We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

69.3% Overall Rating

331 out of 461 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/12/2014)

"The staff members were very friendly and helpful. Toilets and showeres were numerous and I did not have any problem/waiting using the facilities."

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2014 to 4 January 2015 there are special booking conditions. 2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights. 3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards charged 1st December. 4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release your bed. 5. Please note that no refunds will be given during the New Year 2014 period. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
18.72 USD

Hostel 48.7% 313 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
15.60 USD

Hostel 83.2% 27 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
16.38 USD

Hostel 70.9% 37 reviews
Asylum Sydney
17.94 USD

Hostel 78.4% 340 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
24.96 USD

Hostel 87.0% 727 reviews
Kanga House
21.84 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.40 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
14.82 USD

Hostel 71.9% 486 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.3%

Overall Rating

331 out of 461 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 389 of 432 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and others staying in the hostel were friendly, also it is in a very good location.

Disliked: The staff we not very friendly or helpfull.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar/cafe that they had was excellent value and was enjoyable.

Disliked: There's no ground floor button in the lift and I am supposed to have knee surgery in a month... It was incredibly hard to walk down all those stairs with my luggage to check out - also, had to wait around for awhile because there was no one at reception... so much for a 24/7 reception......

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cheslav Umanov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 October 2011 Cheslav would recommend this property

Liked: For the money, this hostel is worthy, especially if you're a party person

Disliked: sometimes it's a little noisy at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dongha Jung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Dongha would recommend this property

Liked: good location and the price is reasonable

Disliked: sometimes it's a little noisy at night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Neades

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is on fringe of city in a quieter area and is easy to reach either city or Kings Cross. Plenty of things organised ....so meeting new travellers is easy and encouraged :) They also have a cafe on the ground floor that cooks great food that you can actually afford.

Disliked: Hostel is busy and full...no doubt because of cheap prices. Therefore bathrooms and showers can get very used and grotty at times....but they do try and clean them often.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not great but cheap

Disliked: half of the toilets n showers were broken or unclean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent price, nice location!

Disliked: It's a big hostel and they try to create a friendly atmosphere. Some guests take it a little too far - but I suppose that is the downside of a more lively hostel!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacquelyn Valladares

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2011 Jacquelyn would recommend this property

Liked: good price, many bathrooms, cafe with cheap food

Disliked: could be cleaner. my door was broken the whole week and i had to ask the people in the reception to open it with the master key almost every time i wanted to go to my room. wish they had something planned for saturday night as well. not my favorite location either

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Helen McCarthy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011

Liked: It was very cheap! It's also quite close to the city and things going on in Sydney. The showers were warm and although there weren't many of them, there didn't ever seem to be a queue to use them.

Disliked: It wasn't very secure although I did feel safe there. People who weren't staying there could easily use the facilities. It was quite confusing too as the hostel staff didn't seem to explain anything. You had to put a deposit down for plates and cutlery which was weird but it did mean there weren't dirty dishes everywhere. The place wasn't the cleanest I've been to, I guess it wasn't the dirtiest either but the place certainly could have done with a good scrub. It's a good place to rest your head if your on a budget I guess but I wouldn't stay there again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Brooks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: This place rocked!

Disliked: It is full - couldnt extend when I wanted.....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jess Holder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

20 September 2011 Jess would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is fantastic! They really help us in every situation and also are funny guys!

Disliked: Wifi does not go into rooms can only use on ground floor

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: not a special place...just cheap and okay for that price

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darren Logue

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 September 2011 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Cool mix of people...all trying to have fun cafe serves wicked pizzas & beer for ten bucks rare these days

Disliked: not much......older building and but who is complaining for the price!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful reception staff, and a good central location

Disliked: the rooms and bathrooms could have been cleaner

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011

Liked: Hostelmates were cool and I liked the buildling and the setup of the hostel overall. Good experience staying here! Bathrooms were consistently cleaned and kept up with the number of people residing in this hostel.

Disliked: Did not receive any welcome pack as stated, window was completely dirty and roomed had such a strong stench of sweat and dirt it was unsanitary. Definitely was not cleaned everyday windowsills were filthy and floor constantly dirty with same stuff. Stayed there almost a week and saw one vaccuuming of the hostel room. Kitchen filthy; did not use.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was great for staying in the city.

Disliked: The kitchen was never clean during our stay.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Haroldo del Sanches

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Haroldo would recommend this property

Liked: I spent a week here and it was overall a good value for the money. Good location and staff always helpfull ...cheap and chearful

Disliked: nothing to complain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Audrie Pauen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Audrie would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostels i´ve ever stayed really good price

Disliked: it was all good

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Room was smelly and didn't seem clean. Bathrooms weren't cleaned regularly. Rooftop area advertised was shut. Staff weren't friendly. Only stayed one night before finding somewhere else.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Phillip Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: The cafe next door was a lovely facility which we made good use of. The location is good.

Disliked: Some of the people staying there had 'checked out', given in their room card/keys and been given their deposit back and were still staying there (but now for free). This made me feel like I was subsidising those people - so if you don't mind doing that, fine.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and low-priced accommodation near central of Sydney :)

Disliked: some noise from wooden floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie Clifford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Location is next to everything - cross 10 minutes up the street and city and major landmarks 10 minutes the other direction. Staff really helpful and they have awesome cafe at best value ive had on the road:)

Disliked: Nothing not to like for the price!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dan Beddoes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, there are a few homeless people in the park nearby but I felt safe walking alone at 3am. 15 minute walk to the opera house, 20 minute walk to The Rocks, 10 minute walk to the metro line from the airport or to other suburbs, 5 minute walk to art gallery. Large, quiet rooms. Huge lockers

Disliked: Kitchen was very dirty due to long term guests not washing their dishes. I saw plenty of cockroaches but it was still a great value for the money. Water pressure in the bathrooms was pretty poor but I don't think much can be done about that in an old building. One toilet had no taps on the sink. Another toilet had no toilet paper in it all day so I'm unsure if it was actually cleaned 3 times that day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luke Holland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, fab location and the best on site cafe / bar that we've found anywhere in our year travelling around the world. And everything - the room and the bar - was dirt cheap.

Disliked: Not a problem for us, but not much of a communal vibe - though they were trying to bring new group stuff in when we left. Also, it's packed to burst with long termers, which makes the dorms more like teenagers bedrooms. Still, for this price, can't complain.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is located only a few minutes walk from the heart of the city. I enjoyed the backpacker atmosphere. The sheets were clean.

Disliked: I got bit by something while I slept.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels