We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

66.5% Overall Rating

335 out of 468 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2015)

Aline de Wit thinks…

"Location, cheap, clean room, cafe has very cheap and very good food, free wifi, lift to 3rd floor:)"

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.72
  • Towel USD 3.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
14.06 USD

Hostel 45.6% 317 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
15.62 USD

Hostel 83.0% 29 reviews
Nate's Place Backpackers
16.41 USD

Hostel 74.1% 40 reviews
Asylum Sydney
21.87 USD

Hostel 78.7% 341 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
22.65 USD

Hostel 87.5% 730 reviews
Kanga House
21.87 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
22.65 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
13.28 USD

Hostel 71.9% 486 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.5%

Overall Rating

335 out of 468 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 392 of 439 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

26 February 2014

Liked: The guys who try to get you to go out as a group were really good!

Disliked: The doors did not lock and they messed up our booking and we had to move 3 times in four mornings! It was a shambles. We were made get up at 10 every morning and move to a new room but we had to hang around to check in at 2- they wouldn't let us do it there and then even though we were staying there!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the front counter were absolutely wonderful along with all the people i met staying at the hostel. A very nice, welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: Probably the worst nights sleep I have ever had. The bunk beds screamed in screeches every time you took a breathe or moved even slightly. There was also non-stop partying outside my window from the moment the sun went down to sunrise. I felt like I was lying in the middle of a house party, trying to get to sleep. The toilets are literally a joke, worse than public toilets in ghetto parks.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 February 2014

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: cleanliess

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014

Liked: Cheap (in all senses..)

Disliked: Dirty, hot. We couldn't get any pots when we wanted to cook, kitchen & communal areas overcrowded, staff not very friendly/helpful. Wifi often did not work. We booked a private room with TV and the TV did not work!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susan Hinds

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at this hostel

Disliked: There was a light that was not working in one of the toilets besides that all good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheapest place in sydney

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013

Liked: Cheap Location

Disliked: Unclean Unhelpful staff

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm I've inn it was nice and quiet big.

Disliked: Every time we needed to cook we had to get all the pots from reception!!!!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: nothing it is a really bad place and i won't suggest it to anyone

Disliked: it is dirty , uncomfortable , the beds are old and destroyed , the doors are broken so you are not allowed to close the door , toilets are disgusting dirty and messy

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Benyamina Lamri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2013 Benyamina would recommend this property

Liked: Bon emplacement

Disliked: La porte de la chambre 3 ne ferme pas. Les cafards se baladent un peu partout dans la cuisine et le coin salle a manger.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Pehrsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi worked without any problem! The staff in very friendly and helpfull! It's clean and fresh.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk down to centre, but the quality of the hostel makes it worth walking the 15 minutes it takes.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 September 2013

Liked: The location wasn't bad.

Disliked: The hostel was very dirty and most of the the basic things didn't work.It was also noisy and the door to our room was always open.It was also hot inside.One of my room mates was sleeping on the corridor floor,just outside our room door.We couldn't use the ventilator on the ceiling,because it was so strong,that we couln't sleep at all. The kitchen didn't have any kitchen utensils like pots,pans,plates etc. Everybody had to stand in the line to the reception to borrow one and after eating bring it back there,first waiting on the long line.The cloth to dry the dishes was so black and wet,that I thought it was for cleaning the floor !The refrigerator was so big that it was almost impossible to find one's own food.On the bottom there was a lot of water and rotten food stuff,awfull!! The stuff was very unfriendly.I asked where can I find a tourist information.In the reception the lady made a mark into my map,which was in the sea,outside the Opera House!There was any information place even close to that place.They just didn't wan't to give the right information.I felt the same with the buses.During my first days I always walked and was very tired,because in the hostel they didn't give the right information. I somehow felt I'm not in Australia,but somewhere in the Middle East.This was my worst hostel experience in so called developed countries.Because of that I got very depressed in Sydney,didn't enjoy my staying there and I lost many valuables.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Margaret Grove

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

31 July 2013 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the friendly sociable atmosphere at this hostel. Its also great having the cafe on site.

Disliked: you need to ask for all the kitchen accessories at reception and there is not free wi-fi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karl Blasche

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money! Location next to city center. Friendly hostel and staff very helpful. Bed was really comfy. Supermarket very close.

Disliked: Kitchen gets really busy and you have to line up at reception to get cooking things.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

matthew rose

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty, unsafe, noisy, decayed and the staff are worse than useless, every one.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Henri Chevalier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Henri would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very lived-in, typical hostel feel. The staff was friendly and helpful, as were some guests.

Disliked: No WIFI

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jonathan hirshowitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 July 2013 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: good young atmosphere, nice location right off the botanical garden. so in total i would its a great place to find fellow backpackers and a good time

Disliked: could do some better cleaning and soap in the bathroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly people

Disliked: dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bianca Minola

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing value, close to city, new supermarket just opened up the street, friendly staff and good vibe.

Disliked: No WIFI

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: The location was nice. The price initially seemed like a good deal. They had a well-supplied kitchen.

Disliked: The hostel was filthy. The door to our room didn't shut very easily. Out of 12 toilets, there were only 3 that locked and had working toilet and sink. I didn't even dare use the shower in such a filthy place. It was clearly advertised that there were blankets available 24-7, but there were none available for us when we requested them. We went to check in at 2:50, but had to wait until 3:30 until the shift change was done (we were told it would be done by 3:00).

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Matthew Stroh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 July 2013

Liked: It was one of the cheapest hostels I stayed at in all of Australia. Washer and dryers worked well, which is rare in hostels.

Disliked: First off, this place is extremely dirty. They say that the toilets are cleaned twice a day, but I doubt they were cleaned the entire time I was there. There was the same rotten apple core in the shower for days. Don't expect to get much sleep, the noise doesn't stop until 3am. I guess if you're in Sydney to party, you might be ok with that. It's not too far from the major Sydney attractions, but definitely farther than the 5 minutes that they advertise. And there is not much in the immediate vicinity, so expect to walk a bit to buy anything. They also take a 20 dollar key deposit from you when you get in, which is pretty standard. However, when I was leaving at 6:50, there was nobody there, only a sign on the reception door that said "Shift changeover. Back at 7." 20 dollars lost. Don't plan on having a shower. Some showers the water just drips out. Others have better pressure, but it is impossible to regulate the temperature on any of them. Expect either a cold or boiling shower, because it will take at least 10 minutes to be able to get the temperature bearable. Overall, this is probably the worst hostel that I have stayed at anywhere in the world. I would never stay there again, and I recommend paying a few dollars extra to stay somewhere near central station.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest I could find

Disliked: Not very clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price with good location and quite tidy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hei Lok Ha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2013 Hei Lok would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good price to live near city.

Disliked: Some Toilets are pretty dity and cannot flush.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sam Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013

Liked: Television in Double room

Disliked: Absolutely ghastly kitchen, greasy with dead bugs in drawers. Bathrooms were left with blocked toilets and no locks, Shower was a pitiful dribble. Appallingly low level of general cleanliness and cracking plaster on walls. Stains and bad odours around place. Bath caked in brown filith. Mattress was ancient and squeaky, basically bare springs. Lift went out of order.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels