HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Tokyo Village Sydney

Hostel

243-247 Cleveland Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 59%

Location 76%

Safety 74%

Staff 78%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 59%

Location 76%

Safety 74%

Staff 78%

Value 75%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything it was so disgusting

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Atmosphere ;-)

Disliked: It was cold in the room for me :-P

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: -

Disliked: No privacy because there wasn't any curtains on the window. Sheets were dirty. There were noisy parties everyday. People were sleeping in the living room. Staff was lazy. Toilet was dirty and the floors were wet. There wasn't well organised system for check-out during non-office hours.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: If you want organisation, modern and polished, do not come here. If you want atmosphere, character, friendly people with beer, good food and a good nights sleep, this is the best hostel ever.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good keys and secure locks on bedroom doors.Private room in reasonably good condition with sink and modern tv.Well-organised refrigerators.

Disliked: - Building run down and in need of maintenance, internally and externally.- Very small and pokey bathroom facilities (completely insufficient for the number of occupants staying), with wet and slippery floors and ineffective means to mop up shower overflow. One toilet/shower was even squeezed in with laundry facilities!!- Requirement to use hostel-provided containers to store food in the refrigerators and the necessity to pay an additional deposit for this. If a specific container must be used, it should be provided free of charge.- Lack of reception during business hours (mid afternoon) and having to open the door for incoming backpackers who had reserved a room and wanted to check in.- Cramped entrance and unprofessional reception area. We mistook the reception area for the living room/social area.- No enforcement of their own rules. There are signs everywhere stating no noise after 11pm. However, during our stay, large groups of backpackers were permitted to socialise loudly under our window until the early hours of the morning.- Owner's attitude and unwillingness to provide what was promised in the advertisement on this website (as stated at point 2.)


The property's response is

Dear Charmaine, if the place was so bad, why did you wanted to extend your stay ? I have taken the issue about the airport pick up to heart and changed it since conditions apply cannot be ticked at hostel bookers. Our fridges are well organized because we require guests to use hostel provided containers which are emptied and cleaned once guests get their refund. Our socializing reception area is what most guests like, I think you prefer a sterile 'professional' bank like place, sorry .

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Very old and run down building. In great need of refurbishment. Everywhere cluttered and grubby.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Worest accommodation ever, don't come here ever

Disliked: Everything

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful with figuirng out buses, local attractions. Free internet and hot showers were great.

Disliked: Lacking a bit in cleanliness... The advertised 'free breakfast' was a very dysmal oatmeal.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

we do not advertise free breakfast (this would be dishonest) but we offer free breakfast cereals, tea, coffee as well as steamed rice.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: everything. even when it rained the hostel was a very good place to hang out.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Cozy and with a character

Disliked: Bad lockers

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability