HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

67.9% Overall Rating

327 out of 453 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

Alisa Sergiienko thinks…

"Its a great place to stay while ur journey to the wonderful city of Sydney, located in the centre of the city, so u can easily get to any city attraction. hostels stuff was very friendly, prices…"

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
17.47 USD

Hostel 50.7% 311 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 84.8% 12 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 67.7% 34 reviews
Asylum Sydney
26.20 USD

Hostel 80.6% 337 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
26.20 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Kanga House
26.20 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.45 USD

Hostel 85.7% 95 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.9%

Overall Rating

327 out of 453 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 383 of 426 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Maass

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: good location and fair price for the dorm

Disliked: kitchen wasn't all that clean, especially the fridges were simply disgusting, 10$ deposit for plates and cuttlery, asking for linen and blankets...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Portnoy Bangel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Portnoy would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bar where you can get a beer late evening and meals is delicious at prices that backpackers can afford. Hostel is big and a few things don’t work but owners are doing it up and trying to fix. Cleaning is regular although my room mates were messy.

Disliked: Had to rent dishes but you get refund at checkout. Kitchen could have more utensils.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Spencer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: It was friendly with an awesome bar as part of the hostel. The rooms were cleaned everyday. They offered so many free things to do.

Disliked: Had to pay for internet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Blake Shiner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Blake would recommend this property

Liked: Heaps of other travellers to meet. Awesome cafe selling cheap beer (compared to pubs) and mum style food.

Disliked: Have to smoke outside - no smoking allowed in hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, Clean sheets, nice food in the cafe. The location is very handy and quite ok to walk home at night. Bus to airport is great too. Very happy with it.

Disliked: Can't think of much. The heater in my room didn't work, but it wasn't cold. Towels would be good, but luckily I read the reviews and took one.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ben is friendly :)

Disliked: cant stand the smell of alcohol outside of the building

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is excellent. clean most of the time. great bar with good food and reasonable prices.

Disliked: noisy at night. not clean all of the time.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Hyde-Lane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the hostel and will defiantly return. Felt really at home... Everyone really nice, loads of fun, didn't want to leave

Disliked: Had to pay a cutlery deposit of $10 for bowl, plate, cup and forks etc. Got it returned when we checked out. But I guess you don't have to pay if you don't use or cook.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Irie Handler-Langlois

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 May 2011 Irie would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, the female receptionist was really friendly and went out of her way to help us. She very knowledgeable and told us all we needed to know about Sydney. The rooms were standard, facilities were clean.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked, and its a very minor thing was that you had to pay to buy a towel, you couldn't hire one.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robyn Glegg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel situated in a very cool/edgy area of Sydney! The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly, making you feel at home. It also needs to be mentioned that the rooms & bathrooms are clean! Highly recommend!

Disliked: You have to pay for WIFI and/or internet but the accommodation price is low - so can't really complain!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Tse

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is balance between big and family style. They were in the middle of major cleaning and maintenance and tried to be friendly and obliging. Located close to main attractions and gardens opposite offer tranquility and space. Hostel has new cafe that serves great food at affordable prices - even has beer for $2.50 a stubbie - a change for Sydney! Recommend hostel.

Disliked: Luggage storage after checkout is $2.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilie Delcasse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff and cheap + charming cafe selling good food at affordable prices

Disliked: Luggage storage is extra (after you checkout) sometimes kitchen is too busy to use

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, not a bad location. Excellent value for money. Very nice rooms and helpful staff.

Disliked: The showers could use some work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Helena Stoeckel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of Positives: nightly entertainment - mainly out of hostel, they cleaned very often - hard to keep such a large place clean 100%, many other travellers from other places - great place to meet.

Disliked: Not many negatives: it is a big hostel - so hard to keep noise low 100% of time, kitchen can only fit certain no of people at any time - so if it 18.00 hrs - forget cooking. On total - great value for money.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are big and all have lockers for your valubles. Close to city centre you can walk everywhere.

Disliked: Bed bugs on the sofas downstairs, kitchen closes at 10. Random guy wandering in and out of our room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the staff are not always very friendly on reception and made our stay at times quite hard when we thought they were there to help

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

kate fidler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 kate would recommend this property

Liked: Good nights out to meet people.

Disliked: The kitchen is filthy with hardly any utensils which is annoying. It can be very noisy in the evenings and when it is humid, the rooms can be unbearable if the fan isnt working properly!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Miguel Angel Segarra Moliner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2011 Miguel Angel would recommend this property

Liked: I like the people I met, the pub crowl and the small balcony in the 1st floor that we made our own social room

Disliked: The roof terrace has been closed since we arrived, three weeks ago under the excuse that there are some works to be done. Obviously there are none...:(

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2011

Liked: cheap & good location

Disliked: no communal hang out space except a dirty crowded cafeteria-Luke eating area. broken lockers in the room. too much partying & too loud. dirty & unmaintained. crowded & messy everywhere.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 November 2010

Liked: It was possible to walk to Hyde park and the Operahouse.

Disliked: Rude, unhelpful staff, dirty and worn down kitchen and common room. Backpackers who acted disrespectful and childish were not even told to stop it, even though they would have been trhown out of any other place (leaving tacos and salad all over the tables, splashing yoghurt all over the sofas, having sex in the dorm while other people tried to sleep etc...). When my key didn't work to my dorm, they refused to change it. Fortunately I was travelling with 2 friends and we had one more key. Otherwise they told me to keep my important stuff on me instead. And when my friend was told he had to switch room the second night, they wanted him to PAY for using the luggage room until the other person had checked out (and later he found out that the room he was in the first night was almost empty).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nele Braun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010 Nele would recommend this property

Liked: a lot of people to meet, parties every night

Disliked: kitchen

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010

Liked: The location is excellent. My linen was clean and crisp.

Disliked: By and large the place with filthy with dirty floors in the bathroom and garbage everywhere. The water temperature in the shower was highly erratic. When I booked they advertised a free breakfast but when I arrived they said I'd have to pay.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2010

Liked: A bit filthy especially kitchen and bathrooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, good price, quiet

Disliked: Cost for storage of lugage for a few hours

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, fairly easy to find, friendly staff and residents, quiet after about 10pm.

Disliked: Having to walk past the park and slightly out of the city made me cautious about walking back to the hostel from the city late at night. Also the hostel seemed to have no record of my booking although they found me a bed easily.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels