HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney Sydney Hostel

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 64%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 12.08USD
  • Towel 4.03USD

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2015 to 4 January 2016 there are special booking conditions.
2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights.
3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December.
4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed.
5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period.



In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 64%

Value 66%

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: TheStaff andcafe

Disliked: Toomuchdrugs

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not far from cbd, lockers in the room, price

Disliked: The girls dorm door can't be locked, so it is open to everyone all the time. The girl at the reception was very unhelpful and unwelcoming. No soap in the bathrooms. Kitchen was filthy, fridge smelled disgusting

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location was pretty close to everything.

Disliked: Everything inside the room was sqeaking

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Check out

Disliked: Very dirty, unmaintained.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: 8 share dorms are big and airy, lockers inside room. Location great, the Canadian sisters were lovely andhelpful on check-in! A woolworths store within 200m, very handy for buying own food to cook in hostel kitchen

Disliked: Beds are squeaky and not too comfortable. Not really a place you would feel comfortable for a stay over 3 days. Not too many travellers in my room, seemed to be long-termers. Really not a great hostel vibe that i have had at other hostels

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Comfortable, affordable and very well located. Staff are helpful, sharing and warm.

Disliked: WIFI didnt reach my room but works well on ground floor.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The easiness to walk straight into town. The fact it was quite cheap.

Disliked: The hostel was cold. Yes, it's winter, but throughout the hostel was cold. The the atmosphere is fine enough the decor wasn't very welcoming. Worm white walls through out, and not a very big communal area to meet others. Although the staff we friendly when I needed them, I was expecting on arrival to be given a bit more information ie where the common room was, how I could get the cooking materials they provided off them and, generally, more welcoming information. Especially for a lone traveller. Additionally, this isn't the hostels fault, but my dorm mates(all male) often decided to leave our door propped open by the bin all night. Not sure why, but since it's easy to enter off the street, I made me nervous knowing my dorm mates would happily leave our room unlocked for everyone.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful. It was also very good value for money.

Disliked: The showers could've been cleaner but its a busy hostel so can't complain that much

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: Everything

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was ok and some of the other people staying there were good people.

Disliked: Not being clean and being very loud.

Check Availability