HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of BB's Working Backpackers Sydney Hostel

677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 34%

Facilities 44%

Location 54%

Safety 51%

Staff 63%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

International Passport holders only.
Citizens are welcome to stay in the private rooms only.

Reception is open 10am to 5pm, 7 days a week. Check-out: 11am. Check-in: 2pm. We are happy to arrange check-in outside of office hours, but only by appointment. Please email us to let us know if you will be arriving outside of these times. We have a minimum 3 nights min stay. Hostel is non-smoking but you're welcome to smoke on the balcony. People under 18 not permitted. No Australians in the shared rooms. Current photo ID required upon check-in. We want you to have fun but we'll evict you without notice or refund if you misbehave or are loud and behaving in an inappropriate manner.
Christmas and New Year.
During the New Year's period from 23 December 2015 to 3 January 2016 there are special booking conditions.
During this period there is a minimum stay of 10 nights commencing on 23 December 2015.
All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged one month prior to the check-in date. That is, your credit card will be charged with the accommodation cost on 1st December 2015.

If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release and resell your bed.

Please note that no refunds will be given for accommodation from 23 Dec 2015 to 3 Jan 2016 inclusive.

We strongly recommend you take out travel insurance.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 34%

Facilities 44%

Location 54%

Safety 51%

Staff 63%

Value 63%

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The price for the first web booking is $10/night.

Disliked: Both of the main rooms miss a door since 5 months !! It's currently winter... It's very cold inside. The owner is VERY unfriendly.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Nothing...

Disliked: Dirty and no locks in doors- You dont get key to Your room.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was a cheap hostel

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Somewhat social with nice people staying there

Disliked: It's dirty, the kitchen is supplied with nothing.. Maybe one fork which is never clean and no cups. Very poorly run and organized. On my last night here our room flooded from the rain and not only was my bag and stuff soaking wet but my lonely planet book and a few things where ruined. I informed the staff of this and asked for a refund for the night and they said they didn't have a policy for this and wouldn't give it to me.. Pretty ridiculous since the stuff I had ruined from the flooding was worth more than this aswell as the inconvenience of packing and carrying around a soaking wet bag.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, cheap and good location.

Disliked: The bathroom and kitchen was pretty dirty. The rooms were clean though.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful !

Disliked: The property was being renovated during my stay and I belive that once it has completed this stage it will be a great place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice athmosphere..cool people

Disliked: Dirty ..dirty...dirty..

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Pretty much everything

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very cheap (Special offer) and friendly staff

Disliked: Dirty, really hot in the rooms

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice staff and good to safe money.

Disliked: Not clean and very hot rooms.

Check Availability