HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney Sydney Hostel

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 65%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.58USD
  • Towel 3.86USD

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2015 to 4 January 2016 there are special booking conditions.
2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights.
3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December.
4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed.
5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period.



In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 65%

Value 69%

Showing 81-69 of 69 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: pretty close to the park, train station and other central locations.

Disliked: The employees at the reception desk really did not know much about the area or Sydney to be honest. The customer service was horrible. We (3 young girls after dark) asked where the closest liquor store was and reception directed us into an extremely dangerous area, with homeless people, junkies, and drug dealers. We were hassled multiple times on the side walk and followed, therefore had resort to taking a taxi back to a safer area. We ended up finding a liquor store and found a safe, well lit, shorter direction back to the hostel. Pretty fumed about that.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

You were directed to the closest bottle shop which is about two blocks away and next to a Police Station that is manned 24/7! The police do not permit homeless people or any vagrants to be around the area. Perhaps you went to Kings Cross instead - which is why you needed to take a taxi back!
Regards
Elephant Sydney

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Clean just enough, and very social environment, excellent location (5 min from city center) and facilities for the price

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great place to stay for young backpackers. The staff are friendly, it's quite close to the city center, very cheap, and has a great bar on ground floor.

Disliked: Usual issues with shared living - busy kitchen, guests being grots and not cleaning up after themselves!

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was good as it was only a ten minute walk to George street and the centre of Sydney.

Disliked: The hostel was unclean and needed major refuebishments. Two toilets on the floor I was on were broken for the three days along with one shower and there seemed to me no sign of fixing them. The staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly and spent most of their time away from the reception instead of at it when advertised as a 24 hour reception service. The music in the hostel continued all night here and there seemed to be nobody running it efficiently. I have stayed in many other backpacker hostels before and most allow music in a certain part of the hostel ending at a certain time.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: extra pillows and linens were provided for free, and because deposit for pots and pans were required people generally cleaned up after themselves. the staff cleaned the toilet and kitchen every day and also transport service to and fro airport was very helpful.

Disliked: party people every night, noise and drinking scenes were not very appreciated.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap, good location, 24hr reception.

Disliked: Old.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location wasn't bad.

Disliked: The hostel was very dirty and most of the the basic things didn't work.It was also noisy and the door to our room was always open.It was also hot inside.One of my room mates was sleeping on the corridor floor,just outside our room door.We couldn't use the ventilator on the ceiling,because it was so strong,that we couln't sleep at all.The kitchen didn't have any kitchen utensils like pots,pans,plates etc. Everybody had to stand in the line to the reception to borrow one and after eating bring it back there,first waiting on the long line.The cloth to dry the dishes was so black and wet,that I thought it was for cleaning the floor !The refrigerator was so big that it was almost impossible to find one's own food.On the bottom there was a lot of water and rotten food stuff,awfull!!The stuff was very unfriendly.I asked where can I find a tourist information.In the reception the lady made a mark into my map,which was in the sea,outside the Opera House!There was any information place even close to that place.They just didn't wan't to give the right information.I felt the same with the buses.During my first days I always walked and was very tired,because in the hostel they didn't give the right information.I somehow felt I'm not in Australia,but somewhere in the Middle East.This was my worst hostel experience in so called developed countries.Because of that I got very depressed in Sydney,didn't enjoy my staying there and I lost many valuables.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap place and good distance for walking around and seeing the city.

Disliked: This is totally a party hostel. The atmosphere is one of a squat with peoples attitudes and deinking/sleeping habits. It's fairly clean, but basic, toilets are ok. I didn't feel comfortable there of course but I wasnt in a getting wasted mood, I was in sydney for one night and just wanted to see stuff have a bit of a chat then sleep. Sleep did jot happen 6 out of 7 people in my dorm went downstairs to drink each coming back at various points throughout the night loudly. Also drinks outside loudly, the hostel encourages this atmosphere. Its damp, my stuff and myself were sodden and muggy and there are tons of mosquitos also the door was broken so always open and people wandered in and out, friends etc of people in the dorm. If you wanna party then its good,if not then avoid, pay a euro or two more and stay somewhere else. I wont be back.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was cheap and many backpackers party here

Disliked: I don't know where to start, it was horrible.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe and secure, nice and quiet on sleeping floors, clean, staff really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Wee bit out of the way for the ferries etc. but that's not really much of an issue - just an up hill walk.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability