HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney Sydney Hostel

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 64%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.42USD
  • Towel 3.81USD

Important Information

1. During the New Year's period from 27 December 2016 to 4 January 2017
there are special booking conditions.
2. During this period there is a minimum stay of 7 nights.
3. All bookings made for the New Year period will have their credit cards
charged 1st December.
4. If funds are not available and your payment is declined we will release
your bed.
5. Once paid, there will be no refunds, cancellations, changes or
transfers permitted for the New Year Period 2016-2017 .
6. We strongly recommend you take out travel insurance.

DORM ROOMS
When you book 2 or more dorm beds, we cannot guarantee that your entire
group can be in the same dorm room. Please book private room(s) if you
wish to secure that everyone in your group is going to be in the same
room.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 54%

Location 85%

Safety 58%

Staff 64%

Value 66%

Showing 121-51 of 51 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I like the staff, they were helpful and friendly and interested to help you in any way that they can.

Disliked: The luggage room was open even though it was just next to reception

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The beds were comfortable and it is in a really good central location.

Disliked: Sometimes the reception area was very busy

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location close enough to city but not much else

Disliked: Not value for money when money and people's things got stolen the week and a half I was there. Not a safe and secure hostel at all, security camera in kitchen doesn't even work, door lock to mixed dorm was broken, even had people stealing my food that was in a bag I was forced to buy because food gets thrown away if it isn't in cooler bag. Not enough showers 1 out of 3 on one floor broke and quite dirty. People staying in this hostel act like children running around throwing water at each other and having pillow fights. If you go hopefully you'll have different guests but better to go elsewhere I wish I had.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Social hostel, clean sheets, toilets separate from showers, heaps of hot water

Disliked: Busy kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, i met awesome people there. Near everywhere. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: Had to get kitchen pots from reception

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff and a great bar downstairs. Met a lot of nice people here. Showers and rooms relatively clean.

Disliked: No WIFI

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Above Average Hostel, not the best common area, relatively clean, girl at the reception was very helpful

Disliked: Road side rooms a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay. Great location, felt safe and comfortable the whole time. Would totally go again

Disliked: Not much

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The hostel is really good, the atmosphere is great and all members of the staff are really cool. Totally recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Place

Disliked: Kitchen is verry Dirty

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest
Our kitchen is cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. 200 guests using a kitchen over a few hours creates mess particularly when some do not clean up after themselves. Our staff tidy the kitchen throughout the day but don't confuse mess from other guests with dirt! Perhaps communal living is not for you!
Regards
Elephant Sydney

Check Availability