We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

67.9% Overall Rating

327 out of 453 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

Alisa Sergiienko thinks…

"Its a great place to stay while ur journey to the wonderful city of Sydney, located in the centre of the city, so u can easily get to any city attraction. hostels stuff was very friendly, prices…"

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
19.21 USD

Hostel 50.7% 311 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
22.71 USD

Hostel 85.1% 13 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 67.7% 34 reviews
Asylum Sydney
27.95 USD

Hostel 80.6% 337 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Kanga House
26.20 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel 74.3% 477 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.9%

Overall Rating

327 out of 453 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 383 of 426 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yoshie Moriguchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: -Low cleanliness: I didn't feel comfortable at all with kitchen, bathrooms, and dormitories there are alwasy dirty plates and cutlery in the kitchen, dust bins don't seem taken caree of for a few days. -Staff quality; they look friendly, but they are not knowledgable about the facilities of the hostel, and they don't seem care. - They promote themselves as clean and offer free Wi-Fi, which are both untrue.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 October 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Old run down not very welcoming, staff don't care not very clean, kitchen poorly equipped

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for the price. Cleaner than I would have expected.

Disliked: Mattresses were very very hard and not enough lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, decent sized rooms, very friendly & helpful staff. Good atmosphere about the place.

Disliked: Lots of long term people living there so they have their stuff everywhere so there is no-where for you to put your bags. Also, lockers in rooms all used by long term people. Common room small. Small kitchen, annoying having to rent pots/pans - they should be left in the kitchen for all to use.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice place, I stayed in a room for 8 but we were only three persons. The 24hrs check-in service desk.

Disliked: No internet available in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carl Sievert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2012 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, friendly (both staff and other residents), and relatively clean.

Disliked: Kitchen very busy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kieron Smeds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2012 Kieron would recommend this property

Liked: This is a big hostel that is very busy and full. Despite the number of guests it is friendly has lots of social activities and chilled atmosphere. Stayed in a 8 bed dorm that was cleaned daily, clean sheets and bathrooms clean. Cafe has great food compared to most hostels:)

Disliked: TV room was being painted when I stayed so cldnt use and they were in between suppliers for WIFI

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cornelia Gessner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012

Liked: sheets seemed clean

Disliked: I woke up completely bitten by bed bugs. As we were told by our roommate, at least 2 people got badly bitten by bed bugs in this particular bed and had complained about it. The guy before me was shifted to another room the day I arrived and I was put straight into that bed. This is a reckless and money-grubbing thing to do. They were willing to take the risk to damage a person to not miss out of earning money by renting out the bed. When I complained, nothing could be done about it. No spare matress, no spare room. So I squashed into my friend's bed and spoke to one of the managers the following morning. He was lying to us that nothing had happened in this bed for 1 or 2 weeks. Also he claimed we might have brought the bugs with us. He was clearly neither sorry, nor willing to negotiate a solution. I was really shocked by his behaviour, especially after my friend and me dealt so patiently wih it an squashed into one bed instead of making a fuss and moving out. He was unfriendly and cheeky and he didn't care about a bad reputation, as they will be booked out anyway. Two of the bites got infected and my ancle was swolen and painful. My stay in Sydney was spoiled by people that were accepting to risk injuring a guest to not loose even only 21$ per night. I think they should undergoe strict hygiene controls and deserve some sort of punishment for this. I also think hostelbookers should exclude them from their list. There are already too many complaints about this place.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ludovico Dottori

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Ludovico would recommend this property

Liked: Lift!!!

Disliked: No blanket enough for everybody when cold during the night, no stairway enough for bunkbeds, you have to climb up and jump off, very uncomfortable, internet out of order and on payment

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool, cheap, clean, not far to city

Disliked: Train noises, but with g hearplug I slept really well!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012

Liked: Lcation was great. Some ofthe staff members were really nice.

Disliked: Lack of common area to socialize with other guests. Some staff didnt seem to enjoy helping you. No breakfast included.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

David Perkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012

Liked: The location was great right in the city centre.

Disliked: The room was filthy and stank. My bed was right next to a draughty window that without bars having been there I would have rolled right out. The toilets were cleaned regulary but managed to be dirty the whole time and the staff simply seemed like they ere being bothered whenever somebody needed something. The cafe was good value but on all you can eat pizza night I was told there was no pizza left and therefore had none I could eat. For the price you could stay somewhere cheaper and get the same awful experience all you're paying foris the location.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Victoria Bennett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: It's just a 5 minute walk from the Botanic Gardens and about 10minutes from the Opera House. The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The half hour closure of reception for shift changes, typically every time I needed to talk to someone it was during these times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kurt Hanseimann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, clean room

Disliked: everything was fine

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svenja Sontheimer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Svenja would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, good place to know a lot of people. Very nice stay.

Disliked: Wifi very slow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who try to assist with every question. Roof is amazing with beautiful views of the city and loads of guests meet and have a drink - great way to meet people. Rooms were basic but clean and tidy.

Disliked: kitchen gets busy at night and you have to wait turn to cook.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Not the most clean hostel I have been to, make sure you keep food in a secure place and wash dishes before use just in case

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012

Liked: Friendly Staff, central location, nice old building

Disliked: It had no internet access!! And it wasnt 3 times cleaned a day, indeed it was very dirty, even our room was dirty when we checked in. The rooftop was closed all the time.. There were only a very few kitchen utensilies, the kitchen was dirty and in a bad condition. The Bed was uncomfortable and very noisy. There were no towels included as mentioned on the hostelbookes homepage.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012

Liked: location, close to downtown, Royal Botanic Gardens and Kings Cross

Disliked: a lot, was one of the worst hostels our last 5 months travelling, place seems to be in a run down phase, no hands on mentality to keep the place clean and maintained. Throughout any time of the day the bathrooms and kitchen area were dirty (when do they clean??), kitchen is absolutely bad equipped and everywhere you find things that are broken or partly do not work, pots and pans are to be hired at the reception to keep the kitchen clean, haha. Rates are low but cleanliness and attitude is not a matter of room rates.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

27 August 2012

Liked: Location is great for the city and kings cross.

Disliked: Unsocial, they only have enough pillows and blankets for 1 person each so if your cold you just have to deal with it, the locks on 2 out of 3 showers on the 3rd floor didn't work, there was regularly no toilet paper in the toilets, the toilets were disgusting, not cleaned enough, bed were really squeaky. I wouldn't stay here again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yuan Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2012 Yuan would recommend this property

Liked: VERY FRIENDLY STAFF ! EXCELLENT LOCATION AS EVERYTHING IS SO CLOSE AND JUST A FEW MINUTES ENJOYABLE WALK ...FOR SIGHT SEEING

Disliked: HAVE TO BUY A LOCK FOR THE LOCKER

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry Banner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 August 2012 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Some of my friends recommend this hostel and I wasn't disappointed! Good location, price with friendly staff and vibe.

Disliked: Basic but clean.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

carlena Probert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: Great location, shuttle bus from airport was good value for money, rooms large.

Disliked: Run down and dirty property, really needs some TLC. The whole place was run down and dirty, I saw one cleaner there the whole stay, he might have been doing a sterling job but the task at hand was huge! The bathrooms were filthy, there was a dusty pair of pj's which were left on the bathroom side the entire time we were there, they were filthy so my guess would be that they were there for months instead of days. The toilets were dirty and toilet paper was scarce, the women's toilets on our floor were out of order and out of three showers only one worked. The bathrooms on the other floors were marginally better but all shower rooms had problems, either shower heads missing, unlockable doors or showers not working entirely. Reception is a mess, there are piles of clothes and linen behind the desk, not the most welcoming of sights when arriving at a new place. The whole place was dirty and had a grubby feel, under the beds there were discarded items covered with dust and the furniture in the common areas were old and tired. You have to go to reception to get plates etc, which is fine in practice, however the items were dusty when given to us. Although there were the above problems the people in our room were very nice and chatty, however this cannot be said for the other guests, people were running about all night, shouting and banging. Our room was at the top of a flight of stairs and people would sit and have loud drunken conversations into the night, very annoying!!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was GREAT! The restaurant was also great. The rooms, average. Comfort, average. No a/c or central heating. Facilities were clean but several showers and toilets were out of order. Location, average. There are a few nice restaurants in walking distance. I would stay here again.

Disliked: Wifi was not in room or free.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLIVER PALMER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 OLIVER would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend Elephant because its very cheap, quite clean and friendly. The location is not exactly central, but the area is nice to have a walk to the city center. The night is extremely silent. Good value/money ratio.

Disliked: OLIVER left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels