you can check in early. Also, you can leave your luggage at our office and use the hotel facilities from 9am until your room is ready.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Billabong Gardens
23.58 USD

Hostel 94.3% 3 reviews
Cambridge Lodge
27.95 USD

Hostel 72.3% 161 reviews
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
19.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Glebe Point YHA
27.07 USD

Hostel 79.1% 105 reviews
Glebe Village Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 80.5% 130 reviews
Alfred Park Accommodation
17.47 USD

Hostel 79.7% 644 reviews
Tokyo Village
21.40 USD

Hostel 65.5% 35 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
26.20 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

15 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Australian Sunrise Lodge'

Atmosphere
63.6%
Location
79.1%
Facilities
56.4%
Cleanliness
74.6%
Staff
70.9%
Value
60.0%
Safety
81.8%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 May 2014

Liked: .

Disliked: Accommodation was very basic and I wouldn't recommend it unless you really needed it. I certainly wouldn't pay over $100 for it again

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

07 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located for me to attend a show at the Enmore Theatre. Lots of interesting shops on King St. Close to public transport - regular buses along King St and 5-10 mins walk to train station

Disliked: Very small room in which the bed occupied most of available space. I was alone in a double room so it would be very cramped with 2 people. However, for "just a place to sleep and shower", it is conveniently located & reasonably priced.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 August 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: worst shower ever

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gregory Diamond

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

01 August 2013 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and value for money, good for a short stay.

Disliked: Fairly outdated and basic facilities. The beds are terrible.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kalli Hiller

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013 Kalli would recommend this property

Liked: It's right on a street with tons of cool shops and restaurants.

Disliked: It's really smaller than I expected.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property was perfect!

Disliked: The t.v was one i would have had back 10 years ago. Not one channel worked properly. Also the plates and cutlery was dirty.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Scott

Alone

Business / conference

28 September 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: room with everything in its place

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are tidy and comfortable, and I especially liked the small private balcony. Location in the middle of Newtown with pubs, shops and cafes literally at the doorstep. Free wifi was a bonus.

Disliked: Reception is generally left unattended, although staff did attend promptly when called. Shared facilities (bathrooms) are inadequate, spread between several rooms with long wait times for showers and toilets.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

06 April 2012

Liked: secure parking, room away from traffic noise, fan in room, plenty of soap and toilet paper, eating utensils, good towel

Disliked: mold in shower, no fly screening, as per my comments above. don't feel it was worth the money. for $20 more I could have stayed at Formula 1 hotel with queen bed microwave and the things advertised for this place that weren't provided or were substandard

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

22 January 2012

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: Bathroom was very small with signs explaining how the ventalation system doesn't work and if you dont follow the instructions the steam will set off the fire alarm and you will be charge $300 The receptionist seemed annoyed that we had to check in, and even more annoyed that we didn't have a credit card that she wanted to scan. The fan was very squeeky, and it hummed at the electrical socket. We were not told about the facilites that were on offer, and the reception was always empty.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly Thai lady on reception

Disliked: Basic room and small bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Talese Amer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

21 March 2011 Talese would recommend this property

Liked: It did what I needed it to. The downstairs was smart and comfortable. My room had a small balcony - very small.

Disliked: Nothing really although it is not suitable for the disabled.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

09 February 2010

Liked: NOTHING, Do not go there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather Gray

11 August 2009 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic, King St has such a great selection of restaurants and cafes, and our room was so quaint! Loved the balcony and singing birds to greet us.

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, it has a very homely, peaceful & pleasant atmosphere,The room we stayed in is extremely nice, everything that you would need,such as TV, kettle, complimentary tea & coffee, wardrobe, sunny blacony etc.I highly recommend staying here for anyone who loves the cool nightlife, shopping & the whole cruisey hip vibe of Newtown.Its so close to the train station that will take you to the doorstep of Opera House, Darling Harbor etc in less than 15 minutes.Staff were very friendly, helpful & attentive.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katie Wells

03 January 2009 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: free internet access, fairly quiet

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 January 2009

Liked: Nicely decorated lobby area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Karl Davies

27 December 2008 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: the cute young chinese receptionist

Disliked: Karl left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Patrice Gastaldello

23 November 2008

Liked: Quiet, peacefull

Disliked: Patrice left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels