HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

59.1% Overall Rating

318 out of 440 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

CHEN YEN JIUN thinks…

"1.good person and a part of staff 2.when I check in,I can use lift to move my luggage."

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

For bookings between 27 Dec 2012 – 5 Jan 2013: Please note that Elephant Sydney will contact you directly to process the remaining amount owing for your booking. They will charge the credit card used to make the booking one month prior to your arrival date. They will confirm the booking following this payment. Please note that payments made are non refundable and that bookings made are non transferable. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
21.46 USD

Hostel 52.5% 304 reviews
Australian Backpackers
20.53 USD

Hostel 56.0% 49 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
20.53 USD

Hostel 68.5% 32 reviews
Sydney G'Day Backpackers
18.66 USD

Hostel 65.6% 239 reviews
Asylum Sydney
26.12 USD

Hostel 79.0% 330 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.19 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Kanga House
27.99 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.33 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.1%

Overall Rating

318 out of 440 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 414 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilie Delcasse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff and cheap + charming cafe selling good food at affordable prices

Disliked: Luggage storage is extra (after you checkout) sometimes kitchen is too busy to use

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, not a bad location. Excellent value for money. Very nice rooms and helpful staff.

Disliked: The showers could use some work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Helena Stoeckel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of Positives: nightly entertainment - mainly out of hostel, they cleaned very often - hard to keep such a large place clean 100%, many other travellers from other places - great place to meet.

Disliked: Not many negatives: it is a big hostel - so hard to keep noise low 100% of time, kitchen can only fit certain no of people at any time - so if it 18.00 hrs - forget cooking. On total - great value for money.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are big and all have lockers for your valubles. Close to city centre you can walk everywhere.

Disliked: Bed bugs on the sofas downstairs, kitchen closes at 10. Random guy wandering in and out of our room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the staff are not always very friendly on reception and made our stay at times quite hard when we thought they were there to help

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

kate fidler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 kate would recommend this property

Liked: Good nights out to meet people.

Disliked: The kitchen is filthy with hardly any utensils which is annoying. It can be very noisy in the evenings and when it is humid, the rooms can be unbearable if the fan isnt working properly!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Miguel Angel Segarra Moliner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2011 Miguel Angel would recommend this property

Liked: I like the people I met, the pub crowl and the small balcony in the 1st floor that we made our own social room

Disliked: The roof terrace has been closed since we arrived, three weeks ago under the excuse that there are some works to be done. Obviously there are none...:(

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2011

Liked: cheap & good location

Disliked: no communal hang out space except a dirty crowded cafeteria-Luke eating area. broken lockers in the room. too much partying & too loud. dirty & unmaintained. crowded & messy everywhere.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010

Liked: It was possible to walk to Hyde park and the Operahouse.

Disliked: Rude, unhelpful staff, dirty and worn down kitchen and common room. Backpackers who acted disrespectful and childish were not even told to stop it, even though they would have been trhown out of any other place (leaving tacos and salad all over the tables, splashing yoghurt all over the sofas, having sex in the dorm while other people tried to sleep etc...). When my key didn't work to my dorm, they refused to change it. Fortunately I was travelling with 2 friends and we had one more key. Otherwise they told me to keep my important stuff on me instead. And when my friend was told he had to switch room the second night, they wanted him to PAY for using the luggage room until the other person had checked out (and later he found out that the room he was in the first night was almost empty).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nele Braun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010 Nele would recommend this property

Liked: a lot of people to meet, parties every night

Disliked: kitchen

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010

Liked: The location is excellent. My linen was clean and crisp.

Disliked: By and large the place with filthy with dirty floors in the bathroom and garbage everywhere. The water temperature in the shower was highly erratic. When I booked they advertised a free breakfast but when I arrived they said I'd have to pay.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2010

Liked: A bit filthy especially kitchen and bathrooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, good price, quiet

Disliked: Cost for storage of lugage for a few hours

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, fairly easy to find, friendly staff and residents, quiet after about 10pm.

Disliked: Having to walk past the park and slightly out of the city made me cautious about walking back to the hostel from the city late at night. Also the hostel seemed to have no record of my booking although they found me a bed easily.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly people, reasonable value!!

Disliked: not clean n dosent look safe. bed is not so good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Wilson

14 May 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: There are lot of long termers who were very clique and didn´t really bother with new people! I made more friends in other hostels than my own! Excellent location though, walking distance from most places and it´s a great way to see the city!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ayako Seki

05 May 2010 Ayako would recommend this property

Liked: The St.James station is near the hostel. It's good location!We have to pay deposit $10 for dishes, knife, fork and spoon if you want to use them.

Disliked: Ayako left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

15 February 2010

Liked: The staff here were useless but thankfully the manager, Bronwyn, has some common sense and can see what a disgusting mess this place is. The long term residents think they own the place and the staff have no control over them. The rooms are not secure as people are constantly putting things in the door to keep them open while people from other rooms came and went as they pleased.The common areas were filthy - in the women's shower room there was a band aid/plaster on the floor of one of the showers for the entire week we were there. The staff here are mostly doing the job in exchange for a free bed and they obviously don't care about cleanliness or hygiene.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 January 2010

Liked: Very dirty place, loud, would not recommend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a grat place to stay. It`s near from the city and the staff were very helpfull. I`ll stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, cool people and family atmosphere BUT thieves are around... :(

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 October 2009

Liked: its location was great, close to all major sights

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 September 2009

Liked: Terrible hostel, not worth 25 dollars at all. worth more like 5 dollars DONT BOOK HERE!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

06 September 2009

Liked: TERRIBLE!!! checked out a day early because it was so bad. staff were very unhelpful. room was smelly and VERY noisy. kitchen facilities are awful. it is right next to a park that isn't safe at night because of tramps. DON'T STAY HERE!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a great location, just a walk into the city centre. The staff were friendly. One negative aspect of this hostel was the kitchen. It is too small for the amount of people staying there and there is not enough space in the fridges for everyones food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels