We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of BB's Working Backpackers

Hostel | 677 Darling Street, Rozelle, Sydney, Australia 2039

61.3% Overall Rating

82 out of 130 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

"It is safe, my laptop and other stuff was laying around all the time and no problems. Depending on the room location it can be really quiet."

Read all BB's Working Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Balmain Village
8.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Glebe Point YHA
22.31 USD

Hostel 79.1% 105 reviews
Glebe Village Backpackers
20.52 USD

Hostel 80.5% 130 reviews
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
19.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Cambridge Lodge
28.55 USD

Hostel 72.3% 161 reviews
Billabong Gardens
24.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Australian Sunrise Lodge
40.87 USD

Guesthouse 69.5% 22 reviews
Base Sydney
29.45 USD

Hostel 76.2% 428 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.3%

Overall Rating

82 out of 130 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BB's Working Backpackers'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 117 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Marck Mirdita

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Work / volunteering

15 September 2014

Liked: This was good to be close the sea and a park to run and make some sports.

Disliked: Not clean !

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014

Liked: never more....so ugly

Disliked: never more....so ugly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is safe, my laptop and other stuff was laying around all the time and no problems. Depending on the room location it can be really quiet.

Disliked: The place could use some more cleaning though.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: dirty place

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 July 2014

Liked: $2 washing machine, free dryer, free parking, free WiFi.

Disliked: Small room, WiFi only on the ground floor, lots of dodgy people, common area located right behind the door and if you wan to go to bed early just forget about it, absolutely everything is very old and ruining. It gets dirty again right after cleaning.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joshua Baldwin

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 May 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and I ended up rebooking for abit longer, good value for money

Disliked: Bathrooms could be abit cleaner

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's like having your own flat. Great location just 5 minute bus to get downtown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sam volk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 sam would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very friendly environment, great common room with nice sofas, a large tv with lots of dvds and a communal x box. Lots of cheap food options around. Feels very safe, i felt no need to lock anything up. Good access to public transport and not far from the city. Gets cleaned daily. Great value for money

Disliked: There is nothing i can think of worth putting in this box

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its not to far from the city. The neighborhood is quite and safe.

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't too clean. Also, really hard to find cups.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brendan Blake

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Every things free, hot strong water and nice people. Unique! (see dislikes)

Disliked: The first 10 minutes I was like, what!? You check in through a garage and the front looks... weird. But then I was checked in saw inside and Its cooool. (see likes)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homy hostel, has this shared house feeling .Nice people, uncomplicated, free wifi is great! Big TV room with x-box dvd's

Disliked: Could be cleaned Moore often

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE OTHER GUESTS WERE NICE HERE. THATS ALL!

Disliked: IT WAS NOT VERY CLEAN. I DO NOT RECOMMEND YOU WALKING AROUND THIS HOSTEL BARE FOOT, THE FLOOR IS FILTHY. THE PLACE NEEDS A BIT OF A REFURB EG NEW SOFAS AND NEW KITCHENS. THIS IS THE CHEAPEST HOSTEL IN SYDNEY SO YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014

Liked: Free raisin bread, nice people, bus away from the Sydney harbour bridge.

Disliked: Needs new carpet/take carpet out, smelt like cheese, sofas and furniture is very run down

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, a lot of balcony

Disliked: wifi only on the garage (underground), kitchens (some tools doesn'nt work), sometimes too noisy by night

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Hannah Fairbairn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 March 2014

Liked: When the free wifi eventually worked it was good, the location was handy as there's so many buses to the city, and the place was cheap

Disliked: I've never been to such a dirty backpackers - my "clean" linen when I moved in had dirty marks on it, the bathrooms looked like they'd never been cleaned, there were flies everywhere, I didn't dare use the kitchen in case I caught something, a lot of things were broken, there was no aircon in the rooms which meant you had to have the windows open, but then it was really noisy with the traffic and the smoke from the outdoor smoking area came in. There also wasn't enough bathrooms for the number of people - I usually had to queue up for the bathroom in the morning.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

19 January 2014

Liked: Honestly, there was nothing I liked.

Disliked: The rooms: dirty, super hot, air was thick and smelly and impossible to breathe, the linen were smelly. Our beds were broken and fixed by beer boxes supporting them from underneath... And the room was TINY! The bathroom: dirty with no hot water. Plus way too many people shared that one bathroom! Most of all we disliked the kitchens. There was no room in the fridges for your food which was no wonder when half the fridge was full of ice and dirt. The smell was horrendous. No clean cutlery, cups or pans were to be found and there was no room to cook.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the guests and staff are all very nice. Very basic accommodations, but the price is grassy.

Disliked: lack of wifi, and not a lot of space in the kitchen

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013

Liked: It 's cheap,free wifi , only $2 for the wash-machine and free drier

Disliked: It's dirty,the linen is very old.In the kitchen,it's difficult to find cutlery,bool,glass... There are tables outside so when it's raining,there isn't enough space on sofa to eat.That was nice to stand for eating. Miss bathroom and toilet . During I was there,1 bedroom had to close because there was a kind of flea in here. It smelts bad.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nathalie Brink

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 November 2013

Liked: The people were nice.

Disliked: It is not clean, not enough kitchen stuff, they took away the dryer, not enough space in fridge, And it is really really dirty! Also bad bugs available in this hostel! If you want to sleep, eat and take a normal shower, don't go here. Clean, is not clean. Sleep? Not available because they start cleaning/ making noise actually at 5 a.m. staff is not taking anyone serious.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Toke Jacobsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Toke would recommend this property

Liked: It is like living in a big flat. It is close, but a great way to meet people.

Disliked: Toke left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosphere was great and so was the staff!

Disliked: Showers were unclean and we saw a mouse in toilet.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: the rooms were generally clean

Disliked: the wifi only worked in certain parts, and my laptop couldn't connect to it (had no problems anywhere else). raisin bread isn't my idea of a breakfast. there were no ladders on bunkbeds to get to the top bunk, and my bed swayed from side to side at the slightest bit of movement.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Rooming guests with staff. One washing machine for entire hostel - I work and needed to do daily laundry. Dirty and run down.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 August 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is the best I've experienced amongst all hostels I've been to in Australia, especially because there are a lot of long term stays. So it's really easy to find friends even when you travel alone. Also, there are more than enough bathrooms available and the staff is friendly. Compared to other hostels, the Balmain is also very clean. The free BBQ on Sundays is also quite good.I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone, especially for long term stays and backpackers who want to work in Sydney. But it's of course really good for short terms too.

Disliked: The free breakfast consists only of raisin bread...that alone is not really a breakfast ^^ But basically that's everything I can complain about in this hostel.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels