HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

65.6% Overall Rating

325 out of 450 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

"Location, big room, big kitchen, free individual kitchen utensils, free lockers, free WiFi."

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
14.09 USD

Hostel 51.5% 309 reviews
Bourke Backpackers
19.73 USD

Hostel 56.0% 49 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
18.79 USD

Hostel 68.5% 32 reviews
Asylum Sydney
22.54 USD

Hostel 80.2% 336 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
23.48 USD

Hostel 84.7% 721 reviews
Kanga House
28.18 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.60 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
11.27 USD

Hostel 65.9% 464 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

325 out of 450 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 380 of 423 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, big room, big kitchen, free individual kitchen utensils, free lockers, free WiFi.

Disliked: Hot water in shower disappears sometimes, WiFi only on the ground floor, cockroaches appear sometimes, if your window leads to the same side as the entrance you're always a passive smoker even with closed window, sometimes people from the street go in and ask "do you know when can I buy pot?" even on the third level.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was very clean and the staff was both friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The wifi wasn't working while I was there and the ladies toilets on my floor were out of order.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

cyril quiniou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 cyril would recommend this property

Liked: Good ambiance

Disliked: Si durty

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On board cafe

Disliked: Insects

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bindi Stretha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Bindi would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cheap & cafe!

Disliked: Kitchen was really busy so I had to wait.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014

Liked: The friendliness of the reception staff was the only thing that saved thid place.

Disliked: I know this is cheap accommodation but that doesnt mean basic rules of cleanliness should be broken. Bathrooms were disgustimg and roaches were everywhere throughout the building. And my food was stolen out of thr fridge within hours.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, friendly.

Disliked: Dirty.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 April 2014

Liked: Location was really good

Disliked: Enough if you want to party and don't care about dirt and noise, but it wasn't for me. On top of that staff wasn't too helpful (might be because of overall insufficient management)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chelsie Pim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Chelsie would recommend this property

Liked: TV has good channels Staff are friendly BYO LIVELY

Disliked: Wifi not working A few bugs in the kitchen

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

CHEN YEN JIUN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014

Liked: 1.good person and a part of staff 2.when I check in,I can use lift to move my luggage.

Disliked: 1.If someone already clean,it’s average cleane. But it is dirty most of time . 2.When I check out ,lift not working. I went downstairs with big luggage.it’s so hard. But other housemate help me fortunately.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014

Liked: Good location and really cheap as well. Nice Rooms and good matrass. You just can not expect to much for the price..

Disliked: They had 4 toilets, 1 was puked all over, 1 had no lock, 1 had nowhere to sit on and the last one had no light (on 1th floor) !!! The water was not working in the bathroom and it was absolutly discusting! WIFI is really bad, works most of the time not.. Can not expect to much for the price but at leased a working toilet was nice!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Josca Wuis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014

Liked: The location is alright.

Disliked: The bed was horrible. The bathrooms wereld really dirty. It is really noisy next to a busy road. I could not check in when I came.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great!

Disliked: It could use a few upgrades, but overall was good.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

26 February 2014

Liked: The guys who try to get you to go out as a group were really good!

Disliked: The doors did not lock and they messed up our booking and we had to move 3 times in four mornings! It was a shambles. We were made get up at 10 every morning and move to a new room but we had to hang around to check in at 2- they wouldn't let us do it there and then even though we were staying there!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the front counter were absolutely wonderful along with all the people i met staying at the hostel. A very nice, welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: Probably the worst nights sleep I have ever had. The bunk beds screamed in screeches every time you took a breathe or moved even slightly. There was also non-stop partying outside my window from the moment the sun went down to sunrise. I felt like I was lying in the middle of a house party, trying to get to sleep. The toilets are literally a joke, worse than public toilets in ghetto parks.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 February 2014

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: cleanliess

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014

Liked: Cheap (in all senses..)

Disliked: Dirty, hot. We couldn't get any pots when we wanted to cook, kitchen & communal areas overcrowded, staff not very friendly/helpful. Wifi often did not work. We booked a private room with TV and the TV did not work!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susan Hinds

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at this hostel

Disliked: There was a light that was not working in one of the toilets besides that all good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheapest place in sydney

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013

Liked: Cheap Location

Disliked: Unclean Unhelpful staff

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm I've inn it was nice and quiet big.

Disliked: Every time we needed to cook we had to get all the pots from reception!!!!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: nothing it is a really bad place and i won't suggest it to anyone

Disliked: it is dirty , uncomfortable , the beds are old and destroyed , the doors are broken so you are not allowed to close the door , toilets are disgusting dirty and messy

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Benyamina Lamri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2013 Benyamina would recommend this property

Liked: Bon emplacement

Disliked: La porte de la chambre 3 ne ferme pas. Les cafards se baladent un peu partout dans la cuisine et le coin salle a manger.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Pehrsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi worked without any problem! The staff in very friendly and helpfull! It's clean and fresh.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk down to centre, but the quality of the hostel makes it worth walking the 15 minutes it takes.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 September 2013

Liked: The location wasn't bad.

Disliked: The hostel was very dirty and most of the the basic things didn't work.It was also noisy and the door to our room was always open.It was also hot inside.One of my room mates was sleeping on the corridor floor,just outside our room door.We couldn't use the ventilator on the ceiling,because it was so strong,that we couln't sleep at all. The kitchen didn't have any kitchen utensils like pots,pans,plates etc. Everybody had to stand in the line to the reception to borrow one and after eating bring it back there,first waiting on the long line.The cloth to dry the dishes was so black and wet,that I thought it was for cleaning the floor !The refrigerator was so big that it was almost impossible to find one's own food.On the bottom there was a lot of water and rotten food stuff,awfull!! The stuff was very unfriendly.I asked where can I find a tourist information.In the reception the lady made a mark into my map,which was in the sea,outside the Opera House!There was any information place even close to that place.They just didn't wan't to give the right information.I felt the same with the buses.During my first days I always walked and was very tired,because in the hostel they didn't give the right information. I somehow felt I'm not in Australia,but somewhere in the Middle East.This was my worst hostel experience in so called developed countries.Because of that I got very depressed in Sydney,didn't enjoy my staying there and I lost many valuables.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels