HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Hostel | 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Sydney, Australia 2011

59.1% Overall Rating

318 out of 440 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

CHEN YEN JIUN thinks…

"1.good person and a part of staff 2.when I check in,I can use lift to move my luggage."

Read all Elephant Backpacker Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

For bookings between 27 Dec 2012 – 5 Jan 2013: Please note that Elephant Sydney will contact you directly to process the remaining amount owing for your booking. They will charge the credit card used to make the booking one month prior to your arrival date. They will confirm the booking following this payment. Please note that payments made are non refundable and that bookings made are non transferable. In the event of the card being declined, they will email you and should funds not be processed on the second attempt, the booking will be cancelled and the bed will be resold.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

City Resort Hostel
21.46 USD

Hostel 52.5% 304 reviews
Australian Backpackers
20.53 USD

Hostel 56.0% 49 reviews
Boomerang Backpackers
20.53 USD

Hostel 68.5% 32 reviews
Sydney G'Day Backpackers
18.66 USD

Hostel 65.6% 239 reviews
Asylum Sydney
26.12 USD

Hostel 79.0% 330 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.19 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Kanga House
27.99 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.33 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.1%

Overall Rating

318 out of 440 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elephant Backpacker Sydney'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 414 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Audrie Pauen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Audrie would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostels i´ve ever stayed really good price

Disliked: it was all good

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Room was smelly and didn't seem clean. Bathrooms weren't cleaned regularly. Rooftop area advertised was shut. Staff weren't friendly. Only stayed one night before finding somewhere else.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Phillip Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: The cafe next door was a lovely facility which we made good use of. The location is good.

Disliked: Some of the people staying there had 'checked out', given in their room card/keys and been given their deposit back and were still staying there (but now for free). This made me feel like I was subsidising those people - so if you don't mind doing that, fine.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and low-priced accommodation near central of Sydney :)

Disliked: some noise from wooden floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie Clifford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Location is next to everything - cross 10 minutes up the street and city and major landmarks 10 minutes the other direction. Staff really helpful and they have awesome cafe at best value ive had on the road:)

Disliked: Nothing not to like for the price!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dan Beddoes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, there are a few homeless people in the park nearby but I felt safe walking alone at 3am. 15 minute walk to the opera house, 20 minute walk to The Rocks, 10 minute walk to the metro line from the airport or to other suburbs, 5 minute walk to art gallery. Large, quiet rooms. Huge lockers

Disliked: Kitchen was very dirty due to long term guests not washing their dishes. I saw plenty of cockroaches but it was still a great value for the money. Water pressure in the bathrooms was pretty poor but I don't think much can be done about that in an old building. One toilet had no taps on the sink. Another toilet had no toilet paper in it all day so I'm unsure if it was actually cleaned 3 times that day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luke Holland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, fab location and the best on site cafe / bar that we've found anywhere in our year travelling around the world. And everything - the room and the bar - was dirt cheap.

Disliked: Not a problem for us, but not much of a communal vibe - though they were trying to bring new group stuff in when we left. Also, it's packed to burst with long termers, which makes the dorms more like teenagers bedrooms. Still, for this price, can't complain.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is located only a few minutes walk from the heart of the city. I enjoyed the backpacker atmosphere. The sheets were clean.

Disliked: I got bit by something while I slept.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natascha Buresch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Natascha would recommend this property

Liked: I liked especially the great location (5min walk from hyde park and train station), which made this hostel to a good base for discovering the city. Moreover the staff was nice and helpful, there've been a lot of nice backpackers around, so that it was easy to meet new people. And I liked the rooms, the space was alright (stayed in the 8 bed dorm). And they cleaned quite often, especially kitchen and bathrooms (3 to 5 times a day). Kitchen was sometimes still not perfectly clean, but that's probably more the other guests fault who don't tidy up behing themselves.

Disliked: Not very much. The building and furniture is quite old. So if it's important for someone to stay in a new, modern hostel this one is probably not the right one. i found it ok, important iteams like computers have been quite modern it was more the beds/sofa/tables etc. And in the lift was the button for the ground flood missing ( when checking out you had to carry your stuff down the stairs) You had to pay for internet and luggage storage. There were no dishes or anything in the kitchen, you had to get it at the reception with 10$ deposit, in case that you break or lose anything you had to pay 2 $ for each piece. I can see the reason why they do it, but I found it quite annoying to ge it everytime out of my room and put it back etc. I think that's it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

26 July 2011

Liked: It was clean, and the bed was comfortable.

Disliked: There was little in the way of common space, and some rooms were completely taken over by long-termers.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fredrik Vosney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location for the money major attractions all within walking distance Hostel is clean and has café selling food and beer that backpackers can afford – nice change :)

Disliked: New owners are repairing broken lockers and doors - will be good when all fixed

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was big and had a lot of people and activities.

Disliked: The toilets were not clean and did not have soap. You had to pay a deposit to use kitchen tools. After we checked out, we had to pay $5 to have our bags in the luggage room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Scmidt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is huge heaps of places to chill, staff obliging and something to do every nite:)

Disliked: Nothing really....good hostel for price

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Martinez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic. Price very good value.

Disliked: Keycards were a bit temperamental sometimes took quite a few tries before they worked in door

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Maass

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: good location and fair price for the dorm

Disliked: kitchen wasn't all that clean, especially the fridges were simply disgusting, 10$ deposit for plates and cuttlery, asking for linen and blankets...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Portnoy Bangel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Portnoy would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bar where you can get a beer late evening and meals is delicious at prices that backpackers can afford. Hostel is big and a few things don’t work but owners are doing it up and trying to fix. Cleaning is regular although my room mates were messy.

Disliked: Had to rent dishes but you get refund at checkout. Kitchen could have more utensils.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Spencer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: It was friendly with an awesome bar as part of the hostel. The rooms were cleaned everyday. They offered so many free things to do.

Disliked: Had to pay for internet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Blake Shiner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Blake would recommend this property

Liked: Heaps of other travellers to meet. Awesome cafe selling cheap beer (compared to pubs) and mum style food.

Disliked: Have to smoke outside - no smoking allowed in hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, Clean sheets, nice food in the cafe. The location is very handy and quite ok to walk home at night. Bus to airport is great too. Very happy with it.

Disliked: Can't think of much. The heater in my room didn't work, but it wasn't cold. Towels would be good, but luckily I read the reviews and took one.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ben is friendly :)

Disliked: cant stand the smell of alcohol outside of the building

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is excellent. clean most of the time. great bar with good food and reasonable prices.

Disliked: noisy at night. not clean all of the time.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Hyde-Lane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the hostel and will defiantly return. Felt really at home... Everyone really nice, loads of fun, didn't want to leave

Disliked: Had to pay a cutlery deposit of $10 for bowl, plate, cup and forks etc. Got it returned when we checked out. But I guess you don't have to pay if you don't use or cook.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Irie Handler-Langlois

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 May 2011 Irie would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, the female receptionist was really friendly and went out of her way to help us. She very knowledgeable and told us all we needed to know about Sydney. The rooms were standard, facilities were clean.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked, and its a very minor thing was that you had to pay to buy a towel, you couldn't hire one.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robyn Glegg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel situated in a very cool/edgy area of Sydney! The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly, making you feel at home. It also needs to be mentioned that the rooms & bathrooms are clean! Highly recommend!

Disliked: You have to pay for WIFI and/or internet but the accommodation price is low - so can't really complain!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Tse

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is balance between big and family style. They were in the middle of major cleaning and maintenance and tried to be friendly and obliging. Located close to main attractions and gardens opposite offer tranquility and space. Hostel has new cafe that serves great food at affordable prices - even has beer for $2.50 a stubbie - a change for Sydney! Recommend hostel.

Disliked: Luggage storage after checkout is $2.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels