HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney Sydney Hostel

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 42%

Facilities 54%

Location 84%

Safety 58%

Staff 64%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.10USD
  • Towel 3.70USD

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2016 to 4 January 2017
there are special booking conditions.
2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights.
3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards
charged 1st December.
4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release
your bed.
5. Once paid, there will be no refunds, cancellations, changes or
transfers permitted for the New Year Period 2016-2017 .
6. We strongly recommend you take out travel insurance.

DORM ROOMS
When you book 2 or more dorm beds, we cannot guarantee that your entire
group can be in the same dorm room. Please book private room(s) if you
wish to secure that everyone in your group is going to be in the same
room.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 42%

Facilities 54%

Location 84%

Safety 58%

Staff 64%

Value 63%

Showing 31-40 of 45 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location, big room, big kitchen, free individual kitchen utensils, free lockers, free WiFi.

Disliked: Hot water in shower disappears sometimes, WiFi only on the ground floor, cockroaches appear sometimes, if your window leads to the same side as the entrance you're always a passive smoker even with closed window, sometimes people from the street go in and ask "do you know when can I buy pot?" even on the third level.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good ambiance

Disliked: Si durty

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: On board cafe

Disliked: Insects

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, cheap & cafe!

Disliked: Kitchen was really busy so I had to wait.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The friendliness of the reception staff was the only thing that saved thid place.

Disliked: I know this is cheap accommodation but that doesnt mean basic rules of cleanliness should be broken. Bathrooms were disgustimg and roaches were everywhere throughout the building. And my food was stolen out of thr fridge within hours.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Cheap, friendly.

Disliked: Dirty.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Location was really good

Disliked: Enough if you want to party and don't care about dirt and noise, but it wasn't for me. On top of that staff wasn't too helpful (might be because of overall insufficient management)

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: 1.good person and a part of staff2.when I check in,I can use lift to move my luggage.

Disliked: 1.If someone already clean,it’s average cleane. But it is dirty most of time .2.When I check out ,lift not working. I went downstairs with big luggage.it’s so hard. But other housemate help me fortunately.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: TV has good channels Staff are friendly BYO LIVELY

Disliked: Wifi not working A few bugs in the kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location and really cheap as well. Nice Rooms and good matrass. You just can not expect to much for the price..

Disliked: They had 4 toilets, 1 was puked all over, 1 had no lock, 1 had nowhere to sit on and the last one had no light (on 1th floor) !!! The water was not working in the bathroom and it was absolutly discusting! WIFI is really bad, works most of the time not.. Can not expect to much for the price but at leased a working toilet was nice!

Check Availability