HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney Sydney Hostel

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 42%

Facilities 54%

Location 84%

Safety 58%

Staff 64%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.17USD
  • Towel 3.72USD

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2016 to 4 January 2017
there are special booking conditions.
2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights.
3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards
charged 1st December.
4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release
your bed.
5. Once paid, there will be no refunds, cancellations, changes or
transfers permitted for the New Year Period 2016-2017 .
6. We strongly recommend you take out travel insurance.

DORM ROOMS
When you book 2 or more dorm beds, we cannot guarantee that your entire
group can be in the same dorm room. Please book private room(s) if you
wish to secure that everyone in your group is going to be in the same
room.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 42%

Facilities 54%

Location 84%

Safety 58%

Staff 64%

Value 63%

Showing 51-45 of 45 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: cheapest place in sydney

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great value for money! Location next to city center. Friendly hostel and staff very helpful. Bed was really comfy. Supermarket very close.

Disliked: Kitchen gets really busy and you have to line up at reception to get cooking things.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had a very lived-in, typical hostel feel. The staff was friendly and helpful, as were some guests.

Disliked: No WIFI

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: good young atmosphere, nice location right off the botanical garden. so in total i would its a great place to find fellow backpackers and a good time

Disliked: could do some better cleaning and soap in the bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: good location and friendly people

Disliked: dirty

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: It was one of the cheapest hostels I stayed at in all of Australia. Washer and dryers worked well, which is rare in hostels.

Disliked: First off, this place is extremely dirty. They say that the toilets are cleaned twice a day, but I doubt they were cleaned the entire time I was there. There was the same rotten apple core in the shower for days. Don't expect to get much sleep, the noise doesn't stop until 3am. I guess if you're in Sydney to party, you might be ok with that. It's not too far from the major Sydney attractions, but definitely farther than the 5 minutes that they advertise. And there is not much in the immediate vicinity, so expect to walk a bit to buy anything. They also take a 20 dollar key deposit from you when you get in, which is pretty standard. However, when I was leaving at 6:50, there was nobody there, only a sign on the reception door that said "Shift changeover. Back at 7." 20 dollars lost.Don't plan on having a shower. Some showers the water just drips out. Others have better pressure, but it is impossible to regulate the temperature on any of them. Expect either a cold or boiling shower, because it will take at least 10 minutes to be able to get the temperature bearable.Overall, this is probably the worst hostel that I have stayed at anywhere in the world. I would never stay there again, and I recommend paying a few dollars extra to stay somewhere near central station.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was nice. The price initially seemed like a good deal. They had a well-supplied kitchen.

Disliked: The hostel was filthy. The door to our room didn't shut very easily. Out of 12 toilets, there were only 3 that locked and had working toilet and sink. I didn't even dare use the shower in such a filthy place. It was clearly advertised that there were blankets available 24-7, but there were none available for us when we requested them. We went to check in at 2:50, but had to wait until 3:30 until the shift change was done (we were told it would be done by 3:00).

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty, unsafe, noisy, decayed and the staff are worse than useless, every one.


The property's response is

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We have cleaners that do a thorough clean twice daily. We are a large hostel and sometimes mess is made by other guests - this is the challenge of communal living. We have a 24 hour reception, staff do room and boundary checks throughout their shift and rooms and entrance are key locked.
Perhaps a hostel is not for you?
Regards
Elephant Sydney

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing value, close to city, new supermarket just opened up the street, friendly staff and good vibe.

Disliked: No WIFI

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheapest I could find

Disliked: Not very clean

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability