HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney Sydney Hostel

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 65%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.58USD
  • Towel 3.86USD

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2015 to 4 January 2016 there are special booking conditions.
2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights.
3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December.
4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed.
5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period.



In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 65%

Value 69%

Showing 41-50 of 69 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff at the front counter were absolutely wonderful along with all the people i met staying at the hostel. A very nice, welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: Probably the worst nights sleep I have ever had. The bunk beds screamed in screeches every time you took a breathe or moved even slightly. There was also non-stop partying outside my window from the moment the sun went down to sunrise. I felt like I was lying in the middle of a house party, trying to get to sleep. The toilets are literally a joke, worse than public toilets in ghetto parks.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Cheap (in all senses..)

Disliked: Dirty, hot. We couldn't get any pots when we wanted to cook, kitchen & communal areas overcrowded, staff not very friendly/helpful. Wifi often did not work. We booked a private room with TV and the TV did not work!

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: cleanliess

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at this hostel

Disliked: There was a light that was not working in one of the toilets besides that all good.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing it is a really bad place and i won't suggest it to anyone

Disliked: it is dirty , uncomfortable , the beds are old and destroyed , the doors are broken so you are not allowed to close the door , toilets are disgusting dirty and messy

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: CheapLocation

Disliked: UncleanUnhelpful staff

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The dorm I've inn it was nice and quiet big.

Disliked: Every time we needed to cook we had to get all the pots from reception!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Bon emplacement

Disliked: La porte de la chambre 3 ne ferme pas. Les cafards se baladent un peu partout dans la cuisine et le coin salle a manger.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free wifi worked without any problem! The staff in very friendly and helpfull! It's clean and fresh.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk down to centre, but the quality of the hostel makes it worth walking the 15 minutes it takes.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: cheapest place in sydney

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability