We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Tokyo Village

Hostel | 243-247, Cleveland Street, Surry Hills Sydney, Australia 2010

65.5% Overall Rating

26 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2012)

anna blake thinks…

"If you want organisation, modern and polished, do not come here. If you want atmosphere, character, friendly people with beer, good food and a good nights sleep, this is the best hostel ever."

Read all Tokyo Village reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Alfred Park Accommodation
21.83 USD

Hostel 79.7% 644 reviews
Central Railway Hotel & Apartments
34.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 36 reviews
Goodlet Lodge
48.03 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 20 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
34.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 11 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
16.59 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews
Bounce Sydney
26.20 USD

Hostel 94.2% 272 reviews
Railway Square YHA
34.06 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
33.19 USD

Hostel 95.3% 1193 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.5%

Overall Rating

26 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tokyo Village'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
70.4%
Value
68.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything it was so disgusting

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere ;-)

Disliked: It was cold in the room for me :-P

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 April 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: No privacy because there wasn't any curtains on the window. Sheets were dirty. There were noisy parties everyday. People were sleeping in the living room. Staff was lazy. Toilet was dirty and the floors were wet. There wasn't well organised system for check-out during non-office hours.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

anna blake

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 anna would recommend this property

Liked: If you want organisation, modern and polished, do not come here. If you want atmosphere, character, friendly people with beer, good food and a good nights sleep, this is the best hostel ever.

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012

Liked: Good keys and secure locks on bedroom doors. Private room in reasonably good condition with sink and modern tv. Well-organised refrigerators.

Disliked: - Building run down and in need of maintenance, internally and externally. - Very small and pokey bathroom facilities (completely insufficient for the number of occupants staying), with wet and slippery floors and ineffective means to mop up shower overflow. One toilet/shower was even squeezed in with laundry facilities!! - Requirement to use hostel-provided containers to store food in the refrigerators and the necessity to pay an additional deposit for this. If a specific container must be used, it should be provided free of charge. - Lack of reception during business hours (mid afternoon) and having to open the door for incoming backpackers who had reserved a room and wanted to check in. - Cramped entrance and unprofessional reception area. We mistook the reception area for the living room/social area. - No enforcement of their own rules. There are signs everywhere stating no noise after 11pm. However, during our stay, large groups of backpackers were permitted to socialise loudly under our window until the early hours of the morning. - Owner's attitude and unwillingness to provide what was promised in the advertisement on this website (as stated at point 2.)

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Very old and run down building. In great need of refurbishment. Everywhere cluttered and grubby.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2012

Liked: Worest accommodation ever, don't come here ever

Disliked: Everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful with figuirng out buses, local attractions. Free internet and hot showers were great.

Disliked: Lacking a bit in cleanliness... The advertised 'free breakfast' was a very dysmal oatmeal.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandru Paler

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

05 February 2012 Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: everything. even when it rained the hostel was a very good place to hang out.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy and with a character

Disliked: Bad lockers

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Staff very rude, Cockroaches in kitchen, rooms very cluttered, beds not comfortable. about an hour away from he habour.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Poeple here are very friendly and it´s a familial atmosphere. The kitchen is appointed very well. It is next to the Center, so you have to walk only 5-10 minutes.

Disliked: They have only four bathrooms, with toilets and showers, and one girlsbathroom with three showers. There are to less for so many people. And sometimes it´s a little bit cold, because the doors are open to the gardensite.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edwin Lusala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Edwin would recommend this property

Liked: The people are fantastic! Especially the ever helpful Sou!

Disliked: Nothing really.It met my expectations.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tokyo village was more like a huge sharehouse with ‘family atmosphere’ that was filled with courteous, well-behaved, kindhearted and caring customers. Personally, here could be a heaven of tranquility and peace when I enjoyed a cup of black coffee in the early morning or a vibrant paradise where all the travelers expected after all the people coming ‘home’ from work. Cleanliness had been gradually improved because of the continuous efforts made by the owners, the staff and, mostly important, all the responsible guests.

Disliked: The longer I stay here, the more difficult to find a suitable reason to leave.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel left me a warm home like feeling! All the people know each other by names and were very friendly. I loved the openair backyard which was amazing with the warm weather just for chilling. I would reccimend it to people who work and want to get a good night sleep because of the rule that staying in the backyard and making noise after 11pm is not allowed! Loved it and will come back soon!

Disliked: Made me sad that I have to leave this warm little hostel :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

BETH CARTER

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011 BETH would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really good, close to Central train station and there were taxis going past all the time for when you wanted to get further away.

Disliked: There was no bathroom on our level, we had to walk down two flights of stairs to get to one whihc always had a wet floor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: The coffee

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 April 2011

Liked: I guess location, but too many things wrong with it for that to be something to rave about

Disliked: Filthy

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 April 2011

Liked: I can't think of anything good to say about the place.

Disliked: You have to have the window open as it is so hot- it is next to a very busy road so don't expect to much sleep. The room was dirty with cockroaches not pleasant. There was no safe facilities to leave our cases we were told to leave them in the TV room. When we arrived after a 24 hour flight the reception guy said oh can you sit in the TV and wait for about an hour and half. Was not impressed. Would definately not recommend this to anyone

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good environment, helpful staff

Disliked: Being stolen 3 eggs in the kitchen during my stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Kinnaird

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: I was only there for 2 nights so it's difficult to give an accurate description. The location was good for me, close to the train station, city and super market.

Disliked: The kitchen space was a little cramped and the hostel could do with more showers/toilets. The room was a mess but that was due to the other guests not the hostel owners.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

YAO DU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 April 2011

Liked: The location is really good but the bathroom smell mouldy. I book three days online 23$/per night but stay one more night they charge me 25$/ per night at the front desk. owner said I should book online get cheaper price. I really don't understand stay longer more expensive!!!

Disliked: If you have enough budget you should choose better one. anyway, it is still cheaper than other bbh. so earn money before your travel!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the Hostel is it like in a big family.

Disliked: The chaos in the doom rooms because the to small.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpfull staff. Near too the city.

Disliked: The first double room i got smelled very badly of mold, but the staff gave me another room. The kitchens did not have a oven.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, good location and easy to get into central sydney, got upgraded to a smaller room for free.

Disliked: not enough showers and toilets!! only had about 2 for the whole hostel. not hugely clean but was ok. could have had more facilities (more computers/bigger eating area etc).

The property's response is...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels