We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

65.3% Overall Rating

337 out of 473 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/05/2015)

Kellie Suttle thinks…

"Not only were the staff (and the other residents) really friendly, but the on-site cafe was super cheap and very delicious, and you even got further discounts if you were staying there! All the major…"

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.68
  • Towel USD 3.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
14.02 USD

Hostel 45.9% 319 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
15.58 USD

Hostel 83.0% 29 reviews
Nate's Place Backpackers
16.36 USD

Hostel 76.3% 42 reviews
Asylum Sydney
14.02 USD

Hostel 78.7% 341 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
21.03 USD

Hostel 85.9% 734 reviews
Kanga House
21.81 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
19.47 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
11.68 USD

Hostel 75.5% 489 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.3%

Overall Rating

337 out of 473 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
44.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
69.6%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 396 of 444 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pieter Sparenberg

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 December 2012 Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location, cheap price, and they can book shuttles for door to airport transportation for cheap!

Disliked: Nothing all good for the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sasha Fabian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 December 2012 Sasha would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is soo awesome! everyone is friendly and go out together and involve new people - they have a cheap cafe and dont miss the pizza nite totally rocks

Disliked: Sasha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christina Schertz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 December 2012 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: great price, location very central and good social vibe

Disliked: messy guests that leave their stuff all over the floor

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2012

Liked: price friendly staff

Disliked: dirty accommodation crying doors everywhere urgent renovation necessary

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Adam Price

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Rooftop found closed with no explanation Noisy guests congregating outside making noise until the early hours Reading light broken, and needed to be plugged in taking up socket Unhelpful and rude staff

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 December 2012

Liked: Dirty and nasty staff at reception

Disliked: nothing...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Phillaps

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 December 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel might give a fairly rough exterior at first and not look like much, but I keep coming back to visit. The staff are super friendly and I had the chance to meet lots of nice people. Also the location is great, and the meal offers in cafe are really nice! Whenever in Sydney again, this is where I'm staying.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012

Liked: The only good thing were the beds. Very comfy mattresses! If you like smoking weed and you look for a staff that is flirting rather than doing their job than this is THE hostel to stay in otherwise do NOT book it!

Disliked: - unfriendly and UNQUALIFIED staff at the front desk - DIRTY!!!! (garbage from friday hasn't been taken out since) - very smelly - both sinks at the girls shower weren't able to drain - cold showers - broken lockers in the room - cockroaches in the room (probably due to the mess)

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Steele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Big dining area so was able to chill out in there without lack of space.

Disliked: it was a bit out of the way to get to but once you know where it is its fine.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is at good location. what I am not satisfied is that I booked two beds in one room, but got two beds in two separate room.

Disliked: The Fan is broken.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Really liked the communal areas and very good shower!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tegan Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012 Tegan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was comfortable, staff were helpful and friendly, all areas were clean, beds were comfortable. The hostel had a very homely feel.

Disliked: fire alarm went off

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, I thought it was a great hostel. The staff were lovely & the rooms were clean. The location was good, walking distance to the main city. I had a fabulous stay. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: No issues

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012

Liked: nothing really

Disliked: where shall i start... the staff isn't helpful at all and knows nothing about sydney but at least the apologize for that, but the morning reception girl. she is really unfriendly and rude and totally out of place at reception... the hostel is dirty and gets never cleaned i think. i left my cotton tip on the sink in the bathroom and after 5 days, when i checked out, it still sat there... also the walls in the bathroom really dirty. bin in the room got never emptied in the week, so i think noone came to clean the room. the hostel is out of where everything happens but isn't really cheaper than some in the centre... and in my last night we got evacuated at 3:30 am due to a firealarm. well, that's not really the hostels fault, but it really doesn't make the whole thing better, haha so i wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location Good place to meet other travelers and have a drink with them

Disliked: Booked 2 beds in 6 bedroom apartment - it turned out that there were not free beds for us: one person slept in 6 bedroom apartment, and other in 8 bedroom apartment VERY DIRTY HOSTEL Altough we were given the entrance cards, bedrooms couldn't be closed

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

25 November 2012

Liked: The showers are decent.

Disliked: Everything else.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anais Furore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Anais would recommend this property

Liked: Its a fairly old hostel but good and a very convenient location. The bar downstairs is a nice place to hang out and meet others - even locals come and hang out.

Disliked: A 15 minute walk to buy food from supermarket.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tonia Pfenning

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2012 Tonia would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. Really friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, very clean bathrooms and excellent shower! Also such a great location. One night was exceptionally loud in the hall/street? which was especially annoying as we had to go to the airport at 4AM the next morning. Other than that noisy night I would recommend staying...

Disliked: Tonia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ilona Stadheimm

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms are basic and perfect. The staff was very friendly. The location is great.

Disliked: The only negative was the noise - the comings and goings of various groups went on until 3 in the morning

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: booked a 4 bed dorm, got a six bed dorm, still had to pay the same price! they said the wifi is not working because they are changing the provider. I read that in reviews weeks ago. seems like they are not in a hurry finding a new internet provider. The hostel was very lood until late late! in the night. kitchen and dining room way too crowded, no place to sit down.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Viktoria Smidt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2012 Viktoria would recommend this property

Liked: Classic hostel - loads of fun people, busy and close to main attractions

Disliked: Roof was closed.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Klaas Boer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Voor showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet other travellers here. good communal area. alot of job offers for free accomadation at the hostel. close to everything you might want to see or do.

Disliked: there are big refrigerators to put your food in that you buy at the grocer. lock the bag that you put in there because your food might not be there when you go back for it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew Allard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2012

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: We booked a double room. We were then told there were no double rooms for our first three nights. We then found out the free wifi that was advertised didn't exist and the parking I'd specifically asked about and was reassured that we could park for free nearby also didn't exist. We found another place to stay.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cheap

Disliked: Very noisy with lots of drunk people; I found our door open one day and I knew I'd locked it, so didn't seem that secure. Nothing from our room was missing though.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels