HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

59.1% Overall Rating

318 out of 440 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

CHEN YEN JIUN thinks…

"1.good person and a part of staff 2.when I check in,I can use lift to move my luggage."

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

For bookings between 27 Dec 2012 – 5 Jan 2013: Please note that Elephant Sydney will contact you directly to process the remaining amount owing for your booking. They will charge the credit card used to make the booking one month prior to your arrival date. They will confirm the booking following this payment. Please note that payments made are non refundable and that bookings made are non transferable. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
21.51 USD

Hostel 52.5% 304 reviews
Australian Backpackers
20.58 USD

Hostel 56.0% 49 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
20.58 USD

Hostel 68.5% 32 reviews
Sydney G'Day Backpackers
18.71 USD

Hostel 65.6% 239 reviews
Asylum Sydney
26.19 USD

Hostel 79.0% 330 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.25 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Kanga House
28.06 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.38 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.1%

Overall Rating

318 out of 440 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 414 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cheap

Disliked: Very noisy with lots of drunk people; I found our door open one day and I knew I'd locked it, so didn't seem that secure. Nothing from our room was missing though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fletcher Divialle

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 November 2012 Fletcher would recommend this property

Liked: were able to store our bags there as we arrived before check in which was good.met all our requirements and not far from central city.one of the cheaper stays to which is always good

Disliked: Fletcher left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for low budget accomodation with good location and great value for your money when staying in Sydney, I will suggest the Elephant. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Comfortable private room.

Disliked: Kitchen to buzy to cook

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wendy Maiden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, really nice staff and brilliant for meeting fellow lone travellers, everyone is so friendly and open, even the long term residents.

Disliked: Nothing of consequence

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Florence Bondenet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 November 2012 Florence would recommend this property

Liked: Nice enough hostel - very conveniently located and fairly cheap for the area. It is easy meet people in the bar.. I realy recomend it!

Disliked: but only 2 of the 3 hobs in the kitchen were working, which sometimes cause problems!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sho Sawada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Sho would recommend this property

Liked: friendlyships

Disliked: Sho left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 November 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: it's VERY dirty, VERY loud at night and the staff doesn't care about, my room door was broken so I didn't felt safe at all. It's the worst hostel I've ever stayed!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

charlotte sadr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2012 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Elephant for the weekend with a group of friends. The location is fantastic, it's less than a 5 minute walk into the city centre. As for the hostel itself, the beds are comfortable, the showers are hot, the bathrooms were cleaned every morning, the staff are friendly and it's such good value! I'd definitely go back!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Lygon

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed there recently for a weekend. It is extremely well located, really close to everything you may possibly want to see, no more than 20 mins walk from the furthest attraction, most attractions within 5 min walk. The amenities are fair for the price you pay. It is a clean, safe, convenient and comfortable place. What I like the most about the place was the staff. They are amazingly helpful and friendly.

Disliked: WIFI wasnt working. The staff directed me to other free alternatives close to hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Cornell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great location for a bargain price. Place is relatively clean and staff are very helpful.

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Celina Velene

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 November 2012 Celina would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, good value for money, would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Very busy kitchen - cook early in evening to avoid rush!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kevin duVal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazingly friendly and I really enjoyed my stay there. The location and atmosphere were really great. I will stay there again next time I'm in Sydney!

Disliked: nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kian Guan Tay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2012

Liked: Roommate.

Disliked: Everything from room card, security, toilet hot shower not working, no Internet, poor housekeeping, drunken staff& rude reception. It's so far the worst hostel I ever stay even compare to the standard in Cambodia !

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adele Bloomfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Adele would recommend this property

Liked: The style and atmosphere of the property were really relaxing and the other people in the hostel (predominately backpackers) were generally friendly and sociable. The hostel is busy and staff are always helpful and the place is generally clean.

Disliked: They were upgrading their WIFI - so had to use outside to get WIFI

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yoshie Moriguchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: -Low cleanliness: I didn't feel comfortable at all with kitchen, bathrooms, and dormitories there are alwasy dirty plates and cutlery in the kitchen, dust bins don't seem taken caree of for a few days. -Staff quality; they look friendly, but they are not knowledgable about the facilities of the hostel, and they don't seem care. - They promote themselves as clean and offer free Wi-Fi, which are both untrue.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 October 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Old run down not very welcoming, staff don't care not very clean, kitchen poorly equipped

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for the price. Cleaner than I would have expected.

Disliked: Mattresses were very very hard and not enough lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, decent sized rooms, very friendly & helpful staff. Good atmosphere about the place.

Disliked: Lots of long term people living there so they have their stuff everywhere so there is no-where for you to put your bags. Also, lockers in rooms all used by long term people. Common room small. Small kitchen, annoying having to rent pots/pans - they should be left in the kitchen for all to use.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice place, I stayed in a room for 8 but we were only three persons. The 24hrs check-in service desk.

Disliked: No internet available in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carl Sievert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2012 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, friendly (both staff and other residents), and relatively clean.

Disliked: Kitchen very busy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kieron Smeds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2012 Kieron would recommend this property

Liked: This is a big hostel that is very busy and full. Despite the number of guests it is friendly has lots of social activities and chilled atmosphere. Stayed in a 8 bed dorm that was cleaned daily, clean sheets and bathrooms clean. Cafe has great food compared to most hostels:)

Disliked: TV room was being painted when I stayed so cldnt use and they were in between suppliers for WIFI

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cornelia Gessner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012

Liked: sheets seemed clean

Disliked: I woke up completely bitten by bed bugs. As we were told by our roommate, at least 2 people got badly bitten by bed bugs in this particular bed and had complained about it. The guy before me was shifted to another room the day I arrived and I was put straight into that bed. This is a reckless and money-grubbing thing to do. They were willing to take the risk to damage a person to not miss out of earning money by renting out the bed. When I complained, nothing could be done about it. No spare matress, no spare room. So I squashed into my friend's bed and spoke to one of the managers the following morning. He was lying to us that nothing had happened in this bed for 1 or 2 weeks. Also he claimed we might have brought the bugs with us. He was clearly neither sorry, nor willing to negotiate a solution. I was really shocked by his behaviour, especially after my friend and me dealt so patiently wih it an squashed into one bed instead of making a fuss and moving out. He was unfriendly and cheeky and he didn't care about a bad reputation, as they will be booked out anyway. Two of the bites got infected and my ancle was swolen and painful. My stay in Sydney was spoiled by people that were accepting to risk injuring a guest to not loose even only 21$ per night. I think they should undergoe strict hygiene controls and deserve some sort of punishment for this. I also think hostelbookers should exclude them from their list. There are already too many complaints about this place.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ludovico Dottori

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Ludovico would recommend this property

Liked: Lift!!!

Disliked: No blanket enough for everybody when cold during the night, no stairway enough for bunkbeds, you have to climb up and jump off, very uncomfortable, internet out of order and on payment

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool, cheap, clean, not far to city

Disliked: Train noises, but with g hearplug I slept really well!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012

Liked: Lcation was great. Some ofthe staff members were really nice.

Disliked: Lack of common area to socialize with other guests. Some staff didnt seem to enjoy helping you. No breakfast included.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels