HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

65.6% Overall Rating

325 out of 450 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

"Location, big room, big kitchen, free individual kitchen utensils, free lockers, free WiFi."

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.72

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

For bookings between 27 Dec 2012 – 5 Jan 2013: Please note that Elephant Sydney will contact you directly to process the remaining amount owing for your booking. They will charge the credit card used to make the booking one month prior to your arrival date. They will confirm the booking following this payment. Please note that payments made are non refundable and that bookings made are non transferable. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 51.5% 309 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
18.87 USD

Hostel 68.5% 32 reviews
Asylum Sydney
20.76 USD

Hostel 80.8% 335 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
23.59 USD

Hostel 84.7% 721 reviews
Kanga House
28.31 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.70 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
11.32 USD

Hostel 65.9% 464 reviews
Backpackers HQ
20.76 USD

Hostel 85.0% 93 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

325 out of 450 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 380 of 423 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anais Furore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Anais would recommend this property

Liked: Its a fairly old hostel but good and a very convenient location. The bar downstairs is a nice place to hang out and meet others - even locals come and hang out.

Disliked: A 15 minute walk to buy food from supermarket.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tonia Pfenning

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2012 Tonia would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. Really friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, very clean bathrooms and excellent shower! Also such a great location. One night was exceptionally loud in the hall/street? which was especially annoying as we had to go to the airport at 4AM the next morning. Other than that noisy night I would recommend staying...

Disliked: Tonia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ilona Stadheimm

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms are basic and perfect. The staff was very friendly. The location is great.

Disliked: The only negative was the noise - the comings and goings of various groups went on until 3 in the morning

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: booked a 4 bed dorm, got a six bed dorm, still had to pay the same price! they said the wifi is not working because they are changing the provider. I read that in reviews weeks ago. seems like they are not in a hurry finding a new internet provider. The hostel was very lood until late late! in the night. kitchen and dining room way too crowded, no place to sit down.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Viktoria Smidt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2012 Viktoria would recommend this property

Liked: Classic hostel - loads of fun people, busy and close to main attractions

Disliked: Roof was closed.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Klaas Boer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Voor showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet other travellers here. good communal area. alot of job offers for free accomadation at the hostel. close to everything you might want to see or do.

Disliked: there are big refrigerators to put your food in that you buy at the grocer. lock the bag that you put in there because your food might not be there when you go back for it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew Allard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2012

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: We booked a double room. We were then told there were no double rooms for our first three nights. We then found out the free wifi that was advertised didn't exist and the parking I'd specifically asked about and was reassured that we could park for free nearby also didn't exist. We found another place to stay.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cheap

Disliked: Very noisy with lots of drunk people; I found our door open one day and I knew I'd locked it, so didn't seem that secure. Nothing from our room was missing though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fletcher Divialle

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 November 2012 Fletcher would recommend this property

Liked: were able to store our bags there as we arrived before check in which was good.met all our requirements and not far from central city.one of the cheaper stays to which is always good

Disliked: Fletcher left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for low budget accomodation with good location and great value for your money when staying in Sydney, I will suggest the Elephant. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Comfortable private room.

Disliked: Kitchen to buzy to cook

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wendy Maiden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, really nice staff and brilliant for meeting fellow lone travellers, everyone is so friendly and open, even the long term residents.

Disliked: Nothing of consequence

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Florence Bondenet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 November 2012 Florence would recommend this property

Liked: Nice enough hostel - very conveniently located and fairly cheap for the area. It is easy meet people in the bar.. I realy recomend it!

Disliked: but only 2 of the 3 hobs in the kitchen were working, which sometimes cause problems!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sho Sawada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Sho would recommend this property

Liked: friendlyships

Disliked: Sho left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 November 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: it's VERY dirty, VERY loud at night and the staff doesn't care about, my room door was broken so I didn't felt safe at all. It's the worst hostel I've ever stayed!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

charlotte sadr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2012 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Elephant for the weekend with a group of friends. The location is fantastic, it's less than a 5 minute walk into the city centre. As for the hostel itself, the beds are comfortable, the showers are hot, the bathrooms were cleaned every morning, the staff are friendly and it's such good value! I'd definitely go back!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Lygon

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed there recently for a weekend. It is extremely well located, really close to everything you may possibly want to see, no more than 20 mins walk from the furthest attraction, most attractions within 5 min walk. The amenities are fair for the price you pay. It is a clean, safe, convenient and comfortable place. What I like the most about the place was the staff. They are amazingly helpful and friendly.

Disliked: WIFI wasnt working. The staff directed me to other free alternatives close to hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Cornell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great location for a bargain price. Place is relatively clean and staff are very helpful.

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Celina Velene

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 November 2012 Celina would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, good value for money, would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Very busy kitchen - cook early in evening to avoid rush!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kevin duVal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazingly friendly and I really enjoyed my stay there. The location and atmosphere were really great. I will stay there again next time I'm in Sydney!

Disliked: nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kian Guan Tay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2012

Liked: Roommate.

Disliked: Everything from room card, security, toilet hot shower not working, no Internet, poor housekeeping, drunken staff& rude reception. It's so far the worst hostel I ever stay even compare to the standard in Cambodia !

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adele Bloomfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Adele would recommend this property

Liked: The style and atmosphere of the property were really relaxing and the other people in the hostel (predominately backpackers) were generally friendly and sociable. The hostel is busy and staff are always helpful and the place is generally clean.

Disliked: They were upgrading their WIFI - so had to use outside to get WIFI

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yoshie Moriguchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: -Low cleanliness: I didn't feel comfortable at all with kitchen, bathrooms, and dormitories there are alwasy dirty plates and cutlery in the kitchen, dust bins don't seem taken caree of for a few days. -Staff quality; they look friendly, but they are not knowledgable about the facilities of the hostel, and they don't seem care. - They promote themselves as clean and offer free Wi-Fi, which are both untrue.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 October 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Old run down not very welcoming, staff don't care not very clean, kitchen poorly equipped

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for the price. Cleaner than I would have expected.

Disliked: Mattresses were very very hard and not enough lockers.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels