We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

64.0% Overall Rating

335 out of 470 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2015)

Aline de Wit thinks…

"Location, cheap, clean room, cafe has very cheap and very good food, free wifi, lift to 3rd floor:)"

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.73
  • Towel USD 3.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
14.07 USD

Hostel 45.9% 319 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
16.42 USD

Hostel 83.0% 29 reviews
Nate's Place Backpackers
16.42 USD

Hostel 76.3% 42 reviews
Asylum Sydney
14.07 USD

Hostel 78.7% 341 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
21.11 USD

Hostel 85.9% 734 reviews
Kanga House
21.89 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
19.54 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
13.29 USD

Hostel 75.5% 489 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.0%

Overall Rating

335 out of 470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
41.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
68.0%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 393 of 441 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013

Liked: Location close enough to city but not much else

Disliked: Not value for money when money and people's things got stolen the week and a half I was there. Not a safe and secure hostel at all, security camera in kitchen doesn't even work, door lock to mixed dorm was broken, even had people stealing my food that was in a bag I was forced to buy because food gets thrown away if it isn't in cooler bag. Not enough showers 1 out of 3 on one floor broke and quite dirty. People staying in this hostel act like children running around throwing water at each other and having pillow fights. If you go hopefully you'll have different guests but better to go elsewhere I wish I had.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location, 24hr reception.

Disliked: Old.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

John shayegh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013

Liked: Cheap place and good distance for walking around and seeing the city.

Disliked: This is totally a party hostel. The atmosphere is one of a squat with peoples attitudes and deinking/sleeping habits. It's fairly clean, but basic, toilets are ok. I didn't feel comfortable there of course but I wasnt in a getting wasted mood, I was in sydney for one night and just wanted to see stuff have a bit of a chat then sleep. Sleep did jot happen 6 out of 7 people in my dorm went downstairs to drink each coming back at various points throughout the night loudly. Also drinks outside loudly, the hostel encourages this atmosphere. Its damp, my stuff and myself were sodden and muggy and there are tons of mosquitos also the door was broken so always open and people wandered in and out, friends etc of people in the dorm. If you wanna party then its good,if not then avoid, pay a euro or two more and stay somewhere else. I wont be back.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cheap pick-up service

Disliked: No wifi in this backapckers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlane Highbury

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Charlane would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at this hostel! The staff were very friendly and accommodating and I met some great people who were also staying in the hostel. The hostel was clean and has a great bar downstairs if you don;t want to cook.

Disliked: Only negatives is there is no wifi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really clean,the hostel itself is big so we almost didnt see other people,except the kitchen. Very good location - close to cbd,parks,restaurants.

Disliked: Only 1 of 3 showers was good,there was no light in one of the toilets (is it really that difficult to change the light bulb?). they advertised event as free but actually they were not free (or free untill 10pm when meeting at the hostel is 10:15).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good location, has a nice atmosphere, and the staff were super helpful.

Disliked: The door to our room didn't lock, but it had good lockers inside so it was a minor issue.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013

Liked: Centre of city, easy to get to . Large lockable storage in room, space to hang clothing in here as well.

Disliked: I stayed in a double room . (306) Glass in window was broken and held together with cello tape, I was worried it would fall apart when I opened and closed it . Kitchen was very dirty, other travellers did not clean after themselves and left food spills and rubbish everywhere. Showers ran cold then boiling hot very quickly, very difficult to have a proper wash. We ended up showering elsewhere. Front door should be swipe key entry, only once during my stay here it was closed, the rest of the time the door was propped open so no security entrance. Hostel full of mozzies, I have been travelling for two months and not been bitten once, but after first night woke up to over 25 bites on my hands, arms , and back. Spoke with reception who bug sprayed room but she said was an ongoing problem and she too had this problem in her room . Hostel provide pillow and sheet on arrival. I asked for a blanket and only had one left , so had to share in our twin room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ian Harvey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: Once you find it it is pretty close to everywhere you would want to go. Not bad value for money. The building itself is excellent.

Disliked: Mostly that it was filthy, there are lots of volunteers "working" there but kitchen facilities and bathrooms were pretty bad..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is excelent ,exept cooking facilities. Gets to many people trying to cook.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the low budget cost and the atmosphere.

Disliked: All good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, close to main city attractions, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vicktoria Rich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 April 2013 Vicktoria would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful and 24 hour reception good. Hostel has friendly vibe and the cafe on the ground floor has yummy food and does night time specials. Gardens opposite nice change to cramped city but very close to everything.

Disliked: Kitchen get super busy and no WIFI.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

NANAMI SUZUKI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 NANAMI would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was so confortable. And I could stay there only $23. It's so cheap!!!

Disliked: The bathroom was so dirty. Who wants to use that one? There are so many dust. I didn't use it.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Esther Felten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the centre and the price was good

Disliked: some of the staff were unfriendly and didn't explain much. The cleaning people were not so efficient

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013

Liked: I met a lot of nice people

Disliked: I know it is a cheap hostel and I am not very picky when it comes to simple hostels. But having this in mind, the bathrooms were still very dirty and lacked of ventilation, the beds are infested with flees and the showers are falling apart. Also, the prices offered at the hostel are lower as announced on hostelbookers.com

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Judd McPherson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Judd would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap for a night, clean rooms and sheets.

Disliked: No locks on a few of the bathroom doors, right next to construction so it was quite noisy in the morning. Kitchen was dirty.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location and the staff were on the desk 24 hours - that is probably the most helpful thing a hostel can do!

Disliked: Dirty walls and carpets but then that's the same with every hostel i've been to.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 March 2013

Liked: Not a bad location.

Disliked: Doors either couldn't be locked due to door not having handle or were left open at night. Very easy to walk in off the street in to hostel late at night. Are not given blanket, only sheet and thin pillow. Safe offer average and unenthusiastic service. Basin leaking all over floor in downstairs toilet. Very unclean everywhere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Freja Holm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2013 Freja would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly atmosphere, helpful staff. Rooms were fairly tidy for 8 bed dorm with locker space. Bathrooms were also clean for # guests using them. Good price for location. Bar on ground floor has very good nightly specials. Eat in cafe - forget busy kitchen!

Disliked: There were a few things - no wifi, very busy kitchen, small common space BUT for the price not an issue.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jessica O'Keefe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 March 2013

Liked: The only good things really about this hostel are it is very cheap (we paid 140 dollars for a week in an 8 bed dorm) and the location wasn't too bad either with a 15 minute walk to cbd and 10 minute walk from supermarket.

Disliked: There is really not a friendly atmosphere going around this place, people generally keep to themselves and get annoyed at others for little things. Although not the hostels fault, our room was definately not friendly. The kitchen is worse than at any hostel i've been to, bugs all over the place and nothing feels that clean at all.. I felt a little anxious eating at a table there. Also, every hostel I've been to so far has 24hour reception whereas every hour there seems to be a 15 minute break as well as half hour shift switch over three times a day I found it hard to get hold of anyone most times that i wanted to which makes life difficult as every time you want to cook you have to put a deposit down for pans, plates etc. I wouldn't reccomend it.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Siri Crebbin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Siri would recommend this property

Liked: Bar downstair was a great place to meet people. Kitchen was small and always crowded but that's not a big deal.

Disliked: Siri left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lovisa Larsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013

Liked: That it was pretty cheap and pretty close to Hyepark

Disliked: Pretty off even tho its not far for walking, you just don't wanna walk there by yourself in the middle of the night. Lot of things were broken there as bathroom locks, lights and stuff. And there was never any soap.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Washing and toilet facilities were very clean during our stay, noise levels were reasonable for this type of accommodation.

Disliked: Poor quality of mattress on bed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: roof terrace was shut when we were staying there.

The property's response is...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels