HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

59.5% Overall Rating

319 out of 442 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

CHEN YEN JIUN thinks…

"1.good person and a part of staff 2.when I check in,I can use lift to move my luggage."

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

For bookings between 27 Dec 2012 – 5 Jan 2013: Please note that Elephant Sydney will contact you directly to process the remaining amount owing for your booking. They will charge the credit card used to make the booking one month prior to your arrival date. They will confirm the booking following this payment. Please note that payments made are non refundable and that bookings made are non transferable. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
16.70 USD

Hostel 52.5% 304 reviews
Australian Backpackers
21.33 USD

Hostel 56.0% 49 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
20.41 USD

Hostel 68.5% 32 reviews
Sydney G'Day Backpackers
18.55 USD

Hostel 65.6% 239 reviews
Asylum Sydney
25.97 USD

Hostel 79.0% 330 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.04 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Kanga House
27.83 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.19 USD

Hostel 76.2% 112 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.5%

Overall Rating

319 out of 442 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
47.2%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 374 of 416 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nic Economa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Nic would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff chilled atmosphere easy to meet people

Disliked: No major issues

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danilo Raxenidis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: A cheap alternative for staying in Sydney. Clean, though a bit old. Definitely recommended for budged travelers.

Disliked: No wifi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chun-Cheng WU

Alone

Events / festivals

20 December 2012 Chun-Cheng would recommend this property

Liked: I was pretty nervous about staying here, because some of the reviews I had read weren't the most positive, but staying at Elephant hostel was an enormously positive experience. It was clean, comfortable, in a good location, and a great bargain. The staff are extremely helpful and the beds were comfortable. The showers were clean for an hostel and there was lots of hot water. I would go back definitely.

Disliked: Chun-Cheng left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pieter Sparenberg

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 December 2012 Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location, cheap price, and they can book shuttles for door to airport transportation for cheap!

Disliked: Nothing all good for the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sasha Fabian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 December 2012 Sasha would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is soo awesome! everyone is friendly and go out together and involve new people - they have a cheap cafe and dont miss the pizza nite totally rocks

Disliked: Sasha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christina Schertz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 December 2012 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: great price, location very central and good social vibe

Disliked: messy guests that leave their stuff all over the floor

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2012

Liked: price friendly staff

Disliked: dirty accommodation crying doors everywhere urgent renovation necessary

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Adam Price

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Rooftop found closed with no explanation Noisy guests congregating outside making noise until the early hours Reading light broken, and needed to be plugged in taking up socket Unhelpful and rude staff

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 December 2012

Liked: Dirty and nasty staff at reception

Disliked: nothing...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Phillaps

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 December 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel might give a fairly rough exterior at first and not look like much, but I keep coming back to visit. The staff are super friendly and I had the chance to meet lots of nice people. Also the location is great, and the meal offers in cafe are really nice! Whenever in Sydney again, this is where I'm staying.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012

Liked: The only good thing were the beds. Very comfy mattresses! If you like smoking weed and you look for a staff that is flirting rather than doing their job than this is THE hostel to stay in otherwise do NOT book it!

Disliked: - unfriendly and UNQUALIFIED staff at the front desk - DIRTY!!!! (garbage from friday hasn't been taken out since) - very smelly - both sinks at the girls shower weren't able to drain - cold showers - broken lockers in the room - cockroaches in the room (probably due to the mess)

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Steele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Big dining area so was able to chill out in there without lack of space.

Disliked: it was a bit out of the way to get to but once you know where it is its fine.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is at good location. what I am not satisfied is that I booked two beds in one room, but got two beds in two separate room.

Disliked: The Fan is broken.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Really liked the communal areas and very good shower!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tegan Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012 Tegan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was comfortable, staff were helpful and friendly, all areas were clean, beds were comfortable. The hostel had a very homely feel.

Disliked: fire alarm went off

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, I thought it was a great hostel. The staff were lovely & the rooms were clean. The location was good, walking distance to the main city. I had a fabulous stay. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: No issues

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012

Liked: nothing really

Disliked: where shall i start... the staff isn't helpful at all and knows nothing about sydney but at least the apologize for that, but the morning reception girl. she is really unfriendly and rude and totally out of place at reception... the hostel is dirty and gets never cleaned i think. i left my cotton tip on the sink in the bathroom and after 5 days, when i checked out, it still sat there... also the walls in the bathroom really dirty. bin in the room got never emptied in the week, so i think noone came to clean the room. the hostel is out of where everything happens but isn't really cheaper than some in the centre... and in my last night we got evacuated at 3:30 am due to a firealarm. well, that's not really the hostels fault, but it really doesn't make the whole thing better, haha so i wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location Good place to meet other travelers and have a drink with them

Disliked: Booked 2 beds in 6 bedroom apartment - it turned out that there were not free beds for us: one person slept in 6 bedroom apartment, and other in 8 bedroom apartment VERY DIRTY HOSTEL Altough we were given the entrance cards, bedrooms couldn't be closed

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

25 November 2012

Liked: The showers are decent.

Disliked: Everything else.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anais Furore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Anais would recommend this property

Liked: Its a fairly old hostel but good and a very convenient location. The bar downstairs is a nice place to hang out and meet others - even locals come and hang out.

Disliked: A 15 minute walk to buy food from supermarket.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tonia Pfenning

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2012 Tonia would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. Really friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, very clean bathrooms and excellent shower! Also such a great location. One night was exceptionally loud in the hall/street? which was especially annoying as we had to go to the airport at 4AM the next morning. Other than that noisy night I would recommend staying...

Disliked: Tonia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ilona Stadheimm

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms are basic and perfect. The staff was very friendly. The location is great.

Disliked: The only negative was the noise - the comings and goings of various groups went on until 3 in the morning

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: booked a 4 bed dorm, got a six bed dorm, still had to pay the same price! they said the wifi is not working because they are changing the provider. I read that in reviews weeks ago. seems like they are not in a hurry finding a new internet provider. The hostel was very lood until late late! in the night. kitchen and dining room way too crowded, no place to sit down.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Viktoria Smidt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2012 Viktoria would recommend this property

Liked: Classic hostel - loads of fun people, busy and close to main attractions

Disliked: Roof was closed.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Klaas Boer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Voor showers


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels