HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

59.1% Overall Rating

318 out of 440 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

CHEN YEN JIUN thinks…

"1.good person and a part of staff 2.when I check in,I can use lift to move my luggage."

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

For bookings between 27 Dec 2012 – 5 Jan 2013: Please note that Elephant Sydney will contact you directly to process the remaining amount owing for your booking. They will charge the credit card used to make the booking one month prior to your arrival date. They will confirm the booking following this payment. Please note that payments made are non refundable and that bookings made are non transferable. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
14.98 USD

Hostel 52.5% 304 reviews
Australian Backpackers
19.66 USD

Hostel 56.0% 49 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
20.60 USD

Hostel 68.5% 32 reviews
Sydney G'Day Backpackers
18.72 USD

Hostel 65.6% 239 reviews
Asylum Sydney
24.34 USD

Hostel 79.0% 330 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.28 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Kanga House
28.08 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.40 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.1%

Overall Rating

318 out of 440 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 414 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: NO INTERNET ! Some shower broken Toaster broken Dirty Loud Staff no friendly Evering outdated, dilapided

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013

Liked: I didn't like anything

Disliked: This was the most awful hostel experience I've ever had. When we arrived there were people just loitering outside which gave me an uneasy feeling. Our room was dark and dingy. There was garbage all over the floor, it looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time. At night there were mosquitoes in the room. People were also playing really loud music all night and talking loudly outside the hostel. The rules of no noise past 10pm are not enforced. People were rolling joints in the room and playing drinking games with no consideration of others. The staff don't enforce the rules and that's why they are broken. If you needed kitchen equipment you have to sign it out and put down a deposit. Very inconvenient. There was no storage space in the kitchen for non-refrigerated items so you basically have to keep your food in your room. This encourages cockroaches coming upstairs!!!! Overall terrible

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013

Liked: Location was okay.

Disliked: It was filthy. We have stayed in many hostels throughout South America and New Zealand, this was our first Australian hostel and we both agreed that it was the worst place we've ever stayed in. Where to start? 1. No WiFi or internet access so spent a fortune in Starbucks. 2. The kitchen was disgusting, no one is made to clean up after themselves, there are filthy dishes, dirty surfaces, overflowing bins and cockroaches. You have to give in your key card to get the limited supply of kitchen equipment.(Which you have to wash again as they aren't very clean). 3. The dinning room is strewn with rubbish and old garden furniture. 4. Had to use flip flops to stand in shower, they weren't cleaned in the 3 days we were there. (How do I know this? Lets just say I saw some disgusting things that weren't cleaned). Toilets weren't any better, hairs all over sinks, filthy floors over flowing bins. 5. Bedrooms had doors that didn't close properly, they were dusty and you had to ask for pillows and sheets. Our room had no air con although some do. 6. Guests clean to get free accommodation so they come into your room in the morning to empty your bin, even if you have a private room. We felt we had to keep our stuff locked up at all times. 7. Luggage storage room is left open, anyone can wander in and out, what's to stop them going through your stuff? That's just some of our issues. Our advice is to up your budget and stay elsewhere!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Eveline Henquet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013

Liked: The goog location

Disliked: The dirty bathrooms and toilets

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: have lift &,the staff friendly

Disliked: one day the temperature is 42 but the fan had much dust so that the fan cannot work. Also, the bunk bed is not easy for going up and down.Third~toilet is horrible

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ciaran Kelly

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 January 2013

Liked: Room was adequate and reasonably clean.

Disliked: no internet/wifi at all. Deposits required for kitchen ware including a cup. had to queue for ages before and after each meal. Kitchen was chaotic and a free for all. not much by way of facilities or nice commmom areas. generally shabby.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Granine Flynn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2013 Granine would recommend this property

Liked: When looking for a place to stay in Sydney, to be honest, I took the first place that came along and noted a couple of slightly bad comments on this place. Well, I have to say the 2 staff I dealt with were brilliant,very very helpful. The cleanliness was excellent and the location couldn't have been better. I'll definitly stay there next time I'm in Sydney. 10 out of 10.

Disliked: Granine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Demlan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 January 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: I had a stellar experience at the hostel. The staff are super friendly and helpfull, and the pubcrawl was an absolute success. Thanks Steve!

Disliked: Nothing

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Soren Rodrigues

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 January 2013

Liked: Nothing! The place is abandoned, there is no one looking after the building. there are drunk people everywhere, and is really noisy. the price is so expensive for the rabbish they offer. Bastards, Robers and Opportunists.

Disliked: Everything! They charge you for 20 dollars for key deposit? Which Key and What for? and also they charge you + 10 dollars for cutlers and cups... Have a heart!

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013

Liked: The location is good. Between King's Cross and CBD. The neighborhood is quiet so you can sleep better than in King's Cross. The hotel offers a free transportation from the airport.

Disliked: At almost a hundred dollars per night this is easily the most expensive dorm bed I've ever paid for. For that price I would expect the toilets to be cleaner or at least have some soap left. The hotel offers a shuttle bus service to the airport that is cheaper than public transport, but if you're more than two, it's cheaper to take a taxi (30 dollars daytime). I waited for the shuttle bus but it didn't show up. The reception kept convincing me that it's just late. Make sure the reception calls the driver beforehand! They didn't call before it was too late and I had to take a taxi.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sharlee Kongda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2013 Sharlee would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city, cleaner than I expected and the staff were nice. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing - good value

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sue Clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

07 January 2013 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean sheets, security and room checks, lots of showers and toilets with loads of hot water. They have a great cafe to eat at

Disliked: Very social so gets noisy at night although they attempt to control within the hostel but many guests go outside and noise drifts up to rooms.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Piotr Gawron

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: quite cheap

Disliked: Wi-fi was broken and it was not temporarily - I visited this place two weeks later and it was still broken. Doors to rooms were "broken" - in one room it didn't close (if not forced :)) in another it closes with loud slumming that could awake everybody in a room...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lara Bolesch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the big lockers (up to 2 per person), the matrasses, many toilets and bathrooms, good location

Disliked: Sometimes the floors were quite dirty, the kitchen is small, no Wifi at all, the rooms were a little too small

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Myriam GARCIA

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2013

Liked: close to the city

Disliked: Too big backpackers and no quiet. It's good for people who want only be in parties. But finally, you can't really kmow the others because it's big and not very friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johannes Oerskov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Short distance to both kings cross and the city center. Good clean bathrooms and a friendly staff.

Disliked: Room was not very clean. Not very good beds.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jennifer Harper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013

Liked: The only good thing about this hostel was the lovely cafe next to it!

Disliked: This hostel is disgusting...i was there for 6 nights (i tried to leave early & lose the money i had paid but unfortunately couldnt find anywhere as it was over the New Year period) & saw my room hoovered once; if you call it a hoover. The toilets & showers on each level were disgusting; they claimed they cleaned them every day but these hadnt been cleaned for a very long time; it was a gamble every time you went in about what you were going to find. The kitchen; i only used it to fill my water bottle. The surfaces & tables where you ate again were disgusting, god knows when they were last cleaned. I spent my entire stay away from the place. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Bergerson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, very quiet (we were on the 3rd floor - it is a little noisier on the lower floors), walking distance to the city center, quite helpful stuff

Disliked: Nothing - good value:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.Safe&secure.Helpful friendly staff.Clean spacuous rooms .Good value for money

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Marco Campe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012

Liked: I liked that the hostel is located at the border of the city but its still close enough to walk anywhere. The botanic garden is great to relax. People staying in this hostel are not as messy as you might expect in the centre.

Disliked: Well, only 1 out of 3 showers worked; also only 1 out of 3 toilets could be used (flush did not work but people still used it, BIG mess / light did not work no way to use the toilet when door shut). No free kitchen equipment without deposit. Very annoying to always ask for pots and plates whenever you want to cook.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antonio Villaverde

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a lot of character did fun people, definitely go to the cafe/bar for a good time and good prices.

Disliked: Not much really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jyrki Soini

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2012 Jyrki would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time in this hostel! Great bar down stairs, it is pretty crowded in evenings which is great. It is in a great location.

Disliked: No

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanne Lindsay

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2012 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location and it is cheap & clean & convenient.

Disliked: A little noisy at night - bring ear plugs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nic Economa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Nic would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff chilled atmosphere easy to meet people

Disliked: No major issues

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danilo Raxenidis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: A cheap alternative for staying in Sydney. Clean, though a bit old. Definitely recommended for budged travelers.

Disliked: No wifi


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels