HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney Sydney Hostel

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 65%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.61USD
  • Towel 3.87USD

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2015 to 4 January 2016 there are special booking conditions.
2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights.
3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December.
4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed.
5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period.



In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 65%

Value 69%

Showing 131-69 of 69 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cafe at the end of the building – particularly pizza nite, heaps of social events, friendly vibe, price cheap for Sydney and good location.

Disliked: Roof only opened at certain times:(

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: have lift &,the staff friendly

Disliked: one day the temperature is 42 but the fan had much dust so that the fan cannot work. Also, the bunk bed is not easy for going up and down.Third~toilet is horrible

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The room was clean, nice. Staff was very helpful. The location is fantastic. I would come again when visiting Sydney for few days...

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was okay.

Disliked: It was filthy. We have stayed in many hostels throughout South America and New Zealand, this was our first Australian hostel and we both agreed that it was the worst place we've ever stayed in. Where to start?1. No WiFi or internet access so spent a fortune in Starbucks.2. The kitchen was disgusting, no one is made to clean up after themselves, there are filthy dishes, dirty surfaces, overflowing bins and cockroaches. You have to give in your key card to get the limited supply of kitchen equipment.(Which you have to wash again as they aren't very clean).3. The dinning room is strewn with rubbish and old garden furniture.4. Had to use flip flops to stand in shower, they weren't cleaned in the 3 days we were there. (How do I know this? Lets just say I saw some disgusting things that weren't cleaned). Toilets weren't any better, hairs all over sinks, filthy floors over flowing bins.5. Bedrooms had doors that didn't close properly, they were dusty and you had to ask for pillows and sheets. Our room had no air con although some do.6. Guests clean to get free accommodation so they come into your room in the morning to empty your bin, even if you have a private room. We felt we had to keep our stuff locked up at all times.7. Luggage storage room is left open, anyone can wander in and out, what's to stop them going through your stuff?That's just some of our issues.Our advice is to up your budget and stay elsewhere!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is easy to get to and property is very very affordable. Hostel was cleaner than some other reviews indicated....great pressure and warmth in the showers :)

Disliked: No wifi...but staff told me where to get free

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Room was adequate and reasonably clean.

Disliked: no internet/wifi at all. Deposits required for kitchen ware including a cup. had to queue for ages before and after each meal. Kitchen was chaotic and a free for all. not much by way of facilities or nice commmom areas. generally shabby.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Visiting friends or family

Liked: When looking for a place to stay in Sydney, to be honest, I took the first place that came along and noted a couple of slightly bad comments on this place. Well, I have to say the 2 staff I dealt with were brilliant,very very helpful. The cleanliness was excellent and the location couldn't have been better. I'll definitly stay there next time I'm in Sydney. 10 out of 10.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I had a stellar experience at the hostel. The staff are super friendly and helpfull, and the pubcrawl was an absolute success. Thanks Steve!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing much.

Disliked: No free food and everything was pretty old and dirty, it was far and secluded from downtown and even The Rocks area. Far from grocery store. Location is NOT the greatest. I would definitely stay at a closer hostel for sure! This is not worth it especially if you're a walker.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Close to the city, cleaner than I expected and the staff were nice. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing - good value

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability