We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

67.9% Overall Rating

327 out of 453 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

Alisa Sergiienko thinks…

"Its a great place to stay while ur journey to the wonderful city of Sydney, located in the centre of the city, so u can easily get to any city attraction. hostels stuff was very friendly, prices…"

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
19.21 USD

Hostel 48.8% 312 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
17.47 USD

Hostel 85.1% 13 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
17.47 USD

Hostel 67.7% 34 reviews
Asylum Sydney
27.95 USD

Hostel 80.6% 337 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Kanga House
34.93 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
13.10 USD

Hostel 73.9% 478 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.9%

Overall Rating

327 out of 453 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 383 of 426 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hanna van Hooff

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2013 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place, good bed, good shower and offer a good dinner with a good price in ground cafe

Disliked: a shower block was closed for repairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anja Thiede

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

27 May 2013 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Hot shower, warm and new dooner :), close to city center, bar and friendly staff. Will stay again.

Disliked: Some noisy guests ...but that is hardly fault of hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013

Liked: Not very much

Disliked: It was very loud, the toilets were disgusting and there same to be more things broken than working.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Ang

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 May 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location - it is near very city center. I also liked the price. They are also using cards instead of keys.

Disliked: It would be nice to have some kind of balcony for smokers, so we dont have to go out on the street

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Linda Davidson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 May 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: The linen in the room was clean. Staff were friendly and very eager to help you as much as they can. Other guests were also friendly. I would stay again:)

Disliked: A few bathrooms being repaired.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was close to the harbor and the business center

Disliked: The bathrooms were pretty horrible, dirty, out of order and/or backed up and it didn't seem like they were in any hurry to clean them up.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013

Liked: Location is very strategic, near to St James train station

Disliked: Doesn't provide proper blankets and is very cold during winter Some of the bathroom door can't be locked Shared 4 dorm room but guest brought outsider to sleep which means there are 6 people in the room which is very noisy (couple shagging each other) Can hear construction noise which start during mid night Pillow is very thin and dirty Observed coackroach in the kitchen crawling on the table top

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean just enough, and very social environment, excellent location (5 min from city center) and facilities for the price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Scarlet Sonnensein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 May 2013 Scarlet would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay for young backpackers. The staff are friendly, it's quite close to the city center, very cheap, and has a great bar on ground floor.

Disliked: Usual issues with shared living - busy kitchen, guests being grots and not cleaning up after themselves!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Leonard Hawellek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013

Liked: cheap and looks nice from the outside

Disliked: extremely dirty, stealing people, not enough space in the kitchen, staff not very helpful, toilets and showers not working...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty close to the park, train station and other central locations.

Disliked: The employees at the reception desk really did not know much about the area or Sydney to be honest. The customer service was horrible. We (3 young girls after dark) asked where the closest liquor store was and reception directed us into an extremely dangerous area, with homeless people, junkies, and drug dealers. We were hassled multiple times on the side walk and followed, therefore had resort to taking a taxi back to a safer area. We ended up finding a liquor store and found a safe, well lit, shorter direction back to the hostel. Pretty fumed about that.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Helyn Long

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Helyn would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure, nice and quiet on sleeping floors, clean, staff really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Wee bit out of the way for the ferries etc. but that's not really much of an issue - just an up hill walk.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Daniel Bergsnes

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2013

Liked: It was cheap and many backpackers party here

Disliked: I don't know where to start, it was horrible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

christine lee

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 April 2013 christine would recommend this property

Liked: extra pillows and linens were provided for free, and because deposit for pots and pans were required people generally cleaned up after themselves. the staff cleaned the toilet and kitchen every day and also transport service to and fro airport was very helpful.

Disliked: party people every night, noise and drinking scenes were not very appreciated.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013

Liked: The location was good as it was only a ten minute walk to George street and the centre of Sydney.

Disliked: The hostel was unclean and needed major refuebishments. Two toilets on the floor I was on were broken for the three days along with one shower and there seemed to me no sign of fixing them. The staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly and spent most of their time away from the reception instead of at it when advertised as a 24 hour reception service. The music in the hostel continued all night here and there seemed to be nobody running it efficiently. I have stayed in many other backpacker hostels before and most allow music in a certain part of the hostel ending at a certain time.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013

Liked: Location close enough to city but not much else

Disliked: Not value for money when money and people's things got stolen the week and a half I was there. Not a safe and secure hostel at all, security camera in kitchen doesn't even work, door lock to mixed dorm was broken, even had people stealing my food that was in a bag I was forced to buy because food gets thrown away if it isn't in cooler bag. Not enough showers 1 out of 3 on one floor broke and quite dirty. People staying in this hostel act like children running around throwing water at each other and having pillow fights. If you go hopefully you'll have different guests but better to go elsewhere I wish I had.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location, 24hr reception.

Disliked: Old.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

John shayegh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013

Liked: Cheap place and good distance for walking around and seeing the city.

Disliked: This is totally a party hostel. The atmosphere is one of a squat with peoples attitudes and deinking/sleeping habits. It's fairly clean, but basic, toilets are ok. I didn't feel comfortable there of course but I wasnt in a getting wasted mood, I was in sydney for one night and just wanted to see stuff have a bit of a chat then sleep. Sleep did jot happen 6 out of 7 people in my dorm went downstairs to drink each coming back at various points throughout the night loudly. Also drinks outside loudly, the hostel encourages this atmosphere. Its damp, my stuff and myself were sodden and muggy and there are tons of mosquitos also the door was broken so always open and people wandered in and out, friends etc of people in the dorm. If you wanna party then its good,if not then avoid, pay a euro or two more and stay somewhere else. I wont be back.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cheap pick-up service

Disliked: No wifi in this backapckers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlane Highbury

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Charlane would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at this hostel! The staff were very friendly and accommodating and I met some great people who were also staying in the hostel. The hostel was clean and has a great bar downstairs if you don;t want to cook.

Disliked: Only negatives is there is no wifi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really clean,the hostel itself is big so we almost didnt see other people,except the kitchen. Very good location - close to cbd,parks,restaurants.

Disliked: Only 1 of 3 showers was good,there was no light in one of the toilets (is it really that difficult to change the light bulb?). they advertised event as free but actually they were not free (or free untill 10pm when meeting at the hostel is 10:15).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good location, has a nice atmosphere, and the staff were super helpful.

Disliked: The door to our room didn't lock, but it had good lockers inside so it was a minor issue.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013

Liked: Centre of city, easy to get to . Large lockable storage in room, space to hang clothing in here as well.

Disliked: I stayed in a double room . (306) Glass in window was broken and held together with cello tape, I was worried it would fall apart when I opened and closed it . Kitchen was very dirty, other travellers did not clean after themselves and left food spills and rubbish everywhere. Showers ran cold then boiling hot very quickly, very difficult to have a proper wash. We ended up showering elsewhere. Front door should be swipe key entry, only once during my stay here it was closed, the rest of the time the door was propped open so no security entrance. Hostel full of mozzies, I have been travelling for two months and not been bitten once, but after first night woke up to over 25 bites on my hands, arms , and back. Spoke with reception who bug sprayed room but she said was an ongoing problem and she too had this problem in her room . Hostel provide pillow and sheet on arrival. I asked for a blanket and only had one left , so had to share in our twin room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ian Harvey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: Once you find it it is pretty close to everywhere you would want to go. Not bad value for money. The building itself is excellent.

Disliked: Mostly that it was filthy, there are lots of volunteers "working" there but kitchen facilities and bathrooms were pretty bad..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is excelent ,exept cooking facilities. Gets to many people trying to cook.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels