We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

67.9% Overall Rating

327 out of 453 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

Alisa Sergiienko thinks…

"Its a great place to stay while ur journey to the wonderful city of Sydney, located in the centre of the city, so u can easily get to any city attraction. hostels stuff was very friendly, prices…"

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
21.02 USD

Hostel 51.0% 310 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
17.52 USD

Hostel 84.9% 10 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
21.90 USD

Hostel 67.7% 34 reviews
Asylum Sydney
26.28 USD

Hostel 80.6% 337 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
26.28 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Kanga House
26.28 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.90 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
14.89 USD

Hostel 73.9% 475 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.9%

Overall Rating

327 out of 453 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 383 of 426 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Benyamina Lamri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2013 Benyamina would recommend this property

Liked: Bon emplacement

Disliked: La porte de la chambre 3 ne ferme pas. Les cafards se baladent un peu partout dans la cuisine et le coin salle a manger.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Pehrsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi worked without any problem! The staff in very friendly and helpfull! It's clean and fresh.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk down to centre, but the quality of the hostel makes it worth walking the 15 minutes it takes.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 September 2013

Liked: The location wasn't bad.

Disliked: The hostel was very dirty and most of the the basic things didn't work.It was also noisy and the door to our room was always open.It was also hot inside.One of my room mates was sleeping on the corridor floor,just outside our room door.We couldn't use the ventilator on the ceiling,because it was so strong,that we couln't sleep at all. The kitchen didn't have any kitchen utensils like pots,pans,plates etc. Everybody had to stand in the line to the reception to borrow one and after eating bring it back there,first waiting on the long line.The cloth to dry the dishes was so black and wet,that I thought it was for cleaning the floor !The refrigerator was so big that it was almost impossible to find one's own food.On the bottom there was a lot of water and rotten food stuff,awfull!! The stuff was very unfriendly.I asked where can I find a tourist information.In the reception the lady made a mark into my map,which was in the sea,outside the Opera House!There was any information place even close to that place.They just didn't wan't to give the right information.I felt the same with the buses.During my first days I always walked and was very tired,because in the hostel they didn't give the right information. I somehow felt I'm not in Australia,but somewhere in the Middle East.This was my worst hostel experience in so called developed countries.Because of that I got very depressed in Sydney,didn't enjoy my staying there and I lost many valuables.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Margaret Grove

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

31 July 2013 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the friendly sociable atmosphere at this hostel. Its also great having the cafe on site.

Disliked: you need to ask for all the kitchen accessories at reception and there is not free wi-fi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karl Blasche

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money! Location next to city center. Friendly hostel and staff very helpful. Bed was really comfy. Supermarket very close.

Disliked: Kitchen gets really busy and you have to line up at reception to get cooking things.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

matthew rose

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty, unsafe, noisy, decayed and the staff are worse than useless, every one.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Henri Chevalier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Henri would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very lived-in, typical hostel feel. The staff was friendly and helpful, as were some guests.

Disliked: No WIFI

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jonathan hirshowitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 July 2013 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: good young atmosphere, nice location right off the botanical garden. so in total i would its a great place to find fellow backpackers and a good time

Disliked: could do some better cleaning and soap in the bathroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly people

Disliked: dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bianca Minola

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing value, close to city, new supermarket just opened up the street, friendly staff and good vibe.

Disliked: No WIFI

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: The location was nice. The price initially seemed like a good deal. They had a well-supplied kitchen.

Disliked: The hostel was filthy. The door to our room didn't shut very easily. Out of 12 toilets, there were only 3 that locked and had working toilet and sink. I didn't even dare use the shower in such a filthy place. It was clearly advertised that there were blankets available 24-7, but there were none available for us when we requested them. We went to check in at 2:50, but had to wait until 3:30 until the shift change was done (we were told it would be done by 3:00).

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Matthew Stroh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 July 2013

Liked: It was one of the cheapest hostels I stayed at in all of Australia. Washer and dryers worked well, which is rare in hostels.

Disliked: First off, this place is extremely dirty. They say that the toilets are cleaned twice a day, but I doubt they were cleaned the entire time I was there. There was the same rotten apple core in the shower for days. Don't expect to get much sleep, the noise doesn't stop until 3am. I guess if you're in Sydney to party, you might be ok with that. It's not too far from the major Sydney attractions, but definitely farther than the 5 minutes that they advertise. And there is not much in the immediate vicinity, so expect to walk a bit to buy anything. They also take a 20 dollar key deposit from you when you get in, which is pretty standard. However, when I was leaving at 6:50, there was nobody there, only a sign on the reception door that said "Shift changeover. Back at 7." 20 dollars lost. Don't plan on having a shower. Some showers the water just drips out. Others have better pressure, but it is impossible to regulate the temperature on any of them. Expect either a cold or boiling shower, because it will take at least 10 minutes to be able to get the temperature bearable. Overall, this is probably the worst hostel that I have stayed at anywhere in the world. I would never stay there again, and I recommend paying a few dollars extra to stay somewhere near central station.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest I could find

Disliked: Not very clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price with good location and quite tidy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hei Lok Ha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2013 Hei Lok would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good price to live near city.

Disliked: Some Toilets are pretty dity and cannot flush.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sam Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013

Liked: Television in Double room

Disliked: Absolutely ghastly kitchen, greasy with dead bugs in drawers. Bathrooms were left with blocked toilets and no locks, Shower was a pitiful dribble. Appallingly low level of general cleanliness and cracking plaster on walls. Stains and bad odours around place. Bath caked in brown filith. Mattress was ancient and squeaky, basically bare springs. Lift went out of order.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lau Sau Loong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Lau Sau would recommend this property

Liked: Great location that was in easy walking distance of most places. Easy and relaxed place to stay.

Disliked: Lau Sau left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Vladimira Hanzlovska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: cockroaches, generally appalling lack of hygiene in rooms, showers, etc., stomach-turning kitchen, not safe beds (unstable and very high bunk beds without a proper ladder and railings), fresh shopping of food for 3 days' stolen, last but not least - some (only some!) of the staff particularly rude - all of this resulted in my complaint, refund and earlier checkout date

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Gardiner

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 June 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is not far from city center -like 10 min walk- and if you finished the main sightseeing you can go to Botanical gardens near by the hostel.

Disliked: We only had a couple of showers on our floor and had to share with a lot of people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alex Morehen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 June 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. Rooms are more spacious than other cheaper hostels. Kitche. Is okay, gets lively close to the weekends. There is a cafe attached to the hostel serving cheap meals and nice coffee. I would stay here again for a short period of time.

Disliked: Slightly shabby look about the place with just acceptable toilets.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jascha Stauffer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Jascha would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed stayed there, met some chilled people. My room was great.

Disliked: Jascha left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aiden Ward

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 June 2013 Aiden would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the hostel is clean and warm, and great value for money. Located a 5 minute walk to excellent bars and 10 mins to the city centre. Thankyou to all the staff there.

Disliked: No WIFI

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ingrid byrant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 ingrid would recommend this property

Liked: Price, location, comfortable bed and very helpful staff.

Disliked: My room door did not automatically lock.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lindsay Stokes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very nice: open and friendly. The location was fantastic and its a nice building. Its a simple but fair hostel.

Disliked: Lindsay left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saskia Kanor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 May 2013 Saskia would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time, enjoyed the stay and were pleasantly surprised to see how clean everything was.

Disliked: Nothing - value for money!


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels