HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BB's Working Backpackers

Hostel | 673-677 Darling St, Rozelle, Sydney, Australia 2039

65.7% Overall Rating

74 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2014)

Hannah Fairbairn thinks…

"When the free wifi eventually worked it was good, the location was handy as there's so many buses to the city, and the place was cheap"

Read all BB's Working Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Glebe Point YHA
29.00 USD

Hostel 79.1% 105 reviews
Glebe Village Backpackers
21.51 USD

Hostel 78.5% 128 reviews
The Haven Inn Sydney
40.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 119 reviews
Admiral Collingwood Lodge
72.02 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
20.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Australian Sunrise Lodge
42.84 USD

Guesthouse 69.8% 21 reviews
Base Sydney
29.00 USD

Hostel 78.7% 420 reviews
Sydney Harbour YHA
46.77 USD

Hostel 93.3% 144 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

74 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BB's Working Backpackers'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
52.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE OTHER GUESTS WERE NICE HERE. THATS ALL!

Disliked: IT WAS NOT VERY CLEAN. I DO NOT RECOMMEND YOU WALKING AROUND THIS HOSTEL BARE FOOT, THE FLOOR IS FILTHY. THE PLACE NEEDS A BIT OF A REFURB EG NEW SOFAS AND NEW KITCHENS. THIS IS THE CHEAPEST HOSTEL IN SYDNEY SO YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014

Liked: Free raisin bread, nice people, bus away from the Sydney harbour bridge.

Disliked: Needs new carpet/take carpet out, smelt like cheese, sofas and furniture is very run down

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, a lot of balcony

Disliked: wifi only on the garage (underground), kitchens (some tools doesn'nt work), sometimes too noisy by night

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Hannah Fairbairn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 March 2014

Liked: When the free wifi eventually worked it was good, the location was handy as there's so many buses to the city, and the place was cheap

Disliked: I've never been to such a dirty backpackers - my "clean" linen when I moved in had dirty marks on it, the bathrooms looked like they'd never been cleaned, there were flies everywhere, I didn't dare use the kitchen in case I caught something, a lot of things were broken, there was no aircon in the rooms which meant you had to have the windows open, but then it was really noisy with the traffic and the smoke from the outdoor smoking area came in. There also wasn't enough bathrooms for the number of people - I usually had to queue up for the bathroom in the morning.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

19 January 2014

Liked: Honestly, there was nothing I liked.

Disliked: The rooms: dirty, super hot, air was thick and smelly and impossible to breathe, the linen were smelly. Our beds were broken and fixed by beer boxes supporting them from underneath... And the room was TINY! The bathroom: dirty with no hot water. Plus way too many people shared that one bathroom! Most of all we disliked the kitchens. There was no room in the fridges for your food which was no wonder when half the fridge was full of ice and dirt. The smell was horrendous. No clean cutlery, cups or pans were to be found and there was no room to cook.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the guests and staff are all very nice. Very basic accommodations, but the price is grassy.

Disliked: lack of wifi, and not a lot of space in the kitchen

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013

Liked: It 's cheap,free wifi , only $2 for the wash-machine and free drier

Disliked: It's dirty,the linen is very old.In the kitchen,it's difficult to find cutlery,bool,glass... There are tables outside so when it's raining,there isn't enough space on sofa to eat.That was nice to stand for eating. Miss bathroom and toilet . During I was there,1 bedroom had to close because there was a kind of flea in here. It smelts bad.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nathalie Brink

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 November 2013

Liked: The people were nice.

Disliked: It is not clean, not enough kitchen stuff, they took away the dryer, not enough space in fridge, And it is really really dirty! Also bad bugs available in this hostel! If you want to sleep, eat and take a normal shower, don't go here. Clean, is not clean. Sleep? Not available because they start cleaning/ making noise actually at 5 a.m. staff is not taking anyone serious.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Toke Jacobsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Toke would recommend this property

Liked: It is like living in a big flat. It is close, but a great way to meet people.

Disliked: Toke left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosphere was great and so was the staff!

Disliked: Showers were unclean and we saw a mouse in toilet.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: the rooms were generally clean

Disliked: the wifi only worked in certain parts, and my laptop couldn't connect to it (had no problems anywhere else). raisin bread isn't my idea of a breakfast. there were no ladders on bunkbeds to get to the top bunk, and my bed swayed from side to side at the slightest bit of movement.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Rooming guests with staff. One washing machine for entire hostel - I work and needed to do daily laundry. Dirty and run down.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 August 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is the best I've experienced amongst all hostels I've been to in Australia, especially because there are a lot of long term stays. So it's really easy to find friends even when you travel alone. Also, there are more than enough bathrooms available and the staff is friendly. Compared to other hostels, the Balmain is also very clean. The free BBQ on Sundays is also quite good.I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone, especially for long term stays and backpackers who want to work in Sydney. But it's of course really good for short terms too.

Disliked: The free breakfast consists only of raisin bread...that alone is not really a breakfast ^^ But basically that's everything I can complain about in this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Finn Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Finn would recommend this property

Liked: It is little way out of the city (10 min) but It was good! the local village is no tourists and smiling people. The staff were helpful and kind

Disliked: Finn left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashod Apakian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Ashod would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, genuinely friendly atmosphere, After spending a week here, I've decided to extend my stay, as I am completely happy with Balmain Backpackers. Free-Wifi, free parking, a homely lounge room with a massvice television and a ton of movies ( also free ).. The place is tidy and the kitchens and cleaned daily. I would recommend Balmain Backpackers to anyone without hesitation.

Disliked: To be honest, I really can't think of anything...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quit small room in the upper floor.

Disliked: 1 of the kitchens cookers needed 20 minutes to get warm enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isaac Hearne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: They didn't try to ad costs after I checked in. There was 2$ for the wash machine but thats cheap and I think the lockers were about 10$ for a week. I pay 6$ per night in other places! It is good, friendly and comfortable.

Disliked: Some other backpackers were very messy

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 May 2013

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: -pretty dirty and smelly -lots of permanents -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Albert Ara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

31 March 2013 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good a lot of shops take away, Supermarket, Pub ... The Staff is very friendly and helpfull Own Carpark

Disliked: A few thing needs to be replaced like in the shower

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013

Liked: It's a bad accommodation very dirty sting

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

anthony petiot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013

Liked: nothing in particular

Disliked: remote => add 7$ round trip per day to go downtown poor internet lockers are charged extra

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lauren White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved my time at Balmain Backpackers. I had booked in for only four nights to begin with but ended up staying for over four months. The people at this hostel are absolutely amazing. Everyone hangs out with everyone, opposed to most hostels where cliques form depending on language or where you're from. The staff are all absolutely splendid and are great to have a chat with, even if you don't need anything in particular. I cried more when the time came to leave this hostel than I did when leaving my home in Canada. I will be back, for sure!

Disliked: Some of the showers are a bit of a struggle to get the right temperature, but the ones downstairs are absolutely brilliant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you look for a familiar living situation and an accomodiation with easy access to Sydney downtown you're right at Balamin Backpackers. This hostel is quite small what makes its familiar atmosphere. You easily get to know the other backpackers. Most of them are open-minded and you feel like growing into a big family which is really nice, especially when you're travelling on your own. There's a bus stop just around the corner and there are several buses that take you straight into the city (about 15min). You get free wi-fi, but the connection is not always the best. Anyways, it's a nice and cheap place to stay and live in while you're in Sydney.

Disliked: If you would like to go to bed early and you have got a room near the kitchen or the terrace it might get very noisy in the evenings. That's a minus, but I'm sure if it gets too bad you might move to another, quieter room. The wi-fi connection is not always good. It depends on where you are.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

richard cross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great party atmosphere. Hostel tends to encourage long term stays through in house rates so you get to know your room mates. Good access to the city and surrounded by cheap eats/ pubs. I love it!

Disliked: Not much. If you're wanting a quiet stay without too much socializing then maybe it's not for you?


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels