HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

59.1% Overall Rating

318 out of 440 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

CHEN YEN JIUN thinks…

"1.good person and a part of staff 2.when I check in,I can use lift to move my luggage."

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

For bookings between 27 Dec 2012 – 5 Jan 2013: Please note that Elephant Sydney will contact you directly to process the remaining amount owing for your booking. They will charge the credit card used to make the booking one month prior to your arrival date. They will confirm the booking following this payment. Please note that payments made are non refundable and that bookings made are non transferable. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
21.46 USD

Hostel 52.5% 304 reviews
Australian Backpackers
20.53 USD

Hostel 56.0% 49 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
20.53 USD

Hostel 68.5% 32 reviews
Sydney G'Day Backpackers
18.66 USD

Hostel 65.6% 239 reviews
Asylum Sydney
26.12 USD

Hostel 79.0% 330 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.19 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Kanga House
27.99 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.33 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.1%

Overall Rating

318 out of 440 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 414 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Helyn Long

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Helyn would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure, nice and quiet on sleeping floors, clean, staff really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Wee bit out of the way for the ferries etc. but that's not really much of an issue - just an up hill walk.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Daniel Bergsnes

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2013

Liked: It was cheap and many backpackers party here

Disliked: I don't know where to start, it was horrible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

christine lee

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 April 2013 christine would recommend this property

Liked: extra pillows and linens were provided for free, and because deposit for pots and pans were required people generally cleaned up after themselves. the staff cleaned the toilet and kitchen every day and also transport service to and fro airport was very helpful.

Disliked: party people every night, noise and drinking scenes were not very appreciated.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013

Liked: The location was good as it was only a ten minute walk to George street and the centre of Sydney.

Disliked: The hostel was unclean and needed major refuebishments. Two toilets on the floor I was on were broken for the three days along with one shower and there seemed to me no sign of fixing them. The staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly and spent most of their time away from the reception instead of at it when advertised as a 24 hour reception service. The music in the hostel continued all night here and there seemed to be nobody running it efficiently. I have stayed in many other backpacker hostels before and most allow music in a certain part of the hostel ending at a certain time.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013

Liked: Location close enough to city but not much else

Disliked: Not value for money when money and people's things got stolen the week and a half I was there. Not a safe and secure hostel at all, security camera in kitchen doesn't even work, door lock to mixed dorm was broken, even had people stealing my food that was in a bag I was forced to buy because food gets thrown away if it isn't in cooler bag. Not enough showers 1 out of 3 on one floor broke and quite dirty. People staying in this hostel act like children running around throwing water at each other and having pillow fights. If you go hopefully you'll have different guests but better to go elsewhere I wish I had.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location, 24hr reception.

Disliked: Old.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

John shayegh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013

Liked: Cheap place and good distance for walking around and seeing the city.

Disliked: This is totally a party hostel. The atmosphere is one of a squat with peoples attitudes and deinking/sleeping habits. It's fairly clean, but basic, toilets are ok. I didn't feel comfortable there of course but I wasnt in a getting wasted mood, I was in sydney for one night and just wanted to see stuff have a bit of a chat then sleep. Sleep did jot happen 6 out of 7 people in my dorm went downstairs to drink each coming back at various points throughout the night loudly. Also drinks outside loudly, the hostel encourages this atmosphere. Its damp, my stuff and myself were sodden and muggy and there are tons of mosquitos also the door was broken so always open and people wandered in and out, friends etc of people in the dorm. If you wanna party then its good,if not then avoid, pay a euro or two more and stay somewhere else. I wont be back.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cheap pick-up service

Disliked: No wifi in this backapckers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlane Highbury

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Charlane would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at this hostel! The staff were very friendly and accommodating and I met some great people who were also staying in the hostel. The hostel was clean and has a great bar downstairs if you don;t want to cook.

Disliked: Only negatives is there is no wifi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really clean,the hostel itself is big so we almost didnt see other people,except the kitchen. Very good location - close to cbd,parks,restaurants.

Disliked: Only 1 of 3 showers was good,there was no light in one of the toilets (is it really that difficult to change the light bulb?). they advertised event as free but actually they were not free (or free untill 10pm when meeting at the hostel is 10:15).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good location, has a nice atmosphere, and the staff were super helpful.

Disliked: The door to our room didn't lock, but it had good lockers inside so it was a minor issue.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013

Liked: Centre of city, easy to get to . Large lockable storage in room, space to hang clothing in here as well.

Disliked: I stayed in a double room . (306) Glass in window was broken and held together with cello tape, I was worried it would fall apart when I opened and closed it . Kitchen was very dirty, other travellers did not clean after themselves and left food spills and rubbish everywhere. Showers ran cold then boiling hot very quickly, very difficult to have a proper wash. We ended up showering elsewhere. Front door should be swipe key entry, only once during my stay here it was closed, the rest of the time the door was propped open so no security entrance. Hostel full of mozzies, I have been travelling for two months and not been bitten once, but after first night woke up to over 25 bites on my hands, arms , and back. Spoke with reception who bug sprayed room but she said was an ongoing problem and she too had this problem in her room . Hostel provide pillow and sheet on arrival. I asked for a blanket and only had one left , so had to share in our twin room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ian Harvey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: Once you find it it is pretty close to everywhere you would want to go. Not bad value for money. The building itself is excellent.

Disliked: Mostly that it was filthy, there are lots of volunteers "working" there but kitchen facilities and bathrooms were pretty bad..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is excelent ,exept cooking facilities. Gets to many people trying to cook.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the low budget cost and the atmosphere.

Disliked: All good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, close to main city attractions, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vicktoria Rich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 April 2013 Vicktoria would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful and 24 hour reception good. Hostel has friendly vibe and the cafe on the ground floor has yummy food and does night time specials. Gardens opposite nice change to cramped city but very close to everything.

Disliked: Kitchen get super busy and no WIFI.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

NANAMI SUZUKI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 NANAMI would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was so confortable. And I could stay there only $23. It's so cheap!!!

Disliked: The bathroom was so dirty. Who wants to use that one? There are so many dust. I didn't use it.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Esther Felten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the centre and the price was good

Disliked: some of the staff were unfriendly and didn't explain much. The cleaning people were not so efficient

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013

Liked: I met a lot of nice people

Disliked: I know it is a cheap hostel and I am not very picky when it comes to simple hostels. But having this in mind, the bathrooms were still very dirty and lacked of ventilation, the beds are infested with flees and the showers are falling apart. Also, the prices offered at the hostel are lower as announced on hostelbookers.com

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Judd McPherson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Judd would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap for a night, clean rooms and sheets.

Disliked: No locks on a few of the bathroom doors, right next to construction so it was quite noisy in the morning. Kitchen was dirty.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location and the staff were on the desk 24 hours - that is probably the most helpful thing a hostel can do!

Disliked: Dirty walls and carpets but then that's the same with every hostel i've been to.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 March 2013

Liked: Not a bad location.

Disliked: Doors either couldn't be locked due to door not having handle or were left open at night. Very easy to walk in off the street in to hostel late at night. Are not given blanket, only sheet and thin pillow. Safe offer average and unenthusiastic service. Basin leaking all over floor in downstairs toilet. Very unclean everywhere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Freja Holm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2013 Freja would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly atmosphere, helpful staff. Rooms were fairly tidy for 8 bed dorm with locker space. Bathrooms were also clean for # guests using them. Good price for location. Bar on ground floor has very good nightly specials. Eat in cafe - forget busy kitchen!

Disliked: There were a few things - no wifi, very busy kitchen, small common space BUT for the price not an issue.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jessica O'Keefe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 March 2013

Liked: The only good things really about this hostel are it is very cheap (we paid 140 dollars for a week in an 8 bed dorm) and the location wasn't too bad either with a 15 minute walk to cbd and 10 minute walk from supermarket.

Disliked: There is really not a friendly atmosphere going around this place, people generally keep to themselves and get annoyed at others for little things. Although not the hostels fault, our room was definately not friendly. The kitchen is worse than at any hostel i've been to, bugs all over the place and nothing feels that clean at all.. I felt a little anxious eating at a table there. Also, every hostel I've been to so far has 24hour reception whereas every hour there seems to be a 15 minute break as well as half hour shift switch over three times a day I found it hard to get hold of anyone most times that i wanted to which makes life difficult as every time you want to cook you have to put a deposit down for pans, plates etc. I wouldn't reccomend it.

The property's response is...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels