We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

67.9% Overall Rating

327 out of 453 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

Alisa Sergiienko thinks…

"Its a great place to stay while ur journey to the wonderful city of Sydney, located in the centre of the city, so u can easily get to any city attraction. hostels stuff was very friendly, prices…"

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
22.71 USD

Hostel 51.0% 310 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 84.9% 10 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 67.7% 34 reviews
Asylum Sydney
26.20 USD

Hostel 80.6% 337 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
26.20 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Kanga House
26.20 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
13.10 USD

Hostel 73.9% 475 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.9%

Overall Rating

327 out of 453 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 383 of 426 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giulio Bersani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Giulio would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, i met awesome people there. Near everywhere. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: Had to get kitchen pots from reception

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Mackay

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 February 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Social hostel, clean sheets, toilets separate from showers, heaps of hot water

Disliked: Busy kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Milo Bornet

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 January 2013 Milo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and a great bar downstairs. Met a lot of nice people here. Showers and rooms relatively clean.

Disliked: No WIFI

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Karl Sieveking

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Above Average Hostel, not the best common area, relatively clean, girl at the reception was very helpful

Disliked: Road side rooms a bit noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Houlihan

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 January 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay. Great location, felt safe and comfortable the whole time. Would totally go again

Disliked: Not much

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Cooper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

31 January 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really good, the atmosphere is great and all members of the staff are really cool. Totally recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Gracie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Cafe at the end of the building – particularly pizza nite, heaps of social events, friendly vibe, price cheap for Sydney and good location.

Disliked: Roof only opened at certain times:(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, nice. Staff was very helpful. The location is fantastic. I would come again when visiting Sydney for few days...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martine Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Martine would recommend this property

Liked: Location is easy to get to and property is very very affordable. Hostel was cleaner than some other reviews indicated....great pressure and warmth in the showers :)

Disliked: No wifi...but staff told me where to get free

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

MARQUIS Pélagie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 MARQUIS would recommend this property

Liked: Place

Disliked: Kitchen is verry Dirty

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Marisela Flores

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013

Liked: Nothing much.

Disliked: No free food and everything was pretty old and dirty, it was far and secluded from downtown and even The Rocks area. Far from grocery store. Location is NOT the greatest. I would definitely stay at a closer hostel for sure! This is not worth it especially if you're a walker.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: NO INTERNET ! Some shower broken Toaster broken Dirty Loud Staff no friendly Evering outdated, dilapided

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013

Liked: I didn't like anything

Disliked: This was the most awful hostel experience I've ever had. When we arrived there were people just loitering outside which gave me an uneasy feeling. Our room was dark and dingy. There was garbage all over the floor, it looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time. At night there were mosquitoes in the room. People were also playing really loud music all night and talking loudly outside the hostel. The rules of no noise past 10pm are not enforced. People were rolling joints in the room and playing drinking games with no consideration of others. The staff don't enforce the rules and that's why they are broken. If you needed kitchen equipment you have to sign it out and put down a deposit. Very inconvenient. There was no storage space in the kitchen for non-refrigerated items so you basically have to keep your food in your room. This encourages cockroaches coming upstairs!!!! Overall terrible

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013

Liked: Location was okay.

Disliked: It was filthy. We have stayed in many hostels throughout South America and New Zealand, this was our first Australian hostel and we both agreed that it was the worst place we've ever stayed in. Where to start? 1. No WiFi or internet access so spent a fortune in Starbucks. 2. The kitchen was disgusting, no one is made to clean up after themselves, there are filthy dishes, dirty surfaces, overflowing bins and cockroaches. You have to give in your key card to get the limited supply of kitchen equipment.(Which you have to wash again as they aren't very clean). 3. The dinning room is strewn with rubbish and old garden furniture. 4. Had to use flip flops to stand in shower, they weren't cleaned in the 3 days we were there. (How do I know this? Lets just say I saw some disgusting things that weren't cleaned). Toilets weren't any better, hairs all over sinks, filthy floors over flowing bins. 5. Bedrooms had doors that didn't close properly, they were dusty and you had to ask for pillows and sheets. Our room had no air con although some do. 6. Guests clean to get free accommodation so they come into your room in the morning to empty your bin, even if you have a private room. We felt we had to keep our stuff locked up at all times. 7. Luggage storage room is left open, anyone can wander in and out, what's to stop them going through your stuff? That's just some of our issues. Our advice is to up your budget and stay elsewhere!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Eveline Henquet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013

Liked: The goog location

Disliked: The dirty bathrooms and toilets

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: have lift &,the staff friendly

Disliked: one day the temperature is 42 but the fan had much dust so that the fan cannot work. Also, the bunk bed is not easy for going up and down.Third~toilet is horrible

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ciaran Kelly

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 January 2013

Liked: Room was adequate and reasonably clean.

Disliked: no internet/wifi at all. Deposits required for kitchen ware including a cup. had to queue for ages before and after each meal. Kitchen was chaotic and a free for all. not much by way of facilities or nice commmom areas. generally shabby.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Granine Flynn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2013 Granine would recommend this property

Liked: When looking for a place to stay in Sydney, to be honest, I took the first place that came along and noted a couple of slightly bad comments on this place. Well, I have to say the 2 staff I dealt with were brilliant,very very helpful. The cleanliness was excellent and the location couldn't have been better. I'll definitly stay there next time I'm in Sydney. 10 out of 10.

Disliked: Granine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Demlan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 January 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: I had a stellar experience at the hostel. The staff are super friendly and helpfull, and the pubcrawl was an absolute success. Thanks Steve!

Disliked: Nothing

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Soren Rodrigues

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 January 2013

Liked: Nothing! The place is abandoned, there is no one looking after the building. there are drunk people everywhere, and is really noisy. the price is so expensive for the rabbish they offer. Bastards, Robers and Opportunists.

Disliked: Everything! They charge you for 20 dollars for key deposit? Which Key and What for? and also they charge you + 10 dollars for cutlers and cups... Have a heart!

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013

Liked: The location is good. Between King's Cross and CBD. The neighborhood is quiet so you can sleep better than in King's Cross. The hotel offers a free transportation from the airport.

Disliked: At almost a hundred dollars per night this is easily the most expensive dorm bed I've ever paid for. For that price I would expect the toilets to be cleaner or at least have some soap left. The hotel offers a shuttle bus service to the airport that is cheaper than public transport, but if you're more than two, it's cheaper to take a taxi (30 dollars daytime). I waited for the shuttle bus but it didn't show up. The reception kept convincing me that it's just late. Make sure the reception calls the driver beforehand! They didn't call before it was too late and I had to take a taxi.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sharlee Kongda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2013 Sharlee would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city, cleaner than I expected and the staff were nice. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing - good value

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sue Clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

07 January 2013 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean sheets, security and room checks, lots of showers and toilets with loads of hot water. They have a great cafe to eat at

Disliked: Very social so gets noisy at night although they attempt to control within the hostel but many guests go outside and noise drifts up to rooms.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Piotr Gawron

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: quite cheap

Disliked: Wi-fi was broken and it was not temporarily - I visited this place two weeks later and it was still broken. Doors to rooms were "broken" - in one room it didn't close (if not forced :)) in another it closes with loud slumming that could awake everybody in a room...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lara Bolesch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the big lockers (up to 2 per person), the matrasses, many toilets and bathrooms, good location

Disliked: Sometimes the floors were quite dirty, the kitchen is small, no Wifi at all, the rooms were a little too small


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels